If Limerick were to have an intermediate team here's how I think it might look. I'll admit I'm picking it from underage teams since 2015 under 21 all Ireland and current extended panel members. DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 04/09/2021 20:18:31 2377827 Link 1 |
A good selection
johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 04/09/2021 20:57:49 2377836 Link 1 |
I've a question for posters..is it a bit much to be charging €10 for every person attending matches at the moment including children..a lot of clubs now have 2 matches at weekends between juinor,inter and senior..a lot of the same people go to the matches but it is starting to be a very costly outlay even for two people out of a house.even the streaming at€10 euro while a great idea but again adding to cost for people..have our country board thought of maybe a charge for a weekend pass to attend games and include free streaming for those not able to attend..it looks like money will be made but at the cost to supportersof limerick Gaa..am I the only one who thinks it's costly? CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2547 - 05/09/2021 13:25:24 2377899 Link 0 |
Children definitely shouldn't be 10 euro a pop anyway. It would be a good idea if they had introduced a pass that would cover you for the club championship season (in the absence of the clubplus season ticket this year) maybe 50 or 60 euro would be a reasonable price? This has definitely been a costly year for attending matches. I live close to Croke Park and went to several matches there over the summer. There was no option to purchase single tickets for these and I ended up having to buy pods of 2 or 3 tickets for several matches. I paid the 10 euro to stream the Patrickswell v Doon match yesterday and it was money well spent, a great battle. Adam English will be knocking on the door of the Limerick team next year. I wonder would he be a contender to fill in while Peter Casey is injured? Hoping to travel down next Sunday for the double header in the Gaelic Grounds.....although the first match is at 1.30 and the second at 4.45 so there will be a bit of a wait in the middle! C4000 (Limerick) - Posts: 10 - 06/09/2021 10:52:26 2378144 Link 0 |
Now that the attendance cap has been lifted there is no need to be charging children or juveniles. County board should be encouraging people to go to matchs not pricing people out of it . OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 753 - 06/09/2021 12:29:30 2378189 Link 1 |
I'm wondering will the day of a walk in supporter to any match is now gone?this thing of having to log in and get tickets is fine for people who are tech minded..a lot of older people just know nothing about this..I'm finding it difficult enough myself and I'm 50..also the charge of €10 for all juinor games seems a bit steep to me.what do others think?are there special offers in other counties for weekend games?what are prices in other counties? CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2547 - 06/09/2021 13:10:54 2378203 Link 1 |
€10 euro in my opinion is a way too much for junior a level. Fair enough for a county final but the first few rounds of this should be €5.
upthetreatyboys (Limerick) - Posts: 104 - 06/09/2021 15:00:02 2378241 Link 1 |
Very good point. I wanted do go to a few local matches over the weekend but wasn't sure if I could, so didn't even bother at the end. A bit lazy I know but god be with the day's when you and the kids could just rock up to what ever match you found time for. The Co Boards should clarify the situation for lazy people like me and people who are not so tech savy. It's been a long 18 months and would be great to meet some of neighbours (neighbouring parishes) again. Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 06/09/2021 18:14:45 2378305 Link 0 |
And all the senior hurling games are being played in the Gaelic Grounds for some reason .... johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 06/09/2021 23:54:26 2378405 Link 0 |
Why not play kildimo/moanaleen with k/m-Ballybrown on Saturday?also is there a reason for a €2 charge for under 16s? CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2547 - 07/09/2021 10:31:23 2378454 Link 0 |
Every underage and junior b games should be free in, it's a disgrace charging for those games. When I played rugby it was the senior teams matches had an entrance fee. DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 07/09/2021 11:06:57 2378461 Link 1 |
Just wanted to leave the dust settle awhile. I firstly want to acknowledge & congradulate Limerick on their AI success. It was a massive display & performance. We were schooled on & off the pitch. St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 121 - 07/09/2021 11:51:12 2378471 Link 6 |
Thank you for that post. Fantastically magnanimous. Cork have many fine people and never give excuses after a defeat. Its a great Limerick team with great people on board and everyone still remembers the bad times and the rudderless times sprinkled with hope that kept people trucking along . A word on Cork. Cork are going in the right direction. There's no doubt about that. This final defeat is a setback but it dispels any of the 'quick fix/mushroom' stuff. And thats a good thing. The amount of talent is obvious and it's being harnessed now. Cork are going to be perennial contenders from now on. The current team need a stopping centre back and Cooper back in midfield. He's a talisman. ..I dont think ye need much more. The fullback line will learn alot from this year. O Leary has to mark his man and the other 2 have to stay switched on. Harnedy has to stay for another year. bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 07/09/2021 12:45:38 2378484 Link 1 |
