Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To daytona11:  "I'd agree with most of the Young_Gael. I'd counter it by saying most of the Meath posters, and one in particular could be summed up by that post. If I'd a penny every time I heard "how many all Irelands do you have" when we beat Meath I'd be a wealthy man.

Also it may not have seemed it but I was making a case for the entirety of Leinster and other provinces as a whole. What is the actual point of the Leinster Football Championship at senior level anymore? It's as relevant as the O'Byrne cup in reality.

I cringe when I hear people describe it as a successful year for Kildare when we qualify for the Super 8's even though we have gotten nowhere near to winning anything.

Going back to Meath v Dublin I think it's inevitable going to be another Dublin victory and by a clear margin. Meath and their fans are 100% correct being positive and believing they can beat the Dubs.

Regarding our potential I'd tend to agree. On our day as recent results have shown we are capable of taking the biggest scalps in championship outside of the Dubs. We were also seriously unlucky to get relegated from Division 1 losing most games by a point here or there.

The inevitable hammering by the Dubs for us and yourselves has had a detrimental impact of the way we approach championship."
When Kildare beat Meath many Kildare posters go out of their way to to talk about useless Meath are and how unlike Meath they are serious contenders.
No wonder Meath posters respond reminding Kildare about their historical record.
Funny thing is when Meath beat Kildare we usually don't pass much remarks on it and move on to the next game.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1333 - 19/11/2020 22:16:25    2311577

Replying To TheHermit:  "Just one final aside for anyone that's interested.

I never "hounded" anyone for "weeks", I simply stated I didn't believe a certain poster was from where he claimed he was and left it at that.

I still have my suspicions and to be frank I don't engage, that's my own choice.

Given that this main forum is overrun with (Dubs mostly) creating alter-egos, I think its reasonable to be suspicious from time to time. You lads have been caught in the act a fair few times at this stage.

Now surely you all have a match to be looking forward to, unlike some of us :(

Look at it this way Jimbo, for once you can be watching it on the coach with no need to pass yourself off as being on the Hill using the wifi to post!

P.S, I must invest in a Dublin-English dictionary, decent skin, karen's - I've so much to look up..."
"I've So much to look up" you have plenty of time.

Monkeycatcher (Meath) - Posts: 155 - 19/11/2020 22:18:56    2311578

Replying To TheUsername:  "
Replying To Crinigan:  "[quote=Dubsfan28:  ""Well they've the run of Croke by all accounts"

Did your mates 2nd cousin, who drank with a chap, who is a steward in Croker tell you that? ;)"
No but two coaches on opposition teams (Nally and Poacher) mentioned it in mainstream media as well as a former Wexford coach and at least one Westmeath player on Twitter in the last year.

Everyone also saw it with their own eyes last weekend when Dublin used Croke Park pitch as their personal training pitch after the match was over , which to be fair, it is at this stage. That doesn't make it right though."
I think its only fair its our home ground after all.

I wouldn't begrudge Meath doing similar in Navan."]People can play it down all they like but but even without supporters playing at home is still a huge advantage. Same routines before all games, less travel to the ground, used to the dimensions of the pitch, free takers familiar with surroundings etc.
This year, in the year of Covid and no capacity issues this game (& Dublin Laois game also) should have been played in a neutral venue.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1333 - 19/11/2020 22:30:41    2311580

Replying To TheHermit:  "Just one final aside for anyone that's interested.

I never "hounded" anyone for "weeks", I simply stated I didn't believe a certain poster was from where he claimed he was and left it at that.

I still have my suspicions and to be frank I don't engage, that's my own choice.

Given that this main forum is overrun with (Dubs mostly) creating alter-egos, I think its reasonable to be suspicious from time to time. You lads have been caught in the act a fair few times at this stage.

Now surely you all have a match to be looking forward to, unlike some of us :(

Look at it this way Jimbo, for once you can be watching it on the coach with no need to pass yourself off as being on the Hill using the wifi to post!

