Dublin Senior Football Team

Replying To jd1963:  "Breaking news seems footage of Monaghan players training at the end of March might take some of the heat of Dublin. Wonder how many other counties are breaking the rules?"
Most if not all of them.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 08/04/2021 09:26:04    2336242

Replying To lilylanger:  "Most if not all of them."
I am very disappointed this morning to see Monaghan being added to the list of counties who couldn't be bothered to abide by the rules . Is it one rule for sone counties and another rule for the rest of the country.
Dublin, Down, Monaghan and Cork are now on the list and we may be sure there are plenty of others . Being from a so called weaker County, I am proud of the fact that our management and team actually abided by the rules and played their part. I acknowledge from a mental health aspect of these rules that they are having a detrimental effect on our young players lives.
However who is responsible for these teams training, it certainly isn't the County board. It rests with management.

roseyinthegarden (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 08/04/2021 09:56:14    2336247

Replying To greysoil:  "Hopefully Banty gets a lifetime ban !"
Hopefully the guards will find out what went on in Monaghan and prosecutions will be pending, Monaghan should be thrown out of the Championship this year, disgraceful behaviour in the middle of a global pandemic.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2739 - 08/04/2021 10:16:09    2336251

Replying To roseyinthegarden:  "I am very disappointed this morning to see Monaghan being added to the list of counties who couldn't be bothered to abide by the rules . Is it one rule for sone counties and another rule for the rest of the country.
Dublin, Down, Monaghan and Cork are now on the list and we may be sure there are plenty of others . Being from a so called weaker County, I am proud of the fact that our management and team actually abided by the rules and played their part. I acknowledge from a mental health aspect of these rules that they are having a detrimental effect on our young players lives.
However who is responsible for these teams training, it certainly isn't the County board. It rests with management."
Dublin last week, Monaghan today. It could be any one of a number of counties next week.

It's just another example of the inter-county game thinking that rules don't apply to them and that they can do what they want. Every year this small group walks all over the rest of the organisation with county managers in come counties dictating when games can be played and whether players are allowed play. If Co Boards let them do what they want then why would these same guys pay any attention to the rules now? The leadership of the GAA need to take control of this as they are being made to look extremely foolish by the behaviour of these people.

And to be clear, I am in favour of groups being allowed to gather outside for physical exercise, but if the Association has rules in place that prevent that then those rules have to apply to everyone.

I'm not a fan of the county game, or more particularly the way they demand special status in the Association, but the easy solution to this is to just scrap inter county competitions for the year. If they can't be trusted to follow the rules, then remove the need to break them. Schedule the club competitions when appropriate and finish them through to All Ireland stages.

I've said on here before that without club football there would be no inter-county game, but without inter-county we'd still have a thriving club scene. It's way past time the inter county managers were shown their place.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 08/04/2021 10:32:56    2336257

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Hopefully the guards will find out what went on in Monaghan and prosecutions will be pending, Monaghan should be thrown out of the Championship this year, disgraceful behaviour in the middle of a global pandemic."
Not to mention a certain gaa club in west Cork that are being investigated.
If a suspension is handed out to all those who broke the covid rules there will be very few left to field a team when competitions starts.

I have no time faceless photographers or anyone who deals in them.
Do the honorable thing, if necessary hand in the photo in person and ask the gardai to investigate.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 08/04/2021 10:51:05    2336261

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Hopefully the guards will find out what went on in Monaghan and prosecutions will be pending, Monaghan should be thrown out of the Championship this year, disgraceful behaviour in the middle of a global pandemic."
Your anti Monaghan veiws over the years weaken that as an objective viewpoint. Demanding they be thrown out of the championship is a bit OTT. Banning the current setup may be a starting point for punishment, but not the county.
It should be noted that when the Dublin saga broke, there was a somewhat muted response on here. including myself, because there was always the fear that other counties were at the same. I for one expected something like this with Monaghan ""all things considered".
I would expect and welcome a Garda investigation, but given the culture of eleetism and unacountability that exists in the GAA and society in general, I expect it would be a rather futile excersise (pardon the pun)
As a Monaghan man the response from the CB "we were not aware of any training session" says it all really. The tail is wagging the dog

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 08/04/2021 10:51:16    2336262

At least Cork and Down deserved their own thread, even if there were only 17 or so posts.

Monaghan don't even get that.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13705 - 08/04/2021 11:14:48    2336268

Replying To Greenfield:  "Dublin last week, Monaghan today. It could be any one of a number of counties next week.

