Houses In Order?

Replying To superbluedub:  "Brilliant we have it all happy days , long may it last -:)"
As a wise old sage uttered to me once "the bullock who tries to leap the quik will make a great cow moan as she grazes in the field infrunneath the river meadow. ". I think it was never more suited to the current situation.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 03/03/2021 07:40:18    2333369

Replying To dakid:  "Ah kindomboy. The proprietor of every account on hogan stand.
He has more accounts than the Healy Raes have properties but this ain't one. Just a lad who's sick of Dublin and Kerry multiple accounts provoking and then circling the wagons. Breffini and lilylanger are the most obvious ones."
Same here David....same here.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 03/03/2021 09:45:25    2333376

Replying To dakid:  "Ah kindomboy. The proprietor of every account on hogan stand.
He has more accounts than the Healy Raes have properties but this ain't one. Just a lad who's sick of Dublin and Kerry multiple accounts provoking and then circling the wagons. Breffini and lilylanger are the most obvious ones."
Holy fook lads even when I try to stay out of all things "dublin" I get brought back in
:-).

Look the thruth is í Don't have multiple accounts and I don't need multiple accounts as I always say what's on my mind and I'm confident in what I'm saying is true so it doesn't bother me whether other posters agree with me or not or what ye think of me as I'm not that precious.

What I would say and what I have always said is my opinions are mine and mine alone, I don't speak for every kerry person and as has been seen on here on the main page and on the kerry forum there are plenty kerry posters that disagree with my views and that's OK too.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/03/2021 10:36:54    2333382

Replying To lilylanger:  "Same here David....same here."
*dakid

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 03/03/2021 11:13:43    2333386

Replying To yew_tree:  "Former Meath greats like Tommy Dowd, Robbie O Malley and Mick Lyons (I think) are of Mayo stock. Can't get more Mayo than the name "O'Malley".

Sure maybe some of them were only returning "home" to the east...Cromwell forced a lot of refugees from Leinster into Connacht ;)"
Hey yew_tree, not sure on Dowd and O'Malley but the Lyons brothers and the Harnan's are definitely of western stock. O'Rourke moved to Skryne when he was under 10 and i think Giles might have a bit of western stock too. Terry Ferguson's father won all ireland's with Dublin too. Lots of imports up here in Meath ;) Pity the Dubs keep sending us everyone with two left feet after everything we've done for them.

Paul Curran, Charlie Redmond, Barney and Dean Rock and Mick and Michael Deegan. And sure weren't the two Brogans of fine Kerry stock too.

Anyways to the point I saw that comment over the weekend and there is a truth in it. The lazy thing is to blame money. Yes all teams who were successful had monetary backing but they also had some serious talent on the team so saying its all money is a lazy man's argument.

Look at Kerry and Mayo (and I'm not taking shots at them) but they're very well backed financially, well able to raise money abroad with fundraisers and they're not left without for support, facilities, backroom staff and analysts and backing. Why are they unable to get over the hurdle and beat the Dubs?

Is it maybe that this is just the greatest team of all time? They money certainly helps them but its not the sole reason.

And a couple of good underage teams in a a short time frame will always help. That's not driven by money. In the 90's Meath won 2 minor and an U-21 all irelands and that was the spine of the teams in 96-2001. Tyrone had a similar pattern in the mid 90's to early 00's to drive their 3 senior all irelands

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 03/03/2021 11:26:24    2333387

Replying To tonguey:  "As a wise old sage uttered to me once "the bullock who tries to leap the quik will make a great cow moan as she grazes in the field infrunneath the river meadow. ". I think it was never more suited to the current situation."
Yes and equally ,
The swallow and the pig see no wisdom in wearing new hats on Wednesday when the fox is knitting jumpers.

So there. What do you make of that then. Ha !