P.S, I must invest in a Dublin-English dictionary, decent skin, karen's - I've so much to look up..."
I'd say jimbo might be fantasising about us being dressed up like women and called Karen the hermit, now I guess there is nothing wrong with that kinda thing these days everyone to there own i always say and sure it's not like he has anything else to do all day god bless him :-0

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/11/2020 22:31:41    2311582

Replying To royaldunne:  "Indeed. Give us ur insight"
Really ! You pair fairly off topic as usual ! Auld Furling comparing you to players 50 years ago !
Anyways My insight haha ! Dont know If I have any lol ! My small prediction is that we do have a chance be it very very difficult ! If Dublin play 60 to 70 % its likely we will come up short ! Andy had built an impressive panel that only will get better ! Its an awful pity the loser goes out saturday because if there was a back door If it was meath I feel they could build and more games would stand to them ! Couple of small changes I would make is bring Colgan back in ! At the very least have Harnan on the bench ! We need experience ! Anyways looking forward to the game ! Best of luck to the lads ! This meath team is improving for sure and exciting times ahead !

grahamc9897 (Meath) - Posts: 1174 - 20/11/2020 05:36:18    2311604

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I am worried about these slow starts. And Dublin will try and blow us out of the water. The similarities with 2014 are onimous in many ways. We had a good league in 2014, we drew with Donegal in Ballybofey and only for remarkable injury time free from Murphy we would have won and be promoted. We were playing good football in 2014 webeat Galway by 7 points in league. We hammered Carlow 7 goals in leinster and we comprehensively beat kildare in semis. And there was confidence going in against Dublin with our last performances in 2013 and 2012 we lost by 7 and 3 and were veey competitive. Thats similar to this year, 7 goals in leinster , beating kildare well and competitive in our last game v Dubs. The Dubs blew us away in that final 2014 It was shocking defeat really it was first time since 1920s Meath v Dublin game was over at half time. And with the loss to Westmeath in 2015 we didnt get our mojo back til the qualifier game v Tyrone in 2017.

I always felt Galvin set out with Dublin to destroy Meath that day. With performances in 2012 and 2013 there was optiminism in Meath. But Galvin would know you dont let Meath grow in confidence. His playing career only for Meath he would have more leinster and All Irelands. Dessie Farrell is the same his career had many loseses to Meath. I think he will set out to blow Meath away in first 20 mins of first half or first 15 mins of second half. Just side not Dessie Farrell and Andy McEntee were minor managers when Meath played Dublin in 2012 All Ireland minor final which Dublin won comfortably.

Meath have to get a good start. These slow starts are killing us. Yes after slow start we came back and beat Kildare and Monaghan. And after slow start we nearly beat kerry and Mayo and slow start we went toe to toe with Dublin. We gave all those teams a 6 or 7 point lead. That we came back ans leveled the game and went to injury with all those teams is a great sign of fitness and great morale and great spirit. But we have to stop this. Dublin could try and blow us completely out of water in first 20 mins run into 9 or 10 point lead. Then i I think we will come back but they push ahead in last 15 and you are looking at massive defeat. And if they do go into big lead the Meath young lads heads might drop. They have had great victories at minor v Dubs but bad defeats v u20 v Dubs. We have to get off to good start. We need try get in early lead 3 or 4 points. Straightaway we are better then last year. Try go for early goals. Really got for it in the first 15 mins. Then see we are at. But we cannot afford a slow start. Because Dublin will try to blow Meath away early. The game could be over by half time. So we need a good start.

I think Andy McEntee and Colm Nally deserve credit. I think Nally has been the first person to get Meath playing sucessfully the modern game. I think Andy McEntee is first manager in leinster ten years to try and build team take on Dublin. McEntee knows to be considered to be a sucessful Meath manager he has to beat Dublin. Yes he is trying to build a team that stay in div 1 and become top 7 or 8 team. But beating Dublin is so much part of what defines Meath football what drives Meath football. As Trevor Giles said you are not respected in Meath football until you beat Dublin.

I think Andy has spent 4 years trying to build team to take on Dublin. You need physicality, strenght and conditioing he has improved that. Andy was involved in Dublin football he knows what it takes. He also has turned Meath into counter attacking team with runners coming of the shoulder. Thats how Donegal defeated Dublin in 2014 and that is still the only way to beat Dublin. He has also clearly being working on goals. And you do need 2 to 3 maybe 4 goals to beat Dublin. So I think Andy McEntee first manager trying to come up with plan to beat Dublin in leinster. Now will it work thats a different question. The odds are stacked against that. But at least McEntee is trying, allot of counties have thrown in the towel. It might not work but I definately feel just looking at the goals scored which they clearly worked on, its all aimed to getting at Dublin. In league game Meath scored 19 points and did have 3 clear goal chances. The key is getting men inside Dublin full back line. Easier said then done. But clearly Nally and McEntee this is what they aimin for.

