GAA Funding And Fairness

Had to laugh at brogan in today's paper saying that it's a disgrace that funding is being mentioned when discussing Dublin. In the article beside his it discussed Dublins funding-

Between 2007-2017 every registered player in Dublin had 270 euro each spent on them.
Compared with tyrone, mayor or kerry who had 20 euro spent on each registered player.

What's a disgrace is that the dubs can't even acknowledge that they had a huge amount of funding spent on them.

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 05/12/2020 17:50:21    2318569

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Jim I clearly referred to the U21 teams that are underpinning the current team to refute the frankly laughable theory that nobody beyond infancy in 2005 could have possibly benefited from funding. Somebody actually wrote that above believe it or not, and then another posted came on and declared the debate over on the strength of it, hilariously questioning other posters intelligence despite missing the glaring mathematical flaw in the argument himself.

Nobody can say for sure the impact of the money. Everyone has their own theory, and I don't have any desire to debate it with you quite frankly. I find the argument that it's ok because the Dubs are paying half the cost really bizarre, but you've got to cling to something I guess.

Enjoy this evening and best of luck for the rest of the championship."
Thanks Gerry

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/12/2020 17:51:55    2318570

How many All Irelands do the Dubs want before they admit they have had unfair resources? When the Dublin GAA University is built?

HighStoolBandit (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 05/12/2020 17:53:53    2318572

Replying To jimbodub:  "Thanks Gerry"
No bother Jim. It's an emotive topic and people's views are so entrenched in bias that any reasoned debate is impossible. I acknowledge your point about the above players and I've no doubt Dublin would have been successful and won all Ireland's without any additional investment, but I just don't want to get in to a lengthy debate about it.

The whole topic seems to be gaining traction in certain parts of the media and the longer Dublins success continues the more scrutiny you can expect. The debate is not going to go away I am afraid to say.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 05/12/2020 17:59:56    2318573

A board was put together to save Dublin football a team that won occasional leinster championships and got to All Ireland semi finals and was always competitive. The team didnt need saving the members of this board are responsible for destroying the leinster football championship and slow the all ireland all together. The leinster championship actually needs saving so where the hell is the board for them

And for those of you Dublin didnt get any extra help what exactly do you think this board was for. A board save a competitive team how is that not special treatment

It doesnt mean there arent talented players in Dublin of course they are for me Jack McCaffrey is the most talented player in the game funding or not but that doesn't take away from the unfair extra help they got

The longer the GAA ignores what they have done and doesn't try and rectify it the worse things will get

And for people who say dublin arent dominant because of the extra money whats the issue with everyone getting the same as ye. If all players from all counties got the same this would stop all the funding talk so why dont you want to fight for fairness after all most of ye claim it makes no difference . Only way to prove this is to actually see equal funding

Dublin players shouldnt get the brunt of this , they did the best with what they were given and are an excellent team but I dont need to here from an ex player like brogan who is a millionaire and on every ad going and has newspaper columns as well talking about dublin having an unfair advantage, as if he understands the strife of a lad in meath, a once successful county training in December to get bet out the gate on the national stage by historically his teams greatest rivals

If Mayo dominated connacht like that the best players in Galway wouldnt play for their county .

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 05/12/2020 18:24:26    2318587

Replying To TheUsername:  "Its a clear cut argument Mick - if games development funds are used for registered players.

It is however not, it is used to attract young people to Gaelic games, through the likes of Cul camps and school programmes. The registered player parameter isnt accurate.

In Dublin a hybrid system exists that creates a synergy between games development and exposure in schools and Cul camps and if kids want to go on a flow up programme with Clubs. The clubs themselves fund that portion of GDO, GDA, GPO's. I hear everyone, wanting a structure like Dublin, i see very few wanting their clubs to meet 50% of the bill.

The school and Cul camp/programme are funded by the Games development allocation. You can imagine the sheer scale of school children in Dublin.

Im of the firm opinion, we get per captia less in games development funding then other counties, ive posted before numbers to back that up.

But significantly when you look at Dublin history, its been marginalised for almost its entire history. It was funded like a county the same size of say, Kerry, Donegal and Mayo. When it has about 15 size the population. Its only since 05 and the Irish sports council grant that its been rectified to take account of Dublin population. Its quite remarkable |Dublin have been so successful historically in that context.

People who generally talk of GAA Funding dont usually understand it specifically as it relates to Dublin. Dublin take about 200k out of GAA funds, the Irish Sports Council, give a 1 mill contribution to Dublin GAA in recognition of its strategic importance and frankly the fact - the GAA cant afford to fund to fund Dublin per catia the way it does other counties. So in essence, Dublin funds are largely provided by the Irish Sports Council and its own club private funds. The GAA have nothing to redistribute.

