Proposed Hurling Rule Changes

Replying To ZUL10:  "https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GzppaWsbWc0

You dont have to back for the perfect example. 66 to 67th minute of AI final. If your still in any doubt its shown clearer at 68.08. No attempt what so ever to play the ball."
I do agree that was a cynical foul by WOD, which should be punished. A straight red for a foul that cynical no matter what part of the pitch it's on. However, as far as I know the new rule won't change that incident as the clear goal chance wasn't on. There was two limerick defenders plus goal keeper and two waterford attackers between Bennett and the goal?

I'm not exactly sure of the rule that was ratified but the proposed rule was
" In hurling, if a player with a goal-scoring opportunity either inside the 20-metre line or the semi-circular arc that extends from the 20 metre line is pulled down, tripped, or struck with a hurley in a careless manner then a penalty shall be awarded and the offender will be yellow-carded and sent to the sin-bin for 10 minutes. If the foul committed is a second caution or one that merits a red-card then the offender is ordered off for the remainder of the game including any extra-time to be played."

This is my exact reason for not wanting this rule.
1. Define a clear goal scoring chance? So obviously it's at the referees discretion!!!!
2. This is fine with a top ref at inter county level but it will be a disaster at club level. I know in my club there is one ref that is a nightmare.... going back to an incident about 5 years ago when an idiot supporter from our club said something particular personal to him. He will love this rule and the opposing teams will know it too.
3. As you go down to underage and junior games the standard of referees can be terrible. If you're not aware of this then you're an armchair hurling supporter!!

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 07/03/2021 22:49:59    2333684

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "I do agree that was a cynical foul by WOD, which should be punished. A straight red for a foul that cynical no matter what part of the pitch it's on. However, as far as I know the new rule won't change that incident as the clear goal chance wasn't on. There was two limerick defenders plus goal keeper and two waterford attackers between Bennett and the goal?

" In hurling, if a player with a goal-scoring opportunity either inside the 20-metre line or the semi-circular arc that extends from the 20 metre line is pulled down, tripped, or struck with a hurley in a careless manner then a penalty shall be awarded and the offender will be yellow-carded and sent to the sin-bin for 10 minutes. If the foul committed is a second caution or one that merits a red-card then the offender is ordered off for the remainder of the game including any extra-time to be played."

1. Define a clear goal scoring chance? So obviously it's at the referees discretion!!!!
2. This is fine with a top ref at inter county level but it will be a disaster at club level. I know in my club there is one ref that is a nightmare.... going back to an incident about 5 years ago when an idiot supporter from our club said something particular personal to him. He will love this rule and the opposing teams will know it too.
3. As you go down to underage and junior games the standard of referees can be terrible. If you're not aware of this then you're an armchair hurling supporter!!"
We will ever know if a goal would have been scored had WOD not pulled Bennett down. The clear goal scoring chance was not on because he pulled him down first. The blatant pull down in itself makes a statement to the ref that the player thinks this is the only way to stop a goal. The cynical nature of the foul so close to goal is enough for me to assume that a goal scoring chance was on the cards.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 08/03/2021 17:35:13    2333719

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "I do agree that was a cynical foul by WOD, which should be punished. A straight red for a foul that cynical no matter what part of the pitch it's on. However, as far as I know the new rule won't change that incident as the clear goal chance wasn't on. There was two limerick defenders plus goal keeper and two waterford attackers between Bennett and the goal?

3. As you go down to underage and junior games the standard of referees can be terrible. If you're not aware of this then you're an armchair hurling supporter!!"
Your reasons for not wanting the rule are very clear.
Defining a goal chance is I think fairly straight forward in that the player who has the sliotar has a realistic chance of getting a goal because of his proximity to the goal scoring area and has a realistic chance of getting his shot on target.

Referees I think will find this one fairly straight forward to judge.

I cannot speak for the poor ref you have in mind but the local lads here in Carlow are experienced and have good judgement and I would trust them to make the right decision most of the time.

I don't think all referees are going to get all decisions right the whole time.

I think it will take time to bed in and after a year I think the area for consideration for the rule will be extended to the 45.

I think it's a brave rule to introduce but it's the correct thing to do.
I think the game will be better with more goals and will add to the skill level of defenders in trying to legally prevent forwards from scoring goals.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 08/03/2021 20:35:00    2333733

Replying To carlowman:  "Your reasons for not wanting the rule are very clear.
Defining a goal chance is I think fairly straight forward in that the player who has the sliotar has a realistic chance of getting a goal because of his proximity to the goal scoring area and has a realistic chance of getting his shot on target.

