Why Aren't The Ladies Playing An All Ireland Final In Croke Park.

Replying To Irishcelt:  "So wicklow v fermanagh ladies are playing an all Ireland final yes an all Ireland final that is In Parnell park and not the so called national stadium for all gaa people in this country where these women pay their taxes like everybody else. But yet of course the Dublin senior footballers get to play meanigless league matches in croke park and never play in Parnell. So basically Parnell is good enough for these women to play an all Ireland final in but not good enough for a Dublin league match. What sport this gaa is"
The Wicklow v Fermanagh match wasn't a GAA game.

It was a LGFA game.

But yeah its the Dubs fault. Seems about right.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 05/12/2020 23:22:40    2318914

Replying To MesAmis:  "The Wicklow v Fermanagh match wasn't a GAA game.

It was a LGFA game.

But yeah its the Dubs fault. Seems about right."
I never said it was Dublins fault actually the complete opposite. I'm saying it's the gaa who is the disgrace. Dublin can only do what there told by the gaa

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 07/12/2020 01:53:25    2319592

Replying To Irishcelt:  "I never said it was Dublins fault actually the complete opposite. I'm saying it's the gaa who is the disgrace. Dublin can only do what there told by the gaa"
You chose to miss the most important part of that in the LGFA are nothing to do with the GAA and Croke Park.

why do the GAA take the rap for issues with both the LGFA and the Camogie Association, neither connected to the GAA at national level?

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 07/12/2020 12:24:10    2319724

Replying To bricktop:  "You chose to miss the most important part of that in the LGFA are nothing to do with the GAA and Croke Park.

why do the GAA take the rap for issues with both the LGFA and the Camogie Association, neither connected to the GAA at national level?"
Are you saying that U2, the England Rugby team and every other tomdickeen are allowed to play in Croke Park but not our Gaelic women? Women need not apply? Come out of your cave...

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1798 - 07/12/2020 13:52:45    2319758

Replying To Irishcelt:  "I never said it was Dublins fault actually the complete opposite. I'm saying it's the gaa who is the disgrace. Dublin can only do what there told by the gaa"
The way the Galway and Cork county girls were treated in their semi final was an absolute disgrace. It didn't effect Cork as much as they stayed in Dublin the night before. This means Cork girls had obviously togged in nearby hotel before match giving them extra time for warmup I herd president of LGFA saying Galway girls spent too long in dressing room. What a stupid ignorant statement. Everyone knows girls take that bit longer in changing room than men. Cork girls would have taken just as long had they not stayed up night before. From what we hear the girls were given 7 minutes to warm up. Disgraceful treatment of County players who give their time for the love of football. Those girls have trained all year in difficult circumstances and then treated so shabby. Everyone involved in sports knows how important a proper professional warmup is. Can't understand how Limerick Gaelic park couldn't provide a window for the girls firstly. It's not as if the hurlers would be training all day. Does president Marie Hickey not look at forecast and realise the distance those girls have to travel. If she had she would have known original ground could be frozen. All of what happened could have been avoided if forecast was checked night before and a call made to switch to suitable grounds and give both girls enough time. If what Tim Rabbite says is true ( and I 100% think it is) he would have been well within his rights to hop straight back on that bus. The referee (from Kerry) was supposed to be telling girls to hurry up during warmup. If the time slot wasn't giving enough time for warmup the game should not have been played. Straight away I say hats of to Cork as they were by far better team. Thris is not the issue here. The issue is girls been asked to do 7 minutes warmup. What if it was a close game and extra time was warranted. I'm sure there were several pitches between Cork and Galway that could have been explored for use. This should NEVER NEVER happen to bunch of girls in future.

