Four Teams Representing Dublin Geographic Area!

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think there is a logical argument there in decades to come for a split, key figure for me is participation rates at adult senior. They are at a level now we're they are the highest in the country but only marginally. Dublins population to participation ratio is probably the worst in the country, which makes you wonder why or the need to follow "the Dublin model" or even success. If Dublin had 100k adult footballers to pick from I think that would be unfair, I could understand the logic of the argue meant for a split then.

Is it there now? Not for me and that based on participation numbers. Would I accept a split? Very biasedly, no never. There in lies the problem for the GAA, splitting Dublin in akin to to just taking the County of Dublin out of the intercounty game and killing GAA stone dead. Split teams would be boycotted, those participating vilified, I'd actively protest, there just would be no Dublin, I'd actually prefer to see Dublin pull out of the GAA do their own thing, rent the Aviva and have cracking matches Dublin A Vs B or a club blitz over the summer, that would get huge support amongst the natives in solidarity, think the DCB would hold its own financially. Who knows might even the genius of a breakaway from the GAA going forward like the PL and FA all those years ago. Ultimately I think the impact would lead to a reunification. But hey on the bright side maybe we might have a decent soccer and rugby team for a few years with lads choosing those sports in the capital.

I think all that is before you look at the financial impact for the GAA, Dublin holds its own in commercial revenue and sponsorship as we know. But there is a secondary revenue for the GAA look around Croke Park, Supervalue, BoyleSports, Centra, Eir, Bord Gais, Electric Ireland, AIB, how many of these of counties want to be involved with an organisation vilified in the country's biggest market. Eir show nothing only Dublin league games, Sky Sports always pick the Dublin game, good luck with TV deals. Premium seating and Corporate boxes are Croke parks biggest revenue generator, all sold with the knowledge the Dubs are in the ticket, I hear many say gates are falling and will hit the GAA in the pocket, revenue is going up and up year after year pre COVID, the gate these days is a small slice of the pie. Then thinking of the gate, there are only a couple of counties who can fill Croker or 75% outside a final, us and Mayo really.

So ultimately I think we might have question to answer around a split not at the moment, but in decades to come if adult partition rates continue to swell logically. It will never be accepted, in fact vilified. I hear people saying it will take a few generations to bite. I don't think so kids won't be brought down the club, they will be sent down to Rugby and soccer who will welcome them with open arms. There will be no culture or tradition of GAA in the county and on one in the county will identify with the GAA, like it was but for all but a very few pre Heffo.

The GAA might hit and hope but overall I think they would regret ever trying a split."
I dont agree that Dublin and Mayo are the only counties that could fill Croker. You're selling most of the rest of Ireland very short there. I've seen many counties travel to fill it in the past. The problem now is that most fans don't feel its worth 70 euro plus travel to come down the road and watch their county get beat out the door after 10 minutes or the inevitable prospect of that happening the next day. Leaving the plight of Dublin participation aside for just a second, the current one team championship is setting participation levels in the rest of Ireland back by a generation. Living in Belfast and working with kids at underage level its a struggle to convince even the kids of former players that its worthwhile playing instead of many other sports or activities these days.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 05/02/2021 13:05:40    2330334

Replying To TheUsername:  "I think there is a logical argument there in decades to come for a split, key figure for me is participation rates at adult senior. They are at a level now we're they are the highest in the country but only marginally. Dublins population to participation ratio is probably the worst in the country, which makes you wonder why or the need to follow "the Dublin model" or even success. If Dublin had 100k adult footballers to pick from I think that would be unfair, I could understand the logic of the argue meant for a split then.

Is it there now? Not for me and that based on participation numbers. Would I accept a split? Very biasedly, no never. There in lies the problem for the GAA, splitting Dublin in akin to to just taking the County of Dublin out of the intercounty game and killing GAA stone dead. Split teams would be boycotted, those participating vilified, I'd actively protest, there just would be no Dublin, I'd actually prefer to see Dublin pull out of the GAA do their own thing, rent the Aviva and have cracking matches Dublin A Vs B or a club blitz over the summer, that would get huge support amongst the natives in solidarity, think the DCB would hold its own financially. Who knows might even the genius of a breakaway from the GAA going forward like the PL and FA all those years ago. Ultimately I think the impact would lead to a reunification. But hey on the bright side maybe we might have a decent soccer and rugby team for a few years with lads choosing those sports in the capital.