I cannot speak for the poor ref you have in mind but the local lads here in Carlow are experienced and have good judgement and I would trust them to make the right decision most of the time.

I think it will take time to bed in and after a year I think the area for consideration for the rule will be extended to the 45.

I think the game will be better with more goals and will add to the skill level of defenders in trying to legally prevent forwards from scoring goals."
One of the most expierianced referees in Carlow could not see that a sideline ball, taken by Darragh O'Donovan, was deflected out wide by a KK player in the 2019 Semi Final, even though he was right in front of the incident. So I am not so sure how good 'the local lads in' Carlow are.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 08/03/2021 21:04:32    2333736

Replying To Canuck:  "Bennett and Hutchison were denied scoring chances by getting pulled back. Yes Hannon's jab has nothing to do with this and was a wrong call, or just missed. That happens. One thing for sure there was nothing alleged about it. It is fact. If Gleeson on the ground holding his testicles is not enough then you are truly wearing blinkers."
Canuck. I have just sat back and watched the All Ireland Final again. Firstly, as another contributor noted, Declan Hannon did not jab Austin Gleeson in the privates- it was Dan Morrissey and it did not look at all deliberate. You really should double check your facts before you besmirch the name of a fine sportsman. I am surprised at you, as you are usually a fair and informed contributor.
Now let me say if Limerick were to lose the All Ireland I would be the first to congratulate the Decies men, as they represent a fine hurling county that should have won a lot more and at least one All Ireland since 2000. I was particularly impressed with the dignity John Mullane showed when not appealing his suspension in 2004. When you see how quick Cork and Kilkenny were to get suspensions imposed on Horgan and Shefflin overturned, you wonder why Waterford did not try harder to get Mullanes red card reversed.
Having said all that ,the Final showed that Cahill has work to do to get the last ounce of that team. I appreciate that the loss of Tagh De Burca was huge and there are some other players to come back. However on viewing the game again it is clear several Limerick players seem to have the measure of their opponents and some major Waterford players did not play to their undoubted potential on the day. There in lies the reason they lost and I do feel the 'dirty play' argument is much overplayed.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 08/03/2021 22:19:49    2333739

I think the game will be better with more goals and will add to the skill level of defenders in trying to legally prevent forwards from scoring goals."
I just think that a penalty and a black card is too harsh. Especially considering the amount of grass that is involved and the amount of discretion forced upon referees with this rule. I just think a straight red for a deliberate pull down or trip would sort it out. There is no place in the game for that.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 08/03/2021 22:29:14    2333740

I agree. There really are some silly arguments against penalizing cynical fouling to prevent a goal getting scored. There will be some subjective calls but if you were to shy away from making a rule because some may be got wrong then there would be a lot of rules to get rid of. Non more subjective than the hand pass. Say 95% of the calls are right is that not a good trade off. The players have the solution in their own hands (forgive the punt) and learn to defend with blocking and hooking. I was watching the 1973 final recently and Pat Lawlor blocked a shot twice on the same play. Incidentally take a look at the points Eamon Grimes,Richie Bennis, Cregan, Paddy Delanley and others scored in that game. They were as good as any scored today. Some out on the side line.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 09/03/2021 00:33:37    2333746

Replying To Canuck:  "I agree. There really are some silly arguments against penalizing cynical fouling to prevent a goal getting scored. There will be some subjective calls but if you were to shy away from making a rule because some may be got wrong then there would be a lot of rules to get rid of. Non more subjective than the hand pass. Say 95% of the calls are right is that not a good trade off. The players have the solution in their own hands (forgive the punt) and learn to defend with blocking and hooking. I was watching the 1973 final recently and Pat Lawlor blocked a shot twice on the same play. Incidentally take a look at the points Eamon Grimes,Richie Bennis, Cregan, Paddy Delanley and others scored in that game. They were as good as any scored today. Some out on the side line."
Yes indeed Canuck. I remember many fine long range points being scored in the seventies. I think the reason there are more of them scored today is that players work very hard to get the final ball to a player who has worked himself into a position where he is standing all alone and well placed to finish the movement. This happy outcome is often the result of a huge work rate and shrewd distribution of the ball. As regards hooking and blocking, I read somewhere it was first used in the 1897 All Ireland Final- so it has been around a long time

