Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also."

In the last 10 years Dublin have, won 7 All-Irelands, runners-up 0; and won 9 Leinsters, runners-up 0.

In the 10 years 1978 to 1987 Kerry won 7 All-Irelands, runners-up 1; and won 8 Munsters, runners-up 2.

I don't remember any 'calling for changes' during Kerry's dominance."
Actually at the time there was call for changes but obviously social media was nt around so maybe not as much in your face.However there were indeed calls for change in both hurling and football.Ironically because of Kerry s dominance at the time in 1980 to stop them beating teams by a large score Kerry were given a bye into MSF where it was expected Cork would meet them and that would be closely fought (and was).you often hear of Kerry winning sam in 3 games.well that was the reason and the oneand only time it happened in my lifetime.Now Cockneyyou surely remember the next timethere was call for change in the football.If not let me refresh you.it was decided around the time of the millennium to bring in the back door in fooball.Originally the back door was brought in in hurling in1997 but it was said football was ok,however they decided to bring it in in2001 and I remember at the time it was said would be great for teams like Dublin to get a second chance (Dublin had nt won Leinster since 95).Now I remember on radio at the time the gaa said it was really for the weaker counties.Anyway people never happy so be careful what we wish for."
Howya Mick

Remember when your own Hermit and Kingdomboy spent many weeks claiming you weren't from Kerry in almost every single thread you posted in

That was pretty silly wasn't it"]I remember it well.
I'm sure the two lads would have been embarrassed inside by the accusations laid out against their fella Kerryman when they came to their senses and it was in fact down to their own paranoia.......well I know The Hermit has no shame so I doubt he was."]Jesus my ears a burning.

Lad if you think I should feel any shame about what the opinions of a few obnoxious anonymous Dublin supporters on a forum are towards me than you are quite right, I don't.

Now why don't you get back to the talking about the match.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/11/2020 14:12:41    2311409

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "
Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also."

In the last 10 years Dublin have, won 7 All-Irelands, runners-up 0; and won 9 Leinsters, runners-up 0.

In the 10 years 1978 to 1987 Kerry won 7 All-Irelands, runners-up 1; and won 8 Munsters, runners-up 2.

Actually at the time there was call for changes but obviously social media was nt around so maybe not as much in your face.However there were indeed calls for change in both hurling and football.Ironically because of Kerry s dominance at the time in 1980 to stop them beating teams by a large score Kerry were given a bye into MSF where it was expected Cork would meet them and that would be closely fought (and was).you often hear of Kerry winning sam in 3 games.well that was the reason and the oneand only time it happened in my lifetime.Now Cockneyyou surely remember the next timethere was call for change in the football.If not let me refresh you.it was decided around the time of the millennium to bring in the back door in fooball.Originally the back door was brought in in hurling in1997 but it was said football was ok,however they decided to bring it in in2001 and I remember at the time it was said would be great for teams like Dublin to get a second chance (Dublin had nt won Leinster since 95).Now I remember on radio at the time the gaa said it was really for the weaker counties.Anyway people never happy so be careful what we wish for."
Thanks Mick for refreshing my memory. I stand corrected."]No worries Cockney

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 19/11/2020 14:18:44    2311412

Replying To TheHermit:  "
Replying To Dubsfan28:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also."

Howya Mick

Remember when your own Hermit and Kingdomboy spent many weeks claiming you weren't from Kerry in almost every single thread you posted in

I'm sure the two lads would have been embarrassed inside by the accusations laid out against their fella Kerryman when they came to their senses and it was in fact down to their own paranoia.......well I know The Hermit has no shame so I doubt he was."]Jesus my ears a burning.

Lad if you think I should feel any shame about what the opinions of a few obnoxious anonymous Dublin supporters on a forum are towards me than you are quite right, I don't.

Now why don't you get back to the talking about the match."]Glad to see you are back to yourself after the shock of defeat , winter well .

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 19/11/2020 14:24:21    2311415

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "So got punished for doing something he wasn't meant to be doing? What am I missing?"
Ya but I wonder was it his first time calling to the referees changing room at half time? It's something that shouldn't be done home or away ( or just at home in dublins case) luckily for ye we won the game or this incident could have gotten very messy.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/11/2020 14:25:14    2311417

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also."

