Limerick Hurling 2021

Replying To Mads:  "Definitely should have been way more allowed on the terraces anyway.
I'm afraid to ask, can Gillane still get cited and get a match ban or is it because the referee gave him a yellow that they won't go back? In practically the same corner where he got sent off against Cork as well. He was young that time but lessons clearly weren't learned. Cathal Barrett is no Saint but Aaron should know better. It has taken away from an unbelievable game when he came on which is such a pity. Particularly that instinctive point in the second half. Top drawer stuff"
I can't quote the rule book on it but because he got a yellow card, I believe that they won't go back on it. The referee is deemed to have dealt with the issue on the field and Barrett played on afterwards so it isn't an egregious incident. He ( we) is extremely lucky.

I won't be complaining about refs giving bad decisions against us for a while. I wonder was the fact that there was an 8 point gap in the game a reason as to why he only gave the yellow? And of course, Barrett has a history including the 2019 All Ireland final as well?. I don't know but very fortunate indeed.

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 837 - 20/07/2021 17:01:23    2362203

Replying To Dealer:  "I can't quote the rule book on it but because he got a yellow card, I believe that they won't go back on it. The referee is deemed to have dealt with the issue on the field and Barrett played on afterwards so it isn't an egregious incident. He ( we) is extremely lucky.

I won't be complaining about refs giving bad decisions against us for a while. I wonder was the fact that there was an 8 point gap in the game a reason as to why he only gave the yellow? And of course, Barrett has a history including the 2019 All Ireland final as well?. I don't know but very fortunate indeed."
I firmly believe that if Barrett had over done the drama then Gullane was gone. AG just needs to cop on.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4509 - 20/07/2021 22:05:31    2362309

Replying To slayer:  "Wrote a bit about it lads if anyone is interested.

https://limerickhurling.blogspot.com/2021/07/onslaught.html

Still a bit in shock to tell you the truth. Seeing a Limerick side reach that level, crikey Mikey the heart won't be right for a while."
great article Slayer. We have had many comebacks but the manner of that 3rd quarter last Sunday was special. It was a ruthless, powerful, professional dismantling of one of the powers of our beautiful game. It was a joy to watch and we should be so proud of our Team.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 20/07/2021 22:55:22    2362332

Just watched the u20s back on the tg4 player. I wonder are they getting the most out of O Niell at 11? Maybe should put him out on the wing with more space instead of being marked by the 6 who at underage tends to be the strongest player. Maybe swap with Hegarty who can break ball at 11. Or could he even go to the inside forward line? Adam English sensational and he's what.. 17/18?

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 21/07/2021 02:45:55    2362378

Brilliant win for Limerick at the weekend, every man really stood up in 2nd half and hurled well. A few things I noticed from the match.

Peter Casey must be one of the most underrated hurlers in Ireland at this stage, he worked hard all game and got 5 scores from play. Barry Heffernan seemed to struggle to keep tight to him for most of game and Casey always managed to find himself in space. If he keeps on performing at this level he will surely get his 1st all star

Gillane seems to be targeted by defenders every game and suffers a lot of punishment off the ball that goes unnoticed if watching on tv. At this stage Gillanes reputation means that in matches going forward referees will tend to side with the defender rather than Gillane. I think Kiely will have another selection headache for the next game and may not include him from the start.

Barry Nash really impressed in 2nd half and his pace in full back will be key when we play in Croke Park, if we meet the likes of Galway or Clare in the semi final they both have very pacy inside forwards that we will need to match. He also has good distribution of the ball to the likes of Morrisey and Casey to set up scores

thetruth12 (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 21/07/2021 11:55:35    2362452

Great performance by the seniors and under 20s. The under 20s will need to up it again. I'm abit disappointed that the city with over 100,000 people and more than half of the population isn't contributing more to the underage and senior teams. I realise rugby and soccer are an d will remain the big sports in the city but surely a third of all teams should be made up of city players. This issue still needs addressing. No Limerick team can afford to be without talented city kids who offer a different type of game than the country lads. Hegarty, Casey and O Donoghue are the only 3 on the senior team but they all offer so much.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 21/07/2021 13:12:49    2362486

I suspect in 2046 people will listen to this bit of commentary in the same manner as Ger Canning's 'Ciaran Carey leading the charge of the light brigade'

The way the two lads are so partisan Limerick is mighty stuff!

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 21/07/2021 14:17:24    2362513

Replying To thetruth12:  "Brilliant win for Limerick at the weekend, every man really stood up in 2nd half and hurled well. A few things I noticed from the match.