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 09/03/2021 10:03:20    2333750

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "I just think that a penalty and a black card is too harsh. Especially considering the amount of grass that is involved and the amount of discretion forced upon referees with this rule. I just think a straight red for a deliberate pull down or trip would sort it out. There is no place in the game for that."
I think the penalty is correct when a scoring chance is denied. No ambiguity about it. If it is a pull back, a trip, pulling the hurley. In other words any foul that stops a one on one with the goalie no matter how far from goal that is. There is a difference with creating a scoring chance and a scoring chance.
Already we have people trying to dig a hole for it. I have very little time for flashing cards like valentine's day. Number one if it is with a minute to go it means nothing. If it is in the first minute why are you trying to kill off the game as part of the punishment. Give him a yellow and the penalty and if he repeats send him off. The manager will have pulled him off long before that happens. John Moloney was the best referee of all time and he had no cards. Spoke to the players and often had them in the book without stopping play. Yes the game is different but I believe he would be as effective today.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 09/03/2021 14:11:04    2333769

Replying To Oldtourman:  "One of the most expierianced referees in Carlow could not see that a sideline ball, taken by Darragh O'Donovan, was deflected out wide by a KK player in the 2019 Semi Final, even though he was right in front of the incident. So I am not so sure how good 'the local lads in' Carlow are."
I remember the incident very well too !
Neither umpire or the ref saw the incident either !
I spoke to a few Kilkenny men and 2 Limerick people who were at the game and the first they became aware of it was in the car on the way home when the radio alerted them. They were in various stands.
Fair play to Limerick....they left it...
Every county has incidents that were not seen like Laois players who were convinced that Offaly hit the side netting on Hill 16 side but the Offaly lads roared the goal, the umpire put up the green flag and Offaly were on their way to their great run to winning Leinster and All Ireland!
As you know yourself, sometimes the closer you are to the action, the more you miss.
But, I do have confidence in referees to be able to judge the new rules and implement them.
Of course there may be inconsistencies, but that is the nature of a field sport where there is a lot of physical contact.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 09/03/2021 17:02:55    2333776

Replying To Canuck:  "I think the penalty is correct when a scoring chance is denied. No ambiguity about it. If it is a pull back, a trip, pulling the hurley. In other words any foul that stops a one on one with the goalie no matter how far from goal that is. There is a difference with creating a scoring chance and a scoring chance.
Already we have people trying to dig a hole for it. I have very little time for flashing cards like valentine's day. Number one if it is with a minute to go it means nothing. If it is in the first minute why are you trying to kill off the game as part of the punishment. Give him a yellow and the penalty and if he repeats send him off. The manager will have pulled him off long before that happens. John Moloney was the best referee of all time and he had no cards. Spoke to the players and often had them in the book without stopping play. Yes the game is different but I believe he would be as effective today."
I think each game this year will be well worth watching even if it's just to watch how defenders deal with forwards and how forwards attack for a goal.
I suspect that forwards will tear in for goals every chance they get.
I think that will change how games are played, will add extra goal opportunities and will change the type of ball going into full forwards. I hope that managers get players to out ball into the forwards and expect them to go for goals when opportunities arise.
Pressure will be on defenders if a forward gets inside the 20m nline. But what will happen outside the 20m line when a forward has possession and is going for goaks... will the defender foul ?

I think it's a major statement from Congress that they recognise that cynical fouling is a problem and they want it dealt with. As for managers, let's see will they actually take off defenders on a yellow...
Let's watch as well the number of managers who put referees under pressure over the next few months also!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 09/03/2021 17:48:26    2333780

Replying To carlowman:  "I think each game this year will be well worth watching even if it's just to watch how defenders deal with forwards and how forwards attack for a goal.
I suspect that forwards will tear in for goals every chance they get.
I think that will change how games are played, will add extra goal opportunities and will change the type of ball going into full forwards. I hope that managers get players to out ball into the forwards and expect them to go for goals when opportunities arise.
Pressure will be on defenders if a forward gets inside the 20m nline. But what will happen outside the 20m line when a forward has possession and is going for goaks... will the defender foul ?

