Meath V Dublin Leinster Final.

In this crazy Covid year of course anything is possible but I still think Dublin will have too much for Meath. Dublin haven't come up against a potent forward line like Meath's in Leinster but Meath haven't come across a defense like Dublin's compared to Wicklow's and Kildare's so will be an interesting game. Dublin start slow and a little sloppy like they did against Laois then Meath will cause problems. Meath will need plenty of goals again to stand a chance I believe and rattle Dublin with some early goals then who knows but Dublin will get chances too in front of goal and if they take a couple then will pull away. I am going to say Dublin by 8 points.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 19/11/2020 10:07:31    2311312

Replying To Young_gael:  "Daytona, im saying this from a position of respect for your county. This is too worrying of a trend im seeing out of Kildare posters, on this forum and also in reality since last week's game. Now look, in the cold, hard light of day I can accept Meath are no great shakes. The success of Dublin speaks volumes and yeah it a proper mountain this Meath team has to climb at the weekend.

Ive noticed in all my time that Kildare posters and indeed Kildare people are very quick to get negative after defeats. However the negativity is usually camouflaged by a bizarre sense of detatchment, so:

"...yes Kildare lost, but thats ok because the team that beat Kildare are also not very good in general, and football is dead, and there's no even point going on because everyone is terrible, and even if you combined 5 teams, they still wouldnt be good enough..."

And this negativity is projected ALWAYS at Meath but also on other neighbouring counties such as Laois and Westmeath. So the overall point is that "we lost but thats ok because all of our neighbours are not much better." The same in the opposite extreme can be said when Kildare are winning games, and there are Kildare posters on this forum whose only entries are to be seen when sticking the boot into their neighbours. In 2017 in the League in Navan, Kildare had the game won after 10 minutes v. Meath and Im not over-exaggerating when I say that the bulk of the Kildare supporters I saw were more interested in pointing out hilariously that Meath were poor, rather than Kildare were good. It was very, very strange. Ballygosideways stuff.

Small town mentality, looking over the neighbours fence mentality. If Kildare broadens its horizons, its potential is massive; probably the most untapped potential in Ireland."
Nail on head regarding Kildare fans.

The vitriol on Twitter they sent to the Kildare twitter account after last Sunday is unreal. They go way OTT when going well and way OTT when not going well and graciousness in defeat is rarely seen.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 19/11/2020 10:22:02    2311321

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  ""10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also."

In the last 10 years Dublin have, won 7 All-Irelands, runners-up 0; and won 9 Leinsters, runners-up 0.

In the 10 years 1978 to 1987 Kerry won 7 All-Irelands, runners-up 1; and won 8 Munsters, runners-up 2.

I don't remember any 'calling for changes' during Kerry's dominance."
Actually at the time there was call for changes but obviously social media was nt around so maybe not as much in your face.However there were indeed calls for change in both hurling and football.Ironically because of Kerry s dominance at the time in 1980 to stop them beating teams by a large score Kerry were given a bye into MSF where it was expected Cork would meet them and that would be closely fought (and was).you often hear of Kerry winning sam in 3 games.well that was the reason and the oneand only time it happened in my lifetime.Now Cockneyyou surely remember the next timethere was call for change in the football.If not let me refresh you.it was decided around the time of the millennium to bring in the back door in fooball.Originally the back door was brought in in hurling in1997 but it was said football was ok,however they decided to bring it in in2001 and I remember at the time it was said would be great for teams like Dublin to get a second chance (Dublin had nt won Leinster since 95).Now I remember on radio at the time the gaa said it was really for the weaker counties.Anyway people never happy so be careful what we wish for."
Howya Mick

Remember when your own Hermit and Kingdomboy spent many weeks claiming you weren't from Kerry in almost every single thread you posted in

That was pretty silly wasn't it

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/11/2020 10:24:42    2311325

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "I know, sure the lads apparently even have nicknames for every single blade of grass on the pitch, they know it that well compared to other blades of grass in different stadia around the country...."
Well they've the run of Croke by all accounts. Had a nice little fitness session in front of the warming down Laois players on the pitch last Sunday - just to rub it into the Laois lads that they didn't test them enough and extra session was required.

No other county would be let near the pitch for a fitness session like that. According to likes of Colm Nally and Stephen Poacher, Croke Park stewards lay out red carpet to Dublin players and officials and let them do as they please while "visiting teams" get told they can't do this and can't do that and only allowed on pitch and warmup area at certain times.

