Kevin Cassidy On Laochra Gael

I always admired Cassidy, a great player, a strenght of character in him that is admirable. Everything I read about him, heard about him was confirmed on a brilliant final Laochra Gael.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 08/01/2021 19:34:01    2326692

I always thought he was one of the toughest players and a real leader on the pitch, however his story last night was heart wrenching.
He should have been allowed play in 2012.
A slap on the wrist would have done. Think Jim Mc Guinness had an ego and Cassidy was about protecting his head for the sake of his family.
It must have been hard to watch them winning when he had done so.much the year before when the hard work was done and the seeds were sown.

border Gael (Monaghan) - Posts: 894 - 08/01/2021 20:00:44    2326694

A pity himself and jim weren't able to come to an agreement after the book.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 08/01/2021 20:36:17    2326700

Excellent show well done to Kevin and well done to TG4 on a brilliant show as always.

Can someone help me out with a non football query I have about last nights programme , at the end of the show there was a cover version of teardrop by massive attack and does anyone know who was covering it? I went on YouTube and can't find it but the voice is very familiar.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/01/2021 22:01:15    2326723

I always admired Kevin as a footballer but I also really admire him as a person.I felt sorry for him over the All Ireland win in 12 and still do but I must say he comes across as a genuine good guy.As a player he was an outstanding defender but I also loved watching him play full forward for his club Gaoith dobhar in his latter years.Laochra Gael is a smashing programme by TG4.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 08/01/2021 22:04:17    2326726

Replying To border Gael:  "I always thought he was one of the toughest players and a real leader on the pitch, however his story last night was heart wrenching.
A slap on the wrist would have done. Think Jim Mc Guinness had an ego and Cassidy was about protecting his head for the sake of his family.
It must have been hard to watch them winning when he had done so.much the year before when the hard work was done and the seeds were sown."
In fairness he came across as having no regrets, but I am sure deep down that hurt. But isnt it wonderful the way his club and community rallied around him? And he got an All Ireland medal in the end.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 08/01/2021 22:14:30    2326730

Lads TG4 is a credit to our airwaves and has in truth a better grà for the Irish language - I often quoted my love of various Irish programmes and Seô Spoirt was brilliant under Dara O'Cinneide.

Laochra Gael is on twenty years old which is mad... but lads the station is a credit to our nation.

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 08/01/2021 22:19:58    2326734

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Excellent show well done to Kevin and well done to TG4 on a brilliant show as always.

Can someone help me out with a non football query I have about last nights programme , at the end of the show there was a cover version of teardrop by massive attack and does anyone know who was covering it? I went on YouTube and can't find it but the voice is very familiar."
Pretty sure it was José Gonzalez. Cracking song alright.

Here it is on YouTube. .

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 08/01/2021 23:34:40    2326748

That point he scored against kildare was in Croker was pure class.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1908 - 08/01/2021 23:58:46    2326750

Brilliant player, real pity how his career ended. He should have been there in 2012.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 09/01/2021 00:09:12    2326751

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Excellent show well done to Kevin and well done to TG4 on a brilliant show as always.

Can someone help me out with a non football query I have about last nights programme , at the end of the show there was a cover version of teardrop by massive attack and does anyone know who was covering it? I went on YouTube and can't find it but the voice is very familiar."
Went looking for that cover of the song myself after the show. I think it's by Jose Gonzalez. He had a song called heartbeats used on an ad for something years ago.

Greenfield (Meath) - Posts: 522 - 09/01/2021 00:41:04    2326752

It's the José González cover as far as I know.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_6rIks03cdM

greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 427 - 09/01/2021 01:42:01    2326755

I may look it up too, great version of the song and brilliant show last night, never knew of his links to Glasgow, what he did with his Ulster medal is a mark of the man.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 09/01/2021 02:06:32    2326756

Wexico15 Greatpoint Greenfield and Cavanman47 thanks for yer help lads, it's rare that a cover version catches my attention but that was excellent.

Kevin has a great out look on life and is a strong character seems well able to park issues and start again fair play to him.

Seeing him setting up the bar in Teach Michí really made me miss my own local but hopefully by the summer we'll all be back out scutting again.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/01/2021 10:32:58    2326766

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Lads TG4 is a credit to our airwaves and has in truth a better grà for the Irish language - I often quoted my love of various Irish programmes and Seô Spoirt was brilliant under Dara O'Cinneide.

Laochra Gael is on twenty years old which is mad... but lads the station is a credit to our nation."
I have to agree, love their programming. A station that can make a documentary on the history of Massey Ferguson tractors interesting to a city lad is something special.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 09/01/2021 11:40:14    2326768

I genuinely believe that he has no regrets. He was an excellent servant for donegal. A lose cannon though. He was disciplined by McGiver in 2006 which resulted in him walking off the team for a summer of football in the USA.
I think he was our best player in 2011. His performance v Tyrone in the semi final kept us in the game.
Hard to believe it is 10 years ago now since he played for the county. Anyway, mighty footballer and a great servant for donegal too.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 09/01/2021 11:58:22    2326770

Was a great player. Probably more popular outside his county than within it. The lack of former teammates from club and county who didn't take part in the programme tells a story.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7891 - 09/01/2021 12:56:37    2326776

Replying To border Gael:  "I always thought he was one of the toughest players and a real leader on the pitch, however his story last night was heart wrenching.
It must have been hard to watch them winning when he had done so.much the year before when the hard work was done and the seeds were sown."
A truly great player and person but in fairness he did step out of line writing a book behind there backs.
Giving the lack of discipline the team had prior to Jim's arrival he was left with no other choice.
He did ask him back but by then he had lost interest. Sad way to end with county but he made some back with his club winning ulster.

Crossgaa (Mayo) - Posts: 553 - 09/01/2021 14:05:05    2326783

McGuiness overreacted which wasn't rare for him. Didn't he refuse to do the press conference after the 2012 All Ireland Final because Declan Bogue was in the room and it was still about the book written in the previous year? Also he accused Stephen Gollogy of a dirty challenge in the 2013 Ulster Final when he simply wanted the ball more.
Cassidy comes off well in the programme. The revelation that he was asked back in 2012 damages McGuinness' credibility. McGee's don't come off great but in fairness they were in a very difficult situation.

FootblockREF (Monaghan) - Posts: 563 - 09/01/2021 14:06:27    2326784

Replying To Horsebox77:  "Lads TG4 is a credit to our airwaves and has in truth a better grà for the Irish language - I often quoted my love of various Irish programmes and Seô Spoirt was brilliant under Dara O'Cinneide.

Laochra Gael is on twenty years old which is mad... but lads the station is a credit to our nation."
Need to bring back foreign films on a Friday night though, used to love watching all this unique films in my teens in a dark bedroom.

Also, they could do with putting more programmes in the graveyard shift, rather than showing France 24 as much as they do

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 09/01/2021 14:29:42    2326786