Houses In Order?

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I would guess the exact same reason Clifford did nt go."
And what reason is that? Was Clifford moving to Oz ever really on the table or was it all just paper talk? I can't say I heard of any AFL clubs actually being named can you?

I remember reading 1 time that Marty Clark who is the new recruiter for the AFL (taking over from Kennelly) saying he didn't think Clifford's skills would translate to Aussie rules.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 13/03/2021 16:35:42    2334085

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "And what reason is that? Was Clifford moving to Oz ever really on the table or was it all just paper talk? I can't say I heard of any AFL clubs actually being named can you?

I remember reading 1 time that Marty Clark who is the new recruiter for the AFL (taking over from Kennelly) saying he didn't think Clifford's skills would translate to Aussie rules."
I don't know if he was offered a contract. I don't think so but there was Aussie interest after 2017 minor final but Clifford made it perfectly clear he wanted to remain and play football for Kerry. Kilkenny tried it but was homesick and wanted to play football for Dublin. 2 great assets to their counties. Conor McKenna another that wanted to come home. Níl aon tinteáin mar the thinteáin féin.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 13/03/2021 18:38:25    2334093

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I don't know if he was offered a contract. I don't think so but there was Aussie interest after 2017 minor final but Clifford made it perfectly clear he wanted to remain and play football for Kerry. Kilkenny tried it but was homesick and wanted to play football for Dublin. 2 great assets to their counties. Conor McKenna another that wanted to come home. Níl aon tinteáin mar the thinteáin féin."
We've young James Madden out there now, an underage player of potential, think he broke the AFL sprint record during his trial. He was offered extended terms out there. But who knows maybe he will come back at some stage if he gets tired of egg chasing. He togged out for Ballyboden in Jan 20 in the All Ireland club semi when he home for Xmas.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 14/03/2021 00:23:00    2334120

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "I don't know if he was offered a contract. I don't think so but there was Aussie interest after 2017 minor final but Clifford made it perfectly clear he wanted to remain and play football for Kerry. Kilkenny tried it but was homesick and wanted to play football for Dublin. 2 great assets to their counties. Conor McKenna another that wanted to come home. Níl aon tinteáin mar the thinteáin féin."
Hi maybe that should be the dublin motto mick, you know since they don't like to leave Croke Park :-)

Also it's in keeping with the name of the thread "Houses in order" as in maybe they could order/build they're own house and stop squatting in HQ.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 14/03/2021 11:52:58    2334134

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Hi maybe that should be the dublin motto mick, you know since they don't like to leave Croke Park :-)

Also it's in keeping with the name of the thread "Houses in order" as in maybe they could order/build they're own house and stop squatting in HQ."
But sure there was a vote to get Dublin out of Croke Park for neutral games. A motion taken by Donegal that was defeated. The reason being although big counties like Mayo voted with Donegal Kerry did nt so they voted to let Dublin play there whenever. So take that up with the Kerry County board. When Dublin were being taken to task alot over the years Kerry backed them up.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 14/03/2021 15:20:07    2334151

Replying To TheUsername:  "We've young James Madden out there now, an underage player of potential, think he broke the AFL sprint record during his trial. He was offered extended terms out there. But who knows maybe he will come back at some stage if he gets tired of egg chasing. He togged out for Ballyboden in Jan 20 in the All Ireland club semi when he home for Xmas."
Yes Madden was a good young lad on both codes Username.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 14/03/2021 15:21:52    2334152

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "But sure there was a vote to get Dublin out of Croke Park for neutral games. A motion taken by Donegal that was defeated. The reason being although big counties like Mayo voted with Donegal Kerry did nt so they voted to let Dublin play there whenever. So take that up with the Kerry County board. When Dublin were being taken to task alot over the years Kerry backed them up."
Oh you're going to get a strongly worded response to that for sure and you'll be accused of being a Dub... ;)

Fair play to you Mick though for speaking the truth of the matter.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 15/03/2021 09:47:29    2334192

Replying To brian:  "Oh you're going to get a strongly worded response to that for sure and you'll be accused of being a Dub... ;)

Fair play to you Mick though for speaking the truth of the matter."
well Brian.you cant please everyone all of the time lol.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 15/03/2021 11:51:52    2334199

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "But sure there was a vote to get Dublin out of Croke Park for neutral games. A motion taken by Donegal that was defeated. The reason being although big counties like Mayo voted with Donegal Kerry did nt so they voted to let Dublin play there whenever. So take that up with the Kerry County board. When Dublin were being taken to task alot over the years Kerry backed them up."
Well if what you say is true mick my county board has a lot to answer for when it comes to this issue, fair play to Donegal and the other counties who tried to get fairness for us all.