It's just another example of the inter-county game thinking that rules don't apply to them and that they can do what they want. Every year this small group walks all over the rest of the organisation with county managers in come counties dictating when games can be played and whether players are allowed play. If Co Boards let them do what they want then why would these same guys pay any attention to the rules now? The leadership of the GAA need to take control of this as they are being made to look extremely foolish by the behaviour of these people.

And to be clear, I am in favour of groups being allowed to gather outside for physical exercise, but if the Association has rules in place that prevent that then those rules have to apply to everyone.

I'm not a fan of the county game, or more particularly the way they demand special status in the Association, but the easy solution to this is to just scrap inter county competitions for the year. If they can't be trusted to follow the rules, then remove the need to break them. Schedule the club competitions when appropriate and finish them through to All Ireland stages.

I've said on here before that without club football there would be no inter-county game, but without inter-county we'd still have a thriving club scene. It's way past time the inter county managers were shown their place."
Well very put and I'd echo those comments.

Covid rules, indoor/outdoor, what is right or wrong but this has been brewing for years when GAA says one thing and Inter county managers, facilitated by weak county boards, do another thing while throwing endless amounts of money at it. Has the game become more entertaining or engaging? No.

County teams seem to set their own rules and it starts with senior teams but has filtered down through all county squads including underage development squads.

Something serious needs to be done to stop the run away train of inter county football and the last few weeks have shown how little respect they have for everything GAA related before we even move into the wider community and current situation.

TheJackel (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 08/04/2021 11:15:06    2336269

Replying To Greenfield:  "Dublin last week, Monaghan today. It could be any one of a number of counties next week.

I've said on here before that without club football there would be no inter-county game, but without inter-county we'd still have a thriving club scene. It's way past time the inter county managers were shown their place."
Ridiculous nonsense. You articulated a very strong antipathy towards inter county managers. With all due respect what you wrote was cliché ridden and prejudiced. Inter county football and hurling is what generates most of the GAAs income. Have a look at the GAA's accounts for last year. The GAA's income for 2020 was €31.4 million which was down 57% on it's income of €73.9 million from 2019. Over half of the GAA's income for 2020 came in state funding from the government. The funding amounted to €18.5 million. Without that state funding our association would be on it's knees. Without inter county competitions where would the funding come from to develop clubs facilities? We need to continually develop our club facilities in order to enable us to attract young people to play football and hurling. Our association thrives as a result of a combination of the club and county competitions. We need both.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 08/04/2021 11:27:30    2336271

Replying To MesAmis:  "At least Cork and Down deserved their own thread, even if there were only 17 or so posts.

Monaghan don't even get that."
Hehe :)

Spot on mon frère

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/04/2021 11:39:18    2336273

Replying To Greengrass:  "Ridiculous nonsense. You articulated a very strong antipathy towards inter county managers. With all due respect what you wrote was cliché ridden and prejudiced. Inter county football and hurling is what generates most of the GAAs income. Have a look at the GAA's accounts for last year. The GAA's income for 2020 was €31.4 million which was down 57% on it's income of €73.9 million from 2019. Over half of the GAA's income for 2020 came in state funding from the government. The funding amounted to €18.5 million. Without that state funding our association would be on it's knees. Without inter county competitions where would the funding come from to develop clubs facilities? We need to continually develop our club facilities in order to enable us to attract young people to play football and hurling. Our association thrives as a result of a combination of the club and county competitions. We need both."
Nonsense. Club grants from Croke park for club facilities are minimal. The majority of development of facilities by clubs is through National lottery grants from Government and fundraising.
The biggest hole in most county boards accounts last year came from lack of money from club championships which make up large of their annual funding which goes where? Into the county teams.

If there was no county football tomorrow, financially every club in the country would manage the very best.

TheJackel (Monaghan) - Posts: 18 - 08/04/2021 11:43:02    2336274

Lets be honest it would be a major surprise if counties weren't training now especially at the top table as they our always looking for that extra edge.
The players also need to look at themselves here, they could say no we aren't comfortable meeting up in groups just yet because lets be honest the county management would not kick lets say ( brian fenton, conor mcmanus etc off the panel )
as it would be in public domain within hours then they would have serious problems.