I think all that is before you look at the financial impact for the GAA, Dublin holds its own in commercial revenue and sponsorship as we know. But there is a secondary revenue for the GAA look around Croke Park, Supervalue, BoyleSports, Centra, Eir, Bord Gais, Electric Ireland, AIB, how many of these of counties want to be involved with an organisation vilified in the country's biggest market. Eir show nothing only Dublin league games, Sky Sports always pick the Dublin game, good luck with TV deals. Premium seating and Corporate boxes are Croke parks biggest revenue generator, all sold with the knowledge the Dubs are in the ticket, I hear many say gates are falling and will hit the GAA in the pocket, revenue is going up and up year after year pre COVID, the gate these days is a small slice of the pie. Then thinking of the gate, there are only a couple of counties who can fill Croker or 75% outside a final, us and Mayo really.

So ultimately I think we might have question to answer around a split not at the moment, but in decades to come if adult partition rates continue to swell logically. It will never be accepted, in fact vilified. I hear people saying it will take a few generations to bite. I don't think so kids won't be brought down the club, they will be sent down to Rugby and soccer who will welcome them with open arms. There will be no culture or tradition of GAA in the county and on one in the county will identify with the GAA, like it was but for all but a very few pre Heffo.

The GAA might hit and hope but overall I think they would regret ever trying a split."
I think many are forgetting that the idea of splitting Dublin came about in 2002 and there was a certain acceptance of it from Dublin officials at the time. Now though it would be harder to split Dublin as they are so successful now the fans would nt stand for it. I also think most counties would nt like to see Dublin split either. On the finance issue Im not sure it would affect the corporate or premium revenue tbh as I think that would still be big business with or without Dublin but the other big days definately the gaa would lose money without the Dublin fans. As you say besides finals really only Dublin Mayo and a successful Cork will fill Croke Park. A split cannot be forced on Dublin I would think and it would have to be agreed on by the county board. I see it happening in the future but funny enough I feel at a time when Dublin are not being as successful. Hopefully it far away in the distance.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 05/02/2021 13:24:28    2330337

You'll be back to Kerry winning the All Ireland instead if that's the best that's being proposed. Sure it's not going to help any of the so called weaker counties.
Considering the championship structure is as much of a problem and it's not been changed too often. Typically gombeenism.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 05/02/2021 13:43:12    2330340

Can't realistically see a split of Dublin happening at any stage in the short to medium term Username....but if it did you might be surprised how it was received. ?

It might go the opposite direction to the picture you painted.... maybe GAA would be embraced by larger numbers in Dublin if there was greater/wider representation and more players had the opportunity to do what most athletes strive to do, which is test themselves at a higher level ....

Black+Blue (Galway) - Posts: 122 - 05/02/2021 13:50:52    2330341

Replying To SaffronDon:  "I dont agree that Dublin and Mayo are the only counties that could fill Croker. You're selling most of the rest of Ireland very short there. I've seen many counties travel to fill it in the past. The problem now is that most fans don't feel its worth 70 euro plus travel to come down the road and watch their county get beat out the door after 10 minutes or the inevitable prospect of that happening the next day. Leaving the plight of Dublin participation aside for just a second, the current one team championship is setting participation levels in the rest of Ireland back by a generation. Living in Belfast and working with kids at underage level its a struggle to convince even the kids of former players that its worthwhile playing instead of many other sports or activities these days."
That's the thing, multiple username is only thinking of himself and dublin and his songs and stories and their way bla bla bla.

He thinks dublin can hire the aviva and that's grand if they want to play on a small pitch maybe they'll supers 7s or something.

It's gas when you mention crokepark they say they're told to play there and they'll play anywhere but talk about splitting them and they start ballin.

