Cork's selection of Cadogan on Hegarty and the importance of Limerck discipline mentioned in 2 posts above may be related. If so I think it will be proven to be a huge mistake by Cork management. Hopefully anyhow :)
Westfester (Limerick) - Posts: 980 - 03/07/2021 14:03:04
Thank God for that. Relatively poor performance considering the team's very high standards. Still managed to beat Cork by 8 points. We've come along way since 2010!
Shocs07 (Limerick) - Posts: 374 - 03/07/2021 20:46:07
Not a top drawer performance by Limerick.They found it difficult to come to terms with Corks strategy,Limerick fb line was outstanding in second half.Its nice to win by 8 points and be a bit disappointed,they missed some very easy point chances late in second half and too many wrong options...choosing to shoot when the score wasn't really on.It was very pleasing to see them scoring two goals today...it made the difference.Onwards and upwards for this Limerick team.
ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 03/07/2021 21:38:58
If someone told me ahead we'd beat Cork by 8 points with a very poor performance ahead of the game I'd have taken it no problem. As always post match nice to get the negatives out the way 1) number of yellow cards. Yes some high tackles but some of the screaming out of Cork players was ridiculous. Put us under pressure big time to not get another yellow 2) The lack of cohesion around the park. This was shown all over the place even by our backs who had a good defensive game. E.g handpasses missing players, handpasses over the sideline. None of the usual interplay by the front 6. Ended up taking pot shots instead of usual nippy stick passes to find the man in space 3) Extremely poor displays in general by our forwards. Gearoid will improve. Had virtually no league game time. Still managed 2 lovely points in the second half. Tom most certainly wasn't himself. Was probably well targeted by the Cork defence in fairness. He has been our go to man when chips are down. He's made of tough stuff, hopefully will regain some form next day out. Gillane & Flanagan won't be too happy either. As a unit the forwards played like individuals and never combined which is worrying. 4) 10 minutes without scoring and actually not looking like scoring. There was plenty time for Cork to get the deficit down even without goals. Another team would have. During this time our lads looked so lethargic. It's a real worry for the season ahead.
Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 371 - 03/07/2021 22:52:37
Positives 1) My god Nikey Quaid you're a gem. Super save. Think it helped to get inside Horgan's head too so had a huge impact. Except for one loose puck which should have been punished by Cork I think in the first half, he was absolutely majestic. The full backline was solid but the presence of Quaid would give any backline confidence which is super 2) Performances of Byrnes & Hayes leading from the back. Super players when struggling up front. Came up with massive scores and plays when badly needed. Lynch was super to bring us back into it but Cork had him picked up well in the second half.. 3) Peter Casey cemented his place in a starting team. For me the only forward who stood up throughout the entire game. Definitely our go to man up front. The sin bin was his only downfall. 4) Sub impact- Boylan's direct running causes problems. Nice to see Mulcahy nipping in too for a point and Reidy. 5) An overall very poor performance by the lads' very high standards. The wide count was through the roof. However Galway had the same performance levels against the Dubs but didn't eek out a win. That shouldn't be forgotten. Onto another Munster final. Definitely shouldn't take that for granted
Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 371 - 03/07/2021 23:08:25
Good win with a lot of players with improvement to come hopefully..I have to admit I was worried about this and once more I think Nicky came up trumps..if cork score that penalty they gain huge momentum..going the short route this year looks like the best option when you look at teams in qualifier already..thought our full back line did very well apart from maybe trying to play to much ball..also thought some cards handed out were bordering on ridiculous and cork players went down very easy..onwards and upwards limerick from here..
CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2547 - 03/07/2021 23:56:25
On a day when banana skins were everywhere it was very satisfying to pull through that match when it easily could have swung another way. I thought both FB lines were excellent last night. Limerick had a purple patch just before half time that effectively won the match. I thought cork tactically got their match ups spot on. O donoghue marshalled gillane very well and Tim o mahony was superb wing back. Limerick defensively were very disciplined in the tackle and nullified for the most part the cork goal threat. The pivotal point of the match for me was quaids penalty save. It ignited Limerick and we outscored cork by 2 points in the period we were down to 14 and minutes after casey was reintroduced we bagged 2 goals. It almost felt like it "woke the sleeping giant".
