Should Cavan V Dublin Be In Navan?

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Cavan boss wants his semi final played in a neutral ground, on this morning's indo. So there goes the narrative that would be peddled ah shur little Cavan would love a chance to visit Croke Park. The days of that codology are over now. And now its time for the GAA to do the decent thing and give an equal playing field for this semi final and move it elsewhere. The more I see of this Graham chap the more I like him, he's a sharp operator.
The GAA will probably pawn the excuse oh we need hawkeye for the all Ireland series. Fine, bring it to Thurles."
Don't think you would need hawkeye so much if umpires were up to scratch. They seem to see silly off the ball stuff but can't see a ball 15 feet in air going past them.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2010 - 24/11/2020 11:40:44    2314562

Listen we all know that Cavan are just looking to save on the Diesel costs ..

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/11/2020 11:52:32    2314574

i think the game should be in Ballyjamesduf
So Paddy Reilly can come at last
Percy French would be proud

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 24/11/2020 11:58:04    2314580

Replying To MesAmis:  "'An' is the definitive article. The definitive article isn't used in any language in terms of alphabetical order.

Ard Mhacha agus Aontroim are the only team that comes before Áth Cliath alphabetically as Gaeilge.

But sure whatever, let Dublin change in the carpark or whatever, play the game in Breffni Park while we're at it. Dubs will play, as always, where the rest of yous decide to play us."
Downtown Abbey sophistication here , a just as fake.. Ah Jaysus, ya have yar sh.....

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1355 - 24/11/2020 11:59:07    2314581

Replying To jimbodub:  "I'm actually all for moving this fixture 100%

I think though if Cavan want to dine at the top table then really it's important for them to be playing in Croke Park

But hey-ho

As long as it's a good surface and appropriate for such a lofty occasion, then great.

Flood lights would be nice..

Plenty of spots only a short drive for Cavan and Dublin

Come on let's make it happen GAA.. really not much of an issue at all to sort out."
Smug.

PatOLogical (Limerick) - Posts: 1355 - 24/11/2020 12:03:52    2314587

Replying To rhudson:  "i think the game should be in Ballyjamesduf
So Paddy Reilly can come at last
Percy French would be proud"
Hahaha

Well he is a big Dubs fan

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/11/2020 12:05:29    2314589

Replying To MesAmis:  "'An' is the definitive article. The definitive article isn't used in any language in terms of alphabetical order.

Ard Mhacha agus Aontroim are the only team that comes before Áth Cliath alphabetically as Gaeilge.

But sure whatever, let Dublin change in the carpark or whatever, play the game in Breffni Park while we're at it. Dubs will play, as always, where the rest of yous decide to play us."
Did you ever hear the story about the annoying Belgian that kept mixing up his indefinite articles? He was an twerp.

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 24/11/2020 12:05:39    2314590

Cavan running scared at this stage. Former Kildare footballer Seanie Johnston looking for it to be moved also. Graham also in the news asking for the same thing.

Welcome to our world :)

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 24/11/2020 12:07:43    2314593

Replying To Morty:  "Did you ever hear the story about the annoying Belgian that kept mixing up his indefinite articles? He was an twerp."
Ha! Very good.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13706 - 24/11/2020 12:10:16    2314598

Mickey Graham is playing a stormer very cute
He is taking the focus away from his team
All this talk of a neutral venue was started by Peter Canavan

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 24/11/2020 12:11:28    2314599

Replying To PatOLogical:  "Downtown Abbey sophistication here , a just as fake.. Ah Jaysus, ya have yar sh....."
Sophistication or just correct. Your call bud.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13706 - 24/11/2020 12:12:12    2314601

Replying To rhudson:  "Mickey Graham is playing a stormer very cute
All this talk of a neutral venue was started by Peter Canavan"
Playing a stormer?

Total opposite IMO

It will have a negative effect on his players. Its almost like saying we haven't a hope in hell of beating the dubs in Croker.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 24/11/2020 12:17:06    2314606

Play it in croke park, we have to play them anyway our boys have shown tremendous guts and heart so far so let's face them head on , Dublin are an incredible football team and it is what ever team wants to aspire to isn't it just great to get playing them in the championship and no doubt our boys will give their all and that's all we can ask for.

blueman1903 (Cavan) - Posts: 882 - 24/11/2020 12:18:15    2314607

Anyone who thinks playing at home isn't an advantage if there are no crowds is off their rocker.

Even with crowds I think more of these big championship games should be moved out of Croke Park anyway. The only good thing about the Super 8s is bringing big big games around the country, the atmosphere and buzz around Ballybofey in 2018 and around Castlebar last year was fantastic. It's great for those towns and gives the matches a different dynamic I think. Imagine an All-Ireland semi final in Clones in the height of summer

On to this topic I think Cavan have every right to raise this and any chat of it being the wrong message psychologically is nonsense to my mind too. Mickey Graham knows his squad very well I doubt he is just coming out willy nilly on this. I'm sure the Cavan boys will be well primed to give the Dubs a rattle regardless of venue

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 24/11/2020 12:21:31    2314610

so it would rob lads of their dream of playingan all ireland semi in croke park? thar cruel to be honest

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2841 - 24/11/2020 12:30:15    2314613

Replying To rhudson:  "Mickey Graham is playing a stormer very cute
All this talk of a neutral venue was started by Peter Canavan"
Has Mickey or the County Board even spoken about this yet ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 24/11/2020 12:30:45    2314614

Replying To s goldrick:  "Has Mickey or the County Board even spoken about this yet ?"
Mickey has come out and said he wants a neutral venue. I feel that this is not even in consideration by the GAA and will just fill some column inches over the next few weeks.

RHF (Cavan) - Posts: 847 - 24/11/2020 12:38:47    2314616

A bit of selective writing by Colm Keys in the Indo deciding to go for a look-back over 37yrs and stating that the only semi-final played outside croker in that period was Kerry and Mayo in Limerick. He only needed to go back one more year to see that Dublin hammered Cork in Pairc ui Caoimh in a semi- replay in 1983 after struggling to gain a draw in the first match in Croke park.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 674 - 24/11/2020 13:07:19    2314634

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Think it's silly and unhelpful for his team for Mickey Graham to be asking for the semi final to be moved out of Croke Park. If he wanted to make representations for that he should have done it behind the scenes. Publicly speaking about it keeps a psychological barrier intact for his players, as if the task wasnt difficult enough. The fact is without crowds, a pitch is just a pitch and "home advantage" has little or no significance. This has been borne out week after week in the Premiership this year, where teams that were previously formidable at home are losing home matches now in the absence of crowds.
By all means he should lobby to be allowed a couple of training sessions in CP so that his players who have no experience of playing there can get used to the surface, but otherwise he should have kept his mouth shut."
Croke Park has no advantages for Dublin playing in it?! Are you serious? Dublin free takers would know every inch of this ground to take frees from, how the wind moves in it etc. All very vital for free taking and gives Dublin a huge advantage in terms of scoring

I think it is a very clever move, it dampens expectations in his own county that might be running a bit wild, making the pressure less on the players and also builds up a slight siege mentality too.

Premiership soccer is wildly different than GAA, there is no tribal chanting going on in football grounds in England, and it is a less intimidating place now.

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 24/11/2020 13:07:31    2314635

Lads the Dubs play in Croker so much they expertly use the space and areas of the pitch that you just wouldn't use in tight, slightly leggy pitches....
They have it down to a tee, very professional of them and I commend them for it...but its a home draw...as will be shown when they get to pick which side they warm up on.

GAAdundalk (Louth) - Posts: 641 - 24/11/2020 13:08:13    2314637