Limerick Hurling 2021

Replying To Mads:  "At half time I was thinking about that game in 1996 and hoped if we got the first couple of points we might be able be in with a shout in the last 5minutes. Then I said to myself in the searing heat it's a monumental task.
By the water break to be 2 points up.................
unbelievable, incredible, awesome.
One more step towards replicating the achievements of Mackey's greyhounds. Incredible. Players and management, ye owe us absolutely nothing."
"Mackey's greyhounds" refers to the 1955 team which won Munster that year, and which was trained by Mackey. The great team of the 1930s were not called Mackey's greyhounds. Just a point of clarification!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2310 - 19/07/2021 11:56:37    2361598

Replying To Oldtourman:  "We also came back from ten or more points deficits against Tipp in '62, '75 '81 (14 down), '96 and '07 (the second day) as well as the 1992 League Final."
Absolutely, I was at some of those games... We usually chipped away at their lead over the whole half to go to a replay or win by a point or two.
I think this was different though..
This was an absolute destruction of Tipperary.

On a completely different matter I thought it was very shabby of RTE to let the ads go on for so long that it went over Hannon being presented the cup.. I know they're hard up for cash but it was ridiculous stuff..

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1111 - 19/07/2021 12:35:52    2361625

Wrote a bit about it lads if anyone is interested.

https://limerickhurling.blogspot.com/2021/07/onslaught.html

Still a bit in shock to tell you the truth. Seeing a Limerick side reach that level, crikey Mikey the heart won't be right for a while.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 19/07/2021 13:39:50    2361703

Comebacks, my most important one. I remember being up in pearse stadium salt Hill for a league game in 2018 when Galway went in at half time up 8 or maybe 9 points I'm not certain but enough for the newly crowned all Ireland champions to feel they had this game won.
The second half limerick came out like lions to come back and win which got us promotion that year.
But for me personally this was the match that created the team we have now, I think maybe 8 or 10 of our normal panel players were on duty with na piarsaigh so we had been playing newish lads to the senior squad such as gillane, flannagan, hegerty, morrisey, Reidy etc.
You just had the feeling after it something special was happening in limerick hurling but who would have thought 3 munster finals, two all irelands and a league or two later and they still look like there's plenty of great hurling left in them.
Savouring every moment.

jimbob50 (Limerick) - Posts: 100 - 19/07/2021 13:51:54    2361706

First of all, I want to thank a fantastic group of Limerick supporters in Pairc Ui Caoimh yesterday who went out of their way to help me and my son get a second South Stand ticket for the Munster Final just before the throw-in. They had a spare Terrace ticket but they persuaded another supporter to sell his stand ticket to me so that my son and I could watch that amazing match together. That day has given us memories that will last forever. I don't know who the people in question are and will probably never meet them again but I want to let them know that I'll be forever grateful to them for doing what they did. Prior to that, a young fella from Tipp and his friends tried to sell me a Terrace ticket for 100 euro! Seeing the desperation of my plight the Tipp lad came back with a renewed offer a few minutes later of 150 euro! Not a word of a lie.
Even though we were ten points behind at half time yesterday, the thrill of being inside a ground again and being able to roar support (and protest at the ref's decisions) during that first half felt magical. I couldn't see us coming back into the match and was beginning to think that this could be the end of a glorious era of Limerick dominance. The second half showed how foolish I was to doubt this sensational, wonderful, gifted and giving group of players.
We definitely got luck with Gillane's swipe being only yellow-carded, but such was the ferocity of Limerick's play in the third quarter that I think we would have won with fourteen men anyway! The earth-shattering roar in the South Stand as the Limerick team approached for the 'Sos Uisce' on 52 minutes will stay with me as long as I live. It was mental! For Kyle Hayes to then go out immediately after that and score what is incontrovertibly the greatest goal in hurling history was beyond imagination. The mental fortitude displayed by the Kildimo-Pallaskenry man in a week of deep personal grief is simply astonishing.
The bond between the Limerick team and its supporters was even more evident at the end of the match. I doubt if any Limerick person left the ground until the presentation and lap of honour were over. Declan Hannon said in his acceptance speech how brilliant it was to hear the noise of so many supporters in the ground again. He went on to say that despite only 7,000 being officially allowed in, it actually felt as though 70,000 to 80,000 Limerick people were there! That led to a roar which did make it sound like 70,000 Limerick supporters were actually there!
Finally, I don't know how evident how was it appeared on TV, but some of our lads looked in absolute bits at the end of the match, as if some of them had survived a heavyweight boxing title fight rather than a hurling game. I think we all appreciate how brilliant this group of players and management is and how much of their lives they sacrifice for days like yesterday. What is more difficult to appreciate is how much of a pummelling the players' bodies take and how they do this willingly for a cause they see as greater than themselves. We will be indebted to them forever. Luimneach abu!