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 03/03/2021 11:40:29    2333389

Replying To brian:  "Hey yew_tree, not sure on Dowd and O'Malley but the Lyons brothers and the Harnan's are definitely of western stock. O'Rourke moved to Skryne when he was under 10 and i think Giles might have a bit of western stock too. Terry Ferguson's father won all ireland's with Dublin too. Lots of imports up here in Meath ;) Pity the Dubs keep sending us everyone with two left feet after everything we've done for them.

Paul Curran, Charlie Redmond, Barney and Dean Rock and Mick and Michael Deegan. And sure weren't the two Brogans of fine Kerry stock too.

Anyways to the point I saw that comment over the weekend and there is a truth in it. The lazy thing is to blame money. Yes all teams who were successful had monetary backing but they also had some serious talent on the team so saying its all money is a lazy man's argument.

Look at Kerry and Mayo (and I'm not taking shots at them) but they're very well backed financially, well able to raise money abroad with fundraisers and they're not left without for support, facilities, backroom staff and analysts and backing. Why are they unable to get over the hurdle and beat the Dubs?

Is it maybe that this is just the greatest team of all time? They money certainly helps them but its not the sole reason.

And a couple of good underage teams in a a short time frame will always help. That's not driven by money. In the 90's Meath won 2 minor and an U-21 all irelands and that was the spine of the teams in 96-2001. Tyrone had a similar pattern in the mid 90's to early 00's to drive their 3 senior all irelands"
The Brogans grandfather was a Mayoman and Dessie 'Snitchy' Ferguson was from Co Down. On the Meath side Bernard Flynn was born in Co Limerick, his father hurled with Killmallock and Martin O'Connell also had a western background. Of course way back, Peter McDermott was born in West Cork. A great quiz question is possible in relation to Peter, Cork won three All Ireland Senior in '52, '53 and '54. In those years Peter, a Corkman, was involved in four Senior Finals, but he never wore a red jersey in any of them He played in two finals in 52, and one in '54, with Meath and he referred the '53 Final between Kerry and Armagh.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 03/03/2021 11:55:35    2333392

Replying To Oldtourman:  "The Brogans grandfather was a Mayoman and Dessie 'Snitchy' Ferguson was from Co Down. On the Meath side Bernard Flynn was born in Co Limerick, his father hurled with Killmallock and Martin O'Connell also had a western background. Of course way back, Peter McDermott was born in West Cork. A great quiz question is possible in relation to Peter, Cork won three All Ireland Senior in '52, '53 and '54. In those years Peter, a Corkman, was involved in four Senior Finals, but he never wore a red jersey in any of them He played in two finals in 52, and one in '54, with Meath and he referred the '53 Final between Kerry and Armagh."
Correct the Brogans cone from Knockmore. Not sure if any relation to Padraig Brogan who scored a wonder goal for Mayo against Dublin in the 1985 semi final.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 03/03/2021 12:03:10    2333395

Replying To Oldtourman:  "The Brogans grandfather was a Mayoman and Dessie 'Snitchy' Ferguson was from Co Down. On the Meath side Bernard Flynn was born in Co Limerick, his father hurled with Killmallock and Martin O'Connell also had a western background. Of course way back, Peter McDermott was born in West Cork. A great quiz question is possible in relation to Peter, Cork won three All Ireland Senior in '52, '53 and '54. In those years Peter, a Corkman, was involved in four Senior Finals, but he never wore a red jersey in any of them He played in two finals in 52, and one in '54, with Meath and he referred the '53 Final between Kerry and Armagh."
Great points there Oldtourman. Think the Brogans mum is from Kerry that's what i was referring to and think I'd read about Snitchy being born in Down. Didn't know those other ones, fair play to you.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 03/03/2021 12:06:42    2333396

Replying To catch22:  "Yes and equally ,
The swallow and the pig see no wisdom in wearing new hats on Wednesday when the fox is knitting jumpers.

So there. What do you make of that then. Ha !"
Now that makes no sense- what are you on about??

