Diving In Gaa

there are very few things which irk me more than the current "theatrics" of modern players in all games,and all codes.
in every game now but the holier-than-thou hurling,and football,players are diving for frees,looking for contact,getting a tap on the arm and falling to the ground.
the worst example for me was at the end of the u20 final yesterday,the dublin player clearly dived the first time and having not won his free,dived another time.it was disgusting.
but it is happening in every game.hurling,the key now is to leave the hand trailing,catch the arm of the defender,and fall over.free every time.there were examples in last years all ireland where a tipp hurler tripped himself up and michael duignan mentioned it in the commentary if i remember correctly.
in football,an attempt to slap the ball away or tackle an opponent is now met by falling to the ground,holding the face in some cases.

i know i often talk about the 90s/00s but to me back then lads would go through a brick wall before falling to the ground.falling to the ground was a sign of weakness.

if this continues,it will completely ruin both games and i wonder how much is being coached or management instruction.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 20/12/2020 10:30:40    2324414

Replying To perfect10:  "there are very few things which irk me more than the current "theatrics" of modern players in all games,and all codes.
in every game now but the holier-than-thou hurling,and football,players are diving for frees,looking for contact,getting a tap on the arm and falling to the ground.
the worst example for me was at the end of the u20 final yesterday,the dublin player clearly dived the first time and having not won his free,dived another time.it was disgusting.
but it is happening in every game.hurling,the key now is to leave the hand trailing,catch the arm of the defender,and fall over.free every time.there were examples in last years all ireland where a tipp hurler tripped himself up and michael duignan mentioned it in the commentary if i remember correctly.
in football,an attempt to slap the ball away or tackle an opponent is now met by falling to the ground,holding the face in some cases.

i know i often talk about the 90s/00s but to me back then lads would go through a brick wall before falling to the ground.falling to the ground was a sign of weakness.

if this continues,it will completely ruin both games and i wonder how much is being coached or management instruction."
Agreed. I hate it.
Apparently it's always been around, since day dot,, but I started following the GAA on 1998 avd it wasn't until 2003 that I saw any examples of it.

Peter Canavan runs into a kerry player and throws himself to the ground,, Brian dooher, Phillip Jordan, Sean Cavanagh. Mickey Harte used diving as a tactic to win and other teams having seen how effective it was,, and how the officials couldn't quite grasp what was going on right in front of them,, other teams followed suit.

Joe brolly was the only pundit who tried to call teams on it. The others, along with many fans,, tried to pretend it didn't exist.
GAA players are arguably worse than soccer players now.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1717 - 20/12/2020 13:38:08    2324544

Replying To perfect10:  "there are very few things which irk me more than the current "theatrics" of modern players in all games,and all codes.

if this continues,it will completely ruin both games and i wonder how much is being coached or management instruction."
Yes it is horrible. A player in yesterday's final got slapped at and was on the ground holding his face. The replay clearly showed the slap came down the side of his neck and shoulder.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 20/12/2020 15:54:14    2324626

Replying To Canuck:  "Yes it is horrible. A player in yesterday's final got slapped at and was on the ground holding his face. The replay clearly showed the slap came down the side of his neck and shoulder."
That was John Small. Niall Scully did it on another occasion.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5016 - 20/12/2020 15:55:27    2324628

Replying To Galway9801:  "Agreed. I hate it.
Apparently it's always been around, since day dot,, but I started following the GAA on 1998 avd it wasn't until 2003 that I saw any examples of it.

Peter Canavan runs into a kerry player and throws himself to the ground,, Brian dooher, Phillip Jordan, Sean Cavanagh. Mickey Harte used diving as a tactic to win and other teams having seen how effective it was,, and how the officials couldn't quite grasp what was going on right in front of them,, other teams followed suit.

Joe brolly was the only pundit who tried to call teams on it. The others, along with many fans,, tried to pretend it didn't exist.
GAA players are arguably worse than soccer players now."
Ah, I see Tyrone started it. God help you.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 20/12/2020 16:30:42    2324650

Replying To essmac:  "Ah, I see Tyrone started it. God help you."
Just believing my own eyes essmac.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1717 - 20/12/2020 16:35:35    2324652

I remember it seemed to start in the 90s in football. Tackler would put his arm in to tackle, player in possession would grab the arm and fall over. Free every time. Has crept in the last 10 years in hurling. Whatever about winning frees, I hate seeing players feign injury to get opponents sent off.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 20/12/2020 16:51:56    2324658