GerO.Racle (Limerick) - Posts: 47 - 19/07/2021 13:56:52    2361709

Replying To jimbob50:  "Comebacks, my most important one. I remember being up in pearse stadium salt Hill for a league game in 2018 when Galway went in at half time up 8 or maybe 9 points I'm not certain but enough for the newly crowned all Ireland champions to feel they had this game won.
The second half limerick came out like lions to come back and win which got us promotion that year.
But for me personally this was the match that created the team we have now, I think maybe 8 or 10 of our normal panel players were on duty with na piarsaigh so we had been playing newish lads to the senior squad such as gillane, flannagan, hegerty, morrisey, Reidy etc.
You just had the feeling after it something special was happening in limerick hurling but who would have thought 3 munster finals, two all irelands and a league or two later and they still look like there's plenty of great hurling left in them.
Savouring every moment."
Salthill was a day of days, Jimbob. This is what I wrote on this forum on the evening of that match back in March 2018:

"A day of days. I have rarely felt as elated leaving a ground in my 40+ years following Limerick as I did on exiting Pearse Stadium this afternoon. The fact that a few Galway supporters behind us on the far terrace were laughing at Limerick in the first half and kept giving us grief telling us that we are not a hurling county(!) made the comeback win all the sweeter. All the other Galway people we met during and after the match couldn't have been more sporting, but the arrogant few were insufferable. There were towering performances in Salthill today especially from Finn (what a corner back!), English, Lynch, Flanagan and Murphy. To be honest, if you had asked me on New Years' Day to pick the team for today's crucial encounter the latter two wouldn't have featured, even on my mythical subs bench, never mind the starting fifteen. Now their presence is indispensable to the immediate future of this team! Even the much-maligned Graham Mull did very well when he came on towards the end of this epic. No matter what happens between now and mid-August, 2018 will be remembered as a mighty year for us. But back to today- simply the best one following Limerick in many, many a year. Thanks to players and management for delivering us from the purgatory of 1B at last. It means so much. The dog days are definitely over. Luimneach abú!" - GerO.Racle (Limerick) - Posts: 39 - 11/03/2018 23:25:49

Little did I think that life as a Limerick hurling supporter was only going to get better and better!
I sometimes wonder what would have happened if we hadn't won that crucial game in Pearse Stadium?
Would we have won as much as we have? Thankfully, a question that will never need to be answered. Luimneach abu!