Maybe the Ulster Connacht and Munster should break away from the gaa with a select few teams from leinster, say Longford Carlow Wicklow Laois wexford kildare Meath offaly Kilkenny West Meath and louth.

I think that would be a great championship and I could see everyone being up for it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/02/2021 14:32:02    2330345

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "That's the thing, multiple username is only thinking of himself and dublin and his songs and stories and their way bla bla bla.

He thinks dublin can hire the aviva and that's grand if they want to play on a small pitch maybe they'll supers 7s or something.

It's gas when you mention crokepark they say they're told to play there and they'll play anywhere but talk about splitting them and they start ballin.

Maybe the Ulster Connacht and Munster should break away from the gaa with a select few teams from leinster, say Longford Carlow Wicklow Laois wexford kildare Meath offaly Kilkenny West Meath and louth.

I think that would be a great championship and I could see everyone being up for it."
Yes that would be a great championship alright , total domination by Kerry "again"
and username is only thinking of himself and Dublin , Jesus Wept -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/02/2021 14:50:04    2330347

I actually think North Dublin and South Dublin teams would be accepted by most people in Dublin as long as it was planned and implemented correctly as a positive development for GAA in Dublin (which I think it would be) and not as a knee jersey reaction to Dublin current winning streak. North Dublin v South Dublin championship game would be brilliant for the city

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 05/02/2021 14:51:33    2330348

Replying To bad.monkey:  "I actually think North Dublin and South Dublin teams would be accepted by most people in Dublin as long as it was planned and implemented correctly as a positive development for GAA in Dublin (which I think it would be) and not as a knee jersey reaction to Dublin current winning streak. North Dublin v South Dublin championship game would be brilliant for the city"
I disagree , i think most people in Dublin would be totally against any split in Dublin and it would
be a disaster for the city .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/02/2021 15:20:46    2330349

Replying To bad.monkey:  "I actually think North Dublin and South Dublin teams would be accepted by most people in Dublin as long as it was planned and implemented correctly as a positive development for GAA in Dublin (which I think it would be) and not as a knee jersey reaction to Dublin current winning streak. North Dublin v South Dublin championship game would be brilliant for the city"
Exactly, it would be a good start..

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/02/2021 15:25:11    2330350

Replying To SaffronDon:  "I dont agree that Dublin and Mayo are the only counties that could fill Croker. You're selling most of the rest of Ireland very short there. I've seen many counties travel to fill it in the past. The problem now is that most fans don't feel its worth 70 euro plus travel to come down the road and watch their county get beat out the door after 10 minutes or the inevitable prospect of that happening the next day. Leaving the plight of Dublin participation aside for just a second, the current one team championship is setting participation levels in the rest of Ireland back by a generation. Living in Belfast and working with kids at underage level its a struggle to convince even the kids of former players that its worthwhile playing instead of many other sports or activities these days."
In all seriousness I can't take that seriously, I'm sure and hope there is great underage work going in in Antrim, but they haven't won a provincial or competed in one in my living memory, (though I really enjoy the hurlers). You can't tell me lads are looking into your face and saying they won't commit to playing football in case they come up against Dublin. Even if that is the core reason, which is mad, it's something I'd never tolerate, a lads no used to unless he aspires and wants to compete against the best. They might never get there but I want a team of lads keen as mustered and develop them rather then lads who don't have a stomach for it, there ultimately no use to apart from using them as an example on their way out the door in my experience.

I'm not on board with you either on the gates, but perhaps it reinforces my earlier point. Every other county wont bother supporting their team, unless they are successful. I can remember years of getting slathered miles away from winning All Ireland's and the Dubs would pack the places out, league and champo.

I think though this is useful post to illustrate another point, I often wonder about the psychological edge Dublin aura has on other teams, if you are saying underage young lads are looking at you saying I won't play because I'm afraid of Dublin, or fans won't go to games because they are afraid of being beaten by Dublin, how does that impact teams playing Dublin, perhaps they approach games already beaten in those conditions and the whole thing becomes a self fulfilling prophecy.

