GAA Funding

The pundits really let us down. Nobody really speaks out. I'd love to be on one of those shows.
Like next summer after dublin thrash a leinster team des will ask if they think there's a problem with the leinster championship.
Is there any blunt pundit out there who will just go on a rant or speak from the heart? Or get thick or hit the table.
Valerie Mulcahy pulled the hardest over the weekend on the sunday night in relation to the dublin ladies team "game management". Fair play to her.
I could go on .....

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 22/12/2020 19:49:19    2325503

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "For 50 mins the Mayo midfielders kept Mccarthy and Fenton on the back foot and in fairness neither Mccarthy and Fenton were having a massive impact until Loftus and Ruanne started to tíre and the dublin boys superior S&C saw them over the line."
Fenton asserted himself very soon after the re-start. McCarthy was quiet enough right enough -made some sloppy passes too. Don't know if you can attribute that exclusively to superior S&C. He did marvellously for the goal though

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/12/2020 20:06:26    2325508

Replying To avonali:  "Fenton asserted himself very soon after the re-start. McCarthy was quiet enough right enough -made some sloppy passes too. Don't know if you can attribute that exclusively to superior S&C. He did marvellously for the goal though"
They ran kerry into the ground last year in the replay. No team can live with them in that respect. Maybe a premier league team could.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 22/12/2020 20:33:34    2325519

Replying To gahfan:  "They ran kerry into the ground last year in the replay. No team can live with them in that respect. Maybe a premier league team could."
Sure when Kevin Moran went to Man Utd they couldn't believe his level
If fitness. We Dubs are fit people.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/12/2020 21:03:32    2325535

Christ, will ye give it a rest lads. I mean Gaelic football is such a primitive and boring game-trust me, it doesn't matter.

Growing up, we called it bog ball, for the lads who weren't good enough for soccer, hurling or rugby. An easy game for the less talented and that's still the same.

I actually recall Dubs telling me about 20 years ago it was for 'turnip munchers' but now that they dominate it, they suddenly love it! Dubs are like sheep.

I hope the Dubs keep going for the next few years, it'll be dead by 2025. They'll end up having the move the final to Portlaoise to make the attendance look big!

G'wan the turnip munchers!

LimerickKid84 (Limerick) - Posts: 28 - 23/12/2020 00:08:29    2325578

It seems to be very hard to have a rational debate about this. Years ago I was out with a dublin friend after they trashed us and we were having the craic but every now and then he'd shout up the dubs up in my face.
He had no real appreciation that you don't really do that, that football wasn't our stronger sport etc. I'd say he could barely name the dublin team. I'm not sure he really got sport if you know what I mean.
It's a bit like that on here. Ho ho ho six in a row, up the dubs, ye are useless, up to ye to catch up, what about the hurlers, kilkenny, kerry, philly's a legend is about all you get.

gahfan (Wexford) - Posts: 636 - 23/12/2020 07:20:18    2325595

Replying To gahfan:  "The pundits really let us down. Nobody really speaks out. I'd love to be on one of those shows.
Like next summer after dublin thrash a leinster team des will ask if they think there's a problem with the leinster championship.
Is there any blunt pundit out there who will just go on a rant or speak from the heart? Or get thick or hit the table.
Valerie Mulcahy pulled the hardest over the weekend on the sunday night in relation to the dublin ladies team "game management". Fair play to her.
I could go on ....."
You won't get any pundit sticking their head up about anything on rte, they're afraid they will get fired. Combined with that is that the presenters of both Sunday game shows are from Dublin and they won't rock the boat either. It is only when viewing figures go down something might be said.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 23/12/2020 08:12:33    2325600

Replying To LimerickKid84:  "Christ, will ye give it a rest lads. I mean Gaelic football is such a primitive and boring game-trust me, it doesn't matter.

Growing up, we called it bog ball, for the lads who weren't good enough for soccer, hurling or rugby. An easy game for the less talented and that's still the same.

I actually recall Dubs telling me about 20 years ago it was for 'turnip munchers' but now that they dominate it, they suddenly love it! Dubs are like sheep.

I hope the Dubs keep going for the next few years, it'll be dead by 2025. They'll end up having the move the final to Portlaoise to make the attendance look big!

G'wan the turnip munchers!"
You reckon rugby is a more skillful game than gaelic football? That's a laugh. Bulk up and batter into someone head first isn't exactly high skill.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 23/12/2020 09:36:41    2325606

Replying To LimerickKid84:  "Christ, will ye give it a rest lads. I mean Gaelic football is such a primitive and boring game-trust me, it doesn't matter.