Defensively Dubs had the best defenders Ireland for decade. They still have Cooper a great defender. Mccarthy one of the greatest Dublin footballers ever and one the grestest footballers of last 30 years, ans Fitzimons best man marker in thr game. But they have lost great defenders like Sullivan McMahon Brennan O Carroll McCaffrey. I look at Dublin midfield you have best footballer in the country Fenton look at forwards great forwards best footballer in the country kilkenny and player like Callaghan could become Dublins grestest forward ever. Midfielf so strong forwards so strong. Defensively you have1 all time great and two top class defenders. The other Muchian McDaid Small. Good defenders. But for me they are no Tommy Drum.or kieth Barr or Paul Curran, Gerry Hargan or Paddy Christie or Cilliam Sullivan or Phily McMahon. Great great Dublin defenders. I do personally think there is lack of great defenders natiioneide sweepers have destroyed art of defending. Where are the great Kerry or Ulster defenders. I look at Armagh or kildare they are poor at the back. Meath were poor at the back for 15 years. We have improved but we are missing three defenders from last year eg James McEntee, Padraig Harnan, Shane Gallagher. I dont think we are as strong defensively this year as last yewr. But we do have sweeper which I think is a good move.

Im sure the Dubs will say Small.Muchian and McDaid are great defenders. Im not saying they are bad defenders. But I just dont feel they are at the level of Tommy Drum or James Mcxarthy or even Eamon Heery or Cillian Sullivan or Phily McMahon. I know Muchiam great attacking wing back. But as defenders for Me Philiy McMahon woule be much better defender. Listen I could be clutching at straws. But if Meath are to compete they need to get inside that back line and open them with runners come of the shoulder.

I have just noticed at underage Dublin are still producing class forwards. Eg Archer or Callaghan. They will.another James McArthy they will need another Cillian Sullivan thry will need another Philiy McMahon. You have to have all time great defenders to win multiple All Irelands like Tomas O Se John O keefe Martin O Connell Marc O Se James Mccarthy. Dublin are producing great midfielders and forwards. Producing good back. But they will need to produce another James Mcarthy in next ten years and anothert in 2030s and another in 2040s. James Mcarrthy is one greatet defenders of all time. Dublin have always great defenders. In the last few fears they had the best defenders in Ireland by a mile. I just dont see the great Dublin defenders coming through like where is new James Mcarthy. Like kerry had Sean murphy in 50s 60s, John O keefe in 70s, Paudi O Se in 80s, Moyhihan in 90s and T and M O Se in 00s. All.all time great defenders. Thats a problem for kerry at the moment. They lack great defenders. Small.Muchian McDaid look good I just dont see them ay level of Sullovan and McMahon. I am sure Dubs will disagree. Maybe I am.clutching at straws but I do feel level of defending nationwide compared to 90s and 00a where all great defender in Ulster. Defenders like Tony Scullion or kieran McGeeney. I was defender myself when I played and I just feel the defensive skill the art of defending throughout the whole country has declined in last ten years. Dublin sucess was built in last ten years on having defenders in Ireland."
Ah here Fulong......posts this long should be banned!.....it was so long I started corrected the spelling errors to keep myself amused instead of actually reading it :)

And what is worse a Meathman trying to convince us he is an intellectual.......................but Christ you miss the matches of the '80 and '90s and into the '00s when we used to knock the living bejaysus out of each other on the pitch and not a word said of it afterwards.

I am not going to get my mental health tested becuase, as a Dub, I hope this Meath team keep growing and we get a challenge and get back to the days when the build up to this match was nearly more intense than the build up to an All-Ireland Final.