I've seen us been successful and getting smashed by better teams, on either side of scale the one thing I would never accept from a Dublin team would be throwing their tools down and being beaten before a game. If fans disappeared during barren years, then came back during successful periods, well we know what we call them here.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/02/2021 15:37:31    2330352

Yeah, no!

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/02/2021 15:38:31    2330353

Rubbish..it will never be accepted..I know it would be the likes of Kerry's wet dream for it to happen.. 81 Munsters championship were the outcry!!

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 05/02/2021 15:49:54    2330355

Replying To superbluedub:  "Yes that would be a great championship alright , total domination by Kerry "again"
and username is only thinking of himself and Dublin , Jesus Wept -:)"
There is no gaurentee that we'd dominate the football championship if we were in a dublinless competition,

Sure we'd win some but so would Tyrone Donegal Cavan Galway Cork Armagh and Mayo the leinster teams would probably grow to challenge for allirelands within a few years as well.

But at least we'd probably have a different winner every year probably even different teams in the final.

It would be for the best and for the good of the sport if Ulster Connacht Munster and a sellect few leinster teams broke away the championship.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/02/2021 16:55:26    2330359

Replying To jacktheDub:  "Rubbish..it will never be accepted..I know it would be the likes of Kerry's wet dream for it to happen.. 81 Munsters championship were the outcry!!"
While alot of people give opinions and think. You say you know! You definately don't know how Kerry think but you can have an opinion like the rest of us. My opinion is that most Kerry folk would Not like to see Dublin split but maybe you know more. Again the idea of the split came before Dubs success story and it was an idea thrown out by the Gaa and who? I ll tell you! Answer =the Dublin County board.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 05/02/2021 17:44:24    2330364

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "There is no gaurentee that we'd dominate the football championship if we were in a dublinless competition,

Sure we'd win some but so would Tyrone Donegal Cavan Galway Cork Armagh and Mayo the leinster teams would probably grow to challenge for allirelands within a few years as well.

But at least we'd probably have a different winner every year probably even different teams in the final.

It would be for the best and for the good of the sport if Ulster Connacht Munster and a sellect few leinster teams broke away the championship."
Would the other Leinster sides?
Theyre still not competing in division 1 of the league for most part
Dublin cant be split unless you are to split and merge other counties.
The main thing the championship needs is a better format where the best play the best far more often. Then Dublin wouldnt win near as much as theyd be challenged far more often

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 05/02/2021 17:49:08    2330366

Do we split Cork then?

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 05/02/2021 19:04:48    2330373

Replying To TheUsername:  "In all seriousness I can't take that seriously, I'm sure and hope there is great underage work going in in Antrim, but they haven't won a provincial or competed in one in my living memory, (though I really enjoy the hurlers). You can't tell me lads are looking into your face and saying they won't commit to playing football in case they come up against Dublin. Even if that is the core reason, which is mad, it's something I'd never tolerate, a lads no used to unless he aspires and wants to compete against the best. They might never get there but I want a team of lads keen as mustered and develop them rather then lads who don't have a stomach for it, there ultimately no use to apart from using them as an example on their way out the door in my experience.

I'm not on board with you either on the gates, but perhaps it reinforces my earlier point. Every other county wont bother supporting their team, unless they are successful. I can remember years of getting slathered miles away from winning All Ireland's and the Dubs would pack the places out, league and champo.

I think though this is useful post to illustrate another point, I often wonder about the psychological edge Dublin aura has on other teams, if you are saying underage young lads are looking at you saying I won't play because I'm afraid of Dublin, or fans won't go to games because they are afraid of being beaten by Dublin, how does that impact teams playing Dublin, perhaps they approach games already beaten in those conditions and the whole thing becomes a self fulfilling prophecy.

I've seen us been successful and getting smashed by better teams, on either side of scale the one thing I would never accept from a Dublin team would be throwing their tools down and being beaten before a game. If fans disappeared during barren years, then came back during successful periods, well we know what we call them here."
Am I supposed to take you seriously? Especially when you claim Dublin have been through rough times 'miles' away from AI's. In my lifetime that goes back to the 80s, I've never seen Dublin ranked as anything but strong contenders for AI. Theyve had the odd tanking here an there but when you put things in perspective, the Dubs supporters haven't a scooby what its like to have a county team who will likely lose most matches they play. You're in no position to question anyones loyalty when yours hasn't faced the same test.