Diving and feigning injury should be a yellow card at least, it's cheating trying to get the opposing player booked or sent off.
if it's not picked up by the officials at the time there should be bans for it based on the video evidence, it's the most unmanly form of behaviour that has crept in from the soccer world, it can be stamped out if it's cracked down on hard.
Tyrone have been called out for it but all teams are at it now, Tiernan McCann was one of the worst cases I've ever seen, that is disgraceful behaviour.
Brolly said he'd lost respect for Cavanagh the time he dragged down McManus, I'd have far less respect for the likes of Tiernan McCann, Michael McKernan really embarrassed himself against us this year too.
I bought a dog for the wife in Tyrone last year, nice wee dog but the only thing is every time you try and pat him on the head he falls to the ground, must be a Tyrone condition. lol.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2756 - 20/12/2020 17:06:34    2324666

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Diving and feigning injury should be a yellow card at least, it's cheating trying to get the opposing player booked or sent off.
if it's not picked up by the officials at the time there should be bans for it based on the video evidence, it's the most unmanly form of behaviour that has crept in from the soccer world, it can be stamped out if it's cracked down on hard.
Tyrone have been called out for it but all teams are at it now, Tiernan McCann was one of the worst cases I've ever seen, that is disgraceful behaviour.
Brolly said he'd lost respect for Cavanagh the time he dragged down McManus, I'd have far less respect for the likes of Tiernan McCann, Michael McKernan really embarrassed himself against us this year too.
I bought a dog for the wife in Tyrone last year, nice wee dog but the only thing is every time you try and pat him on the head he falls to the ground, must be a Tyrone condition. lol."
Retrospective action is a must as almost impossible for refs to decide there and then.

Also, let's stop blaming soccer. Jose Miurhino/Pep Guardiola aren't coaching GAA players. This is a GAA issue, and is the fault of GAA coaches avd players.

Frankly I think our players could learn a thing or two about honesty from the current Liverpool team.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1717 - 20/12/2020 17:25:59    2324676

Great minds obviously think alike as I just attempted to start a similar thread although you may have put it more eloquently. Its becoming chronic in both codes at both club and inter county. I absolutely hate it and I do believe its being coached or at least is not discouraged. You would be amazed though how many younger players think its perfectly acceptable and would actually feel aggrieved if they arent awarded a free.And your also right about older players you couldnt imagine Pete Finnerty or Larry o going on with that stuff.Part of the problem is that commentators or analysts never call offenders out even while having the benefit of replays.And heaven forbid that a referee would award a free the other way which he is entitled to do

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 20/12/2020 18:31:14    2324727

Replying To Galway9801:  "Just believing my own eyes essmac."
Tyrone really made an art form out of diving, and when it worked for them, other teams started it

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 20/12/2020 19:08:54    2324752

Is this about the penalty in the ladies final today?

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 20/12/2020 19:22:55    2324759

Replying To mhunicean_abu:  "Is this about the penalty in the ladies final today?"
not unless i am a clairvoyant when i started the thread at 10.30am.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 20/12/2020 20:08:51    2324790

Replying To perfect10:  "not unless i am a clairvoyant when i started the thread at 10.30am."
Hahaha! :-)

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 20/12/2020 20:27:34    2324804

Replying To ballydalane:  "I remember it seemed to start in the 90s in football. Tackler would put his arm in to tackle, player in possession would grab the arm and fall over. Free every time. Has crept in the last 10 years in hurling. Whatever about winning frees, I hate seeing players feign injury to get opponents sent off."
Agree with you about it creeping into hurling now. I have said this before that the great Eddie Keher got a slap of a hurley on his way to goal in a final, buried it and ran back out into his position. Even latter watching it in black and white you could see the screen turning dark with the blood. Never had much time afterwards for the famous player who did it.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2665 - 20/12/2020 21:48:57    2324855

Agree and disagree, the Dublin player clearly threw himself to the ground, dive, but why weaken your argument by saying he dived secondly, when it is clear he got a two handed push in the back, no sympathy for him because of the initial dive but he was fouled the second time.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 20/12/2020 21:51:06    2324857

Different ways of looking at this depending who you are and who's commenting. For the same foul some would call them as , soft, bought, cute, smart, or cheating, diving etc. I don't like it , it's in every game and maybe a yellow card for going down easily might start to cut it out. Say what you see and I see Matty Donnelly is a master at it but it's everywhere if your truthful.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2016 - 20/12/2020 22:30:36    2324880

To be fair, he was fouled. The last Galway free had a similar amount of contact. Player went down easily. He got the free. Dublin lad didn't.

Them's the way things be.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 20/12/2020 23:02:44    2324895

U20s though, clearly a learner diver.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 21/12/2020 08:48:37    2324946

Replying To JayP:  "To be fair, he was fouled. The last Galway free had a similar amount of contact. Player went down easily. He got the free. Dublin lad didn't.

Them's the way things be."
The first one, clearly a dive, should have been a yellow card and a free out.

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1812 - 21/12/2020 10:09:04    2324986