Dublin V Cavan

Bonus territory. Cavan have a better midfield then Meath and a better goalie, so can make more use out of the kickouts. Meath conceded 2-1 from their own kickouts.
The space of Croke Park will suit the Cavan half backs, who like to drive forward, Ciaran Brady, Gerry Smith, Luke Fortune. Dealing with the Dublin attacking will be the issue and intensity they bring.
Today will have given Cavan confidence but a big ask

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 22/11/2020 18:56:42    2313163

Replying To benjyyy:  "You can't be writing that with a straight face surely. Dublin will have the game won by half time. Same as if they were playing Donegal. The gap has never been wider."
Your having a laugh. Dublin would have had donegal beaten at half time? Fair play cavan no excuses they had the fire in the belly but what happened today was Donegal were already togged out ready for a rattle at Dublin and I still think they would have beaten ye!
Thompson was rested to give mc brearty game time etc nobody to blame but ourselves.
The gap is not as wide as people think there are too many astrixes beside Dublins dominance and when its a level playing field it will be much tighter but it needs to happen soon. Even the hard-core Dublin supporter would agree with me saying something needs to be done before the game is ruined.
Good luck Cavan

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 22/11/2020 18:59:16    2313167

Replying To lilylanger:  "I remember saying that about Kerry. And Kilkenny actually."
Kilkenny didnt have a list of barely believable systemic advantages.

I wont bother watching this semi. Neither would I suspect will most Dublin fans. It will be a record breaker for a semi final. Ĺ

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 22/11/2020 19:05:31    2313180

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The championship would be brilliant only for dublin."
Or cork bursting your bubble

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 22/11/2020 19:09:38    2313192

Replying To HighStoolBandit:  "Why should it be played in Croke Park then? More favouritism to the Dublin Pro's."
Steven Cluxton - Teacher.
Philly McMahon - Business.
Cian O'Sullivan - Tax Consultant PWC.
Michael Fitzsimons - Physiotherapist.
Jonny Cooper - Student recruitment, DCU.
John Small - Account officer, Digicom Office technology.
Eric Lowndes - Teacher.
Brian Fenton - Physiotherapist, Beaumount Hospital.
James McCarthy -Bank rep.
Ciarán Kilkenny - Student St Pat's Drumcondra.
Con O'Callaghan - Student, UCD.
Jack McCaffrey - Doctor
Paul Mannion - Digital innovation student, UCD.
Paddy Andrews - Dealer in stockbrokers.
Dean Rock - Leisure centre executive, Stewarts sports centre, Palmerstown.
Kevin McManamon - Sports psychology consultant

Professional sportsmen earn their income from sport. These guys don't. We lost one. of our best players due to work commitments.
WE'll play anybody anywhere.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/11/2020 19:09:43    2313193

Replying To Daith:  "Kilkenny didnt have a list of barely believable systemic advantages.

I wont bother watching this semi. Neither would I suspect will most Dublin fans. It will be a record breaker for a semi final. Ĺ"
I bet you will watch it. I certainly will be watching it.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/11/2020 19:12:51    2313201

Replying To HighStoolBandit:  "Why should it be played in Croke Park then? More favouritism to the Dublin Pro's."
Venue not decided yet, no need for it to be in HQ., Taking winter weather into account, an enclosed pitch with a good surface, (armagh pitch held up well today). Maybe behind the scenes Cavan should be consulted, maybe they want their semi in Croker? Pairc ui Caoimh surface looks fab, could Tipp host Mayo there, probably a big ask for Cavan to travel to Cork.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 673 - 22/11/2020 19:15:35    2313209

Replying To letterkennyGuy:  "Your having a laugh. Dublin would have had donegal beaten at half time? Fair play cavan no excuses they had the fire in the belly but what happened today was Donegal were already togged out ready for a rattle at Dublin and I still think they would have beaten ye!
Thompson was rested to give mc brearty game time etc nobody to blame but ourselves.
The gap is not as wide as people think there are too many astrixes beside Dublins dominance and when its a level playing field it will be much tighter but it needs to happen soon. Even the hard-core Dublin supporter would agree with me saying something needs to be done before the game is ruined.
Good luck Cavan"
and. where would I find these asterisks???There. are no asterisks..

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 22/11/2020 19:15:39    2313210

Game should be in Navan. It was 100 years ago.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 505 - 22/11/2020 19:17:22    2313211

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "The championship would be brilliant only for dublin."
"This forum would be brilliant , only for your whinging"

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 22/11/2020 19:17:49    2313212

Cavan havnt a hope in hell ! Dublin could play there 2nd team and win by a cricket score !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 22/11/2020 19:18:32    2313213

Replying To letterkennyGuy:  "Your having a laugh. Dublin would have had donegal beaten at half time? Fair play cavan no excuses they had the fire in the belly but what happened today was Donegal were already togged out ready for a rattle at Dublin and I still think they would have beaten ye!
Good luck Cavan"
We'll just have to disagree on that one. On average I'd say Dublin are about 10 points better than us. If we play our best game and Dublin have an off-day we'd be within a couple of points maybe.

When you take the emotion out of it, and Cavan will have had a release today, Dubs around 15 points better than Cavan. If Cavan play like today and Dublin aren't at the races they may get within 5 or 6

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 22/11/2020 19:19:19    2313214

Replying To sligo joe:  "Venue not decided yet, no need for it to be in HQ., Taking winter weather into account, an enclosed pitch with a good surface, (armagh pitch held up well today). Maybe behind the scenes Cavan should be consulted, maybe they want their semi in Croker? Pairc ui Caoimh surface looks fab, could Tipp host Mayo there, probably a big ask for Cavan to travel to Cork."
Play it where they want. Outside of Dublin and Cavan there will be little to no interest in this one.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 22/11/2020 19:19:47    2313215

Replying To Daith:  "Kilkenny didnt have a list of barely believable systemic advantages.

I wont bother watching this semi. Neither would I suspect will most Dublin fans. It will be a record breaker for a semi final. Ĺ"
Away with ye so. I'd watch it no matter who was playing. Each to their own.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/11/2020 19:21:48    2313220

Replying To avonali:  "and. where would I find these asterisks???There. are no asterisks.."
Unfortunately its only some Dublin fans don't see the astrixes.

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 22/11/2020 19:23:33    2313224

They could play it in Navan. It's a different year, so something novel could be good.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 22/11/2020 19:24:29    2313230

Cavans big challenge will be to put today's win, great as it was, out of their minds as quickly as possible & get back into the frame of mind that brought them success against Donegal.
If they can do that, and it's a big ask, the they will give a Dublin team that hasn't broken sweat yet a real game.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 22/11/2020 19:25:18    2313231

Saying something repeatedly doesn't make it true

But it does reinforce ignorance alright

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20598 - 22/11/2020 19:28:55    2313237

Cavan. Cork and Tipp. Cavan and tipp in division 3 next year. Cork division 3 this year! A few of these teams would not have been challenging for Sam, based on GAA's new innovation on Division 3 teams not being in All Ireland unless they win provincial title! Abolish this idea and abolish back door! Give the underdogs a chance!!!!

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 22/11/2020 19:30:41    2313243

Replying To FoolsGold:  "They could play it in Navan. It's a different year, so something novel could be good."
The pitch is brutal at the best of times let alone November / december time.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 22/11/2020 19:31:51    2313247