Howya Mick

That was pretty silly wasn't it"]I remember Jimbo but I forgive them. "Let he who has not sinned throw the first stone" Lol

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 19/11/2020 14:31:22    2311421

Replying To TheHermit:  "
Replying To Dubsfan28:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also."

Howya Mick

Now why don't you get back to the talking about the match."]You're not kidding anyone man

No way you're from Kerry

All the prominent Kerry posters of the past were far better skins

Nah no way you're from Kerry

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/11/2020 14:57:09    2311429

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also."

Howya Mick

That was pretty silly wasn't it"]I remember Jimbo but I forgive them. "Let he who has not sinned throw the first stone" Lol"]Well at least their undeniably obnoxious behaviour towards you has stopped

They love a grand conspiracy theory

If it's not spreading slimey misinformation online about refs its coming up with tin foil hat stuff as you've been subjected too since joining hoganstand.. and for what reason? Because you didn't follow their narrative..

Good on you for being forgiving

It's great to see the better cut of Kerry supporter on here again

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/11/2020 15:09:27    2311433

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To TheHermit:  "[quote=Dubsfan28:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also."

Howya Mick

Now why don't you get back to the talking about the match."]You're not kidding anyone man

No way you're from Kerry

All the prominent Kerry posters of the past were far better skins

Nah no way you're from Kerry"]Look i try to be impartial as much as possible so when that happens people wonder and think you ré being disloyal or against another county.Of course like most folk I'm bias towards my own but try to see the bigger picture in the aftermath. If I don't agree with something I'll say it no matter whatcounty is involved. As some posters have stated before the posts seem to be mainly about Dublin and Kerry so for that reason when one criticises they are being accused of being anti the county. On hoganstand I have been accused of being anti Kerry and also against Dublin. However there is no truth in that. Wrong is wrong and if any player from any county does wrong then I will say same. It does nt mean I'm against them. As a matter of fact alot of the time it's frustration as I feel let down by teams I like.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 19/11/2020 15:21:25    2311440

Replying To superbluedub:  "
Replying To TheHermit:  "[quote=Dubsfan28:  "[quote=jimbodub:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also."

Howya Mick

Now why don't you get back to the talking about the match."]Glad to see you are back to yourself after the shock of defeat , winter well ."]It was only a shock defeat in dublin posters eyes, we knew we could lose especially when we were playing "AWAY" from home :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/11/2020 15:23:40    2311442

Replying To daytona11:  "I'd agree with most of the Young_Gael. I'd counter it by saying most of the Meath posters, and one in particular could be summed up by that post. If I'd a penny every time I heard "how many all Irelands do you have" when we beat Meath I'd be a wealthy man.

Also it may not have seemed it but I was making a case for the entirety of Leinster and other provinces as a whole. What is the actual point of the Leinster Football Championship at senior level anymore? It's as relevant as the O'Byrne cup in reality.

I cringe when I hear people describe it as a successful year for Kildare when we qualify for the Super 8's even though we have gotten nowhere near to winning anything.

Going back to Meath v Dublin I think it's inevitable going to be another Dublin victory and by a clear margin. Meath and their fans are 100% correct being positive and believing they can beat the Dubs.

Regarding our potential I'd tend to agree. On our day as recent results have shown we are capable of taking the biggest scalps in championship outside of the Dubs. We were also seriously unlucky to get relegated from Division 1 losing most games by a point here or there.

The inevitable hammering by the Dubs for us and yourselves has had a detrimental impact of the way we approach championship."
Can't really argue with any of that. The psychological damage to the two teams has been significant. And if we lose by less the 6 points on Saturday I'd be surprised.

Regarding fans saying stupid stuff I think you just have to take it that what you get online is not representative. The crazies always shout louder than the rest. Anytime I chat to fans from another county there's never any vitriol and people tend to be pretty honest and realistic. Online is warped though.

HighKings (Meath) - Posts: 271 - 19/11/2020 15:28:14    2311445

Jesus my ears a burning.