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 20/11/2020 07:00:47    2311606

Replying To daytona11:  "Crino,

Keep the excuses for Saturday night / Sunday morning. Hard enough to listen to whinging after a loss let alone before he ball is even thrown it. A seriously defeatist approach lad."
Spot on

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 20/11/2020 09:36:39    2311617

Replying To bdbuddah:  "When Kildare beat Meath many Kildare posters go out of their way to to talk about useless Meath are and how unlike Meath they are serious contenders.
No wonder Meath posters respond reminding Kildare about their historical record.
Funny thing is when Meath beat Kildare we usually don't pass much remarks on it and move on to the next game."
Are you serious? LOL

we are fairly evenly matched teams over the last 10-15 years to be fair so it's not wonder the rivalry gets heated now and then.

Judging by the posts on here by quite a few of your fellow county men the game is as good as lost because it's in Croker.

A few of them have also gone quiet in recent days.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 20/11/2020 09:51:57    2311624

Replying To daytona11:  "Crino,

Keep the excuses for Saturday night / Sunday morning. Hard enough to listen to whinging after a loss let alone before he ball is even thrown it. A seriously defeatist approach lad."
Says your man saying how unfair it all is for rest of Leinster in every second post. I highlight one aspect of the unfairness and you say we're making excuses already.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 20/11/2020 10:34:06    2311639

Replying To daytona11:  "Are you serious? LOL

we are fairly evenly matched teams over the last 10-15 years to be fair so it's not wonder the rivalry gets heated now and then.

Judging by the posts on here by quite a few of your fellow county men the game is as good as lost because it's in Croker.

A few of them have also gone quiet in recent days."
Kildare are gone and irrelevant. Rivalry isn't heated at all, maybe on Kildare side it is but people in Meath don't tend to take much notice of Kildare. There's no rivalry there to speak of. Meath rivals are Dublin, Cork and Cavan. We've animosity with Mayo and Tyrone over past 25 years but that's blown over by now.

Kildare's rivals are Carlow I think which is the level they traditionally have operated at.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 20/11/2020 10:38:10    2311640

Replying To bdbuddah:  "
Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=Crinigan:  "[quote=Dubsfan28:  ""Well they've the run of Croke by all accounts"

Did your mates 2nd cousin, who drank with a chap, who is a steward in Croker tell you that? ;)"
No but two coaches on opposition teams (Nally and Poacher) mentioned it in mainstream media as well as a former Wexford coach and at least one Westmeath player on Twitter in the last year.

Everyone also saw it with their own eyes last weekend when Dublin used Croke Park pitch as their personal training pitch after the match was over , which to be fair, it is at this stage. That doesn't make it right though."

I wouldn't begrudge Meath doing similar in Navan."]People can play it down all they like but but even without supporters playing at home is still a huge advantage. Same routines before all games, less travel to the ground, used to the dimensions of the pitch, free takers familiar with surroundings etc.
This year, in the year of Covid and no capacity issues this game (& Dublin Laois game also) should have been played in a neutral venue."]Yep absolutely no beef there, id be on board with Dublin playing outside Croke Park more frequently, id go further, home away in Leinster, quarterfinal, semi finals, finals outside Croke Park id be a big fan of that.

But if people are saying one of Dublins home grounds is Croke Park and lets be honest it is, then i dont see the point of people getting their knickers in a twist about warm downs etc, i think its simple either accept its Dublin home ground and all that goes with that and have a crib, or it isnt and you are playing at neutral venue.

Doesnt make a material difference either way, it will still be in Dublin and there will always be a big blue wall on the Hill.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 20/11/2020 10:43:58    2311643

Replying To daytona11:  "Are you serious? LOL

A few of them have also gone quiet in recent days."
Not me.
I'm getting more confidence as the game get closer.
I for one would be hugely disappointed if this game was not in Croke park. It's a Leinster final ffs. Only should ever be played in Croke park.
And what a better place to beat Dublin?? It's time to reclaim it for the royal. :).
I started of this thread with bring em on. I haven't lost one bit of faith.
Hon the royal.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/11/2020 10:55:20    2311645

Replying To witnof:  "Ah here Fulong......posts this long should be banned!.....it was so long I started corrected the spelling errors to keep myself amused instead of actually reading it :)

And what is worse a Meathman trying to convince us he is an intellectual.......................but Christ you miss the matches of the '80 and '90s and into the '00s when we used to knock the living bejaysus out of each other on the pitch and not a word said of it afterwards.

