Dublin Senior Football Team

McConvilles comments hardly help things, though he has said some silly stuff throughout the covid situation.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 04/04/2021 13:53:44    2335941

Replying To FoolsGold:  "McConvilles comments hardly help things, though he has said some silly stuff throughout the covid situation."
His comments were perfectly logical. The world has gone mad, it really has.
C. 25 000 people starved to death on Thursday yet our public were "outraged" and "gobsmacked" (avd various purged phoney virtue signalling superlatives) not by this, but by a harmless kickabout in a park.
We are quite literally going insane,and we're so bloody stupid, we're mistaking it for becoming enlightened.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 04/04/2021 14:11:49    2335942

Replying To Galway9801:  "He didn't say it should be let run riot though did he? He said precautions should be taken.
People who believe that nothing should have been done are just as stupid as people who believe that lockdown was an appropriate response to a virus that's harmless to almost everyone."
I actually did read what he said but the point is that if you agree that precautions should be taken it's a bit contradictory to then give out when they are. I think most people don't realise that the precautions which were advised last Spring are not enough to contain or suppress the new variants and what may work in one country may not work in another.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 04/04/2021 14:13:27    2335943

Replying To FoolsGold:  "McConvilles comments hardly help things, though he has said some silly stuff throughout the covid situation."
Oisin Mc Conville dead right in what he says. If ye want to see silly stuff check out all the Cavan posts from the time Dublin walked over yous. Donegal gifted Cavan an Ulster and everything was rosy, then they got trounced by Dublin and they become anti GAA .

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 04/04/2021 14:44:34    2335945

Replying To Irishcelt:  "If you really believe it was a small kick about then your delusional"
Depends how you define small. A group of about 10 people I'd say is small. They probably ran drills.. I'd define it as a kick around. If you live in an estate, tell me there's not kids on the green doing the same almost every day.
Stop choosing which rule breaks annoy you and blowing up the severity of the actions because it's the Dubs.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 04/04/2021 15:01:17    2335947

Replying To Saynothing:  "Oisin Mc Conville dead right in what he says. If ye want to see silly stuff check out all the Cavan posts from the time Dublin walked over yous. Donegal gifted Cavan an Ulster and everything was rosy, then they got trounced by Dublin and they become anti GAA ."
What did he say?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 04/04/2021 15:32:10    2335949

Just back from Albert College Park on the Ballymun Road. Playground mobbed and a full scale soccer match on the go amongst the DCU students, not a long lens in sight ;)

Listen what the Dublin lads did was irresponsible and down right amateurish in the extreme. The Dublin CB has rightly come down hard on Dessie, a man that only a few months ago won Dublin an All Ireland title.. being handed a 12 week suspension by his own is unheard of.

It's been dealt with swiftly and without excuses, without being ignored or appealed. The message was clear.

But the hyperbole is just as clear to see, it's to be expected of course and the selective condemnation is nothing new regarding Dublin but fair dues to the many level headed and shrewd contributions highlighting that very thing from across the country.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/04/2021 16:11:20    2335950

Hi I live near a park in West Dublin. This weekend I have seen several kickabouts on the pitches. Should I take photos and report them to the Garda? Of course not.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 04/04/2021 18:37:51    2335964

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I actually did read what he said but the point is that if you agree that precautions should be taken it's a bit contradictory to then give out when they are. I think most people don't realise that the precautions which were advised last Spring are not enough to contain or suppress the new variants and what may work in one country may not work in another."
No contradiction at all, there's a big difference between taking precautions and enforcing lockdown on a population.
This whole "variant" thing is gas too. Last year, when covid hit, it was treated as the biggest crisis in centuries, but now, new variants are what we should REALLY be afraid of, eh? What these experts are saying effectively, is, "hey, remember virus that came in 2020, well that actually wasn't that bad,, but these new variants of it,, these you should definitely be scared of". You hear so much talk about conspiracy theorists, tinfoil hats etc,, but realistically, what kind of idiot isn't at least a wee bit sceptical at this stage.
Besides, no doubt another variant will emerge soon that's resistant to the vaccine and the likes of you will run for cover all over again.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 04/04/2021 19:24:40    2335974

Replying To Saynothing:  "Oisin Mc Conville dead right in what he says. If ye want to see silly stuff check out all the Cavan posts from the time Dublin walked over yous. Donegal gifted Cavan an Ulster and everything was rosy, then they got trounced by Dublin and they become anti GAA ."
Good man yourself. You were dismissing Covid in Janurary when there was 1000 cases per day in Ireland. Village idiot springs to mind

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 04/04/2021 20:03:56    2335983

Did you watch the Ulster final? How exactly did Donegal gift it to us? The best team won and that's the bottom line.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 04/04/2021 21:58:11    2335988

Lmao.. Tyrone lad in with the low blow.. to be expected.. I'm not anti-Gaa...i'm anti rule breaking. Bit of a gap in your logic there lad

Got well beat by the Dubs, absolutely no issue there and they are the best team ever.