Toman (Galway) - Posts: 622 - 07/12/2020 13:59:09    2319761

Replying To Toman:  "The way the Galway and Cork county girls were treated in their semi final was an absolute disgrace. It didn't effect Cork as much as they stayed in Dublin the night before. This means Cork girls had obviously togged in nearby hotel before match giving them extra time for warmup I herd president of LGFA saying Galway girls spent too long in dressing room. What a stupid ignorant statement. Everyone knows girls take that bit longer in changing room than men. Cork girls would have taken just as long had they not stayed up night before. From what we hear the girls were given 7 minutes to warm up. Disgraceful treatment of County players who give their time for the love of football. Those girls have trained all year in difficult circumstances and then treated so shabby. Everyone involved in sports knows how important a proper professional warmup is. Can't understand how Limerick Gaelic park couldn't provide a window for the girls firstly. It's not as if the hurlers would be training all day. Does president Marie Hickey not look at forecast and realise the distance those girls have to travel. If she had she would have known original ground could be frozen. All of what happened could have been avoided if forecast was checked night before and a call made to switch to suitable grounds and give both girls enough time. If what Tim Rabbite says is true ( and I 100% think it is) he would have been well within his rights to hop straight back on that bus. The referee (from Kerry) was supposed to be telling girls to hurry up during warmup. If the time slot wasn't giving enough time for warmup the game should not have been played. Straight away I say hats of to Cork as they were by far better team. Thris is not the issue here. The issue is girls been asked to do 7 minutes warmup. What if it was a close game and extra time was warranted. I'm sure there were several pitches between Cork and Galway that could have been explored for use. This should NEVER NEVER happen to bunch of girls in future."
Agree totally!

baire (Galway) - Posts: 1798 - 07/12/2020 14:06:50    2319766

Replying To Toman:  "The way the Galway and Cork county girls were treated in their semi final was an absolute disgrace. It didn't effect Cork as much as they stayed in Dublin the night before. This means Cork girls had obviously togged in nearby hotel before match giving them extra time for warmup I herd president of LGFA saying Galway girls spent too long in dressing room. What a stupid ignorant statement. Everyone knows girls take that bit longer in changing room than men. Cork girls would have taken just as long had they not stayed up night before. From what we hear the girls were given 7 minutes to warm up. Disgraceful treatment of County players who give their time for the love of football. Those girls have trained all year in difficult circumstances and then treated so shabby. Everyone involved in sports knows how important a proper professional warmup is. Can't understand how Limerick Gaelic park couldn't provide a window for the girls firstly. It's not as if the hurlers would be training all day. Does president Marie Hickey not look at forecast and realise the distance those girls have to travel. If she had she would have known original ground could be frozen. All of what happened could have been avoided if forecast was checked night before and a call made to switch to suitable grounds and give both girls enough time. If what Tim Rabbite says is true ( and I 100% think it is) he would have been well within his rights to hop straight back on that bus. The referee (from Kerry) was supposed to be telling girls to hurry up during warmup. If the time slot wasn't giving enough time for warmup the game should not have been played. Straight away I say hats of to Cork as they were by far better team. Thris is not the issue here. The issue is girls been asked to do 7 minutes warmup. What if it was a close game and extra time was warranted. I'm sure there were several pitches between Cork and Galway that could have been explored for use. This should NEVER NEVER happen to bunch of girls in future."
An absolute disgrace women are a very important part of the Gaa if it wasn't for women clubs in the country wouldn't be the same. And a 7 minute warm up what an insult its disgraceful

Irishcelt (Wicklow) - Posts: 149 - 07/12/2020 14:39:33    2319778

The pure irony of it all though doesn't escape me. I'm all for equality and believe the women put in as much time and effort as the men for a lot less attention and acknowledgment. But when their own association can't take them seriously and make such a mess of an All Ireland semi it's hard to expect any different from other organisations such as the GAA.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 07/12/2020 14:54:33    2319786

Replying To arock:  "Hang on a minute there now their rulling bodies may not be members of the GAA but the players are, they are members of their GAA clubs and hold GAA memberships (well at least this is the case in the Pale). So be careful where you are going with this one. The GAA like to have their cake and eat it. When Government sports grants are being doled out one criteria is the gender membership and balance, the GAA includes the female memberships for that financial purpose but apparently it entitles the ladies to nothing! GPA and the womens variety are merging, Ladies Football and Camogie will merge fully. So respect where respect is due. A lot of GAA people have very little time for womens sports except for base purposes, but we now in a different century and women need to be treated equally and without favour."
Only one organisation dragging their heels on integration and it isn't the GAA who have bent over backwards to accommodate on numerous occasions.....there are plenty of things to bash the GAA but this isn't one of them....shine the spotlight where it should be shone