Lad if you think I should feel any shame about what the opinions of a few obnoxious anonymous Dublin supporters on a forum are towards me than you are quite right, I don't

Well Big Ears, them ears probably suit your big puddin head.
You and your sidekick were at the man because you couldn't accept he was a decent skin and not a whinging pain in the **** like your self.
By the way, there's few if any give a hoot about your view or any of the bull you post.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 19/11/2020 16:02:48    2311456

Ahh lads. Let's keep the slagging to Meath and Dublin, Kerry boys can happily join in giving the dubs a dig. As for Daytona?? It was just a couple of years ago you came in Meath forum saying you wouldn't take one player from Meath team. McGill, keoghan, lavin were on that team. Perhaps in hindsight u could have did with them on Sunday???
May I add that the most green thumbs I ever got was when I responded that is a first for a Kildare man not looking for players from another county. You seem to have taken that badly :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 19/11/2020 16:33:07    2311473

Replying To catch22:  "Jesus my ears a burning.

Lad if you think I should feel any shame about what the opinions of a few obnoxious anonymous Dublin supporters on a forum are towards me than you are quite right, I don't

You and your sidekick were at the man because you couldn't accept he was a decent skin and not a whinging pain in the **** like your self.
By the way, there's few if any give a hoot about your view or any of the bull you post."
Non stop hounding him for weeks on end because he wasn't cut from their poor mouth cloth and did nothing but give his opinion

All credit to Mick for sticking around despite the **** he had to take from them

Now it's all happy house and the neck of them having the audacity to call anyone obnoxious off the back of it haha

What a pair of Karen's

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/11/2020 16:38:44    2311476

Replying To catch22:  "Jesus my ears a burning.

By the way, there's few if any give a hoot about your view or any of the bull you post."
That' good to know.

I'd be doing something wrong if the likes of yourself, Jimbo and the other motley crew of ye had anything good to say about anyone who doesn't bow down to the "nothing wrong, nothing to see here, the inter-county game is perfectly healthy, Dublin's dominance is perfectly natural and not anything to do with anything outside the pitch" narrative.

Now life's too short so I'll bid you adieu

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/11/2020 16:40:35    2311478

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ahh lads. Let's keep the slagging to Meath and Dublin, Kerry boys can happily join in giving the dubs a dig. As for Daytona?? It was just a couple of years ago you came in Meath forum saying you wouldn't take one player from Meath team. McGill, keoghan, lavin were on that team. Perhaps in hindsight u could have did with them on Sunday???
May I add that the most green thumbs I ever got was when I responded that is a first for a Kildare man not looking for players from another county. You seem to have taken that badly :)"
Will ye go out of that. We wouldn't refuse a lad a game of football to be fair if he is interested. Rumour has it you lads tried to poach him first and he refused. Seanie gave his all down here and even played a bit of hurling for the local club. Now that's commitment. Lads like him are always welcome. Are ye still trying to claim Dean Rock as a Meath man :)

All in all I'd agree though and the Seanie thing is what happens when outsiders come in and it's win at all costs and a big pay day for them. It was embarrassing as was last Sunday but we will go again.

Local rivalry is great and there is none fiercer than Kildare / Meath at the moment in Leinster for an number of reasons but we, as with other Leinster counties really need come together and lobby the GAA for change. Neither of us have challenged the Dubs for years and that's the way it will continue this Saturday. Again the best of luck with the game though and I hope the gap is being bridged to give us all hope but it's a long shot.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 19/11/2020 16:54:37    2311484

Replying To TheHermit:  "That' good to know.

I'd be doing something wrong if the likes of yourself, Jimbo and the other motley crew of ye had anything good to say about anyone who doesn't bow down to the "nothing wrong, nothing to see here, the inter-county game is perfectly healthy, Dublin's dominance is perfectly natural and not anything to do with anything outside the pitch" narrative.

Now life's too short so I'll bid you adieu"
As thehermit himself called people who disagree with his views

"SYCOPHANTS" was the word he used

And still no apology for hounding one of his own for weeks on end.. once again for simply not supporting his narrative

Sort of a theme going isn't there. .