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 05/04/2021 00:24:02    2335995

Replying To jimbodub:  "Just back from Albert College Park on the Ballymun Road. Playground mobbed and a full scale soccer match on the go amongst the DCU students, not a long lens in sight ;)

Listen what the Dublin lads did was irresponsible and down right amateurish in the extreme. The Dublin CB has rightly come down hard on Dessie, a man that only a few months ago won Dublin an All Ireland title.. being handed a 12 week suspension by his own is unheard of.

It's been dealt with swiftly and without excuses, without being ignored or appealed. The message was clear.

But the hyperbole is just as clear to see, it's to be expected of course and the selective condemnation is nothing new regarding Dublin but fair dues to the many level headed and shrewd contributions highlighting that very thing from across the country."
No jimbo it's not just irresponsible, it was breaking the rules and it was conceited and calculated at 7am.

As a frontline Doctor all through all of this I am sick of listening to self serving GAA "personalities" trying to influence things and call the shots. What the likes of Oisin McConville for instance says about this is irrelevant, its self serving and he is totally irrelevant on this matter.

Dessie Farrell is in a position of responsibility, he has seen what has gone before and the suspensions handed down to Down and Cork. The Dublin County board will also have known about this, Dessie didn't organise this on his own. Everyone involved should resign, end off. Its inexcusable. If myself of any of my professional colleagues behaved in such a manner we'd be the subject of a severe professional conduct investigate and medical defence unions would be involved.

Guys let's get a perspective on this, the GAA is an amateur organisation and these guys are trying to dress themselves up as 'elite' athletes and expect to be treated differently as a result. If they wanted to excel at a sport and be considered 'elite' then they should have chosen a professional sport, not one where the opportunities available to them and the potential they can reach are ultimately determined by the post code they were born in. None of these guys are 'elite' so let's treat them like every other grass roots GAA player.

The very people pedalling this nonsense and trying to excuse it are the parasites of the GAA. Ex players still trying to be relevant and make some form of living in monetary gains off the back of their playing career.

There is no excuse and anything other than resignation from all involved is an embarassment!!

oso (Antrim) - Posts: 168 - 05/04/2021 10:54:51    2335997

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Good man yourself. You were dismissing Covid in Janurary when there was 1000 cases per day in Ireland. Village idiot springs to mind"
I didn't dismiss Covid but did think the overkill approach to lockdowns on one island by two governments was too much. Different rules for different sports bodies didn't help either and don't start this semi-pro malarkey.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 05/04/2021 11:07:18    2335999

Replying To Galway9801:  "His comments were perfectly logical. The world has gone mad, it really has.
C. 25 000 people starved to death on Thursday yet our public were "outraged" and "gobsmacked" (avd various purged phoney virtue signalling superlatives) not by this, but by a harmless kickabout in a park.
We are quite literally going insane,and we're so bloody stupid, we're mistaking it for becoming enlightened."
Maybe you're the one needs enlightened. Perhaps if you'd been on the front line all through this and witnessed people dying from something which was largely preventable of everyone had followed the 'rules' you'd feel differently.

Perhaps if you had to sit patients and their parents down and tell them they can't have their operations because we have no theatre capacity as icu has spilled over into recovery, perhaps then you'd be enlightened!!

Quoting whatever figures you want about starvation serves nothing. If you feel strongly enough about it however go an do something about it, make a difference. But to blatantly disregard rules, to flout the rules that the rest of us are abiding by and to try to excuse it is not acceptable. We wouldnt even be at this stage if everyone could have abided by the rules from the outset.

Your post is 'enlightening' indeed, still after all that's happened.

oso (Antrim) - Posts: 168 - 05/04/2021 11:09:35    2336000

Replying To oso:  "No jimbo it's not just irresponsible, it was breaking the rules and it was conceited and calculated at 7am.

As a frontline Doctor all through all of this I am sick of listening to self serving GAA "personalities" trying to influence things and call the shots. What the likes of Oisin McConville for instance says about this is irrelevant, its self serving and he is totally irrelevant on this matter.

