Brian Cody 23rd Season

Conor Phelan has been added to the Kilkenny backroom team to replace DJ Carey can't say I know a lot about him.

Maroonforever (Galway) - Posts: 414 - 20/01/2021 16:40:48    2328237

Replying To gatha:  "Cody has done the next manager a great favor by staying on a few years after his last All Ireland win. The talent isn't there right now and if a new manager came in say in '16 or '17 they would have been under severe pressure to win with a team that isn't a top 4 team. Now when the next manager does come in the supporters will probably a bit more understanding. I know Cody isn't thinking like this, He is surely trying to win the 2021 All Ireland that's what made him great the never give in attitude."
Not sure I take that from it TBH.

The one out and out star on the team currently is TJ Reid (Eoin Murphy accepted) and IMO he's only another year or two at the peak of his powers and he will probably carry the burden for Kilkenny whilst they rebuild and rebuild they must.
I think that a new man with new ideas on the modern game would like to do that now with TJ still there as Cody, the greatest manager in my lifetime and beyond needs to step down.

Time and hurling waits for no man and whilst the doggedness of Kilkenny certainly won them a Leinster title they'd no right to win in 2020 they are between styles and when the pressure comes on like it did against Galway they lumped high ball up to TJ now operating closer to the goals and got lucky with Daithi Burke slipping and the Galway keeper being less than forceful when coming out.

They were cleaned out by Waterford in the second half when they reverted to type yet again by lumping high, long ball into the forwards. Same the end of the 2019 AI final v Tipp and made a hero of Barry Heffernan.
If they ever meet Limerick in 2021 in anger then I'm expecting Limerick to exact a serious revenge on them for the beatings they've taken over the 00's and 10's.

Kilkenny need a new style and they know it

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 20/01/2021 16:45:31    2328241

Replying To bricktop:  "Not sure I take that from it TBH.

The one out and out star on the team currently is TJ Reid (Eoin Murphy accepted) and IMO he's only another year or two at the peak of his powers and he will probably carry the burden for Kilkenny whilst they rebuild and rebuild they must.
I think that a new man with new ideas on the modern game would like to do that now with TJ still there as Cody, the greatest manager in my lifetime and beyond needs to step down.

Time and hurling waits for no man and whilst the doggedness of Kilkenny certainly won them a Leinster title they'd no right to win in 2020 they are between styles and when the pressure comes on like it did against Galway they lumped high ball up to TJ now operating closer to the goals and got lucky with Daithi Burke slipping and the Galway keeper being less than forceful when coming out.

They were cleaned out by Waterford in the second half when they reverted to type yet again by lumping high, long ball into the forwards. Same the end of the 2019 AI final v Tipp and made a hero of Barry Heffernan.
If they ever meet Limerick in 2021 in anger then I'm expecting Limerick to exact a serious revenge on them for the beatings they've taken over the 00's and 10's.

Kilkenny need a new style and they know it"
Kilkenny certainly owe Limerick no hidings, they were well capable of dishing out revenge to all counties in the past, Limerick are deserving champions, and if anything Limerick owe Kilkenny from the "65" that wasnt awarded at end of semifinal in 2019...Kilkenny have and always seem to have had good fortune over the years (ball over the sideline V Tipp in one of the All Irelands some years ago, not spotted, Tipp hesitated thinking ball would be waved out, never happened, either Eddie Brennan or Shefflin got a goal (they got 2 quick goals not sure I Think Brennans was first)....so Kilkenny need not feel grieved by any result....Tommy Walsh swinging the hurl at the Tipp player and hitting the referee....sorry..off you go Tommy was what should have happend instead of "he wasnt swinging the hurl at the referee" when he hit him... you swung the hurl, not even during a phase of play but during a melee....leave it so...Seamus Hickey taken out at start of 2007 AI final...LImerick midfielder in 2019 also flattened early on in the that game....

