John Kiely Comments

Firstly congrats to Limerick today on another Munster title...what a team and what a manager they have.

Just after a big final win, John backs his squad players unable to attend the game. He is 100% right. All panel members should be allowed to attend. It's ridiculous. Load of media there when half them aren't needed.

A huge stadium and neither team can bring more than the allocated numbers which means players training all year miss out. We had the same ridiculous situation in club games this year, lads missing out outside the match day 24.

Time for government to address this.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 15/11/2020 21:59:04    2309687

Replying To yew_tree:  "Firstly congrats to Limerick today on another Munster title...what a team and what a manager they have.

Just after a big final win, John backs his squad players unable to attend the game. He is 100% right. All panel members should be allowed to attend. It's ridiculous. Load of media there when half them aren't needed.

A huge stadium and neither team can bring more than the allocated numbers which means players training all year miss out. We had the same ridiculous situation in club games this year, lads missing out outside the match day 24.

Time for government to address this."
Well said Yew tree. It's disgraceful the way panel members are being treated when they allow ex players into the matches on the pretence of being analysts and writing articles for newspapers. John Kiely is correct. I touched this on a different post. Allow panel members in and stop the rest. I know you need a commentator and Co commentator etc and analysts but those anaylists that are not needed on the day and those players who get big money to write newspaper columns should nt be allowed in to the detriment of the players. It's wrong. So my message for these boys who are getting in by default is Stay At Home and watch in on the telly and let the people that really matter in.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 15/11/2020 22:16:36    2309696

Unreasonable restrictions is what gets people's back up and sceptical of ones that are totally necessary. They will all be at training tuesday night. Are the droplets going to go from one side of Thurles to the other. If so we are all f--ked.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2658 - 15/11/2020 22:20:34    2309700

Replying To yew_tree:  "Firstly congrats to Limerick today on another Munster title...what a team and what a manager they have.

Andy mcentee said the same thing today. That he left 12 players behind that are bursting a gut in training. Totally unfair

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 15/11/2020 22:26:24    2309703

I don't agree with you at all.. and typical blame the government.. We are the problem. When we had it in the palm of our hands with the club championship we couldn't have manners and follow basic instructions. Yes you might thatch was supporters but unfortunately covid doesn't distinguish between a player on the panel or a supporter.

I'd love to be traveling the length and breath of Ireland to game but leave it well enough alone. Its working as is

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 15/11/2020 22:31:19    2309708

Fair play John Kiely for high-lighting this, it is very unfair on the players who work hard in training and have to be left out through no fault of management teams it would have made no harm to have the extra panel members for both team there.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 15/11/2020 22:47:46    2309717

Considering some of the restrictions imposed on the people of Ireland over the last number of weeks, John Kiely should be grateful with what he has!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 15/11/2020 22:53:56    2309720

Fully agree. While it's great to have games back on TV it's plain stupid that the entire panels cannot be in the stadium.
Some person in Government decides this, probably a person that has little or no understanding of how things work in real life.
Well done to Kiely for highlighting this farce.

hamstring (Limerick) - Posts: 318 - 16/11/2020 01:17:20    2309752

Maybe people should be asking why counties need so many players in the squad in the first place . Over 30 for a game that only starts 15. This squad nonsense has got out of hand in the last 20 years and they should be reduced. Both in football and hurling. Keilys comment in normal times are 100% right but we are not in normal times. They are lucky to be allowed to play. They should enjoy that fact, instead of giving medical advice to the nation.

We have not covered ourselves in glory with recent club championships across the country remember.

ulsterrules (Donegal) - Posts: 259 - 16/11/2020 06:38:14    2309764

I can see the point John Kiely is making, but it didn't come across well. A bigger question for me is: do counties really need panels of 36?? It sounds completely excessive to be - a huge additional expense, and ties up a number of players who are just being used to make up numbers. Realistically at least 6 of John's 10 who were "left at home" have absolutely no chance of getting any game time in the championship. In a normal season, those players would be much better off with their clubs.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 16/11/2020 08:38:18    2309776

John Kiely has his finger on the pulse. The guy speaks an awful lot of sense. He's such an honest ,straightforward chap that people like him outside of GAA. Like he's popular with the rugby community in Limerick.