Id happily own Croke Park being an advantage, id also acknowledge Dublin a giant commercially and only really Cork, Kerry and Mayo can compete financially.

But the games development money is an absolute myth. Ive yet to see one convincing well rational comment of analyses and ive looked at it great detail - id like to think unbiased.

I think besides, if recognition of Dublin's needs and funding started in 2005, kids born after 2005 would be maximum 15 now, Stepehn Cluxton made his debut in 2001, ill leave it there."
Kids would be a maximum of 15, youre some craic hahahaha

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 05/12/2020 18:31:58    2318589

The Leinster football Championship is dead in the water and the All Ireland is going the same way. Dublin haven't even broken sweat against Cavan and they're 10 up already. It's an absolute farce but Croke Park will continue to bury its head. When the crowds come back there's enough income in Dublin and the hurling to keep the GAA hierarchy happy. They won't change the current set up. We will all be patronisingly told to keep the chins up and work harder as the top brass p*ss themselves laughing at us.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 05/12/2020 18:49:57    2318594

So many great players missing from the panel or having left it,,Brogans,Connolly,McCaffrey,,and the dubs are just getting better,,when people said that once they retire the dubs will fall back to the chasing pack.
One things for sure,,this isnt just "a special group of players who have come together at the one time" for Dublin.Unbelievable talent coming through,,

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1708 - 05/12/2020 19:00:10    2318610

Replying To Galway9801:  "So many great players missing from the panel or having left it,,Brogans,Connolly,McCaffrey,,and the dubs are just getting better,,when people said that once they retire the dubs will fall back to the chasing pack.
One things for sure,,this isnt just "a special group of players who have come together at the one time" for Dublin.Unbelievable talent coming through,,"
Your post is the reason the GAA won't change anything. Yes they're a good group of players but there's a reason for that. Open your eyes and stop fawning over them.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 05/12/2020 19:15:32    2318645

Think this is going to keep turning up until the dubs are actually beaten..maybe other counties should ash how not to waste money.its not only the county team that have the so called money,look at the high profile manages involved with clubs..there will probably be calls to split Dublin now again.what would happen if 2 dublin teams met in all Ireland finals for a few years,keep splitting the county?if it was all down to money surely the hurlers would dominate to..wait til tomorrow night and we,ll hear the discussion on Sunday game..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2216 - 05/12/2020 20:10:22    2318734

Replying To joeteor:  "Kids would be a maximum of 15, youre some craic hahahaha"
Obviously Usernames post was too detailed for you to grasp , went way over your head !

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 05/12/2020 20:13:01    2318739

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Your post is the reason the GAA won't change anything. Yes they're a good group of players but there's a reason for that. Open your eyes and stop fawning over them."
Please tell ?

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/12/2020 20:24:29    2318750

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Obviously Usernames post was too detailed for you to grasp , went way over your head !"
Its a load of waffle about how the funding doesn't matter and even if it did matter Dublin haven't seen the benefit yet because you had to be born after it started to see the benefit of it.

Its not worth a detailed reply.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 05/12/2020 20:25:41    2318753

Replying To jimbodub:  "So Gerry

Dubs can produce players of the quality of

Cluxton
O'Carroll
Brennan
O'Sullivan
Cooper
Nolan
McCaffrey
Small
McMahon
Fitzsimons
Cullen
Bastick
MDMC
McCarthy
A Brogan
B Brogan
Kev Mc
Flynn
Andrews
Connolly
Rock

As just a selection *There are plenty more

None of the above would have had GDF as kids

So Dublin can produce such quality but then it can just stop and everything after is only down to GDF?

So explain the above players? Nothing would have been won without them.. zippo

You can try your best to discredit but there's nothing to your argument in relation to the players above"
Kerry won 5 minors during the same period , as Dublin won 4 U21s, After doing nothing a the grade for a fifth of a century! By the humorous logic on here that is a result of an unfair natural advantage, say like coming out of Munster and not playing any "big counties" as many are saying they are disbelievers in coincidence.

Advancedmark (Mayo) - Posts: 18 - 05/12/2020 20:28:43    2318760

Replying To TheUsername:  "Its a clear cut argument Mick - if games development funds are used for registered players.

It is however not, it is used to attract young people to Gaelic games, through the likes of Cul camps and school programmes. The registered player parameter isnt accurate.