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 20/01/2021 17:41:55    2328248

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "I think your right on two fronts, Cody as we know is a ruthless manager, and I think, Ger Aylward, and Fennelly and even Murphy were picking up vibes that they were not going to feature this year and got their "oar" in first if you know what I mean. I know we are in unprecedented times, but I cannot remember a Kilkenny player taking time out before (I know someone will come on and tell me of one or two but in recent years "times outs" are not a Kilkenny thing that i read about anyway...Cody dispensed with Philly Larkin, Eamon Kennedy (man of the match in 2000 against us) and other notable names along the way, Charlie Carter too there was "in and out" and "whats the story" etc. around him that time too...I do think the end game for Cody has probably arrived, he is being left in situ which is fair enough if thats what the County Board want, but while not betting man, ide say alot of these opt outs and there will be more to follow are connected to Cody staying on....Shefflin and Eddie Brenan are probably loyal to Cody and wont present for the managers job until he says he is going himself...thats my tuppence on it..some hurlers going there that would get on most county team..pity to see...Ger Aylward only 28..."
Yeah I agree, you never see Kilkenny players taking a year out like other counties . They get one chance to play and that's that. Imagine going up to Cody and telling him you want to go travelling for the year and you'll be back. Good luck. Can't see Fennelly coming back in under Cody.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1895 - 20/01/2021 20:14:20    2328257

Replying To Bon:  "Yeah I agree, you never see Kilkenny players taking a year out like other counties . They get one chance to play and that's that. Imagine going up to Cody and telling him you want to go travelling for the year and you'll be back. Good luck. Can't see Fennelly coming back in under Cody."
I see a few of the star Waterford under age players back for Waterford this year, announced yesterday, DJ Foran being one whom was a star underage and I think featured briefly before Liam Cahill took charge...they have a few injuries still, Pauraic Mahony and Darragh Fives etc...what a pity Phillip Mahony wont opt in..he might be the missing link in way...Shane Bennett also back..again..a huge lift..if only they could get Phillip Mahony now and one or two others possibly...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 21/01/2021 12:27:22    2328301

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "I see a few of the star Waterford under age players back for Waterford this year, announced yesterday, DJ Foran being one whom was a star underage and I think featured briefly before Liam Cahill took charge...they have a few injuries still, Pauraic Mahony and Darragh Fives etc...what a pity Phillip Mahony wont opt in..he might be the missing link in way...Shane Bennett also back..again..a huge lift..if only they could get Phillip Mahony now and one or two others possibly..."
Yes indeed. I had high hopes for Waterford this year, especially after Austin Gleeson's statement of intent, and was not a bit surprised they as well as they did. I genuinely think there is more in them.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4315 - 21/01/2021 15:29:53    2328344

Replying To gatha:  "Cody has done the next manager a great favor by staying on a few years after his last All Ireland win. The talent isn't there right now and if a new manager came in say in '16 or '17 they would have been under severe pressure to win with a team that isn't a top 4 team. Now when the next manager does come in the supporters will probably a bit more understanding. I know Cody isn't thinking like this, He is surely trying to win the 2021 All Ireland that's what made him great the never give in attitude."
i know a lot of kilkenny people who think this way.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 22/01/2021 10:00:53    2328438

Not sure if it is jut being "sensationalised" in the absence of propper news, but I am reading in some quarters Colin Fennelys year out being called "retirement"...thats the first I read of it being a retirement...anyone else on here read/hear similar?

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 27/01/2021 09:27:54    2329108

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Not sure if it is jut being "sensationalised" in the absence of propper news, but I am reading in some quarters Colin Fennelys year out being called "retirement"...thats the first I read of it being a retirement...anyone else on here read/hear similar?"
This interesting piece below, refers to "retirement". I suppose the big question is, will he make himself available for selection again after his season out of county hurling? Or more to the point, would Cody pick him next season? Or even more to the point, will Cody be in charge this time next year?

Is Colin Fennelly's retirement a sign that Brian Cody is running out of time?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2443 - 27/01/2021 13:20:30    2329150

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "This interesting piece below, refers to "retirement". I suppose the big question is, will he make himself available for selection again after his season out of county hurling? Or more to the point, would Cody pick him next season? Or even more to the point, will Cody be in charge this time next year?

