Lesser Names We Neutrals Forget - Yet They Are Winners

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "Brian Kelly -Kerry keeper in 2014 retired this week, I had to scratch my head to think who he was, Brian Kelly is goals for Kerry?????..then I looked him up, yeah got him now...some years ago someone asked who remembers Kevin Nolan playing for Dublin...and he did...no disrespect to anyone just showing the turn over of players in all counties how some good player retire relatively unnoticed outside their own county..."
Over on the kerry page before Christmas I mentioned Paddy Curtin who played for us back in 2012 and 2013 he scored a lovely point against Donegal in the quarter final in 2012, but he had to pack in the football for work reasons, paddy was a good hard corner forward, and the poor lad was killed in a road accident in Central America coming home from work, he was only 25 i think.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/01/2021 17:25:41    2326333

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Well he played most of 2013 matches, missed pretty much all of 2014 with injury but was back in the panel in 2015 and 2016 without playing. I just think he wasn't the same player after injury and wasn't on the panel in 2017 so I suppose it was Gavin that ended his Dublin career, though he appeared to give KOB ample opportunity to prove himself. We can only speculate as to how long he would have lasted if he didn't sustain the injury but he'd certainly made a very promising start to his career."
Oh look Kurt I don't know the full story. I was just told a story but rumours are rumours. Yes he was a promising prospect no doubt.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 06/01/2021 17:38:49    2326336

Replying To Dubh_linn:  "That's it CiarraiMick , he was super that day and the Diabetes really knocked him back. Terrible that he never really got back to those heights but at least he got to taste the thrill of the day and winning an All Ireland.
Some great players never do."
Absolutely Dubh linn. Nó ONÉ can take that away from him. Man of the match in an all ireland final and the medal too. Not a bad day's work.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 06/01/2021 17:40:42    2326337

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Over on the kerry page before Christmas I mentioned Paddy Curtin who played for us back in 2012 and 2013 he scored a lovely point against Donegal in the quarter final in 2012, but he had to pack in the football for work reasons, paddy was a good hard corner forward, and the poor lad was killed in a road accident in Central America coming home from work, he was only 25 i think."
Yes Paddy was a very talented footballer. Gone too soon from football and from life. May he r. I. p.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 06/01/2021 17:42:12    2326338

I'll throw in a Meath name.

Cathal Sheridan - won minor (90) U21 (93) and senior (96) and the transferred to Kildare. Was unlucky there were many a great corner forward and free takers ahead of him in Meath in the mid 90's. Was Man of the match in the U21 final he won in 93.

From that minor/U21 team Meath got
Conor Martin, Graham Geraghty, Enda McManus and Cathal.

Good few that were on the U21 team too but didn't play in the 90 minor final.
Jimmy McGuinness and Trevor Giles.

Giles won a minor in 1992.

brian (Meath) - Posts: 1954 - 06/01/2021 18:39:38    2326347

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Over on the kerry page before Christmas I mentioned Paddy Curtin who played for us back in 2012 and 2013 he scored a lovely point against Donegal in the quarter final in 2012, but he had to pack in the football for work reasons, paddy was a good hard corner forward, and the poor lad was killed in a road accident in Central America coming home from work, he was only 25 i think."
I remember him, a tasty and talented player..but did forget him over time..thanks.

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 06/01/2021 22:21:53    2326391

sorry and I didnt realise he has passed away after an accident abroad around 5 years ago..RIP and and well worth a mention..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 06/01/2021 22:25:08    2326392

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "I remember him, a tasty and talented player..but did forget him over time..thanks."
Not a bother at all, it's good to remember him again the poor soul.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 06/01/2021 22:58:57    2326403

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "sorry and I didnt realise he has passed away after an accident abroad around 5 years ago..RIP and and well worth a mention.."
Very sad. Himself and Shane Enright west best friends.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 07/01/2021 11:31:13    2326435

Replying To brian:  "I'll throw in a Meath name.

Cathal Sheridan - won minor (90) U21 (93) and senior (96) and the transferred to Kildare. Was unlucky there were many a great corner forward and free takers ahead of him in Meath in the mid 90's. Was Man of the match in the U21 final he won in 93.

From that minor/U21 team Meath got
Conor Martin, Graham Geraghty, Enda McManus and Cathal.

Good few that were on the U21 team too but didn't play in the 90 minor final.
Jimmy McGuinness and Trevor Giles.