To say lads 'don't have the stomach' isnt the case either. I've seen young talented lads coming through who just want to make the most for themselves. But they're telling me they can go to the top in Boxing, soccer, mma etc or play for Antrim in division 4, its a much tougher sell than the "kids come play for the Dubs" pitch. Most kids in Dublin know AI winners and people to aspire to while smaller counties don't have as many legends of the game so less pulling power again.

As for the supporters, I never said they were 'afraid' to go and watch their county. Its just, when you factor in the cost, especially for families in these times, a day out in Dublin is a serious hit to the wallet and if your team is expected to lose heavily, it really is simple human nature to deem the day not worth the a hit to the limited funds the average supporter earns. Not because they are what you were hinting at towards the end there, There will be examples all across the sporting world of bad attendance records for the poorest teams. I'm not sure the childish glory hunting claims are a good look for a county supporter from Dublin. Its a bit like calling somebody a bin hoker while you stand in the bin.

Antrim showed at the 2009 Ulster final that they had tens of thousands of supporters down there hoping for a team they could believe in and follow everywhere. But simple facts are we don't get the same type of funding or opportunities to make it to the top. Those type of things weigh heavily on the mind of a disillusioned Antrim player before pre season. Something a county player from Dublin won't have to worry about. So if you've any other solutions to out plight besides the kids being too soft so toughen up, the county players should stop being losers and the fans need to pay a fortune just to prove they're not glory hunters by Dubs, then I'm listening..

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2385 - 05/02/2021 19:07:52    2330374

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "There is no gaurentee that we'd dominate the football championship if we were in a dublinless competition,

It would be for the best and for the good of the sport if Ulster Connacht Munster and a sellect few leinster teams broke away the championship."
Without Dublin the championship would indeed have been very competitive the last decade,, donegal, kerry, mayo and tyrone would have competed and probably won at least one each,, but I I disagree re your leinster point.
Kildare and meath have regressed horribly over the last 5 years (meath havent been contenders for two decades). Even without Dublin no leinster team would have come within an asses roar of winning Sam.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 05/02/2021 19:48:25    2330379

Replying To TheUsername:  "In all seriousness I can't take that seriously, I'm sure and hope there is great underage work going in in Antrim, but they haven't won a provincial or competed in one in my living memory, (though I really enjoy the hurlers). You can't tell me lads are looking into your face and saying they won't commit to playing football in case they come up against Dublin. Even if that is the core reason, which is mad, it's something I'd never tolerate, a lads no used to unless he aspires and wants to compete against the best. They might never get there but I want a team of lads keen as mustered and develop them rather then lads who don't have a stomach for it, there ultimately no use to apart from using them as an example on their way out the door in my experience.

I've seen us been successful and getting smashed by better teams, on either side of scale the one thing I would never accept from a Dublin team would be throwing their tools down and being beaten before a game. If fans disappeared during barren years, then came back during successful periods, well we know what we call them here."
I'm my view all fans can be fickle. When a team is successful the crowds grow. Probably per capita the Mayo fans are the best but I was at the all ireland semi in 1981 as a young lad and a small crowd there. Even the Dubs through the years you have hardcore fans but I was at earlier games in Leinster championship with small crowds. Same with Dublin hurlers. I was at a Dublin hurling game over 2o years ago and only a few 100 supporters at it. When supporters feel their team will win too easily or be beaten alot won't travel. Neutrals will only go to games they feel are a match. Cork are another team when going well have loads of fans but when a dip comes many stay away (particularly in football). The true fans stay with their team through thick and thin. I have been lucky to be from a successful county and I don't know how I'd react if I was from a county that never seemed to have hope. I have great admiration for those players and their supporters. I must say I really enjoyed the Fermanagh fans a few years ago v Dublin. Many I spoke to said they never expected a win but were in Croker to enjoy. Fair play to them and enjoy they did.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 05/02/2021 19:53:31    2330380

Replying To SaffronDon:  "Am I supposed to take you seriously? Especially when you claim Dublin have been through rough times 'miles' away from AI's. In my lifetime that goes back to the 80s, I've never seen Dublin ranked as anything but strong contenders for AI. Theyve had the odd tanking here an there but when you put things in perspective, the Dubs supporters haven't a scooby what its like to have a county team who will likely lose most matches they play. You're in no position to question anyones loyalty when yours hasn't faced the same test.

