Limerick. All Ireland Champions 2020

We've just won our 2nd all Ireland in 3 years
(or 4th in 80 yrs if you want to be precise)

Reading a fair few of the comments on here.. The reason behind our success is as follows.

1, JP McManus money. (bought success, even though he's sponsored Limerick for about 20 yrs not just since 2018)

2. Limerick are too big.. Try telling that to Peter Casey, Cian Lynch, Graeme Mulcahy or Sean Finn.

3. Limerick are cynical ie: we don't let the opposition score against us..
Unlike Tipp or Kilkenny who won all Irelands through sheer brilliance and nothing else.

4. Our style of hurling is boring... We tried the whole, belt the ball up the pitch and watch it come back again just as quickly... Style of hurling. It didn't really work out too well for us.

5. The best yet.. Good coaching and strength and conditioning has taken average hurlers and made them all Ireland winners.. No response possible.

6. Limerick are unbeatable ( I feckin wish)

Fact remains, after a horrendous beating at the hands of Tipperary in the all Ireland semi finals 11 yrs ago, a players strike 10 yrs ago and years in the wasteland of division 1B (or division 2) we got our act together, set up an academy for young players , put resources into cultivating talent and we're fortunate to have an excellent management team gel it all together...

As Limerick hurling supporters we've seen enough misery to last a lifetime. These days won't last but we'll enjoy every minute of it while they do.

So Thanks to JP McManus, John Kiely, Paul Kinnerk (and the few 100 in their back room team:)
Thanks to the players who gave so much of themselves to give us an amazing Christmas present.
Hopefully we'll have an uninterrupted 2021 Championship, stay safe and Happy Christmas.
Luimneach Abu!!

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 15/12/2020 20:35:57    2322733

Replying To skillet:  "We've just won our 2nd all Ireland in 3 years

Reading a fair few of the comments on here.. The reason behind our success is as follows.

1, JP McManus money. (bought success, even though he's sponsored Limerick for about 20 yrs not just since 2018)

2. Limerick are too big.. Try telling that to Peter Casey, Cian Lynch, Graeme Mulcahy or Sean Finn.

Unlike Tipp or Kilkenny who won all Irelands through sheer brilliance and nothing else.

4. Our style of hurling is boring... We tried the whole, belt the ball up the pitch and watch it come back again just as quickly... Style of hurling. It didn't really work out too well for us.

5. The best yet.. Good coaching and strength and conditioning has taken average hurlers and made them all Ireland winners.. No response possible.

Fact remains, after a horrendous beating at the hands of Tipperary in the all Ireland semi finals 11 yrs ago, a players strike 10 yrs ago and years in the wasteland of division 1B (or division 2) we got our act together, set up an academy for young players , put resources into cultivating talent and we're fortunate to have an excellent management team gel it all together...

As Limerick hurling supporters we've seen enough misery to last a lifetime. These days won't last but we'll enjoy every minute of it while they do.

So Thanks to JP McManus, John Kiely, Paul Kinnerk (and the few 100 in their back room team:)
Thanks to the players who gave so much of themselves to give us an amazing Christmas present.
Hopefully we'll have an uninterrupted 2021 Championship, stay safe and Happy Christmas.
Luimneach Abu!!"
You have to be a begrudger and know nothing about hurling to entertain any of that nonsense. First Limerick have the best team that was achieved by tremendous work over time. You are lucky to have such a good sponsor for so long who obviously loves his county and on top of that loves Gaelic Games and went the extra mile to help all counties.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 15/12/2020 21:17:28    2322748

Luimneach Abu!!"
Hi limerick are all Ireland champions don't mind that old talk go away and enjoy the winter.
By the way well done ye have a great team.

Johnnyprophet (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 15/12/2020 21:20:33    2322750

Luimneach Abu!!"
That's a fair resume of whats happened in Limerick hurling.Did we have bad days supporting Limerick? we sure did and much too many.So many years with a negative result but come the following year the brother and myself would be on the road again with hope in our hearts,it hasn't been easy in my supporting Limerick since 1955......Mackeys Greyhounds!The current bunch of Limerick hurlers are a joy to behold in full flight and I don't think any hurling team of all the teams I have seen in my lifetime would live with them when they are on full throttle,such speed of thought and movement,passing skill with the hurl as well as the hand,like a synchronized orchestra of movement and skill.Am thinking these guys are so fantastic that it was worth the wait and the suffering,thanks to each and every one on the team and panel and backroom.Also the people that had the foresight to set up the Academy and go over to Liam Brady and Arsenal and see what they were doing there...the leading Academy in English soccer at the time.