WoD played very well in midfield again as he is becoming key for limerick now. DoD didn't have his best game. What I take most out of the match was kielys decision to pull hego and tom with 15 mins to go. Tom is not firing yet this year and hego missed a lot of game time. Pulling the 2 front runners for HOTY last year will send a brilliant message to the whole panel. Not one man is safe in the jersey. This match will bring Limerick on a truck load.
Cian lynch for me was the key to this win. His second quarter performance layed the foundations for limericks win. He was quiet at the start but thundered into it. Flanagan got 2 scores at very important times too. Casey for me was the pick of our forwards and was incredibly unlucky to be binned. The sin bin will be discussed plenty on the Sunday game tonight but for me there seemed to be covering backs everywhere. Not to sour the taste of victory but cork were without doubt instructed to "embellish" any physical contact last night..it wasn't a pretty sight at all.
Kyle hayes got motm and most people will think of the goal but his overall display was huge. Putting him 7 was a masterstroke and he can flourish there now for years to come. Limerick shot 20 wides and had several balls overhit wastefully but on a day where I felt shocks would come I'm thankful we pulled through albeit with a nice bit to work on. Ideal.
Luimneach abú
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 04/07/2021 08:59:20
Great result and I'd agree with the last few posters analysis of the match. Pauds reffing was ok and he didn't buy what the Cork fellas were selling when screaming after getting fouled. That was hard to watch. He booked Boylan for no reason and it was a stonewall penalty. But other than that he was good. Caseys sinbin. It was harsh but it doesn't have to be a clear goal scoring opportunity, you could argue that the Cork player could get a fair shot off if Casey didn't foul him. Anyway it was still harsh. WoD ,Hayes, Byrnes and the fullback line were all good. Flanagan was good. Gillane isn't giving his all in my view. He shot a few 'not on at all' efforts and was playing well within himself but he gave a few great passes especially sweet one for Hayes's goal. Morrissy was poor on the day, very erratic. He'll improve. He'll be needed to beat a Tipp or Kilkenny as the season develops. Hegarty came good when really needed . Was stuck to the ground for periods. Cork are a very good side. Some of these young fellas will become household names. Iv no doubts about Connolly ,O Leary...ect. they've serious skill and speed. They ll get there and they ll roll over a few teams yet. Limerick used up a fair bit of luck yesterday with goals coming when they did and Corks prolifigacy as bad as Limericks. Cork could have won that game but their inexperience cost them. The likes of Tipp would have beaten us yesterday and beaten us by a few points . But that's ifs,ands and buts. They are through and they've scope to improve. Please get rid of the policy to hit 40/60 efforts on goal..even the 50/50s I can live with...but not some of Gillanes 40/60s percentage shots. Not on is not on
bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 04/07/2021 10:12:40
Seen 4 of these new style cynical penalties and in my view only one should definitely be awarded. That was against the Kilkenny keeper. The Clare penalty V Waterford was at best 50/50. I thought the one against Peter Casey was a joke but the one today against the Clare was an absolutely shambolical. Refs seem to be able to predict into the future that there's no way a defender will cover back. They should do next week's lotto if they can predict that
Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 371 - 04/07/2021 17:19:04
Good win for Limerick, even if ye were quite disjointed at times.
For all the talk about Cork being 'top of ground hurlers', they consistently flatter to deceive. You will never get a more top of the ground sod than the condition Thurles was in yesterday. Jackie Tyrrell even commented that he'd never seen it better.
