Meath Senior Football Team 2021

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "How do we know they threw the head? Is it not far more likely that in about year 4 or 5 on the panel and not getting game time that they felt that the massive commitment would be better directed towards their club and towards their jobs and career progression, I just don't think there was a massive bust up and the players and management losing the head at eachother. I think it was more calculated than that"
Players go through the pre-season (all the fitness and zoom stuff for months) and then drop off panel after 2 matches where they didn't feature (McCoy a small bit)? I doubt it was fully amicable (but sure we don't know) and is not comparable to the Dublin players situation in my opinion.

There is nothing wrong with throwing the head by the way, management are no choir boys.

In any case Lenihan would definitely be in his rights to be annoyed whereas McCoy did very well for himself to get on a Meath panel (and fair play to him for his efforts).

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 27/05/2021 14:07:41    2345895

Replying To Crinigan:  "Players go through the pre-season (all the fitness and zoom stuff for months) and then drop off panel after 2 matches where they didn't feature (McCoy a small bit)? I doubt it was fully amicable (but sure we don't know) and is not comparable to the Dublin players situation in my opinion.

There is nothing wrong with throwing the head by the way, management are no choir boys.

In any case Lenihan would definitely be in his rights to be annoyed whereas McCoy did very well for himself to get on a Meath panel (and fair play to him for his efforts)."
really looking forward to this game , in fact , format of league this year , while I was initially cold about, oi think has been a real winner...so many games , so many meaningful games this weekend....

Thelongwoodslasher (Meath) - Posts: 385 - 28/05/2021 12:31:59    2346060

Replying To Thelongwoodslasher:  "really looking forward to this game , in fact , format of league this year , while I was initially cold about, oi think has been a real winner...so many games , so many meaningful games this weekend...."
Actually yes. Wasn't impressed with it when I looked at it when announced. But it's been a real winner for everyone

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2021 12:39:12    2346063

Replying To royaldunne:  "Actually yes. Wasn't impressed with it when I looked at it when announced. But it's been a real winner for everyone"
Not for everyone, great for Meath, safe after two games and chance of promotion after three. Introduced a bit of excitement and served its purpose this year, but not the fairest way going forward.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 28/05/2021 19:13:09    2346130

Replying To seadog54:  "Not for everyone, great for Meath, safe after two games and chance of promotion after three. Introduced a bit of excitement and served its purpose this year, but not the fairest way going forward."
No wouldn't like it to be continued. Just pointing out I had changed my opinion on it from when I saw it first. Thought it was a terrible idea. But I'm happy to admit that I enjoyed it. Even for the other divisions, added a bit of spice to events. So credit where due. The gaa got it right for once.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 29/05/2021 09:16:22    2346225

Other than Jack OConnor any other new lads that got a start did in no way put their hands up

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 31/05/2021 08:12:11    2346796

Replying To Brownepat:  "Other than Jack OConnor any other new lads that got a start did in no way put their hands up"
How is Jason Scully not starting in that team ??? He came on against Westmeath when where under massive pressure . Some great attacks, scored a crucial point, And was clever enough to win a free that ended up as a point. He has played well against Monaghan Dublin in the League. And other games but yet not start place. Hickey is another and Jack O'Connor its time to Start these lads. And let them at it. Before they walk like a lot of others.

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 01/06/2021 08:01:45    2347260

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "How is Jason Scully not starting in that team ??? He came on against Westmeath when where under massive pressure . Some great attacks, scored a crucial point, And was clever enough to win a free that ended up as a point. He has played well against Monaghan Dublin in the League. And other games but yet not start place. Hickey is another and Jack O'Connor its time to Start these lads. And let them at it. Before they walk like a lot of others."
Scully got a yellow card in that Monaghan game and was continually fouling and if I remember correctly had to be taken off at half time. Personally I don't think we's worthy of starting. Would have him firmly behind O'Connor, Wallace and Costello for the half forward spots. And I'd probably have him behind Devine too although they are very different types of players so maybe difficult to compare

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1462 - 02/06/2021 16:21:30    2347750

I am wondering the same how do menton and keogan have the patience. I wouldn't blame them at all to leave,especially looking at relations of the manager walking on the team.

rubia (Meath) - Posts: 26 - 03/06/2021 00:43:59    2347875

Given recent developments, we allowed to talk about this still?