When you look at it there is no way any fair minded person could look at the situation of dublin playing all their games in Croke Park and think that it should be allowed, fair enough if it was a short term thing till they build their own gaff but... there you have a perfect example of the power of money.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/03/2021 12:48:39    2334204

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well if what you say is true mick my county board has a lot to answer for when it comes to this issue, fair play to Donegal and the other counties who tried to get fairness for us all.

When you look at it there is no way any fair minded person could look at the situation of dublin playing all their games in Croke Park and think that it should be allowed, fair enough if it was a short term thing till they build their own gaff but... there you have a perfect example of the power of money."
There you go Tommy boy , you don't know everything after all. If ignorance is bliss , tis folly to be wise.
Ye boys are the cause of all this lark.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/03/2021 12:52:44    2334205

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Well if what you say is true mick my county board has a lot to answer for when it comes to this issue, fair play to Donegal and the other counties who tried to get fairness for us all.

When you look at it there is no way any fair minded person could look at the situation of dublin playing all their games in Croke Park and think that it should be allowed, fair enough if it was a short term thing till they build their own gaff but... there you have a perfect example of the power of money."
Oh it is true. Kerry did vote for Dublin to play in Croker.No one said its fair but cest lá vie.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 15/03/2021 13:21:08    2334211

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Oh it is true. Kerry did vote for Dublin to play in Croker.No one said its fair but cest lá vie."
Is that anything to do with the Finland syndrome???

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 15/03/2021 14:15:42    2334215

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Oh it is true. Kerry did vote for Dublin to play in Croker.No one said its fair but cest lá vie."
Mick I've been looking into it and I can't find anything to back up your claim that my county board voted to keep dublin in Croke Park, have you a link or anything that I can read for myself?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/03/2021 14:33:05    2334216

I think it will be a very difficult year for the gaa this year presently coming. I cannot see them returning a profit do you. They will be lucky to have any attendances at these games this year at any grades and that will lead to a financial deficit isn't me. I'd be skepteecal of any attendances every even next year on top of all this so that would be three years of no peoples going to watch sports in gaa stadiams

leitrimguy1985 (Leitrim) - Posts: 57 - 15/03/2021 14:37:05    2334218

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Mick I've been looking into it and I can't find anything to back up your claim that my county board voted to keep dublin in Croke Park, have you a link or anything that I can read for myself?"
Oh jays, now you want to talk ha. Very interested ha.
Ya, I'd say you've little to be doing but looking into it alright.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/03/2021 15:09:52    2334219

Replying To leitrimguy1985:  "I think it will be a very difficult year for the gaa this year presently coming. I cannot see them returning a profit do you. They will be lucky to have any attendances at these games this year at any grades and that will lead to a financial deficit isn't me. I'd be skepteecal of any attendances every even next year on top of all this so that would be three years of no peoples going to watch sports in gaa stadiams"
You'd imagine so. Two years without crowds could be a breaking point for some. You'd be hopeful something could be organised even small crowds, but i can't imagine there will be.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 15/03/2021 15:38:36    2334220

Replying To catch22:  "Oh jays, now you want to talk ha. Very interested ha.
Ya, I'd say you've little to be doing but looking into it alright."
Little to be doing? Says the poster hanging around hoganstand waiting for me to post :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/03/2021 15:49:58    2334222

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Little to be doing? Says the poster hanging around hoganstand waiting for me to post :-)"
Ha ! Ya, we're all just waiting for you're words of wisdom.
Keep them coming. Always a good laugh.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 15/03/2021 16:17:50    2334223

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Mick I've been looking into it and I can't find anything to back up your claim that my county board voted to keep dublin in Croke Park, have you a link or anything that I can read for myself?"
Don't know about a link but was told by someone involved in Dublin and it was verified to me by a man involved in Kerry County board. It is fact. Check it out yourself through someone in the Kerry County board.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 15/03/2021 16:36:07    2334224

The vote on Donegal motion was taken arou D Feb 23rd 2019..Fublin opposed it under John Costello saying the motion was "mean spirited". Ex Gaa president Sean Kelly said the motion was negative and anyone wanting to beat Dublin"should aspire to beat them in croke park". Kerry voted with Dublin.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 15/03/2021 16:53:51    2334226