ONdeDITCH (Limerick) - Posts: 873 - 15/12/2020 21:21:55    2322752

JP has been pumping money into Limerick for years...why have they only begun to win recently? I'll tell you why, because they have the best Hurling manager in Ireland right now and a special group of players...that's why.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 15/12/2020 21:45:32    2322760

Limerick fans brace yourself for the begrudger brigade to come out in force. Enjoy your success. John Kiely comes across a very passionate man , type of manager I would say players would run through a wall for him. Fabulous team to watch. It will take some team/effort to derail them in 2021.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 15/12/2020 21:52:07    2322762

Who's entertaining that rubbish? They're quite a likeable team and play a decent brand of hurling. Of course they have a cynical element but all the top teams have it. Hannons take down tackle in the first half is an example, you need the edge

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 15/12/2020 22:25:54    2322772

Sorry if I offended with my pun, it is not nice. Please mods don't put it in.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 15/12/2020 22:35:50    2322776

Congratulations Limerick! Great to see hard work pay off.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2119 - 15/12/2020 23:25:57    2322782

Replying To Trump2020:  "Congratulations Limerick! Great to see hard work pay off."
Thanks Trump. Galway has to come back big in the next few years, with all those brilliant minors, Happy Christmas to you and yours.

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 16/12/2020 16:37:26    2322940

Waterford were 4 to 1 against last night (under 20) but Tipp only drew level with a goal in the sixth minute of lost time. At that stage Waterford had lost four of the top players off the field to injury including the full back. Them are the breaks or not the breaks I guess. Look out for the names Kiely, Daly, Kirwan, Foley and others in the future. Big boys who can play also. Tipp took advantage and came good in the overtime. The final score was very flattering. Liam Cahill will like what he saw despite moral victories that don't cutting it.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 16/12/2020 20:34:00    2323006

Replying To Canuck:  "Waterford were 4 to 1 against last night (under 20) but Tipp only drew level with a goal in the sixth minute of lost time. At that stage Waterford had lost four of the top players off the field to injury including the full back. Them are the breaks or not the breaks I guess. Look out for the names Kiely, Daly, Kirwan, Foley and others in the future. Big boys who can play also. Tipp took advantage and came good in the overtime. The final score was very flattering. Liam Cahill will like what he saw despite moral victories that don't cutting it."
Good News Canuck. As I said before I would be delighted to see Waterford lift the McCarthy Cup

Oldtourman (Limerick) - Posts: 4318 - 16/12/2020 21:06:33    2323014

Replying To Canuck:  "Waterford were 4 to 1 against last night (under 20) but Tipp only drew level with a goal in the sixth minute of lost time. At that stage Waterford had lost four of the top players off the field to injury including the full back. Them are the breaks or not the breaks I guess. Look out for the names Kiely, Daly, Kirwan, Foley and others in the future. Big boys who can play also. Tipp took advantage and came good in the overtime. The final score was very flattering. Liam Cahill will like what he saw despite moral victories that don't cutting it."
Yes give Liam Cahill a few years in Waterford.Sunday was too soon for them against an outstanding Limerick team.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 16/12/2020 21:46:27    2323025

Replying To Canuck:  "You have to be a begrudger and know nothing about hurling to entertain any of that nonsense. First Limerick have the best team that was achieved by tremendous work over time. You are lucky to have such a good sponsor for so long who obviously loves his county and on top of that loves Gaelic Games and went the extra mile to help all counties."
I agree. The begrudgers will always be with us. When any county emerges and looks like it has the potential to dominate for a while, there will be a rump who will criticise and ascribe their success to everything they can think of except hurling ability. Galway faced that in the late 80's...we were told we were winning cos of our soft passage to the semi final, Clare got slated in the 90's for over aggressiveness, now Limerick are up on the podium and looking too comfortable there and some want to find reasons to downgrade their achievements.
Congratulations to Limerick on becoming All Ireland champions again. They are well placed to repeat the feat in 2021 but it's not going to be easy. Enjoy the success now cos next year could be different.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 16/12/2020 22:25:18    2323032

Replying To Oldtourman:  "Thanks Trump. Galway has to come back big in the next few years, with all those brilliant minors, Happy Christmas to you and yours."
I hope you're right as Joe Canning and some others aren't getting any younger.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2119 - 17/12/2020 01:27:49    2323049

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "I agree. The begrudgers will always be with us. When any county emerges and looks like it has the potential to dominate for a while, there will be a rump who will criticise and ascribe their success to everything they can think of except hurling ability. Galway faced that in the late 80's...we were told we were winning cos of our soft passage to the semi final, Clare got slated in the 90's for over aggressiveness, now Limerick are up on the podium and looking too comfortable there and some want to find reasons to downgrade their achievements.
Congratulations to Limerick on becoming All Ireland champions again. They are well placed to repeat the feat in 2021 but it's not going to be easy. Enjoy the success now cos next year could be different."
It's often years later that serial winners are looked at more fondly. I know Dublin fans don't like what's been said and written about them and I wouldn't either if it was my county. But people will appreciate Dublin and indeed Limerick.