In Dublin a hybrid system exists that creates a synergy between games development and exposure in schools and Cul camps and if kids want to go on a flow up programme with Clubs. The clubs themselves fund that portion of GDO, GDA, GPO's. I hear everyone, wanting a structure like Dublin, i see very few wanting their clubs to meet 50% of the bill.

The school and Cul camp/programme are funded by the Games development allocation. You can imagine the sheer scale of school children in Dublin.

Im of the firm opinion, we get per captia less in games development funding then other counties, ive posted before numbers to back that up.

But significantly when you look at Dublin history, its been marginalised for almost its entire history. It was funded like a county the same size of say, Kerry, Donegal and Mayo. When it has about 15 size the population. Its only since 05 and the Irish sports council grant that its been rectified to take account of Dublin population. Its quite remarkable |Dublin have been so successful historically in that context.

People who generally talk of GAA Funding dont usually understand it specifically as it relates to Dublin. Dublin take about 200k out of GAA funds, the Irish Sports Council, give a 1 mill contribution to Dublin GAA in recognition of its strategic importance and frankly the fact - the GAA cant afford to fund to fund Dublin per catia the way it does other counties. So in essence, Dublin funds are largely provided by the Irish Sports Council and its own club private funds. The GAA have nothing to redistribute.

Id happily own Croke Park being an advantage, id also acknowledge Dublin a giant commercially and only really Cork, Kerry and Mayo can compete financially.

But the games development money is an absolute myth. Ive yet to see one convincing well rational comment of analyses and ive looked at it great detail - id like to think unbiased.

I think besides, if recognition of Dublin's needs and funding started in 2005, kids born after 2005 would be maximum 15 now, Stepehn Cluxton made his debut in 2001, ill leave it there."
haha so you mean to say kids between 5yo and 14yo never benefited from that injection in 05 ?just babies from 05 plus? Cool.

GameofTyronesIsBackhere (Tyrone) - Posts: 46 - 05/12/2020 20:31:37    2318768

Replying To DUBJOHN:  "Obviously Usernames post was too detailed for you to grasp , went way over your head !"
DUBJOHN read the post again particularly the last paragraph, and just think about it.

It might be the daftest thing I've ever seen written about Dublin on here ever, and that is saying something.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 05/12/2020 20:32:12    2318769

Replying To Advancedmark:  "Kerry won 5 minors during the same period , as Dublin won 4 U21s, After doing nothing a the grade for a fifth of a century! By the humorous logic on here that is a result of an unfair natural advantage, say like coming out of Munster and not playing any "big counties" as many are saying they are disbelievers in coincidence."
Hahaha, Username goes to ground after making a total tool of himself and Advancedmark shows up to carry on the good fight. How predictable, and utterly pathetic.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 05/12/2020 20:41:25    2318778

Replying To HighStoolBandit:  "How many All Irelands do the Dubs want before they admit they have had unfair resources? When the Dublin GAA University is built?"
38 All Irelands -:)

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/12/2020 20:45:38    2318780

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Hahaha, Username goes to ground after making a total tool of himself and Advancedmark shows up to carry on the good fight. How predictable, and utterly pathetic."
You can think what you like. Your anger is your own I want no part of it. You have my compassion.

Advancedmark (Mayo) - Posts: 18 - 05/12/2020 20:53:13    2318789

Replying To kevin03:  "Had to laugh at brogan in today's paper saying that it's a disgrace that funding is being mentioned when discussing Dublin. In the article beside his it discussed Dublins funding-

Between 2007-2017 every registered player in Dublin had 270 euro each spent on them.
Compared with tyrone, mayor or kerry who had 20 euro spent on each registered player.

What's a disgrace is that the dubs can't even acknowledge that they had a huge amount of funding spent on them."
Much of that funding was for getting more people playing, not on registered players. People still don't get that there are big chunks of Dublin with no GAA clubs especially on the southside. The GAA correctly identified that Leinster rugby were growing massively - going into primary schools and non traditional rugby areas and also soccer were taking over in many areas too. They wanted to promote GAA in these areas to combat this. They were very successful and drove a huge rise in playing numbers. Now Dublins pick of players is enormous. The rise of Dublin also coincided with the decline of the two dominant teams in Ireland (Kerry & Tyrone) and the end of a golden period of Leinster football in the 00s. The imbalance definitely needs to be addressed but running down the Dublin players doesn't do this. Funding allows structures and facilities to be put in place which is important but it can't kick a point. If other counties can't see this, they will never catch up.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 05/12/2020 20:58:11    2318796