GerO.Racle (Limerick) - Posts: 47 - 19/07/2021 16:19:34    2361786

Replying To GerO.Racle:  "First of all, I want to thank a fantastic group of Limerick supporters in Pairc Ui Caoimh yesterday who went out of their way to help me and my son get a second South Stand ticket for the Munster Final just before the throw-in. They had a spare Terrace ticket but they persuaded another supporter to sell his stand ticket to me so that my son and I could watch that amazing match together. That day has given us memories that will last forever. I don't know who the people in question are and will probably never meet them again but I want to let them know that I'll be forever grateful to them for doing what they did. Prior to that, a young fella from Tipp and his friends tried to sell me a Terrace ticket for 100 euro! Seeing the desperation of my plight the Tipp lad came back with a renewed offer a few minutes later of 150 euro! Not a word of a lie.
Even though we were ten points behind at half time yesterday, the thrill of being inside a ground again and being able to roar support (and protest at the ref's decisions) during that first half felt magical. I couldn't see us coming back into the match and was beginning to think that this could be the end of a glorious era of Limerick dominance. The second half showed how foolish I was to doubt this sensational, wonderful, gifted and giving group of players.
We definitely got luck with Gillane's swipe being only yellow-carded, but such was the ferocity of Limerick's play in the third quarter that I think we would have won with fourteen men anyway! The earth-shattering roar in the South Stand as the Limerick team approached for the 'Sos Uisce' on 52 minutes will stay with me as long as I live. It was mental! For Kyle Hayes to then go out immediately after that and score what is incontrovertibly the greatest goal in hurling history was beyond imagination. The mental fortitude displayed by the Kildimo-Pallaskenry man in a week of deep personal grief is simply astonishing.
The bond between the Limerick team and its supporters was even more evident at the end of the match. I doubt if any Limerick person left the ground until the presentation and lap of honour were over. Declan Hannon said in his acceptance speech how brilliant it was to hear the noise of so many supporters in the ground again. He went on to say that despite only 7,000 being officially allowed in, it actually felt as though 70,000 to 80,000 Limerick people were there! That led to a roar which did make it sound like 70,000 Limerick supporters were actually there!
Finally, I don't know how evident how was it appeared on TV, but some of our lads looked in absolute bits at the end of the match, as if some of them had survived a heavyweight boxing title fight rather than a hurling game. I think we all appreciate how brilliant this group of players and management is and how much of their lives they sacrifice for days like yesterday. What is more difficult to appreciate is how much of a pummelling the players' bodies take and how they do this willingly for a cause they see as greater than themselves. We will be indebted to them forever. Luimneach abu!"
150 Euro, I'd have loved to meet him after the match with a s*it eating grin on my face.

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 752 - 19/07/2021 16:49:23    2361805

Replying To skillet:  "Absolutely, I was at some of those games... We usually chipped away at their lead over the whole half to go to a replay or win by a point or two.
I think this was different though..
This was an absolute destruction of Tipperary.

On a completely different matter I thought it was very shabby of RTE to let the ads go on for so long that it went over Hannon being presented the cup.. I know they're hard up for cash but it was ridiculous stuff.."
And then RTE are saying they are strapped for cash. Stop these silly competitions and invest the money in sports coverage.

johnocarroll17 (Limerick) - Posts: 408 - 19/07/2021 18:00:53    2361844

Replying To GerO.Racle:  "Salthill was a day of days, Jimbob. This is what I wrote on this forum on the evening of that match back in March 2018:

"A day of days. I have rarely felt as elated leaving a ground in my 40+ years following Limerick as I did on exiting Pearse Stadium this afternoon. The fact that a few Galway supporters behind us on the far terrace were laughing at Limerick in the first half and kept giving us grief telling us that we are not a hurling county(!) made the comeback win all the sweeter. All the other Galway people we met during and after the match couldn't have been more sporting, but the arrogant few were insufferable. There were towering performances in Salthill today especially from Finn (what a corner back!), English, Lynch, Flanagan and Murphy. To be honest, if you had asked me on New Years' Day to pick the team for today's crucial encounter the latter two wouldn't have featured, even on my mythical subs bench, never mind the starting fifteen. Now their presence is indispensable to the immediate future of this team! Even the much-maligned Graham Mull did very well when he came on towards the end of this epic. No matter what happens between now and mid-August, 2018 will be remembered as a mighty year for us. But back to today- simply the best one following Limerick in many, many a year. Thanks to players and management for delivering us from the purgatory of 1B at last. It means so much. The dog days are definitely over. Luimneach abú!" - GerO.Racle (Limerick) - Posts: 39 - 11/03/2018 23:25:49

Little did I think that life as a Limerick hurling supporter was only going to get better and better!
I sometimes wonder what would have happened if we hadn't won that crucial game in Pearse Stadium?
Would we have won as much as we have? Thankfully, a question that will never need to be answered. Luimneach abu!"
Yes that's it exactly.

jimbob50 (Limerick) - Posts: 100 - 19/07/2021 18:26:48    2361854

Congrats to Limerick. One of the best second half performances and comebacks I've ever seen. A great Munster final. 3 in row. Cannot argue with it. Brilliant stuff and there is a lot more in them.