Its not just county teams, club teams all over the country our at it also, groups of players running the mountains and forests its happening ladies and gents.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 704 - 08/04/2021 11:44:28    2336275

Replying To greysoil:  "Hopefully Banty gets a lifetime ban !"
Hopefully a lifetime ban from all GAA commentary - he's hard to listen to.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 500 - 08/04/2021 11:51:42    2336277

Replying To Greengrass:  "Ridiculous nonsense. You articulated a very strong antipathy towards inter county managers. With all due respect what you wrote was cliché ridden and prejudiced. Inter county football and hurling is what generates most of the GAAs income. Have a look at the GAA's accounts for last year. The GAA's income for 2020 was €31.4 million which was down 57% on it's income of €73.9 million from 2019. Over half of the GAA's income for 2020 came in state funding from the government. The funding amounted to €18.5 million. Without that state funding our association would be on it's knees. Without inter county competitions where would the funding come from to develop clubs facilities? We need to continually develop our club facilities in order to enable us to attract young people to play football and hurling. Our association thrives as a result of a combination of the club and county competitions. We need both."
Just talking about senior Inter county football , do you know what the total bill is to run all of the inter county teams on an annual basis, give or take a couple of million ?

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/04/2021 11:52:46    2336278

Was in the park again yesterday with the kids and getting them out and about on their break from school.

Park was very busy, playground rammed and people safely getting on with their lives by exercising on a decent Spring day.

Bunch of at least 7-10 over 50s setting up training cones on the soccer pitch, kitted out with their socks pulled up, having a bit of exercise with an almost 0% risk. Much higher risk of one of them getting savaged to death by a dog..

They played an entire championship, full contact, teams crossing borders etc etc but sure we were elite before Christmas weren't we.. somehow shielded from a microscopic virus, all the while a British variant was here running amuck and community transmission of such was rampant... yet we had a full championship.

But fast forward a few weeks and sure you're the demon for having a kick about... such nonsense

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/04/2021 11:54:08    2336279

Ridiculous nonsense because you don't agree with it?

The revenue is another issue. A chunk of it goes to fund the GPA, another elitist group. Plenty more disappears into the pockets of a small number of people in the form of under-the-counter payments (at club and county level). And the costs of preparing inter-county teams has gone off the scale.

Any reports I have read about attracting/keeping young people playing the games has suggested that a regular fixture list is more important to them than the standard of facilities. I'm not sure I've ever seen standard of facilities being mentioned as a factor in this. In a lot of counties the fixture list is done based on the instructions of the inter-county managers who have their own interests at heart, naturally enough. Very few of them look at the bigger picture.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 08/04/2021 11:58:52    2336281

Replying To realdub:  "Haha you don't say, the Kerry lads had a spring in their step when this story broke."
Them lads are not even thinking about Dublin at the minute, they'll be more occupied thinking about the big 2 in the hurling province of Munster!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 08/04/2021 12:11:04    2336284

I would agree that there are probably clubs and other counties at it (training). This is the part of the GAA that i don't particularly like which the brazenness and arrogance in the face or rules that have been laid down. But maybe i shouldn't be surprised as it seems to be inherent tin the GAA.

Who do we think we are? and don't say elite sport men and women

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 08/04/2021 12:18:12    2336286

Replying To jimbodub:  "Was in the park again yesterday with the kids and getting them out and about on their break from school.

Park was very busy, playground rammed and people safely getting on with their lives by exercising on a decent Spring day.

Bunch of at least 7-10 over 50s setting up training cones on the soccer pitch, kitted out with their socks pulled up, having a bit of exercise with an almost 0% risk. Much higher risk of one of them getting savaged to death by a dog..

They played an entire championship, full contact, teams crossing borders etc etc but sure we were elite before Christmas weren't we.. somehow shielded from a microscopic virus, all the while a British variant was here running amuck and community transmission of such was rampant... yet we had a full championship.

But fast forward a few weeks and sure you're the demon for having a kick about... such nonsense"
"They played an entire championship, full contact, teams crossing borders etc etc but sure we were elite before Christmas weren't we.. somehow shielded from a microscopic virus, all the while a British variant was here running amuck and community transmission of such was rampant... yet we had a full championship"

Incorrect, there were no cases of the "British Variant" in Ireland at that time.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 08/04/2021 12:23:02    2336287

Replying To AfricanGael:  ""They played an entire championship, full contact, teams crossing borders etc etc but sure we were elite before Christmas weren't we.. somehow shielded from a microscopic virus, all the while a British variant was here running amuck and community transmission of such was rampant... yet we had a full championship"

Incorrect, there were no cases of the "British Variant" in Ireland at that time."
Oh right

So suspending flights from the UK on the 20th December kept it out then?

Sure it wasn't here..

Thousands of people travelling back and forth before the 20th for Christmas and business didn't bring it back.. sure.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/04/2021 12:33:39    2336291