I think it's a major statement from Congress that they recognise that cynical fouling is a problem and they want it dealt with. As for managers, let's see will they actually take off defenders on a yellow...
Let's watch as well the number of managers who put referees under pressure over the next few months also!"
The problem I see with both games is there is practical no legal tackle. If the forward is bearing down on the back he has to let him go and get him from the side or behind. I know people will cringe at this but I would allow a frontal shoulder provided it is not to the head and the feet are planted no jumping into the guy. If there is a worry of injury let them wear chest protection.
Gleeson got a yellow card for a shoulder to shoulder hit in the All-Ireland. He was coming the opposite way. He got in trouble again in a club for a good hit just because the receiver went down hurt. You would not want to be playing against Frank Cummins. It was like getting hit by a runaway train. Ask Mossy Walsh. He was as tall as Frank but not as strong. Frank would drill him fairly every game they played against each other.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 09/03/2021 18:55:21    2333781

Replying To carlowman:  "I remember the incident very well too !
I spoke to a few Kilkenny men and 2 Limerick people who were at the game and the first they became aware of it was in the car on the way home when the radio alerted them. They were in various stands.
Every county has incidents that were not seen like Laois players who were convinced that Offaly hit the side netting on Hill 16 side but the Offaly lads roared the goal, the umpire put up the green flag and Offaly were on their way to their great run to winning Leinster and All Ireland!
As you know yourself, sometimes the closer you are to the action, the more you miss.
But, I do have confidence in referees to be able to judge the new rules and implement them.
Of course there may be inconsistencies, but that is the nature of a field sport where there is a lot of physical contact."
Well my friend and I saw it clearly and we were at least forty yards away and we are both old men. The fact there was two umpires, a referee and a linesmen, the latter who was within feet of the incident, tells it all. In fairness I think it was overall the umpires responsibity to see it overall, but the linesman was very near it also. Add to this the fact that if a point was wrongly signaled from the prospective sideline cut Hawkeye could and indeed would intervene. I simply do not share your confidence in Officials. I remember the Offaly incident, what happened was the sliotar went in through a hole in the net, on the wrong side of the upright and of course ended up in the net. In fairness, I think it was harder to see than the '19 incident. Ironically in the following years Leinster Final a ball which appeared to be wide was knocked back into play and finished to the net by a Kilkenny man. The mistake probably deprived Offaly of the double.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 09/03/2021 20:28:12    2333785

Replying To carlowman:  "I remember the incident very well too !
Of course there may be inconsistencies, but that is the nature of a field sport where there is a lot of physical contact."
I would add that I do not blame any official for losing that game. We missed too many chances and for once our bench made some very poor decisions.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 09/03/2021 20:31:31    2333786

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Well my friend and I saw it clearly and we were at least forty yards away and we are both old men. The fact there was two umpires, a referee and a linesmen, the latter who was within feet of the incident, tells it all. In fairness I think it was overall the umpires responsibity to see it overall, but the linesman was very near it also. Add to this the fact that if a point was wrongly signaled from the prospective sideline cut Hawkeye could and indeed would intervene. I simply do not share your confidence in Officials. I remember the Offaly incident, what happened was the sliotar went in through a hole in the net, on the wrong side of the upright and of course ended up in the net. In fairness, I think it was harder to see than the '19 incident. Ironically in the following years Leinster Final a ball which appeared to be wide was knocked back into play and finished to the net by a Kilkenny man. The mistake probably deprived Offaly of the double."
The referee was not to blame for this one. The umpires (a species that needs to be done away with soon by technology) are watching the posts.The lines man should have been behind the taker and seen the ball change direction. The ref has all the responsibility while six other game officials collectively have less. Get rid of some off them and put two refs or else get them to take more responsibility. It was disappointing that when the Limerick players protested that a deflection had occurred that the ref did not give more time investigating.
We don't know for certain how it would have ending with the correct call. However I would have gave at least two to one on a bet that Limerick would have progressed and probably now be a three in a row winner.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2660 - 09/03/2021 22:42:17    2333790

Replying To Canuck:  "The referee was not to blame for this one. The umpires (a species that needs to be done away with soon by technology) are watching the posts.The lines man should have been behind the taker and seen the ball change direction. The ref has all the responsibility while six other game officials collectively have less. Get rid of some off them and put two refs or else get them to take more responsibility. It was disappointing that when the Limerick players protested that a deflection had occurred that the ref did not give more time investigating.
We don't know for certain how it would have ending with the correct call. However I would have gave at least two to one on a bet that Limerick would have progressed and probably now be a three in a row winner."
Yes Canuck and to add to all that the player that blocked the side line cut was clearly too near the striker. However that game was lost chiefly by ourselves, both on and off the field.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 10/03/2021 11:31:02    2333802

I sometimes wonder what I read on this board.