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1319 - 20/06/2021 08:22:22    2352101

Replying To Crinigan:  "Given recent developments, we allowed to talk about this still?"
Doesn't look like it. Seems to be a media blackout on the topic...

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 20/06/2021 09:57:48    2352111

Replying To bert09:  "Doesn't look like it. Seems to be a media blackout on the topic..."
What topic???? Sure it's all pretty quiet and uneventful on the meath football front the last few days!!!

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 20/06/2021 10:39:34    2352115

Replying To Blackspot09:  "What topic???? Sure it's all pretty quiet and uneventful on the meath football front the last few days!!!"
Have a look at Chronicle,Examiner or yesterdays Indo.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 20/06/2021 11:49:57    2352128

Replying To seadog54:  "Have a look at Chronicle,Examiner or yesterdays Indo."
I see your auld sarcasm detector wasn't switched on this morning. Lol

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 20/06/2021 16:38:19    2352176

Replying To Blackspot09:  "I see your auld sarcasm detector wasn't switched on this morning. Lol"
Fathers day, wife insisted I switched it off for the day.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 20/06/2021 17:11:02    2352182

Replying To bobkarlgees:  "How is Jason Scully not starting in that team ??? He came on against Westmeath when where under massive pressure . Some great attacks, scored a crucial point, And was clever enough to win a free that ended up as a point. He has played well against Monaghan Dublin in the League. And other games but yet not start place. Hickey is another and Jack O'Connor its time to Start these lads. And let them at it. Before they walk like a lot of others."
Fully agree Scully did well v Kildare when he came on

Brownepat (Meath) - Posts: 532 - 20/06/2021 19:08:16    2352205

Colgan
Lavin,mcgill, Gallagher(2 ryans)
Keoghan,harnan j mcentee(s mcentee)
Jones,menton
E wallace,walsh,sullivan(mcmahon)
Morris, newman, j wallace (conlon)
Thats our best 15 with subs,after this our quality dramatically drops,you can see new players have brought the quality down,disheartening if im honest

Utdroyal (Meath) - Posts: 61 - 20/06/2021 23:11:53    2352258

Replying To Utdroyal:  "Colgan
Jones,menton
Thats our best 15 with subs,after this our quality dramatically drops,you can see new players have brought the quality down,disheartening if im honest"
I dunno where to start with this...

Gallgher is unavailable, ross ryan isn't on the panel, James mcentee and michael newman working back to fitness, Jones and Walsh likely out for the rest of the season

Hickey and Fionn Reilly two of the better players during the league have added depth to the squad. Costello is a good footballer and will develop over the next couple of seasons into a very important player.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/06/2021 12:33:49    2352342

Replying To Utdroyal:  "Colgan
Jones,menton
Thats our best 15 with subs,after this our quality dramatically drops,you can see new players have brought the quality down,disheartening if im honest"
I dunno where to start with this...

Gallgher is unavailable, ross ryan isn't on the panel, James mcentee and michael newman working back to fitness, Jones and Walsh likely out for the rest of the season

Hickey and Fionn Reilly two of the better players during the league have added depth to the squad. Costello is a good footballer and will develop over the next couple of seasons into a very important player.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 21/06/2021 12:41:51    2352344

Replying To brian:  "I dunno where to start with this...

Hickey and Fionn Reilly two of the better players during the league have added depth to the squad. Costello is a good footballer and will develop over the next couple of seasons into a very important player."
Very worrying times for Meath football, add in events of weekend and more bad news today and we are in a bad place.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2149 - 21/06/2021 13:08:39    2352357