Best Case Scenario ??

Starting to get worried about the possibility of very little/No season happening so badly need a bit of positivity !!

Best Case Scenarios anybody ?....

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 14/03/2021 23:15:38    2334185

Scrap the league, play the club during the summer like last year. Then play inter county same as last year, the top pitches are still decent enough at that stage.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 15/03/2021 17:58:33    2334229

A very short season snappy looms for club and county. I'm beginning to change my mind and believe club may well go first with inter county on the same format as last year.

Fact is the drop in cases has stalled around 500 and I can't see them lifting restrictions yet. It's really frustrating at this stage.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 15/03/2021 19:03:56    2334231

Replying To Bon:  "Scrap the league, play the club during the summer like last year. Then play inter county same as last year, the top pitches are still decent enough at that stage."
The gaa ruled out a repeat of last year as far as I'm aware.
Now that was a few months back so it might have changed since but I'd be all up for it. I really enjoyed last year's winter championships.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1699 - 15/03/2021 19:09:36    2334233

We need to get to Level 2 for club games to happen - that's unlikely to happen any time soon. Whether we like it or not, county probably has to come first, with club starting from late August.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 15/03/2021 19:15:10    2334234

Agree with ye all lads... last year's format would be very welcome again this year.

Only problem is unless the case numbers start to come down fairly soon there's not much hope of club activity getting the green light for a long while...

At the same time its very hard to imagine the InterCounty leagues going ahead at this late stage surely ?...

Juveniles probably won't be allowed back till at least end of April ...thatll be 2 weeks after the Secondary schools have returned to full capacity on April 12th... providing the case numbers dont rise again in that time...

Lot of its and buts unfortunately

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 15/03/2021 19:40:07    2334236

Pools Panel to sit!
Dubs get 7 in a row!

Onion_Sack (Dublin) - Posts: 203 - 15/03/2021 19:52:13    2334239

Replying To Black+Blue:  "Agree with ye all lads... last year's format would be very welcome again this year.

Only problem is unless the case numbers start to come down fairly soon there's not much hope of club activity getting the green light for a long while...

At the same time its very hard to imagine the InterCounty leagues going ahead at this late stage surely ?...

Juveniles probably won't be allowed back till at least end of April ...thatll be 2 weeks after the Secondary schools have returned to full capacity on April 12th... providing the case numbers dont rise again in that time...

Lot of its and buts unfortunately"
If there's no league I'd be happy with running the provincials to get things up and running and then open draw All Ireland. Great winter viewing last year.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2006 - 15/03/2021 21:35:30    2334249

Has to be county first. Club can't go ahead till positives drop. Hope league can go ahead for the so called weaker counties. Although an open draw for All Ireland would be appetising , with Kerry drawing Dublin in the first round , knockout.

roseyinthegarden (Wicklow) - Posts: 109 - 15/03/2021 22:45:55    2334255

1 in a row Liam McCarthy!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 16/03/2021 00:03:09    2334258

Best case is county first. Club later in the year when hopefully vaccines are rolled out so we can get in and watch the games!

Other way around and we won't be able to watch any game.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1139 - 16/03/2021 08:51:25    2334262

Best case scenario is all Ireland finals in December with 5,000 spectators...if nphet allow it

leitrimguy1985 (Leitrim) - Posts: 57 - 16/03/2021 09:40:26    2334266

Best case scenario is if everyone uses a bit of cop on, when you have clowns in Dublin protesting at restrictions and aiming fireworks at guards then there's not a lot of consensus going on.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 16/03/2021 09:43:07    2334267

Cancel the lot- sickening anyway. Play club football and forget about the county.......... Dublin and Limerick to get the cups virtually......and the usual Dublin PR machine swings into gear.....if they can afford it the crayturs

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 16/03/2021 09:55:10    2334269

Replying To AfricanGael:  "Best case scenario is if everyone uses a bit of cop on, when you have clowns in Dublin protesting at restrictions and aiming fireworks at guards then there's not a lot of consensus going on."
You don't believe in freedom to protest?

leitrimguy1985 (Leitrim) - Posts: 57 - 16/03/2021 10:19:56    2334273

Replying To leitrimguy1985:  "You don't believe in freedom to protest?"
I don't believe in criminality.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 16/03/2021 10:23:26    2334277

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I don't believe in criminality."
do you believe in life after lurve

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 16/03/2021 10:42:28    2334279

Replying To AfricanGael:  "I don't believe in criminality."
Nobody would or should but it is strange to call the vast majority of thousands of people clowns. And it isn't very Gael like.

leitrimguy1985 (Leitrim) - Posts: 57 - 16/03/2021 10:46:49    2334280

So if you're a Gael, you cant call clowns out for what they are ? Every one of them were clowns, thankfully a small minority of the country though. Leftie loonies.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 16/03/2021 10:59:37    2334281

Replying To AfricanGael:  "So if you're a Gael, you cant call clowns out for what they are ? Every one of them were clowns, thankfully a small minority of the country though. Leftie loonies."
I don't think we should resort to name calling- the GAA don't do that

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 16/03/2021 11:07:38    2334282