I am not going to get my mental health tested becuase, as a Dub, I hope this Meath team keep growing and we get a challenge and get back to the days when the build up to this match was nearly more intense than the build up to an All-Ireland Final."
Will you tell whoever is forcing you to read them to stop. Or if that's not the case. Don't read them.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/11/2020 11:05:58    2311646

Replying To TheUsername:  "
Replying To bdbuddah:  "[quote=TheUsername:  "[quote=Crinigan:  "[quote=Dubsfan28:  ""Well they've the run of Croke by all accounts"

This year, in the year of Covid and no capacity issues this game (& Dublin Laois game also) should have been played in a neutral venue."]Yep absolutely no beef there, id be on board with Dublin playing outside Croke Park more frequently, id go further, home away in Leinster, quarterfinal, semi finals, finals outside Croke Park id be a big fan of that.

But if people are saying one of Dublins home grounds is Croke Park and lets be honest it is, then i dont see the point of people getting their knickers in a twist about warm downs etc, i think its simple either accept its Dublin home ground and all that goes with that and have a crib, or it isnt and you are playing at neutral venue.

Doesnt make a material difference either way, it will still be in Dublin and there will always be a big blue wall on the Hill."]I want the game on in Croke Park, it's Meath and Dublin afterall. But I'd like equal treatment to all when using the facilities. Wouldn't be amiss in my opinion to let both teams train on the pitch in the buildup - Meath have lot of young players who've barely ever played there, we could do with getting used to it.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 20/11/2020 11:10:27    2311648

Replying To royaldunne:  "Not me.
I'm getting more confidence as the game get closer.
I for one would be hugely disappointed if this game was not in Croke park. It's a Leinster final ffs. Only should ever be played in Croke park.
And what a better place to beat Dublin?? It's time to reclaim it for the royal. :).
I started of this thread with bring em on. I haven't lost one bit of faith.
Hon the royal."
Keep the faith lad. Proper order.

Stranger things have happened this year as we all know. It's 15 v 15 at the end of the day and hunger counts for a lot.

I'd expect the Dubs to win but no reason why Meath can't either.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 20/11/2020 11:21:18    2311654

Replying To witnof:  "Ah here Fulong......posts this long should be banned!.....it was so long I started corrected the spelling errors to keep myself amused instead of actually reading it :)

I am not going to get my mental health tested becuase, as a Dub, I hope this Meath team keep growing and we get a challenge and get back to the days when the build up to this match was nearly more intense than the build up to an All-Ireland Final."
Correcting spelling errors? Ironic really, you spelt "because" wrong! :)

Whyalwaysmeath (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 20/11/2020 11:49:09    2311661

Correcting spelling errors? Ironic really, you spelt "because" wrong! :)

Whyalwaysmeath (Meath) - Posts: 27 - 20/11/2020 11:50:54    2311662

This is knockout championship so the form bodes well for Meath. Dublin haven't beaten Meath in knockout championship Leinster final since 1995. Meath have taken the last three, 1996, 1999 and 2001 so I guess Dublin need to stop the tide. Never much in these sort of games.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 505 - 20/11/2020 12:18:49    2311671

Replying To Furlong1949:  "I am worried about these slow starts. And Dublin will try and blow us out of the water. The similarities with 2014 are onimous in many ways. We had a good league in 2014, we drew with Donegal in Ballybofey and only for remarkable injury time free from Murphy we would have won and be promoted. We were playing good football in 2014 webeat Galway by 7 points in league. We hammered Carlow 7 goals in leinster and we comprehensively beat kildare in semis. And there was confidence going in against Dublin with our last performances in 2013 and 2012 we lost by 7 and 3 and were veey competitive. Thats similar to this year, 7 goals in leinster , beating kildare well and competitive in our last game v Dubs. The Dubs blew us away in that final 2014 It was shocking defeat really it was first time since 1920s Meath v Dublin game was over at half time. And with the loss to Westmeath in 2015 we didnt get our mojo back til the qualifier game v Tyrone in 2017.