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/11/2020 16:55:57    2311486

"Now life's too short so I'll bid you adieu"

Yet you had the time to hound one of your own for weeks on end

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/11/2020 16:57:55    2311488

Replying To jimbodub:  "Non stop hounding him for weeks on end because he wasn't cut from their poor mouth cloth and did nothing but give his opinion

All credit to Mick for sticking around despite the **** he had to take from them

Now it's all happy house and the neck of them having the audacity to call anyone obnoxious off the back of it haha

What a pair of Karen's"
Just one final aside for anyone that's interested.

I never "hounded" anyone for "weeks", I simply stated I didn't believe a certain poster was from where he claimed he was and left it at that.

I still have my suspicions and to be frank I don't engage, that's my own choice.

Given that this main forum is overrun with (Dubs mostly) creating alter-egos, I think its reasonable to be suspicious from time to time. You lads have been caught in the act a fair few times at this stage.

Now surely you all have a match to be looking forward to, unlike some of us :(

Look at it this way Jimbo, for once you can be watching it on the coach with no need to pass yourself off as being on the Hill using the wifi to post!

P.S, I must invest in a Dublin-English dictionary, decent skin, karen's - I've so much to look up...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 19/11/2020 17:11:29    2311495

Ahh put a CORK in it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/11/2020 17:20:09    2311497

I am worried about these slow starts. And Dublin will try and blow us out of the water. The similarities with 2014 are onimous in many ways. We had a good league in 2014, we drew with Donegal in Ballybofey and only for remarkable injury time free from Murphy we would have won and be promoted. We were playing good football in 2014 webeat Galway by 7 points in league. We hammered Carlow 7 goals in leinster and we comprehensively beat kildare in semis. And there was confidence going in against Dublin with our last performances in 2013 and 2012 we lost by 7 and 3 and were veey competitive. Thats similar to this year, 7 goals in leinster , beating kildare well and competitive in our last game v Dubs. The Dubs blew us away in that final 2014 It was shocking defeat really it was first time since 1920s Meath v Dublin game was over at half time. And with the loss to Westmeath in 2015 we didnt get our mojo back til the qualifier game v Tyrone in 2017.

I always felt Galvin set out with Dublin to destroy Meath that day. With performances in 2012 and 2013 there was optiminism in Meath. But Galvin would know you dont let Meath grow in confidence. His playing career only for Meath he would have more leinster and All Irelands. Dessie Farrell is the same his career had many loseses to Meath. I think he will set out to blow Meath away in first 20 mins of first half or first 15 mins of second half. Just side not Dessie Farrell and Andy McEntee were minor managers when Meath played Dublin in 2012 All Ireland minor final which Dublin won comfortably.

Meath have to get a good start. These slow starts are killing us. Yes after slow start we came back and beat Kildare and Monaghan. And after slow start we nearly beat kerry and Mayo and slow start we went toe to toe with Dublin. We gave all those teams a 6 or 7 point lead. That we came back ans leveled the game and went to injury with all those teams is a great sign of fitness and great morale and great spirit. But we have to stop this. Dublin could try and blow us completely out of water in first 20 mins run into 9 or 10 point lead. Then i I think we will come back but they push ahead in last 15 and you are looking at massive defeat. And if they do go into big lead the Meath young lads heads might drop. They have had great victories at minor v Dubs but bad defeats v u20 v Dubs. We have to get off to good start. We need try get in early lead 3 or 4 points. Straightaway we are better then last year. Try go for early goals. Really got for it in the first 15 mins. Then see we are at. But we cannot afford a slow start. Because Dublin will try to blow Meath away early. The game could be over by half time. So we need a good start.

I think Andy McEntee and Colm Nally deserve credit. I think Nally has been the first person to get Meath playing sucessfully the modern game. I think Andy McEntee is first manager in leinster ten years to try and build team take on Dublin. McEntee knows to be considered to be a sucessful Meath manager he has to beat Dublin. Yes he is trying to build a team that stay in div 1 and become top 7 or 8 team. But beating Dublin is so much part of what defines Meath football what drives Meath football. As Trevor Giles said you are not respected in Meath football until you beat Dublin.