Giles won a minor in 1992."
McManus and Gerraghty and that cohort of players were rare in that you dont often see them transfer to senior and be sucessfull and dominant together, normally lads come and go but than great Meath underage team, any of them that did go onto Senior were stars almost everyday they donned the jersey...no more than my own Offaly, it would be great to see Meath back as a power again, we might have gave out about ye back in the day but ye werent the worse in hindsight:)

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 07/01/2021 12:34:14    2326445

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Some names that spring to mind:

Bryan Murphy
Paul Copeland
Jason Leonard
Seán Currie
Shane Supple
Michael Savage
Lorcan Molloy
Evan Comerford

I thought Molloy looked a great prospect underage and thought he'd be Cluxton's biggest challenger. Alas, he seems to have dropped off the scene. I suppose St. Anne's haven't been very competitive in the upper echelons of Dublin football for a while which probably didn't help."
John Leonard? He wrote a superb book called Dub Sub Confidential. Its well worth a read.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 07/01/2021 21:33:09    2326551

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Kevin O'Brien is one. He captained the Dublin u21's to AI victory in 2012 and was a starter for the seniors all the way up to the final in 2013. He sustained an ACL injury in early 2014 and never really recovered from that."
Eamon Fennell & Nicky Deveraux spring to mind.

Thomas Brady knocked around for a couple of years as did Mark Schutte, before he rejoined the Hurlers and Shane Carthy of Vinnies to.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/01/2021 23:38:25    2326570

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "McManus and Gerraghty and that cohort of players were rare in that you dont often see them transfer to senior and be sucessfull and dominant together, normally lads come and go but than great Meath underage team, any of them that did go onto Senior were stars almost everyday they donned the jersey...no more than my own Offaly, it would be great to see Meath back as a power again, we might have gave out about ye back in the day but ye werent the worse in hindsight:)"
It would be a massive changing of the guard. Football has changed so much that its very hard to see Meath, Offaly etc ever rise again to the top as they have been so far behind for so long. I will say in relation to Offaly that I was impressed with their footballers in Navan two years back in the Leinster championship, and vs. Kildare in 2020 in the Leinster Qtr. Final. Unlucky not to win in both games, particularly vs. Meath where they largely owned the ball. If Offaly had a fellow like Paul Mannion up front and a guy like Dean Rock to kick the frees over the bar, theyd be Leinster final/qualifier round 4 material. As a passionate fan of the game in general, it would be great for the game if Leinster and the Leinster counties could compete (in one form or another) into the summer months every season. Tier 2 or however. There is great local rivalry just waiting to be enriched again.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 08/01/2021 08:47:16    2326579

Replying To TheUsername:  "Eamon Fennell & Nicky Deveraux spring to mind.

Thomas Brady knocked around for a couple of years as did Mark Schutte, before he rejoined the Hurlers and Shane Carthy of Vinnies to."
Good shout on Devereux. He was part of that impressive half back line, including James McCarthy and Johnny Cooper that won the 2010 AI U21 final. He was really fast for such a big man. I'm pretty sure an injury curtailed his progress and he couldn't scale the heights again.

Fennell was knocking round the panel for a few years. He never really got going after his protracted move to Vinnies and he didn't seem to fit into Jim Gavin's profile for a player.

In relation to the 2010 U21 team, I thought Gary Sweeney was the outstanding forward. He seemed to be involved in everything and I had high hopes for him being a mainstay of the senior team. A broken leg sustained in 2012 set him back and he was never the same after.

One last shout is Mark Davoren from Kilmacud Crokes. He burst onto the scene scoring 1-03 against Kerry in the league. He suffered back-to-back cruciate injuries and that appeared to have ended his career before it really began.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 08/01/2021 10:29:00    2326587

The Meath team of 2007-2012 was extremely inconsistent. Capable of beating Tyrone in an All-Ireland quarter final in '07, and Roscommon and Galway in the qualifiers the same year, then being beaten in the Leinster championship by Wexford a year later. Capable of getting to the all-Ireland semi in '09 by beating out a Mayo team and going out on a whimper to Kerry, and beating the Dubs by 5 goals in '10 only to slump horrendously in the Leinster final vs. Louth. When they clicked the were very good, when they didnt they were poor. Names such as Stephen Bray, Joe Sheridan, Peadar Byrne, Cian Ward, Brian Farrell... all potential greats, some won Minor and Junior titles, and all very good players. Ken Rennicks is a name thrown about from the 70s who was said to be the best Meath player to never win an All-Ireland. Donal Keogan may well be joining him.

Young_gael (Meath) - Posts: 587 - 08/01/2021 10:47:43    2326595

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Good shout on Devereux. He was part of that impressive half back line, including James McCarthy and Johnny Cooper that won the 2010 AI U21 final. He was really fast for such a big man. I'm pretty sure an injury curtailed his progress and he couldn't scale the heights again.