I always felt Galvin set out with Dublin to destroy Meath that day. With performances in 2012 and 2013 there was optiminism in Meath. But Galvin would know you dont let Meath grow in confidence. His playing career only for Meath he would have more leinster and All Irelands. Dessie Farrell is the same his career had many loseses to Meath. I think he will set out to blow Meath away in first 20 mins of first half or first 15 mins of second half. Just side not Dessie Farrell and Andy McEntee were minor managers when Meath played Dublin in 2012 All Ireland minor final which Dublin won comfortably.

Meath have to get a good start. These slow starts are killing us. Yes after slow start we came back and beat Kildare and Monaghan. And after slow start we nearly beat kerry and Mayo and slow start we went toe to toe with Dublin. We gave all those teams a 6 or 7 point lead. That we came back ans leveled the game and went to injury with all those teams is a great sign of fitness and great morale and great spirit. But we have to stop this. Dublin could try and blow us completely out of water in first 20 mins run into 9 or 10 point lead. Then i I think we will come back but they push ahead in last 15 and you are looking at massive defeat. And if they do go into big lead the Meath young lads heads might drop. They have had great victories at minor v Dubs but bad defeats v u20 v Dubs. We have to get off to good start. We need try get in early lead 3 or 4 points. Straightaway we are better then last year. Try go for early goals. Really got for it in the first 15 mins. Then see we are at. But we cannot afford a slow start. Because Dublin will try to blow Meath away early. The game could be over by half time. So we need a good start.

I think Andy McEntee and Colm Nally deserve credit. I think Nally has been the first person to get Meath playing sucessfully the modern game. I think Andy McEntee is first manager in leinster ten years to try and build team take on Dublin. McEntee knows to be considered to be a sucessful Meath manager he has to beat Dublin. Yes he is trying to build a team that stay in div 1 and become top 7 or 8 team. But beating Dublin is so much part of what defines Meath football what drives Meath football. As Trevor Giles said you are not respected in Meath football until you beat Dublin.

I think Andy has spent 4 years trying to build team to take on Dublin. You need physicality, strenght and conditioing he has improved that. Andy was involved in Dublin football he knows what it takes. He also has turned Meath into counter attacking team with runners coming of the shoulder. Thats how Donegal defeated Dublin in 2014 and that is still the only way to beat Dublin. He has also clearly being working on goals. And you do need 2 to 3 maybe 4 goals to beat Dublin. So I think Andy McEntee first manager trying to come up with plan to beat Dublin in leinster. Now will it work thats a different question. The odds are stacked against that. But at least McEntee is trying, allot of counties have thrown in the towel. It might not work but I definately feel just looking at the goals scored which they clearly worked on, its all aimed to getting at Dublin. In league game Meath scored 19 points and did have 3 clear goal chances. The key is getting men inside Dublin full back line. Easier said then done. But clearly Nally and McEntee this is what they aimin for.

Defensively Dubs had the best defenders Ireland for decade. They still have Cooper a great defender. Mccarthy one of the greatest Dublin footballers ever and one the grestest footballers of last 30 years, ans Fitzimons best man marker in thr game. But they have lost great defenders like Sullivan McMahon Brennan O Carroll McCaffrey. I look at Dublin midfield you have best footballer in the country Fenton look at forwards great forwards best footballer in the country kilkenny and player like Callaghan could become Dublins grestest forward ever. Midfielf so strong forwards so strong. Defensively you have1 all time great and two top class defenders. The other Muchian McDaid Small. Good defenders. But for me they are no Tommy Drum.or kieth Barr or Paul Curran, Gerry Hargan or Paddy Christie or Cilliam Sullivan or Phily McMahon. Great great Dublin defenders. I do personally think there is lack of great defenders natiioneide sweepers have destroyed art of defending. Where are the great Kerry or Ulster defenders. I look at Armagh or kildare they are poor at the back. Meath were poor at the back for 15 years. We have improved but we are missing three defenders from last year eg James McEntee, Padraig Harnan, Shane Gallagher. I dont think we are as strong defensively this year as last yewr. But we do have sweeper which I think is a good move.

Im sure the Dubs will say Small.Muchian and McDaid are great defenders. Im not saying they are bad defenders. But I just dont feel they are at the level of Tommy Drum or James Mcxarthy or even Eamon Heery or Cillian Sullivan or Phily McMahon. I know Muchiam great attacking wing back. But as defenders for Me Philiy McMahon woule be much better defender. Listen I could be clutching at straws. But if Meath are to compete they need to get inside that back line and open them with runners come of the shoulder.