Dessie Farrell is in a position of responsibility, he has seen what has gone before and the suspensions handed down to Down and Cork. The Dublin County board will also have known about this, Dessie didn't organise this on his own. Everyone involved should resign, end off. Its inexcusable. If myself of any of my professional colleagues behaved in such a manner we'd be the subject of a severe professional conduct investigate and medical defence unions would be involved.

Guys let's get a perspective on this, the GAA is an amateur organisation and these guys are trying to dress themselves up as 'elite' athletes and expect to be treated differently as a result. If they wanted to excel at a sport and be considered 'elite' then they should have chosen a professional sport, not one where the opportunities available to them and the potential they can reach are ultimately determined by the post code they were born in. None of these guys are 'elite' so let's treat them like every other grass roots GAA player.

The very people pedalling this nonsense and trying to excuse it are the parasites of the GAA. Ex players still trying to be relevant and make some form of living in monetary gains off the back of their playing career.

There is no excuse and anything other than resignation from all involved is an embarassment!!"
Ridiculous.

It was a rule break that was bad because it was a group of all Ireland winning role models. Not because of the actions. The actions, in fact, were very unsubstantial, proven to be very safe and are being done by thousands of young people in parks and greens across Ireland every single day.

They should be punished, but honestly, the internal punishment sits fine with me. It was an adequate response. The dubs know themselves their responsibility as role models.

As for the "elite" athlete argument... I understand that a Premier League soccer player gets paid well enough for himself and his family not to have to go out into the community to work, shop or socialise, but if you're telling me, for one second, that a LOI soccer player can sustain a bubble on his playing wages, you're having me on.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 05/04/2021 11:11:27    2336001

Replying To oso:  "No jimbo it's not just irresponsible, it was breaking the rules and it was conceited and calculated at 7am.

There is no excuse and anything other than resignation from all involved is an embarassment!!"
Here here .

Rebel2020 (Cork) - Posts: 75 - 05/04/2021 11:17:05    2336002

Replying To Sweetspot:  "Ridiculous.

It was a rule break that was bad because it was a group of all Ireland winning role models. Not because of the actions. The actions, in fact, were very unsubstantial, proven to be very safe and are being done by thousands of young people in parks and greens across Ireland every single day.

They should be punished, but honestly, the internal punishment sits fine with me. It was an adequate response. The dubs know themselves their responsibility as role models.

As for the "elite" athlete argument... I understand that a Premier League soccer player gets paid well enough for himself and his family not to have to go out into the community to work, shop or socialise, but if you're telling me, for one second, that a LOI soccer player can sustain a bubble on his playing wages, you're having me on."
It is irrelevant that young people may flout these rules on a daily basis. Do your backside, get off your backside and go out and educate them.

But using that analogy to condone a high profile team and organisation breaking the rules is daft.

Have you seen what's happening in Eastern Europe and France right now??

The problem with our society and why we are in this very position is very obvious on this thread. Anyone who doesn't get that at this stage really should be considered irrelevant when they speak on the subject of covid.

I wonder how many gaa managers at various levels up and down the country are pedalling this nonsense as they are out of pocket right now. Oh yeah that's right, we are an amateur organisation and club coaches and managers don't get paid. Self serving and embarassing.

oso (Antrim) - Posts: 168 - 05/04/2021 11:33:35    2336003

Replying To jimbodub:  "lol

What a shocker you're a fan of McKenna"
He probably is Mc Kenna

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 05/04/2021 12:09:48    2336007

Replying To oso:  "It is irrelevant that young people may flout these rules on a daily basis. Do your backside, get off your backside and go out and educate them.

But using that analogy to condone a high profile team and organisation breaking the rules is daft.

Have you seen what's happening in Eastern Europe and France right now??

The problem with our society and why we are in this very position is very obvious on this thread. Anyone who doesn't get that at this stage really should be considered irrelevant when they speak on the subject of covid.

I wonder how many gaa managers at various levels up and down the country are pedalling this nonsense as they are out of pocket right now. Oh yeah that's right, we are an amateur organisation and club coaches and managers don't get paid. Self serving and embarassing."
You're the one who said "none of these players are elite and should be treated like every other grassroutes player". So how is what the grassroutes players are doing irrelevant if we should be treating everyone the same?

I'm saying they're not every grassroutes player, these are players with responsibility as role models. If your issue is with people in general meeting up in small groups around the country for a kick about, I assure you, you may be all too familiar with the tragic scenes in the hospitals, but you're very far removed from the tragedy that is the mental health of today's youths.

Come down hard on the Shebeens and the lads having parties by all means. But if we're ostracising young lads doing no one any harm, meeting their friends for a non-contact, outdoors kick for the first time in god knows how long, we're in a worrying place indeed.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 05/04/2021 12:17:01    2336008