Fennell was knocking round the panel for a few years. He never really got going after his protracted move to Vinnies and he didn't seem to fit into Jim Gavin's profile for a player.

In relation to the 2010 U21 team, I thought Gary Sweeney was the outstanding forward. He seemed to be involved in everything and I had high hopes for him being a mainstay of the senior team. A broken leg sustained in 2012 set him back and he was never the same after.

One last shout is Mark Davoren from Kilmacud Crokes. He burst onto the scene scoring 1-03 against Kerry in the league. He suffered back-to-back cruciate injuries and that appeared to have ended his career before it really began."
Agreed. I wouldn't put Fennell in the same category. He got a good run at it. He was a brilliant fielder of a ball, but not as mobile as some of the other midfield options. The way the game evolved went against him for sure. He still made a crucial contribution to the final in 2011, winning that hop-ball against Donaghy which led to the late attack from which Cluxton kicked the winner. Not many could have done that against Donaghy back then and if he had won it, Kerry had every chance of working a winner.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2034 - 08/01/2021 11:14:39    2326600

Replying To Kurt_Angle:  "Good shout on Devereux. He was part of that impressive half back line, including James McCarthy and Johnny Cooper that won the 2010 AI U21 final. He was really fast for such a big man. I'm pretty sure an injury curtailed his progress and he couldn't scale the heights again.

One last shout is Mark Davoren from Kilmacud Crokes. He burst onto the scene scoring 1-03 against Kerry in the league. He suffered back-to-back cruciate injuries and that appeared to have ended his career before it really began."
Yes Mark Davoren was a serious prospect but had a torrid time with injuries. I think Fennell transfer messed him up. He did nt play club for a long time and was nt the same again. Shane Supple was a brilliant keeper.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 08/01/2021 13:34:17    2326636

From Kerry two players come to mind.A guy called Billy O Sullivan from Laune rangers won an all Ireland under 21 with Kerry beating Tyrone in the final in the early 90 s.He scored 4 goals and a point but never made it with the seniors.Also a fella called Paddy Curran from Waterville .He played minor for Kerry for 2 or 3 years and was full forward in 2006 all Ireland minor final v Roscommon.He was a class act and was touted as the next great Kerry forward.however he had 2 0r 3 cruciates and a string of injuries and had had to retire at a very young age.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3673 - 08/01/2021 21:19:52    2326712

Replying To Young_gael:  "The Meath team of 2007-2012 was extremely inconsistent. Capable of beating Tyrone in an All-Ireland quarter final in '07, and Roscommon and Galway in the qualifiers the same year, then being beaten in the Leinster championship by Wexford a year later. Capable of getting to the all-Ireland semi in '09 by beating out a Mayo team and going out on a whimper to Kerry, and beating the Dubs by 5 goals in '10 only to slump horrendously in the Leinster final vs. Louth. When they clicked the were very good, when they didnt they were poor. Names such as Stephen Bray, Joe Sheridan, Peadar Byrne, Cian Ward, Brian Farrell... all potential greats, some won Minor and Junior titles, and all very good players. Ken Rennicks is a name thrown about from the 70s who was said to be the best Meath player to never win an All-Ireland. Donal Keogan may well be joining him."
I remember the names you mention above, Brian Farrell in particular was one whom had everything, he reminded me of Kerry player Brian Sheehan in ways...natural skill and ability, strong and well well able to score...Cian Ward made a bit of comeback one time but it never really amounted to anything..Meath had a great midfielder there for many years, I think he ended up full back at the end..cannot think of his name...he was a guaranteed starter every match and was a great player...it was hardly Keoghan..Ime thinking Liam someone...and its not Hayes I know when he played etc..tried googling around 2002/3 but nothing came up...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 08/01/2021 21:27:04    2326715

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "From Kerry two players come to mind.A guy called Billy O Sullivan from Laune rangers won an all Ireland under 21 with Kerry beating Tyrone in the final in the early 90 s.He scored 4 goals and a point but never made it with the seniors.Also a fella called Paddy Curran from Waterville .He played minor for Kerry for 2 or 3 years and was full forward in 2006 all Ireland minor final v Roscommon.He was a class act and was touted as the next great Kerry forward.however he had 2 0r 3 cruciates and a string of injuries and had had to retire at a very young age."
Did you ever see Dan Doona from Beaufort play mick? He was some operator but Jack O'Connor treated him very harshly.

And Jack ferriter from my own club was fantastic as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/01/2021 21:46:25    2326720