Bring on their footballers now next weekend, and hopefully Limerick can do a double over the blood and bandage.
foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2310 - 04/07/2021 18:24:42
Well that's it lads, we may as well give up now at this stage, I thought Peter casey was hard done by but my god almighty what happened to clare today takes the biscuit, a simple free and a yellow card at most. At this rate hurling backs may as well stand still with their hands behind their backs from midfield on because you run the risk of giving away a penalty and being sent off. We may forget hurling now and start watching soccer exclusively. I've ranted about this before all these players training all year to a high professional level giving up so much of their personal lives for the game we all love only for some dipstick of a jumped up official to end your season on a ridiculous bad decision. Everything has moved on except the quality and consistency of the officials. Hopping mad.
jimbob50 (Limerick) - Posts: 100 - 04/07/2021 20:42:12
Replying To jimbob50: "Well that's it lads, we may as well give up now at this stage, I thought Peter casey was hard done by but my god almighty what happened to clare today takes the biscuit, a simple free and a yellow card at most. At this rate hurling backs may as well stand still with their hands behind their backs from midfield on because you run the risk of giving away a penalty and being sent off. We may forget hurling now and start watching soccer exclusively. I've ranted about this before all these players training all year to a high professional level giving up so much of their personal lives for the game we all love only for some dipstick of a jumped up official to end your season on a ridiculous bad decision. Everything has moved on except the quality and consistency of the officials. Hopping mad." Fully agree. And I have been saying it since the debate started 7 months ago. Clare didn't deserve that rubbish today!!
Seeking_silver (Limerick) - Posts: 411 - 04/07/2021 21:10:49
Funny how both Clare and Limerick were on the receiving end of terrible decisions. Cork and atipp the beneficiaries. That Owens should not be let ref again in the championship this year....or any year
bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 04/07/2021 21:33:11
Well done Limerick a decent win considering the lads played well below themselves, Nicky Quaid's performance can't be underestimated he pulled off a few saves before the penalty, he was secure under the high ball when the forwards were in on top of him and the penalty save took wind from Corks sails. Something I'm very happy with is we scored more goals than the opposition even if it's 2 to 1. Kyle Hayes goal was a great finish.
Look there is alot to be worked on before the Munster final and the lads are capable of alot more. Also some of our lads have to be more careful with their flicking of the hurley and make sure to make contact with the ball, was it 4 or 5 yellows we got. Players go down with any sort of contact down, I think we could be caught for a red card soon if referees start taking notice.
DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 05/07/2021 10:15:12
Delighted with the result on Saturday evening. The performance was not a vintage 1 but to beat Cork in Munster Championship by 8 points and not going at full tilt, I will take all day long. Its the sign of a good team to grind out a result and not play well.
Dan seemed to fit right back in when introduced. Barry Nash probably had his worst day in a Limerick jersey since converting to a defender. He will bounce back but think a full back line of Finn Morrissey English for the Munster Final.
Half back line was outstanding.
Mid Field done well. WOD covered every blade of grass in Thurles. His off the ball work is outrageous. DOD worked hard but just needs to tighten up his shooting.
Cian took some mighty scores and really took the game by the scruff of the neck in that 10 minute period before half time. Tom and Gearoid were not at their own high standard but think it will come good for the next day.
Peter Casey really is a class act. I always had him marked as a good man to come off the bench but he is a nailed on starter after Saturday night. Flannagan still causes havoc at 14 but would love to see him add more of a goal treat. Aaron Gillane really needs to up his work rate. free taking was on point and the pass for Hayes goal was class but think he can offer more from play. he was a machine last year winning his own ball and taking scores but needs to give off the pass if the shot is not on.
Graham added the work rate up front when came on and shows how hard work pays off with a great point. Boylan and Reidy did ok when introduced. Cant remember Pat Ryan doing much but would love to see more of him.
Roll on Sunday week!!