It's funny Limerick were everyone's favourite team in 2018 but it only takes a win or two for the public to grow bored and look for another team. I saw it happen Armagh and Tyrone in the 00's.

Us Irish people by nature are a very begrudging race. We like when someone is successful but not too successful...oh look at yer man getting all high and mighty. **** em I say.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 17/12/2020 10:56:07    2323090

Luimneach Abu!!"
Must say that's a great post Skillet personally it never bothers me what pundits or the public say but there's no doubt that
after a few wins peoples views change everybody loves the underdog until he starts to win.

For us in Clare we were everybodys favourites for a short while then the media planted a few things roused the masses.

The Limerick setup is currently the envy of the Country superb team great management and best coaches in Paul Kinnerc & Alan Cunningham.

Enjoy the good times

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 887 - 17/12/2020 11:06:14    2323093

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "I agree. The begrudgers will always be with us. When any county emerges and looks like it has the potential to dominate for a while, there will be a rump who will criticise and ascribe their success to everything they can think of except hurling ability. Galway faced that in the late 80's...we were told we were winning cos of our soft passage to the semi final, Clare got slated in the 90's for over aggressiveness, now Limerick are up on the podium and looking too comfortable there and some want to find reasons to downgrade their achievements.
Congratulations to Limerick on becoming All Ireland champions again. They are well placed to repeat the feat in 2021 but it's not going to be easy. Enjoy the success now cos next year could be different."
That Galway team had it all. Shocked Cork in the rain in 85. Classic all Ireland final v Cork in 86. Champions in 87 & 88. 89 - well that's a matter of opinion. Then 1990, the third greatest final of all time in my opinion. Couldn't see them being beaten at half time but Cork back then, Jesus you couldn't write then off. What Galway gave to hurling between 1980 & 1990 was immense. Teak tough men all over the field, but bags of skill too.

People can get caught up on the current champions, but when Galway won in 87 I genuinely thought they'd win 4 in a row, they were that good. The 87 semi final was a brilliant game. So many great memories from that Galway team, not least the battles between the great Tony Keady (RIP) & Tomas Mulcahy. Nothing tippy tappy back then, if you weren't comfortable with the prospect of a hurley down your back under a high ball, there was no place for you on the pitch.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 17/12/2020 11:17:40    2323094

Replying To clooney:  "Must say that's a great post Skillet personally it never bothers me what pundits or the public say but there's no doubt that
after a few wins peoples views change everybody loves the underdog until he starts to win.

For us in Clare we were everybodys favourites for a short while then the media planted a few things roused the masses.

The Limerick setup is currently the envy of the Country superb team great management and best coaches in Paul Kinnerc & Alan Cunningham.

Enjoy the good times"
Thank you.. I really was afraid I'd never see us win a senior all Ireland, so to see 2 in 3 yrs is a dream come true.
I remember the envy I felt when you won the 2 all Irelands in the nineties and we lost 2, i was delighted for Clare especially in 95, even though ye beat us in the munster final but devastated by 94 especially.
I actually think it was only 2018 finally exorcised those memories.

Hurling needs new winners on a regular basis. That's why hopefully Clare, Wexford, Waterford etc will win again soon.

As a rule i don't really get too bothered by anonymous posters but I know a few lads involved in setting up the academy originally and the colossal hard work put in to make these days happen.. Just annoyed me the lazy reaction of ah without JPs money you'd win nothing.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1062 - 17/12/2020 13:41:08    2323141

Replying To skillet:  "Thank you.. I really was afraid I'd never see us win a senior all Ireland, so to see 2 in 3 yrs is a dream come true.
I remember the envy I felt when you won the 2 all Irelands in the nineties and we lost 2, i was delighted for Clare especially in 95, even though ye beat us in the munster final but devastated by 94 especially.
I actually think it was only 2018 finally exorcised those memories.

Hurling needs new winners on a regular basis. That's why hopefully Clare, Wexford, Waterford etc will win again soon.

As a rule i don't really get too bothered by anonymous posters but I know a few lads involved in setting up the academy originally and the colossal hard work put in to make these days happen.. Just annoyed me the lazy reaction of ah without JPs money you'd win nothing."
Ditto - every word.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 17/12/2020 14:19:09    2323160