No need to be careful on this one at all.....you should get some of the facts straight before jumping on the bandwagon

ArmaghCat (Armagh) - Posts: 86 - 07/12/2020 15:12:54    2319793

Why are the GAA a disgrace, the game wasn't arranged under their auspices....the LGFA guard their independence extremely jealously except when it suits them....they made a mess of this and no one else, indeed GAA again accommodated them in Croke Park no less at very short notice.....

ArmaghCat (Armagh) - Posts: 86 - 07/12/2020 15:15:07    2319795

Replying To baire:  "Are you saying that U2, the England Rugby team and every other tomdickeen are allowed to play in Croke Park but not our Gaelic women? Women need not apply? Come out of your cave..."
Are you being deliberately obtuse here.....where is the camoige final being played this weekend??? Where was the game accommodated at the very last minute after another mess up by the LGFA, thats right Croke Park .....ladies games have had plenty of access in recent years to Croker so wise up

Galway would have got a longer warm up by all accounts if they hadn't spent as long in the dressing room which was their choice....

ArmaghCat (Armagh) - Posts: 86 - 07/12/2020 15:18:21    2319796

Replying To ArmaghCat:  "Only one organisation dragging their heels on integration and it isn't the GAA who have bent over backwards to accommodate on numerous occasions.....there are plenty of things to bash the GAA but this isn't one of them....shine the spotlight where it should be shone

No need to be careful on this one at all.....you should get some of the facts straight before jumping on the bandwagon"
During Liam O'Neill's presidency, an amalgamation agreement was nearly agreed. At that time, it was the Camogie Association that withdrew support, as far as I know.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 07/12/2020 15:19:04    2319797

Replying To Irishcelt:  "An absolute disgrace women are a very important part of the Gaa if it wasn't for women clubs in the country wouldn't be the same. And a 7 minute warm up what an insult its disgraceful"
Whose fault was it but the LGFA...no one else....stop trying to blame GAA who actually stepped in at last minute and made Croker available despite an all ireland senior football final being on later that day.....no one to blame here but the LGFA but yet again they get off scot free for their incompetence as people don't understand the very basics of how the organisations are structured

ArmaghCat (Armagh) - Posts: 86 - 07/12/2020 15:21:16    2319798

Disgraceful treatment of our ladies and well done Tim and Sinead for speaking out

I think the LGFA was hoping the finger would get pointed at the GAA again . Not this time theyve been shown up for their treatment

GAA was not at fault over the original venue change , they were told you can have it if limerick dont win. Yet went ahead and advertised for the venue even though there was a good chance it would get switched.

The story was definitely spun as the GAA being in the wrong and turfing the women out.

Tim Rabitte will do more for womens fair treatment. And I'm happy to say most male players want the ladies to get fair treatment

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 07/12/2020 15:30:27    2319803

Replying To galwayfball:  "Disgraceful treatment of our ladies and well done Tim and Sinead for speaking out

I think the LGFA was hoping the finger would get pointed at the GAA again . Not this time theyve been shown up for their treatment

GAA was not at fault over the original venue change , they were told you can have it if limerick dont win. Yet went ahead and advertised for the venue even though there was a good chance it would get switched.

The story was definitely spun as the GAA being in the wrong and turfing the women out.