A few years ago, I was playing in a county final and got through on goal. 2 points down. By the time I got near the 14 yard line, I had 2 hurls thrown at me, 1 of which hit me in the neck and the other hooked my hurl. By the time I gathered the ball again as it skewed sideways, there was 2-3 lads who wrestled me to the ground outside the square so it was a free in. Free saved, game over.

I don't care if it is up to the referee or a TMO or the umpire or whoever to adjudicate whether its a goal scoring opportunity or not. The referee makes borderline calls throughout the match and this one is no different. But the cynical element of the game has to be taken out of the game. There are dark arts in the game since day 0 but now the dark arts are diving, use of the spare hand and pulling the opponent down to allow the defence to be ready to stifle any attack.

I would actually go 1 step further and say if it happens in the last 5 minutes or injury time it is a straight red.

I watched a few old matches lately on TV and while there was no shortage of pulling and wild play at times by all involved, I did think that a player through on goal was attempted to be stopped by winning the ball, not just pulling him down.

I don't see this as any reflection on any county to be fair. I think every county now knows well when to foul and if they don't more the fool they. But do we really want 60 points in a match and 25-30 of them to be frees? As a player, the stop start game is really ruining the game.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 10/03/2021 12:24:35    2333805

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I sometimes wonder what I read on this board.

A few years ago, I was playing in a county final and got through on goal. 2 points down. By the time I got near the 14 yard line, I had 2 hurls thrown at me, 1 of which hit me in the neck and the other hooked my hurl. By the time I gathered the ball again as it skewed sideways, there was 2-3 lads who wrestled me to the ground outside the square so it was a free in. Free saved, game over.

I don't care if it is up to the referee or a TMO or the umpire or whoever to adjudicate whether its a goal scoring opportunity or not. The referee makes borderline calls throughout the match and this one is no different. But the cynical element of the game has to be taken out of the game. There are dark arts in the game since day 0 but now the dark arts are diving, use of the spare hand and pulling the opponent down to allow the defence to be ready to stifle any attack.

I would actually go 1 step further and say if it happens in the last 5 minutes or injury time it is a straight red.

I watched a few old matches lately on TV and while there was no shortage of pulling and wild play at times by all involved, I did think that a player through on goal was attempted to be stopped by winning the ball, not just pulling him down.

I don't see this as any reflection on any county to be fair. I think every county now knows well when to foul and if they don't more the fool they. But do we really want 60 points in a match and 25-30 of them to be frees? As a player, the stop start game is really ruining the game."
The only thing I'd take issue with in your comment is "now the dark arts are diving, use of the spare hand and pulling the opponent down to allow the defence to be ready to stifle any attack. I would actually go 1 step further and say if it happens in the last 5 minutes or injury time it is a straight red."

A foul is foul whatever time it happens during a game, whether in the first minute or the last, and the punishment should be the same. Pulling an opponent down in the first minute of the game to stop a scoring chance, can and will effect the final score.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2466 - 10/03/2021 13:45:52    2333810

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I sometimes wonder what I read on this board.

I don't see this as any reflection on any county to be fair. I think every county now knows well when to foul and if they don't more the fool they. But do we really want 60 points in a match and 25-30 of them to be frees? As a player, the stop start game is really ruining the game."
I wonder what is the big deal about the sixty points thing. We were always told that if you took your points the goals would look after themselves. Forwards who frequently score points from outfield have not developed that skill by accident. It usually demands good combination, huge mobility and obviously much practice to get it right and on any given day the tactic may go wrong, as we Limerick people saw in'19 when our boys hit 16 wides against Kilkenny. Remember that back in 1999 Cork and Killenny scored a total of 25 points between them in another goalless final. In last years final forty nine points were scored, with 33 of them coming from play, many of those spectacular efforts.. Both goalies were tested on the day, but ably assisted by their defenses they stood up to the challenge. I would also say that against Galway in the Semi Final when Limerick were five or six points up, they started going for goals and failing to get them could have lost the game. They were not going to repeat the same mistake in the final.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4321 - 10/03/2021 19:51:16    2333840

Oldtourman, you are right but to be fair the only role of a goalkeeper in the modern game is to puck the ball out. The defence generally look after any goal scoring opportunity if they are worth their salt.
cockney_cat that is true to be fair. It should be the same sanction throughout.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 13/03/2021 09:30:22    2334059