I have just noticed at underage Dublin are still producing class forwards. Eg Archer or Callaghan. They will.another James McArthy they will need another Cillian Sullivan thry will need another Philiy McMahon. You have to have all time great defenders to win multiple All Irelands like Tomas O Se John O keefe Martin O Connell Marc O Se James Mccarthy. Dublin are producing great midfielders and forwards. Producing good back. But they will need to produce another James Mcarthy in next ten years and anothert in 2030s and another in 2040s. James Mcarrthy is one greatet defenders of all time. Dublin have always great defenders. In the last few fears they had the best defenders in Ireland by a mile. I just dont see the great Dublin defenders coming through like where is new James Mcarthy. Like kerry had Sean murphy in 50s 60s, John O keefe in 70s, Paudi O Se in 80s, Moyhihan in 90s and T and M O Se in 00s. All.all time great defenders. Thats a problem for kerry at the moment. They lack great defenders. Small.Muchian McDaid look good I just dont see them ay level of Sullovan and McMahon. I am sure Dubs will disagree. Maybe I am.clutching at straws but I do feel level of defending nationwide compared to 90s and 00a where all great defender in Ulster. Defenders like Tony Scullion or kieran McGeeney. I was defender myself when I played and I just feel the defensive skill the art of defending throughout the whole country has declined in last ten years. Dublin sucess was built in last ten years on having defenders in Ireland."
You're a bit all over the shop with this post and putting words in the mouth of Dub fans that I don't think are reflective of current thinking (in my opinion anyway):

But they have lost great defenders like Sullivan McMahon Brennan O Carroll McCaffrey

- Philly, ROC and Cian O'Sullivan (Cillian O'S plays for Meath) are still on the Dublin panel. Philly played against Laois last weekend. Their best days may be behind them but they're not write offs yet
- Brennan had value - he was tough, hard to get the ball off, positionally astute and had good distribution but was, for a while, considered a bit of a liability, hadn't great pace and I've never heard him described a great defender
- Jack McCaffrey - I'll give you JMC, he was / is quality

But for me they are no Tommy Drum.or kieth Barr or Paul Curran, Gerry Hargan or Paddy Christie or Cilliam Sullivan or Phily McMahon

- Keith Barr was a good player but not the best defender ever. His cavalier role in 1992 went a long way towards costing Dublin the All-Ireland
- Paddy was quality but had too many injuries to be considered "great"
- TD, PC and GH are all highly considered by Dubs (that I've talked to)

Im sure the Dubs will say Small.Muchian and McDaid are great defenders.

I've yet to hear a single Dub say anything of the sort.
- Small is very consistent and very good at nullifying an opponent but had / has his disciplinary issues and wouldn't be considered the most dynamic
- McDaid has only really got a slot in the starting line up this year and he's 26/27
- I've a lot of time for Murchan but he hasn't 100% nailed down a spot in the Dublin team, which would be one of the criteria for greatness. He's only 24, to be fair

I know Muchiam great attacking wing back. But as defenders for Me Philiy McMahon woule be much better defender.

Philly is 6'0 and a powerhouse, Murchan is 5'7 and a speedster. You're comparing chalk and cheese. However, I'm struggling to think of anyone who's gotten the better of Murchan when he's played in the championship

Your overall argument appears to pick Dublin's (and others') best (or most high profile) defenders from a previous era and compare them with the perceived weaker links in the current defence. No team has 6 defenders who will go down as "greats" at any one time and you can't make a valid conclusion from comparing the strongest you cherry pick from various eras with some relative newcomers.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 20/11/2020 12:33:06    2311673

Think Murch and in particular John Small are very underrated players. John Small has immense quality and huge influence on the game, one of the first names on Dublin team sheet. Reminds me of when no one Knew James McCarthy was one of Dublin best players, until they noticed he had 5 All Irelands.

Murch has bags a of q8uality already but i wholly expect his to develop, i was watching him in the Dublin championship this year and if he can bring that influence and impact to the intercounty game we have another Jack on our hands. Hes a really sticky defender to, look at the second final last year and the defensive job he did.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4443 - 20/11/2020 14:18:51    2311704