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 03/03/2021 13:25:11    2333407

My great grandfather used to say 'when your false teeth are cold when you take them out, it's time to call a doctor'. And how right he was. The same logic could be applied to the current state of the GAA finances. A neighbour of mine when he'd hear about ticket increases by the GAA used to say 'if they had twenty pockets they'd still not be satisfied when they had them all full'. And now at this age I can see what he means.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 03/03/2021 13:33:51    2333409

Replying To tonguey:  "Now that makes no sense- what are you on about??"
Of course , it wouldn't make any sense to you.

Maybe try looking into it.

It's basically a reference to the ecological connection between wildlife and emergency lighting generator and how they impact the ecosystem around the globe and in turn influence a players training schedules.

Yes, that's more or less it really.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 03/03/2021 13:35:12    2333410

Cork seem to be doing some great work of the field and getting things in order around the house, huge potential, i know therr strategic plan was much derided but they certainly seem to be making progress to enable themselves.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/03/2021 13:40:07    2333413

Replying To catch22:  "Of course , it wouldn't make any sense to you.

Maybe try looking into it.

It's basically a reference to the ecological connection between wildlife and emergency lighting generator and how they impact the ecosystem around the globe and in turn influence a players training schedules.

Yes, that's more or less it really."
By the generation of electricity that powers the floodlights to enable the players to train in the winter months when it is dark??

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 03/03/2021 13:40:35    2333414

Look Dublin is the capital so over the years people gravitate to Dublin and surrounding areas re employment etc so counties like Dublin Meath and Kildare would all have the majority of their players originating from country stock. Meath would gave a large amount from the west and Dublin from all over. I remember the great Dublin team of the 70s and it was said Bobby Doyle was the only true Dub. Sean Doherty was a Wicklow man. In the a early years most Dublin teams were full of country men as the gaa was nt that popular in Dublin (mainly teachers and Gardaí). Kevin Heffernan wanted Dublin teams to be Dublin born even if their parents were country. Nowadays nearly all if not all are Dublin born although many would have country parents. Meath would be simillar to a degree.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 03/03/2021 14:11:41    2333415

Replying To tonguey:  "By the generation of electricity that powers the floodlights to enable the players to train in the winter months when it is dark??"
Yes , the winter months would have the higher degree of impact on the ecology due to the extended dark periods and the requirement for generated artificial lighting.
This can however be somewhat offset should the player attend training on a bicycle.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 03/03/2021 14:30:26    2333420

Replying To tonguey:  "As a wise old sage uttered to me once "the bullock who tries to leap the quik will make a great cow moan as she grazes in the field infrunneath the river meadow. ". I think it was never more suited to the current situation."
hmmmm ok if you say so it must be true -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 03/03/2021 14:33:24    2333421

Replying To catch22:  "Yes , the winter months would have the higher degree of impact on the ecology due to the extended dark periods and the requirement for generated artificial lighting.
This can however be somewhat offset should the player attend training on a bicycle."
They should be fitter so and therefore less need for them to train as long so lights won't be on as long at all. It's a win win

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 03/03/2021 15:03:54    2333427

Replying To superbluedub:  "hmmmm ok if you say so it must be true -:)"
Well it wasn't me. It was a wise old sage.

the creeler (Cavan) - Posts: 512 - 03/03/2021 15:04:23    2333428

Replying To ForeverBlue2:  "You could throw €100 million at Leitrim and several other counties and it wouldn't make a bit of difference to their All Ireland hopes... We should have a Senior,Intermediate and Junior structure like there is in Ladies football which works perfectly.. Counties would be competing at their proper level and have something to aim for.... Unfortunately this is never likely to happen because it wound strongly opposed to by the various provincial councils.."
That's ridicules, of course €100,000,000 would win an All-Ireland for Leitrim, not in the first year but for sure within a decade. This is Gaelic football we are talking about, not turning a burger flipper into a rocket scientist.

AfricanGael (UK) - Posts: 1947 - 03/03/2021 15:21:52    2333430