Clareman (Clare) - Posts: 1056 - 19/07/2021 19:20:53    2361888

Congratulations to the under 20s tonight, solid display some outstanding performances.

jimbob50 (Limerick) - Posts: 100 - 19/07/2021 21:35:43    2361940

Well done go under 20s tonight..great display from English and Cahal o neill..thought Coughlan looked to have a bit of class about him..I also liked the go of jimmy Quilty and aidan o Connor in 2nd half..it's great to see another 2 or 3 players look as if they wouldn't have any great problem slotting into senior panel..however I have to comment on Clare,another terrible hiding after a minor hammering last week..bigger test ahead in munster final..great work being done in academy..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2547 - 19/07/2021 22:01:48    2361949

Replying To GerO.Racle:  "First of all, I want to thank a fantastic group of Limerick supporters in Pairc Ui Caoimh yesterday who went out of their way to help me and my son get a second South Stand ticket for the Munster Final just before the throw-in. They had a spare Terrace ticket but they persuaded another supporter to sell his stand ticket to me so that my son and I could watch that amazing match together. That day has given us memories that will last forever. I don't know who the people in question are and will probably never meet them again but I want to let them know that I'll be forever grateful to them for doing what they did. Prior to that, a young fella from Tipp and his friends tried to sell me a Terrace ticket for 100 euro! Seeing the desperation of my plight the Tipp lad came back with a renewed offer a few minutes later of 150 euro! Not a word of a lie.
Finally, I don't know how evident how was it appeared on TV, but some of our lads looked in absolute bits at the end of the match, as if some of them had survived a heavyweight boxing title fight rather than a hurling game. I think we all appreciate how brilliant this group of players and management is and how much of their lives they sacrifice for days like yesterday. What is more difficult to appreciate is how much of a pummelling the players' bodies take and how they do this willingly for a cause they see as greater than themselves. We will be indebted to them forever. Luimneach abu!"
yes indeed. I too was there that day. We took on the League and All Ireland champions, in their own backyard, allowed them an eight points lead and then came back and beat them. Definitely a 'game changing' display

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4509 - 20/07/2021 00:17:42    2361990

All very well said. Yes, some of those gallant boys looked like they were in bits, after what was probably their greatest display and comeback, at least since 2018 and probably even including 1973.
Long may it continue.
Luimneach Abu!

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1377 - 20/07/2021 00:20:22    2361991

I heard that Liam Sheedy has the Tipperary team out walking dogs this week to get them use to holding on to a lead

thetruth12 (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 20/07/2021 11:24:37    2362055

Replying To CTGAA10:  "Well done go under 20s tonight..great display from English and Cahal o neill..thought Coughlan looked to have a bit of class about him..I also liked the go of jimmy Quilty and aidan o Connor in 2nd half..it's great to see another 2 or 3 players look as if they wouldn't have any great problem slotting into senior panel..however I have to comment on Clare,another terrible hiding after a minor hammering last week..bigger test ahead in munster final..great work being done in academy.."
I'd hope to see Cathal O'Neill starting in the senior team next year and both English and Coughlan making starting contributions as well. I don't need to say a lot more about O'Neill apart from that his scoring range is beyond ridiculous. The brother (everyone has one!) was telling me that he's watched O'Neill scoring from his own 30 yard line on the Crecora pitch (and the ball hit the back net). Adam English is a real talent. He's a natural scoring forward whose a bit different to the guys we currently have. Might be a stupid comparison but kind of reminds me of Eddie Brennan! Either way he's tracking to be a senior player. Coughlan looks like another beast of a half back. He has that powerful physique but he's also an excellent hurler. Cork would love to have a guy like that coming through in their system. Regardless of where this U20 goes in the championship - we have 3 absolute diamonds coming through who will further strengthen our senior team.

The challenge in the final regardless of who we're playing is the supporting cast as you know that both Tipp and Cork can field teams of consistent quality throughout the field. So how does our 5 weakest players compare to their 5 weakest? There were a couple of lads last night that I'd worry about in the red hot heat of a U20 final. Both Cork & Tipp will look to hammer the hammer with our best players so we would need others to contribute and take the opportunities that present because of that focus. I'd be encouraged by the displays of Aidan O'Connor and Jimmy Quilty in particular as guys that could perform at a high level and maybe force their way into JK's thinking as a result.

