Eddie Gone - What Now For Laois Hurling?

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Ah will you stop. What a stupid comment."
So he didnt know it was being recorded?

Extremely naive if so.

And people would want to be wary of Parkinson from now on too. Clueless.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 24/11/2020 19:52:10    2314925

Replying To daytona11:  "So he didnt know it was being recorded?

Extremely naive if so.

And people would want to be wary of Parkinson from now on too. Clueless."
People talk off the record all the time when an interview is finished. All the time. He did not know that would go public. Cop on.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 24/11/2020 21:01:06    2314971

Replying To daytona11:  "So he didnt know it was being recorded?

Extremely naive if so.

And people would want to be wary of Parkinson from now on too. Clueless."
He said "thanks - good luck" twice. That was when he would've presumed the interview was ended. The conversation then resumed & he even mentioned being "off the record".

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 24/11/2020 21:20:50    2314984

Replying To Oldyellar:  "Oh my god.. if you read my point, it was in relation to a comparison between my own county (who won a Joe Mcdonagh too) and laois. Laois won 1 more game. Whooppeee."
They beat the team who had just knocked Galway out of the championship to get to the quarterfinal.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 24/11/2020 21:24:40    2314985

This is a big blow to happen. Judging by the mentality that laois had built up over the years of infighting and lack or passion for playing for the county this could potentially set them back years. They have quite a lot of clubs, and a strong club tradition but were always found lacking mentality at county level compared to other counties especially their neighbours Offaly who had a far smaller pick but got their act together for a remarkable 20 years.
Other counties like Carlow, Kerry, Antrim seem to have a way better attitude in playing for their county, theres just something about Laois is that when they are down they drop their heads even more..look at the scoreline Cork put up on them in 2011..10-20 to 1-13, no other county would have dropped their heads like that!
They were sluggishly improving their standard under Brennan and despite a lot of players not playing for the county they did ok. i reckon they are Favourites for relegation next year now from the championship, maybe if Chedder plunkett went back it would steady the ship again. I cant see a big name coming in and getting everyone on board when brennan couldnt!

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 734 - 24/11/2020 21:54:06    2315008

Replying To Oldyellar:  "Oh my god.. if you read my point, it was in relation to a comparison between my own county (who won a Joe Mcdonagh too) and laois. Laois won 1 more game. Whooppeee."
Oh my god!? You sound bitter that Laois reached a quarter final last year when ye couldn't the year before. Forget about resources and populations ye did great to win Mcdonagh in 2018 and they did great to do the same plus win a game to get to QF in 2019. Not that long ago that Leinster hurling was just Kilkenny, We Ford and Offaly. Wouldn't Leinster football love to have the rise in fortunes that hurting have where Carlow, Laois ad Dublin are competitive with the other counties.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 24/11/2020 22:01:36    2315014

Replying To preddan:  "This is a big blow to happen. Judging by the mentality that laois had built up over the years of infighting and lack or passion for playing for the county this could potentially set them back years. They have quite a lot of clubs, and a strong club tradition but were always found lacking mentality at county level compared to other counties especially their neighbours Offaly who had a far smaller pick but got their act together for a remarkable 20 years.
Other counties like Carlow, Kerry, Antrim seem to have a way better attitude in playing for their county, theres just something about Laois is that when they are down they drop their heads even more..look at the scoreline Cork put up on them in 2011..10-20 to 1-13, no other county would have dropped their heads like that!
They were sluggishly improving their standard under Brennan and despite a lot of players not playing for the county they did ok. i reckon they are Favourites for relegation next year now from the championship, maybe if Chedder plunkett went back it would steady the ship again. I cant see a big name coming in and getting everyone on board when brennan couldnt!"
I don't see kildare ripping up trees and the Hugh pick they have both football and hurling

Michaelstipe (Carlow) - Posts: 9 - 24/11/2020 22:11:29    2315023

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Oh my god!? You sound bitter that Laois reached a quarter final last year when ye couldn't the year before. Forget about resources and populations ye did great to win Mcdonagh in 2018 and they did great to do the same plus win a game to get to QF in 2019. Not that long ago that Leinster hurling was just Kilkenny, We Ford and Offaly. Wouldn't Leinster football love to have the rise in fortunes that hurting have where Carlow, Laois ad Dublin are competitive with the other counties."
100% right ,and as far as im concernd everythi g he said was true ,most cb are there for (the jacket) id b hoping laois players pull plant if they dont get a right good fela to replace him ,they made huge progress under chedder ,and then eddie great to see,and that one win made ment so much ,same as tipp beating cork that was also just one win !!!

Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 270 - 24/11/2020 22:36:38    2315043

Amazing this thread is allowed I tried a few times to start a thread about Eddie Brennan's interview with Colm Parkinson last week and the administrators wouldn't let it on site even though my post didn't break house rules.

I suppose the Laois county board weren't going to let eddie stay on after his comments to Colm Parkinson but I say fair play Eddie alot more managers should be willing to highlight their county board members failings.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 25/11/2020 19:42:59    2315387

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "Amazing this thread is allowed I tried a few times to start a thread about Eddie Brennan's interview with Colm Parkinson last week and the administrators wouldn't let it on site even though my post didn't break house rules.

I suppose the Laois county board weren't going to let eddie stay on after his comments to Colm Parkinson but I say fair play Eddie alot more managers should be willing to highlight their county board members failings."
But but he didnt know it was being recorded......

I'd say he had serious words with Parkinson.

I'd also wonder are the likes of Wexford regretting jumping the gun so early and giving Davy another year. Brennan might have been a good fit there.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 25/11/2020 19:52:06    2315394