Peter Casey must be one of the most underrated hurlers in Ireland at this stage, he worked hard all game and got 5 scores from play. Barry Heffernan seemed to struggle to keep tight to him for most of game and Casey always managed to find himself in space. If he keeps on performing at this level he will surely get his 1st all star

Gillane seems to be targeted by defenders every game and suffers a lot of punishment off the ball that goes unnoticed if watching on tv. At this stage Gillanes reputation means that in matches going forward referees will tend to side with the defender rather than Gillane. I think Kiely will have another selection headache for the next game and may not include him from the start.

Barry Nash really impressed in 2nd half and his pace in full back will be key when we play in Croke Park, if we meet the likes of Galway or Clare in the semi final they both have very pacy inside forwards that we will need to match. He also has good distribution of the ball to the likes of Morrisey and Casey to set up scores"
Somehow I don't think Gillane will be sitting on the sideline at the start of the semi-final. The 30 mins watching the rest of his teammates out there without him seemed to have the desired response when he came on. He looked off the pace against Cork for whatever reason but I think our forward line works much better with 2 big men inside with 1 smaller forward rather than 2 small ones and 1 big man. Every now and then you need to take something away from someone to make them realise how important it is to them, I can see Aaron and the rest of the Limerick team only improving and driving on for the rest of the championship.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 904 - 21/07/2021 17:28:21    2362592

Replying To bloodyban:  "Great performance by the seniors and under 20s. The under 20s will need to up it again. I'm abit disappointed that the city with over 100,000 people and more than half of the population isn't contributing more to the underage and senior teams. I realise rugby and soccer are an d will remain the big sports in the city but surely a third of all teams should be made up of city players. This issue still needs addressing. No Limerick team can afford to be without talented city kids who offer a different type of game than the country lads. Hegarty, Casey and O Donoghue are the only 3 on the senior team but they all offer so much."
Agreed about needing more city lads needed.
Of course it didn't help hurling in the City when Clubs Like Old Christians and Claughaun were absolutely black guarded when it came to games in the County.And this was at a time both clubs were strong and fielding teams at all levels.How did that work out for hurling in the city? The present county board has been very proactive in trying to improve the situation, But this was very much a self inflicted wound By petty small minded parochialism.

Patricksarsfield (Limerick) - Posts: 2 - 22/07/2021 01:33:23    2362712

Replying To Dealer:  "My one thought as regards the Munster final is that it proved the case that Dan Morrissey has got to start at full back. Both Tipp goals came from puckout bombs falling behind the half back line that were not dealt with. This was an issue prior to 2020 as well when we conceded goals from high ball raining down on the full back line because of the size differential that existed before Dan went in full back so that must be a lesson learnt. And full disclosure, I had nightmares about Dan playing at full back a few years ago but he proved me wrong.

I don't know what to do with Gillane re discipline. I don't know how do you coach that temper reaction out of him but they have to try and do it because we need him but he's walking a tightrope with referees at this stage. The question is can he learn?

I though Barry Nash, Cian Lynch, Seamus Flanagan, Diarmuid Byrnes and Tom Morrissey kept us afloat in the first half. Kyle Hayes is a monster. Guys like him are freaks playing hurling and you will see teams changing how they play to try and deal with him. Hegarty, Casey, Hannon and both midfielders figured it out in the second half and went to to dominate their sectors. Sean Finn will be also happy with his second half but can't be comfortable with what happened in the first. That said, defending is a team effort and we we're off the standard in the first half so no one defender should take all the blame.

The third quarter was devastating - total and utter dominance against a quality team that couldn't cope with the power and quality of hurling that enveloped them.

Discipline, discipline, discipline. If the team perform to their standards, that's the one factor that could derail us."
I agree that Kyle is a freak of nature (in the best possible way). And yes teams will need to do something to counteract him. The problem is there are four or five other freaks of nature around him who also need extreme minding. There other 10-11 lads are just brilliant hurlers. And there lies the big problem for opposing teams.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 22/07/2021 06:45:46    2362714

I'm enjoying the fact that Premiergold has gone very quiet.
doesn't seem to visit the Limerick forum too much over the last year :)

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1111 - 22/07/2021 15:23:20    2362885

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "I agree that Kyle is a freak of nature (in the best possible way). And yes teams will need to do something to counteract him. The problem is there are four or five other freaks of nature around him who also need extreme minding. There other 10-11 lads are just brilliant hurlers. And there lies the big problem for opposing teams."
Well said and we should not be shy about preaching and patting ourselves ,the team and management on the back , as the Tipps, Corks, Kilkenny's etc of the world did not hold back from kicking and spitting on us when we were down.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 22/07/2021 16:31:28    2362911

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Well said and we should not be shy about preaching and patting ourselves ,the team and management on the back , as the Tipps, Corks, Kilkenny's etc of the world did not hold back from kicking and spitting on us when we were down."
Ease up there a little Pat. Apart from the usual GAA banter I have never experienced anything too negative. We were down for a reason. We simply were not good enough. Like most teams outside of the "big three", when we win one we are not expected to stay on top for too long. In recent times Clare & Offaly in the 90's and Galway in the late 80's are the exception.

Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 22/07/2021 21:24:18    2363000

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "Ease up there a little Pat. Apart from the usual GAA banter I have never experienced anything too negative. We were down for a reason. We simply were not good enough. Like most teams outside of the "big three", when we win one we are not expected to stay on top for too long. In recent times Clare & Offaly in the 90's and Galway in the late 80's are the exception."
I hear what you are saying Silver but I probably have longer memories than you, possibly by a few decades. Without dredging up the mud I can I can recall being scoffed at by Tipp , Cork , and even Galway after their 5th title in 125 years, not to mention putting up the bunting for # 6 after beating us on the the 1st round of the league. ( Limerick "not a hurling county")
Admittedly, Kilkenny just didn't acknowledge our presence.

Ease up ? No Sir…pedal to the metal, and win as much as we can, while we can.
Look forward to congratulating many more opponents for a "fine , clean, sporting game , and thanking them for being so gallant in defeat".. and all that happy horsey****t .. Brian C.. take note:

Come On Ye Boys in Green,

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 23/07/2021 00:54:32    2363048

A statistical analysis of the third quarter of last Sunday's Munster Final:

https://limerickhurling.blogspot.com/2021/07/munster-final-q3-stats.html

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 23/07/2021 02:06:31    2363051

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "I agree that Kyle is a freak of nature (in the best possible way). And yes teams will need to do something to counteract him. The problem is there are four or five other freaks of nature around him who also need extreme minding. There other 10-11 lads are just brilliant hurlers. And there lies the big problem for opposing teams."
As good and all as the team is Kyle Hayes is the one true all round athlete. He could have made it in most sports. As a rampaging 2nd row ,definately. The lads around him are fantastic but they don't have his speed ,power and strength. The confidence in the squad must be sky high but there's going to be a good team with momentum facing them in Croke Park in the semi. And they haven't played in Croker this year. Kilkenny always have that unfair advantage over teams.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 23/07/2021 17:14:54    2363226

Replying To Seeking_silver:  "Ease up there a little Pat. Apart from the usual GAA banter I have never experienced anything too negative. We were down for a reason. We simply were not good enough. Like most teams outside of the "big three", when we win one we are not expected to stay on top for too long. In recent times Clare & Offaly in the 90's and Galway in the late 80's are the exception."
Agreed. I cant remember anybody 'spitting' on Limerick. It didn't happen. As a body we need to be magnanimous in Victory.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 23/07/2021 17:18:17    2363228

Replying To slayer:  "A statistical analysis of the third quarter of last Sunday's Munster Final:

https://limerickhurling.blogspot.com/2021/07/munster-final-q3-stats.html"
Great stats,very interesting reading....some 3rd quarter performance by Limerick.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 23/07/2021 20:32:20    2363268

Replying To Patricksarsfield:  "Agreed about needing more city lads needed.
Of course it didn't help hurling in the City when Clubs Like Old Christians and Claughaun were absolutely black guarded when it came to games in the County.And this was at a time both clubs were strong and fielding teams at all levels.How did that work out for hurling in the city? The present county board has been very proactive in trying to improve the situation, But this was very much a self inflicted wound By petty small minded parochialism."
Let's all whistle past the Graveyard! Nobody wants to touch the third rail.It's so much easier to blame Soccer/Rugby for the demise of hurling in the inner city.What rubbish! Soccer and Rugby have always been around.St Pats, Old Christians,Claughaun, all managed fine.Nobody wants to look in the big mirror at the injustices and damage done to these clubs by supposed fellow "gaels" As stated hats off to the current county board who are trying mightly to revive the game in the inner city.

Patricksarsfield (Limerick) - Posts: 2 - 23/07/2021 23:54:50    2363328

Replying To Patricksarsfield:  "Let's all whistle past the Graveyard! Nobody wants to touch the third rail.It's so much easier to blame Soccer/Rugby for the demise of hurling in the inner city.What rubbish! Soccer and Rugby have always been around.St Pats, Old Christians,Claughaun, all managed fine.Nobody wants to look in the big mirror at the injustices and damage done to these clubs by supposed fellow "gaels" As stated hats off to the current county board who are trying mightly to revive the game in the inner city."
Talk away to yourself there good lad.

Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 980 - 24/07/2021 09:48:17    2363355