Is Colin Fennelly's retirement a sign that Brian Cody is running out of time?

link"
As Johnny Nash once sang 'There Are More Questions Than Answers'.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2443 - 27/01/2021 17:40:59    2329195

I would safely say it is a retirement. There is very little chance of taking a year off at 31 or 32 you would be able to get back to speed. If Cody hurt Fennelly's feelings by leaving him off so be it. Better players then Fennelly were left off but took their demotion and put their heads down and came back. He needs to look no further the Richie Hogan. Kilkenny are short of talent right now and Eddie Brennan or Henry Shefflin are not going to change that. Like I posted before when Kilkenny beat Limerick in the Semi-final the year before last it was called by many as Cody's greatest victory now 12 months later the game has passed him by?

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 27/01/2021 18:50:11    2329206

Replying To gatha:  "I would safely say it is a retirement. There is very little chance of taking a year off at 31 or 32 you would be able to get back to speed. If Cody hurt Fennelly's feelings by leaving him off so be it. Better players then Fennelly were left off but took their demotion and put their heads down and came back. He needs to look no further the Richie Hogan. Kilkenny are short of talent right now and Eddie Brennan or Henry Shefflin are not going to change that. Like I posted before when Kilkenny beat Limerick in the Semi-final the year before last it was called by many as Cody's greatest victory now 12 months later the game has passed him by?"
ah alot of players better than Fennellyly were left out and never came back too...Philly Larkin, Eamon Kennedy, Charlie Carter to name a few...most other counties who dont have the pick Kilkenny to just dispose of such talent if they go against the grain and often have have to go down the mediation road and get players back (fair enough maybe not so much now but definitely in the past)...its easy dispose of someone if you have a carbon copy on the line, or a player like Tommy Walsh who was an excellent wing forward and presto moves back half back and excels there too..again..not too many (if any) counties have that option..all very well dropping lads and winning the next year, if you loose, then it a dangerous and unforgiving for any any manager...I have to admit I had to check Colin Fennellys age, as I couldnt believe he was 31 going on 32..the years fly around..Lordy me I was thinking he was 27/28 or so...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 29/01/2021 16:24:32    2329577

Replying To gatha:  "I would safely say it is a retirement. There is very little chance of taking a year off at 31 or 32 you would be able to get back to speed. If Cody hurt Fennelly's feelings by leaving him off so be it. Better players then Fennelly were left off but took their demotion and put their heads down and came back. He needs to look no further the Richie Hogan. Kilkenny are short of talent right now and Eddie Brennan or Henry Shefflin are not going to change that. Like I posted before when Kilkenny beat Limerick in the Semi-final the year before last it was called by many as Cody's greatest victory now 12 months later the game has passed him by?"
Excellent post... watching from over the border ,its hard to see Fennelly coming back or being brought back if he puts himself forward for next year as I think Coady will see him as having left the panel and being slightly petulant for not starting v Waterford. I dont think Cody would have been too happy with his response to being dropped from the starting team v Waterford.
It's also very difficult to come back after a year out especially for a player in his 30's.
And I agree with you, Cody defeating Limerick, was a massive achievement and while Kilkenny have not the same talent as previous years, Cody gets the best out of players. Another Leinster in 2020 !!!
Limerick are a serious team and rightly learned from 2019 and powered their way to victory after victory but they have a bit to go to match teams of the past but their ability and 'togetherness'is impressive and will be there for a while.