Tim Rabitte will do more for womens fair treatment. And I'm happy to say most male players want the ladies to get fair treatment"
* I meant to say tim will do more for womens fair treatment than the head of the LGFA ever will

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 07/12/2020 15:35:35    2319805

Replying To ArmaghCat:  "Are you being deliberately obtuse here.....where is the camoige final being played this weekend??? Where was the game accommodated at the very last minute after another mess up by the LGFA, thats right Croke Park .....ladies games have had plenty of access in recent years to Croker so wise up

Galway would have got a longer warm up by all accounts if they hadn't spent as long in the dressing room which was their choice...."
They had 14 mins because under covid guidelines you cant have any longer. They are entitled to those 14 mins

It wouldnt happen to the galway outside of an fbd game and it should not happen to any team regardless of gender in an AI semi final

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 07/12/2020 15:53:57    2319811

Replying To ArmaghCat:  "Are you being deliberately obtuse here.....where is the camoige final being played this weekend??? Where was the game accommodated at the very last minute after another mess up by the LGFA, thats right Croke Park .....ladies games have had plenty of access in recent years to Croker so wise up

Galway would have got a longer warm up by all accounts if they hadn't spent as long in the dressing room which was their choice...."
Galway would have got enough time for a decent warmup if they hadn't spent so long in dressing room. Are you for real or are just repeating what president Marie Hickey gave as a ridiculous excuse. As I said previously the Cork team ( who were by far the best team ) stayed in Dublin the previous night. They would have been in similar situation if they traveled that morning. The Galway girls arrived in Crome park 30 minutes before kick off. Everyone with a bit of cop on knows girls take longer than lads for warmup. Firstly the manager of male needs to enter dressing room to make sure everything is ok for girls ie physio, injury or niggles dressed. The manager has to be there when this is happening so he can discuss with physio if a particular injury is too bad to risk playing etc. Then the members of male management must vacate dressing rooms so girls can get togged. The manager then has to have a chin wag with girls to talk tactics etc. Those tactics have been spoken about at training session during the week also. Everyone involved in football knows the best time to get players attention is just before match. To say the girls spent too long in dressing room is a HUGE disrespect to the Galway outfit and shows how out of touch the LGFA organisation is. No one is blaming GAA Croke Park for situations, in fact the opposite. The LGFA promised both management they would be given enough time for warmup. This didn't happen. The president response is totally disrespectful to country players. To add insult she says player welfare was the most important thing. Does this individual not realise a proper warmup is part of player welfare. Girls football has come a long way in past number of ye but The LGFA association have not covered themselves in glory here. The respect the Galway players got was an absolute disgrace and has put the organisation back years.

Toman (Galway) - Posts: 622 - 07/12/2020 16:35:55    2319844

Replying To football first:  "During Liam O'Neill's presidency, an amalgamation agreement was nearly agreed. At that time, it was the Camogie Association that withdrew support, as far as I know."
Nope not true....try again.....

ArmaghCat (Armagh) - Posts: 86 - 07/12/2020 16:41:21    2319847

Replying To galwayfball:  "They had 14 mins because under covid guidelines you cant have any longer. They are entitled to those 14 mins

It wouldnt happen to the galway outside of an fbd game and it should not happen to any team regardless of gender in an AI semi final"
The point is this is their own organisation doing this to them.....the LGFA no one else......also to be fair Cork have a lot of complaints but they haven't used the warm up time as one...there are very strict guidelines in Croker for when you can enter the field etc all teams have to adhere to them...if Galway ate into their allotted time that is clearly an issue for them, surely they were made aware of the venue change at same time as Cork etc.....

Its a mess of the LGFA making and no one else but surely the warm up allocation and timings were the same for both teams?

ArmaghCat (Armagh) - Posts: 86 - 07/12/2020 16:45:33    2319851

Replying To ArmaghCat:  "The point is this is their own organisation doing this to them.....the LGFA no one else......also to be fair Cork have a lot of complaints but they haven't used the warm up time as one...there are very strict guidelines in Croker for when you can enter the field etc all teams have to adhere to them...if Galway ate into their allotted time that is clearly an issue for them, surely they were made aware of the venue change at same time as Cork etc.....

Its a mess of the LGFA making and no one else but surely the warm up allocation and timings were the same for both teams?"
Cork stayed in Dublin the night before .

Just a stroke of luck for them as they werent aware of the venue change but galway girls all drove the day of.im sure given the restrictions that they all got ready in their hotel and the galway ladies did not drive togged

I think it's entirely the lgfa fault and not the GAAs but I dont like the attitude of well tough the other team had no issues. It's clear they were treated poorly

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 07/12/2020 17:50:26    2319887