I'm around a while Limerick and I've never ever heard a Dublin person refer to anybody as a turnip muncher. 20 years ago Dubs would have packed out into Hill 16 for a Leinster final. Far more Dubs would have followed the Dubs in the earlier rounds of the Championship. Ur post just doesn't ring true to me.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 23/12/2020 10:19:37    2325612

Replying To republicofcloone:  "You reckon rugby is a more skillful game than gaelic football? That's a laugh. Bulk up and batter into someone head first isn't exactly high skill."
Then you dont know what rugby is or what rugby is about if you think thats what the sport is

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3494 - 23/12/2020 12:04:29    2325630

Replying To avonali:  "Sure when Kevin Moran went to Man Utd they couldn't believe his level
If fitness. We Dubs are fit people."
Not only his fitness Avonali, a Bachelor of Commerce from UCD in his back pocket too. I used to get Shoot in the 70s and Gordon McQueen infamously wrote that Man Utd had signed a gaelic footballer from Kerry! Soccer has copped on now, both sides of the water, into getting an education for young footballers to prepare then for life whether they make it or not. In many ways Kevin Moran was well before his time and a gentleman too. We should be proud of all Irish people but the GAA community can take pride in former players who pursue careers in other sport because they got such a good grounding and work ethic from Gaelic games.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7325 - 23/12/2020 12:17:12    2325638

We are all entitled to our opinions but for me you ré way off the mark. I think gaelic football is more skilful than rugby and hurling even more so again. When I was younger lads that were nt good enough at gaelic football played rugby if they were strong enough. Players that played both codes might answer better but for me Rugby not as skilful at all. I often heard the soccer crowd in Dublin call gaa football "bogball" but in all my years in Dublin I never heard the term "turnip muncher".

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3667 - 23/12/2020 12:24:14    2325641

Replying To gahfan:  "It seems to be very hard to have a rational debate about this. Years ago I was out with a dublin friend after they trashed us and we were having the craic but every now and then he'd shout up the dubs up in my face.
He had no real appreciation that you don't really do that, that football wasn't our stronger sport etc. I'd say he could barely name the dublin team. I'm not sure he really got sport if you know what I mean.
It's a bit like that on here. Ho ho ho six in a row, up the dubs, ye are useless, up to ye to catch up, what about the hurlers, kilkenny, kerry, philly's a legend is about all you get."
Well gahfan I know where you ré coming from but every county has those fellas I'm afraid and yes I was talking to a Dub in 2018 after all ireland and he only knew 4 or 5 players and he was at the game. When teams are winning also you get the bandwagon supporters. In saying that most Dublin supporters are the salt of the earth and very knowledgeable in their gaa. On this forum I would say 99% are gaa fanatics. Yes there are one or two that probably go over the top but in fairness to them it might be just and reaction to provocation and we all human. Gwan the Wexicans.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3667 - 23/12/2020 12:51:46    2325644

Replying To gahfan:  "It seems to be very hard to have a rational debate about this. Years ago I was out with a dublin friend after they trashed us and we were having the craic but every now and then he'd shout up the dubs up in my face.
It's a bit like that on here. Ho ho ho six in a row, up the dubs, ye are useless, up to ye to catch up, what about the hurlers, kilkenny, kerry, philly's a legend is about all you get."
Great post,that's exactly as I see it here too,no depth of debate just quick and sometimes irrelevant remarks and throwing in white elephants,I suppose it gets the number of posts up for posters.
If I remember correctly there was a thread here about the number of posts put up by posters a few years back and some saying they would have over 5k posts in the near future.I gave up for a few years after that,didn't even read posts here.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 23/12/2020 13:08:35    2325647

Replying To ONdeDITCH:  "Great post,that's exactly as I see it here too,no depth of debate just quick and sometimes irrelevant remarks and throwing in white elephants,I suppose it gets the number of posts up for posters.
If I remember correctly there was a thread here about the number of posts put up by posters a few years back and some saying they would have over 5k posts in the near future.I gave up for a few years after that,didn't even read posts here."
Yet here you are, not long after Limerick win an All Ireland

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 23/12/2020 14:08:49    2325663

Haha iv never heard us country folk called turnip munchers but I have heard us called carrot crunchers a few times by city dwellers :-)

I think football is more skillfull than rugby but then again it depends on whos playing it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 23/12/2020 14:15:10    2325667

Replying To KillingFields:  "Then you dont know what rugby is or what rugby is about if you think thats what the sport is"
I know it is a very minority sport in Ireland that gets undue media attention for some reason which culminates in successive failures by the national team, except the odd mighty result in a friendly against a tired end of season Southern Hemisphere side.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 23/12/2020 15:05:58    2325675