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1819 - 29/01/2021 17:52:38    2329591

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "ah alot of players better than Fennellyly were left out and never came back too...Philly Larkin, Eamon Kennedy, Charlie Carter to name a few...most other counties who dont have the pick Kilkenny to just dispose of such talent if they go against the grain and often have have to go down the mediation road and get players back (fair enough maybe not so much now but definitely in the past)...its easy dispose of someone if you have a carbon copy on the line, or a player like Tommy Walsh who was an excellent wing forward and presto moves back half back and excels there too..again..not too many (if any) counties have that option..all very well dropping lads and winning the next year, if you loose, then it a dangerous and unforgiving for any any manager...I have to admit I had to check Colin Fennellys age, as I couldnt believe he was 31 going on 32..the years fly around..Lordy me I was thinking he was 27/28 or so..."
"ah alot of players better than Fennellyly were left out and never came back too...Philly Larkin, Eamon Kennedy, Charlie Carter to name a few"

Larkin, Kennedy and Carter were not 'better' players than Fennelly. Now name all the other players who were better, since you say these three were "to name a few"?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2443 - 29/01/2021 18:12:22    2329595

Replying To carlowman:  "Excellent post... watching from over the border ,its hard to see Fennelly coming back or being brought back if he puts himself forward for next year as I think Coady will see him as having left the panel and being slightly petulant for not starting v Waterford. I dont think Cody would have been too happy with his response to being dropped from the starting team v Waterford.
It's also very difficult to come back after a year out especially for a player in his 30's.
And I agree with you, Cody defeating Limerick, was a massive achievement and while Kilkenny have not the same talent as previous years, Cody gets the best out of players. Another Leinster in 2020 !!!
Limerick are a serious team and rightly learned from 2019 and powered their way to victory after victory but they have a bit to go to match teams of the past but their ability and 'togetherness'is impressive and will be there for a while."
When reid retires they will be very ordinary. There'll be great energy around shefflin or brennan taking over but they simply won't have the players.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 29/01/2021 18:56:14    2329599

Replying To gahfan:  "When reid retires they will be very ordinary. There'll be great energy around shefflin or brennan taking over but they simply won't have the players."
What's "very ordinary"? Is it like Wexford?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2443 - 29/01/2021 21:41:34    2329630

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "What's "very ordinary"? Is it like Wexford?"
Well I am a realist and not under any illusions as to our level.
Yourself? I think with fennelly taking a break/retiring and when hogan and more importantly reid retire ye will be fairly ordinary.
Unless there are loads of great players coming through. Word is the underage has been neglected a bit.
Dalo is always saying ye have no pace. Not sure if that's necessarily true.
Anyway ye were at the top long enough. Would be good to see it spread around a bit.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 30/01/2021 00:05:57    2329642

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""ah alot of players better than Fennellyly were left out and never came back too...Philly Larkin, Eamon Kennedy, Charlie Carter to name a few"

Larkin, Kennedy and Carter were not 'better' players than Fennelly. Now name all the other players who were better, since you say these three were "to name a few"?"
Eddie Brennan, TJ Reid are 2 that were on and off the Kilkenny first 15 in past years. Eddie didn't start a game in 2011 until the final. TJ couldn't nail down a starting spot when he started out. Fennelly was often on before him. The point is it happens to a lot of players it is Fennelly's choice to move on he was a great player for a long time but this is the cycle of a players career. He owes Kilkenny nothing and Cody owes him nothing.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 30/01/2021 12:54:26    2329696

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "What's "very ordinary"? Is it like Wexford?"
Yes!

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 30/01/2021 16:17:48    2329727

Replying To gatha:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""ah alot of players better than Fennellyly were left out and never came back too...Philly Larkin, Eamon Kennedy, Charlie Carter to name a few"

Larkin, Kennedy and Carter were not 'better' players than Fennelly. Now name all the other players who were better, since you say these three were "to name a few"?"
Eddie Brennan, TJ Reid are 2 that were on and off the Kilkenny first 15 in past years. Eddie didn't start a game in 2011 until the final. TJ couldn't nail down a starting spot when he started out. Fennelly was often on before him. The point is it happens to a lot of players it is Fennelly's choice to move on he was a great player for a long time but this is the cycle of a players career. He owes Kilkenny nothing and Cody owes him nothing."
For sure. He destroyed us with goals more times than I can remember. But I'm not sure he suits the way the game in general is going. Alot more is expected from inside forwards these days than scoring goals. In fact sad to say goals themselves dont seem to be as important any more.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11695 - 30/01/2021 16:20:32    2329729