To say lads 'don't have the stomach' isnt the case either. I've seen young talented lads coming through who just want to make the most for themselves. But they're telling me they can go to the top in Boxing, soccer, mma etc or play for Antrim in division 4, its a much tougher sell than the "kids come play for the Dubs" pitch. Most kids in Dublin know AI winners and people to aspire to while smaller counties don't have as many legends of the game so less pulling power again.

As for the supporters, I never said they were 'afraid' to go and watch their county. Its just, when you factor in the cost, especially for families in these times, a day out in Dublin is a serious hit to the wallet and if your team is expected to lose heavily, it really is simple human nature to deem the day not worth the a hit to the limited funds the average supporter earns. Not because they are what you were hinting at towards the end there, There will be examples all across the sporting world of bad attendance records for the poorest teams. I'm not sure the childish glory hunting claims are a good look for a county supporter from Dublin. Its a bit like calling somebody a bin hoker while you stand in the bin.

Antrim showed at the 2009 Ulster final that they had tens of thousands of supporters down there hoping for a team they could believe in and follow everywhere. But simple facts are we don't get the same type of funding or opportunities to make it to the top. Those type of things weigh heavily on the mind of a disillusioned Antrim player before pre season. Something a county player from Dublin won't have to worry about. So if you've any other solutions to out plight besides the kids being too soft so toughen up, the county players should stop being losers and the fans need to pay a fortune just to prove they're not glory hunters by Dubs, then I'm listening.."
Right so you make the point, young lads won't play football because of Dublin, but really it's the opportunity to play a different sport at a high level - that's the same in every county, thanks for clearing that up and actually nothing to do with Dublin.

Also you say Antrim lads struggle to commit to a years football, is that really to do Dublin but really it's a chance of any limited success. Your initial post is indemic of the Dublin prosecution - anything wrong in any county is down to Dublin, what's going on or not going on in Antrim, i don't know how you can link it to Dublin, no Antrim player is ever likely to play Dublin, let's be honest lads are unlikely to compete because there is little chance for the footballers competing provincially. You complain about resources is that not hypocritical given what the GAA are trying to do with Gaelfest say compared to Fermanagh, I was delighted when I heard about that and the 40 mill investment in Casement, how much resources are enough to be "fair". There may be issues in Antrim in terms of lads committing but it's a hit and hope leaving them at Dublins door.

Your also wrong, I've seen Dublin knocked out in the first round of the championship, get early summers in a lot of summers, get tanked by better teams, year in, year out went through that plugging away for 16 years - so won't apologise for our success nor will I stop enjoying it, we went through relative unsuccessful years keeping her lit strongly as a county with the team, that's something I'm really proud off, do I see replicated anywhere else, no I don't, only Mayo. Despite what going on with Dublin the fans will be there, more so maybe even if we are bad. I didn't say a trip Dublin I meant gates holistically, which of course is expensive for anyone and I'd understand that, but what's a first round of the championship attendance these days compared to 09 or even 10 for Antrim - were have all the crowd gone - I'm sure Dublin may have a hand in it somehow, somewhere.

I don't have an axe to Antrim, but some of the stuff written here about young lads not committing to ball in Antrim because of Dublin is off the wall and yeah I do question lads not going to games and then coming back during times of relative success, any game not just in Dublin and the cost that comes with it, but first round champo games and the like going well or getting tanked we have plenty of them ourselves, nothing drives me madder then the event junkie fans that turn up at All Ireland finals and don't have a clue what's going on, taking 5ickets from people you'd see in Healy Park in Jan in a hurricane of Breffni in a dead rubber.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 05/02/2021 20:18:50    2330383