The senior panel has to be the bridge between underage and senior hurling and it has to be used for development purposes as well as for current needs. If a guy is three years on the panel and can't force himself into the top 26 at least, then he should be replaced in the panel by younger players that have that potential. I don't agree with bringing a player into the panel for just a year and then culling him. I think you have to give them a reasonable window but if at the end of that time he's not seeing the field or even the subs bench, then you need to move on and I think that there's a number of guys now on that bubble as regards the 2022 panel plus new faces that are deserving of opportunity.

Who does and doesn't make the bench for the All Ireland semi final will be interesting.

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 837 - 20/07/2021 11:28:08    2362058

My one thought as regards the Munster final is that it proved the case that Dan Morrissey has got to start at full back. Both Tipp goals came from puckout bombs falling behind the half back line that were not dealt with. This was an issue prior to 2020 as well when we conceded goals from high ball raining down on the full back line because of the size differential that existed before Dan went in full back so that must be a lesson learnt. And full disclosure, I had nightmares about Dan playing at full back a few years ago but he proved me wrong.

I don't know what to do with Gillane re discipline. I don't know how do you coach that temper reaction out of him but they have to try and do it because we need him but he's walking a tightrope with referees at this stage. The question is can he learn?

I though Barry Nash, Cian Lynch, Seamus Flanagan, Diarmuid Byrnes and Tom Morrissey kept us afloat in the first half. Kyle Hayes is a monster. Guys like him are freaks playing hurling and you will see teams changing how they play to try and deal with him. Hegarty, Casey, Hannon and both midfielders figured it out in the second half and went to to dominate their sectors. Sean Finn will be also happy with his second half but can't be comfortable with what happened in the first. That said, defending is a team effort and we we're off the standard in the first half so no one defender should take all the blame.

The third quarter was devastating - total and utter dominance against a quality team that couldn't cope with the power and quality of hurling that enveloped them.

Discipline, discipline, discipline. If the team perform to their standards, that's the one factor that could derail us.

Dealer (Limerick) - Posts: 837 - 20/07/2021 11:48:58    2362068

Dealer I'd be in agreement with what you have said..I have nothing against Richie but I couldn't get over the difference in all defenders when dan went to full back..I feel Richie has more to offer in the corner but will struggle to remove Barry who has impressed me because I doubted him as a defender..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2547 - 20/07/2021 13:04:23    2362103

Well done to both the senior and u20 teams after their wins.

I'll admit I thought the seniors were in for a trimming in the 2nd half on Sunday it was looking like the Cork and Kilkenny games in 2019. But by god did the lads stand up in the 2nd half and did themselves proud. Something I want to complain about there should have being alot more than 7000 allowed into pairc ui chaoimh on Sunday the stadium can hold nearly 50000, 20000 at least could have being catered for.

The U20's had a good game hopefully they can win some silverware too this year. Of course Adam English, Cathal O'Neill and Colin Cloughlan stood out a mile but jimmy Quilty, Michael Keane, Emmet Mcevoy and Aidan O'Connor look like good prospects too.

Something I need to correct myself on, I complained earlier this year about our teams not scoring goals, well I look foolish now, Kyle Hayes and Adam English scored 2 top drawer goals a joy to behold and Seamus Flanagan(a guy I highlighted missing goals) don't underestimate his goal a real poachers goal, like any good inside forward he anticipated the block and had himself in the right position to send it home. Well done all involved with both teams again.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 20/07/2021 13:29:17    2362119

Definitely should have been way more allowed on the terraces anyway.
I'm afraid to ask, can Gillane still get cited and get a match ban or is it because the referee gave him a yellow that they won't go back? In practically the same corner where he got sent off against Cork as well. He was young that time but lessons clearly weren't learned. Cathal Barrett is no Saint but Aaron should know better. It has taken away from an unbelievable game when he came on which is such a pity. Particularly that instinctive point in the second half. Top drawer stuff

Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 371 - 20/07/2021 15:49:29    2362182