I think Andy has spent 4 years trying to build team to take on Dublin. You need physicality, strenght and conditioing he has improved that. Andy was involved in Dublin football he knows what it takes. He also has turned Meath into counter attacking team with runners coming of the shoulder. Thats how Donegal defeated Dublin in 2014 and that is still the only way to beat Dublin. He has also clearly being working on goals. And you do need 2 to 3 maybe 4 goals to beat Dublin. So I think Andy McEntee first manager trying to come up with plan to beat Dublin in leinster. Now will it work thats a different question. The odds are stacked against that. But at least McEntee is trying, allot of counties have thrown in the towel. It might not work but I definately feel just looking at the goals scored which they clearly worked on, its all aimed to getting at Dublin. In league game Meath scored 19 points and did have 3 clear goal chances. The key is getting men inside Dublin full back line. Easier said then done. But clearly Nally and McEntee this is what they aimin for.

Defensively Dubs had the best defenders Ireland for decade. They still have Cooper a great defender. Mccarthy one of the greatest Dublin footballers ever and one the grestest footballers of last 30 years, ans Fitzimons best man marker in thr game. But they have lost great defenders like Sullivan McMahon Brennan O Carroll McCaffrey. I look at Dublin midfield you have best footballer in the country Fenton look at forwards great forwards best footballer in the country kilkenny and player like Callaghan could become Dublins grestest forward ever. Midfielf so strong forwards so strong. Defensively you have1 all time great and two top class defenders. The other Muchian McDaid Small. Good defenders. But for me they are no Tommy Drum.or kieth Barr or Paul Curran, Gerry Hargan or Paddy Christie or Cilliam Sullivan or Phily McMahon. Great great Dublin defenders. I do personally think there is lack of great defenders natiioneide sweepers have destroyed art of defending. Where are the great Kerry or Ulster defenders. I look at Armagh or kildare they are poor at the back. Meath were poor at the back for 15 years. We have improved but we are missing three defenders from last year eg James McEntee, Padraig Harnan, Shane Gallagher. I dont think we are as strong defensively this year as last yewr. But we do have sweeper which I think is a good move.

Im sure the Dubs will say Small.Muchian and McDaid are great defenders. Im not saying they are bad defenders. But I just dont feel they are at the level of Tommy Drum or James Mcxarthy or even Eamon Heery or Cillian Sullivan or Phily McMahon. I know Muchiam great attacking wing back. But as defenders for Me Philiy McMahon woule be much better defender. Listen I could be clutching at straws. But if Meath are to compete they need to get inside that back line and open them with runners come of the shoulder.

I have just noticed at underage Dublin are still producing class forwards. Eg Archer or Callaghan. They will.another James McArthy they will need another Cillian Sullivan thry will need another Philiy McMahon. You have to have all time great defenders to win multiple All Irelands like Tomas O Se John O keefe Martin O Connell Marc O Se James Mccarthy. Dublin are producing great midfielders and forwards. Producing good back. But they will need to produce another James Mcarthy in next ten years and anothert in 2030s and another in 2040s. James Mcarrthy is one greatet defenders of all time. Dublin have always great defenders. In the last few fears they had the best defenders in Ireland by a mile. I just dont see the great Dublin defenders coming through like where is new James Mcarthy. Like kerry had Sean murphy in 50s 60s, John O keefe in 70s, Paudi O Se in 80s, Moyhihan in 90s and T and M O Se in 00s. All.all time great defenders. Thats a problem for kerry at the moment. They lack great defenders. Small.Muchian McDaid look good I just dont see them ay level of Sullovan and McMahon. I am sure Dubs will disagree. Maybe I am.clutching at straws but I do feel level of defending nationwide compared to 90s and 00a where all great defender in Ulster. Defenders like Tony Scullion or kieran McGeeney. I was defender myself when I played and I just feel the defensive skill the art of defending throughout the whole country has declined in last ten years. Dublin sucess was built in last ten years on having defenders in Ireland.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 19/11/2020 18:23:30    2311509