Ballyknockill (Limerick) - Posts: 27 - 05/07/2021 13:10:43
When is the qualifier draw ? ... need likes of Galway to be playing week after week now and not get a bye or soft draws
LimkABU (Limerick) - Posts: 74 - 05/07/2021 17:17:46
I think Dan will come back at full back and Richie in the corner for the Munster Final. With Mikey Casey coming back to fitness aswell I actually think Barry Nash is versatile enough to be used as a forward too. Think he could do a good job as a half forward option aswell, he would trump Reidy for accuracy and physicality too. Tipp in a Munster final will be a good indication of where we are, if we're off better to know in a Mun final rather than a knock out semi final.
chax (Limerick) - Posts: 5 - 06/07/2021 00:41:22
Replying To LimkABU: "When is the qualifier draw ? ... need likes of Galway to be playing week after week now and not get a bye or soft draws" Next Mon after Laois v Antrim game
LimkABU (Limerick) - Posts: 74 - 06/07/2021 09:36:18
Replying To chax: "I think Dan will come back at full back and Richie in the corner for the Munster Final. With Mikey Casey coming back to fitness aswell I actually think Barry Nash is versatile enough to be used as a forward too. Think he could do a good job as a half forward option aswell, he would trump Reidy for accuracy and physicality too. Tipp in a Munster final will be a good indication of where we are, if we're off better to know in a Mun final rather than a knock out semi final." As I've said before I think my main worry after the Cork game was what I felt was that our players looked quite lethargic in the last 15 mins. Yes there is a lot to be said for an ability to grind out a win like in Munster final last year and semi final in the end against Galway but this for me was different. Cork didn't punish us in that spell where another team would have. It had a feeling of us hanging on as opposed to a lot of commentators saying we were in 1st or 2nd gear. Now credit where it's due to our lads in how they reacted when Casey went off for 10 mins. It probably took a lot out of them. We saw how teams usually go on top when a man up. To outscore was some achievement.
After the last three years of our players bringing us silverware it must take a lot out of the team to keep standards so high. Tommy Walsh and other former Kilkenny players have said that you need to add players to keep things ticking over and I suppose keep a freshness. It may be one year too soon for Coughlan and O'Neill but perhaps a way of adding a freshness is like the masterstroke pulled by management when playing Hayes at wing half back. Tipp didn't see it coming. There is super competition in the backs that perhaps the forward unit could do with a bit of a shakeup. I think Jackie Tyrell suggested Hegarty in the full forward line or like you say Nash could potentially play up front. He's an excellent player. It keeps everyone on the toes.
Mads (Limerick) - Posts: 371 - 06/07/2021 18:40:33
Replying To Mads: "As I've said before I think my main worry after the Cork game was what I felt was that our players looked quite lethargic in the last 15 mins. Yes there is a lot to be said for an ability to grind out a win like in Munster final last year and semi final in the end against Galway but this for me was different. Cork didn't punish us in that spell where another team would have. It had a feeling of us hanging on as opposed to a lot of commentators saying we were in 1st or 2nd gear. Now credit where it's due to our lads in how they reacted when Casey went off for 10 mins. It probably took a lot out of them. We saw how teams usually go on top when a man up. To outscore was some achievement.
After the last three years of our players bringing us silverware it must take a lot out of the team to keep standards so high. Tommy Walsh and other former Kilkenny players have said that you need to add players to keep things ticking over and I suppose keep a freshness. It may be one year too soon for Coughlan and O'Neill but perhaps a way of adding a freshness is like the masterstroke pulled by management when playing Hayes at wing half back. Tipp didn't see it coming. There is super competition in the backs that perhaps the forward unit could do with a bit of a shakeup. I think Jackie Tyrell suggested Hegarty in the full forward line or like you say Nash could potentially play up front. He's an excellent player. It keeps everyone on the toes." I have little doubt that Tom Morrissey will regain his form before this years championship is out but if he wasn't I wonder would a switch for Gillane out to 10 be something that might be considered. With Mul back fit again fully and Flanagan and casey doing well v cork I think Gillane might do well on the HF line. We all know what Gillane brings inside taking two men on for large parts of the game but he seemed behind o donoghue to the ball esp in the 1st half. Gillane has played plenty of underage and fitzgibbon at 10. He is good in the air and when he does drift out to get on ball he does well.
Kieky could also trial Hego in on the square during matches and bring Gillane out and start same 15. I just think we could try something different to get the most out of gillane and as you said mix it up a little for the opposition.
daveboy (Limerick) - Posts: 1197 - 06/07/2021 22:15:24