bloodyban (Limerick) - Posts: 1710 - 16/11/2020 09:04:10    2309779

He should bring the boys who were rolling around the streets of New York

hurlorhurley (Wexford) - Posts: 1660 - 16/11/2020 09:15:55    2309786

Replying To Canuck:  "Unreasonable restrictions is what gets people's back up and sceptical of ones that are totally necessary. They will all be at training tuesday night. Are the droplets going to go from one side of Thurles to the other. If so we are all f--ked."
Brill lol

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 16/11/2020 09:44:51    2309800

Replying To royaldunne:  "Andy mcentee said the same thing today. That he left 12 players behind that are bursting a gut in training. Totally unfair"
Unfair and totally wrong especially when others left in.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 16/11/2020 09:45:51    2309801

Hurlorhurley..what a stupid comment..all that was dealt with in limerick..get ye,re own house in order before judging others..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2214 - 16/11/2020 10:27:57    2309830

Replying To hurlorhurley:  "He should bring the boys who were rolling around the streets of New York"
They're not on the squad.
Price you pay for "rolling around the streets of New York" as you put it.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1060 - 16/11/2020 10:41:47    2309851

Replying To football first:  "I can see the point John Kiely is making, but it didn't come across well. A bigger question for me is: do counties really need panels of 36?? It sounds completely excessive to be - a huge additional expense, and ties up a number of players who are just being used to make up numbers. Realistically at least 6 of John's 10 who were "left at home" have absolutely no chance of getting any game time in the championship. In a normal season, those players would be much better off with their clubs."
This isn't a normal season though.
Any one of the panels left in both hurling and football could lose players as a result of a high temperature or cough in the next few weeks.

In the scheme of things pointing out the sheer stupidity of some of the Lockdown rules isn't a bad move.

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1060 - 16/11/2020 10:51:22    2309862

You know what, people just have to make sacrifices. The whingeing and moaning is so annoying.

Yes not every restriction makes sense, it'd be stupid to try to do so. People need to come into contact with fewer people. The government put have probably some quick and dirty methods of implementing these. Really I don't think we should give 2 hoots about whether panel members get to see games live. In the grand scheme of things right now its a complete triviality and people making these decisions have matters of way more consequence to deal with.

Is it unfortunate for the people affected, yeah sure. Should it be given more thought, no. Suck it up, there's a hell of a lot less than ideal situations that we're all dealing with right now.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4211 - 16/11/2020 11:19:05    2309896

Firstly congrats to Limerick today on another Munster title...what a team and what a manager they have.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 10298 - 15/11/2020 21:59:04
The government have far more important things to address this nonsense.
Where do you stop if you say let all players into the ground? How are half of the media not needed?
It isnt ridiculous at all.

Well said Yew tree. It's disgraceful the way panel members are being treated when they allow ex players into the matches on the pretence of being analysts and writing articles for newspapers. John Kiely is correct. I touched this on a different post. Allow panel members in and stop the rest. I know you need a commentator and Co commentator etc and analysts but those anaylists that are not needed on the day and those players who get big money to write newspaper columns should nt be allowed in to the detriment of the players. It's wrong. So my message for these boys who are getting in by default is Stay At Home and watch in on the telly and let the people that really matter in.
CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 468 - 15/11/2020 22:16:36
What analysts are not needed on the day?

I can see the point John Kiely is making, but it didn't come across well. A bigger question for me is: do counties really need panels of 36?? It sounds completely excessive to be - a huge additional expense, and ties up a number of players who are just being used to make up numbers. Realistically at least 6 of John's 10 who were "left at home" have absolutely no chance of getting any game time in the championship. In a normal season, those players would be much better off with their clubs.
football first (None) - Posts: 1175 - 16/11/2020 08:38:18
How many would you drop from a squad?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3504 - 16/11/2020 11:34:06    2309914

Replying To KillingFields:  "Firstly congrats to Limerick today on another Munster title...what a team and what a manager they have.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 10298 - 15/11/2020 21:59:04
The government have far more important things to address this nonsense.
Where do you stop if you say let all players into the ground? How are half of the media not needed?
It isnt ridiculous at all.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 468 - 15/11/2020 22:16:36
What analysts are not needed on the day?

football first (None) - Posts: 1175 - 16/11/2020 08:38:18
How many would you drop from a squad?"
A huge stadium should easily cater for everybody wrong to blame Journalists though they add hugely to those Matches

We are all delighted to read next day about the matches is say Kiely diden't mean a dig at reporters but it came across somehow in the wrong context.

clooney (Clare) - Posts: 883 - 16/11/2020 11:46:40    2309927