Cork don't have a ball winning half forward line. Until they get one they will trouble nobody. Why Clare and Kilkenny let them go short to their full back line this year is a complete mystery. No one will allow them to go short next year. Cork also need hard working forwards who will tackle hook and block. My honest opinion is that this year has done more harm than good for Cork as their relative success disguises the shortcomings of the seniors. I say this as a huge fan of Cork as fans go. Without doubt the most magnanimous fans after a game win or lose. They have huge talent coming through but this years senior team overachieved hugely and unless they address the issues above Cork will struggle big time. next year
welpastit (Limerick) - Posts: 740 - 07/09/2021 14:58:00 2378540 Link 0 |
i'm not so sure cork are contenders again next year . would you put your life savings on cork getting out of munster next year i certainly wouldn't ...... munsterchamps (Limerick) - Posts: 1143 - 07/09/2021 17:30:24 2378595 Link 0 |
Agree on what has been said on the Cork supporters. Cocky and confident as ever before the game and always great craic but always gracious in defeat. Limerick have redefined the half forward line in hurling. They play half forwards who get through a savage amount of work and are as good at defending and battling as they are scoring. Limerick are like a steam train and if you leave them build up a head of steam they are almost unstoppable when on song. Both Tipp and Waterford showed glimpses of being able to go toe to toe for at least some of the matches but Cork seemed a bit light weight. Daniel Kearney is only a small fella but he worked his socks off in 2018 and caused us a lot of problems. Cork half forward line will have to work a lot harder without the ball if they are going to have success. Also, surprisingly, with the back room team they have, they were completely out thought tactically. Having no plan to deal with Cian Lynch and not to try anything to curb his influence was baffling. Fitzy01 (Limerick) - Posts: 449 - 07/09/2021 21:56:03 2378650 Link 0 |
I think Downey will be fine. His size hasn't much to do with it. It's better he's big than small. The ball landing into the full forward line didn't help him in the final. I think he's got great potential. I think Cork will contend again next year because out side of Waterford and Limerick they are the best of the rest. I take the point about their half forwards bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 08/09/2021 10:01:56 2378715 Link 0 |
Wouldn't write off that cork team yet. If they had mellerick Spillane and Cooper properly fit and playing well they'd have been a lot closer defensively. Also they surely will have learned a lot about themselves in the final. Sugary_tae (Limerick) - Posts: 70 - 08/09/2021 11:07:36 2378728 Link 0 |
Sad to say, but I think your right. The hiding received on the biggest day in the Hurling year, before the entire nation is not something, brushed off, in a day, week, month, or possibly years. Mentally our lads will be shattered & confidence will hard to restore. Tis one thing getting a beating at club level, you can go to ground, beyond your area, no one takes a pile of notice, but an All Ireland Final wipeout is hard to hide from. St.Mologga (Cork) - Posts: 121 - 08/09/2021 14:05:49 2378789 Link 0 |
Good to hear they were gracious in defeat. After the hiding they got there definitely can be no complaints. Regardless though they do have certainly the best underage in the country and if we are streets ahead at senior they have created a chasm at underage. For now though I think our lads deserve absolutely nothing but admiration. I hate to think so far ahead and I said at the outset I would be thrilled with a back to back and if that's to be it then so it is. However based on that whipping dished out in the AI final you would have to be a bit disappointed if another wasn't tagged on. I think Cork will need another year and I do agree with the bookies about Waterford being our nearest competitors. The are big and fast but they need a bit more consistency. They did it have one of those big big days against us. Galway are big and have hurlers. If they can gel under a manager I definitely wouldn't write them off either. Already PC is a serious doubt for the year which is massive. To my mind those injuries nearly take the year to recover from and is the player ever fully right afterwards. So like you say now is the time for Pat Ryan to step up and nail a starting spot. Those young lads will have to be used. There's no way the same 15/16 players can be expected to get up to those standards for the round robin. It would be brilliant also for Mike Casey to be back. He has been dogged with injuries throughout. Also Barry Murphy. He came on in the AI final. Perhaps be could be used more especially with PC out and he is more of a corner forward. Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 371 - 08/09/2021 18:25:29 2378860 Link 0 |