Dublin not even bothering to hide it anymore if last Sunday's post game anything to go by.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 19/11/2020 10:27:15    2311329

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "In this crazy Covid year of course anything is possible but I still think Dublin will have too much for Meath. Dublin haven't come up against a potent forward line like Meath's in Leinster but Meath haven't come across a defense like Dublin's compared to Wicklow's and Kildare's so will be an interesting game. Dublin start slow and a little sloppy like they did against Laois then Meath will cause problems. Meath will need plenty of goals again to stand a chance I believe and rattle Dublin with some early goals then who knows but Dublin will get chances too in front of goal and if they take a couple then will pull away. I am going to say Dublin by 8 points."
This is prob a fair prediction.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 19/11/2020 10:28:25    2311330

I hope Meath scares the life out of Dublin and I'd take a 1pt win after a hard fought battle right now

If I'm very honest

If I wanted anyone to beat Dublin thats currently still left I'd prefer it was Meath. Our neighbour's could do with the boost especially seeing at its more of a Dublin suburb these days with the amount of Dubs that went after the cheaper gaff's

They could do with an identity boost and for old times sake.. yeah it would be fitting if it was Meath

Here's to a good game

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/11/2020 10:29:54    2311332

Replying To Young_gael:  "Daytona, im saying this from a position of respect for your county. This is too worrying of a trend im seeing out of Kildare posters, on this forum and also in reality since last week's game. Now look, in the cold, hard light of day I can accept Meath are no great shakes. The success of Dublin speaks volumes and yeah it a proper mountain this Meath team has to climb at the weekend.

Ive noticed in all my time that Kildare posters and indeed Kildare people are very quick to get negative after defeats. However the negativity is usually camouflaged by a bizarre sense of detatchment, so:

"...yes Kildare lost, but thats ok because the team that beat Kildare are also not very good in general, and football is dead, and there's no even point going on because everyone is terrible, and even if you combined 5 teams, they still wouldnt be good enough..."

And this negativity is projected ALWAYS at Meath but also on other neighbouring counties such as Laois and Westmeath. So the overall point is that "we lost but thats ok because all of our neighbours are not much better." The same in the opposite extreme can be said when Kildare are winning games, and there are Kildare posters on this forum whose only entries are to be seen when sticking the boot into their neighbours. In 2017 in the League in Navan, Kildare had the game won after 10 minutes v. Meath and Im not over-exaggerating when I say that the bulk of the Kildare supporters I saw were more interested in pointing out hilariously that Meath were poor, rather than Kildare were good. It was very, very strange. Ballygosideways stuff.

Small town mentality, looking over the neighbours fence mentality. If Kildare broadens its horizons, its potential is massive; probably the most untapped potential in Ireland."
I'd agree with most of the Young_Gael. I'd counter it by saying most of the Meath posters, and one in particular could be summed up by that post. If I'd a penny every time I heard "how many all Irelands do you have" when we beat Meath I'd be a wealthy man.

Also it may not have seemed it but I was making a case for the entirety of Leinster and other provinces as a whole. What is the actual point of the Leinster Football Championship at senior level anymore? It's as relevant as the O'Byrne cup in reality.

I cringe when I hear people describe it as a successful year for Kildare when we qualify for the Super 8's even though we have gotten nowhere near to winning anything.

Going back to Meath v Dublin I think it's inevitable going to be another Dublin victory and by a clear margin. Meath and their fans are 100% correct being positive and believing they can beat the Dubs.

Regarding our potential I'd tend to agree. On our day as recent results have shown we are capable of taking the biggest scalps in championship outside of the Dubs. We were also seriously unlucky to get relegated from Division 1 losing most games by a point here or there.

The inevitable hammering by the Dubs for us and yourselves has had a detrimental impact of the way we approach championship.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 19/11/2020 10:37:19    2311337

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also."

In the last 10 years Dublin have, won 7 All-Irelands, runners-up 0; and won 9 Leinsters, runners-up 0.

In the 10 years 1978 to 1987 Kerry won 7 All-Irelands, runners-up 1; and won 8 Munsters, runners-up 2.

Actually at the time there was call for changes but obviously social media was nt around so maybe not as much in your face.However there were indeed calls for change in both hurling and football.Ironically because of Kerry s dominance at the time in 1980 to stop them beating teams by a large score Kerry were given a bye into MSF where it was expected Cork would meet them and that would be closely fought (and was).you often hear of Kerry winning sam in 3 games.well that was the reason and the oneand only time it happened in my lifetime.Now Cockneyyou surely remember the next timethere was call for change in the football.If not let me refresh you.it was decided around the time of the millennium to bring in the back door in fooball.Originally the back door was brought in in hurling in1997 but it was said football was ok,however they decided to bring it in in2001 and I remember at the time it was said would be great for teams like Dublin to get a second chance (Dublin had nt won Leinster since 95).Now I remember on radio at the time the gaa said it was really for the weaker counties.Anyway people never happy so be careful what we wish for."
Howya Mick

Remember when your own Hermit and Kingdomboy spent many weeks claiming you weren't from Kerry in almost every single thread you posted in

That was pretty silly wasn't it"]Well if fellas like you hadn't so many different accounts jumbo maybe we could trust lads a bit easier.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/11/2020 11:04:32    2311343

Replying To Crinigan:  "Well they've the run of Croke by all accounts. Had a nice little fitness session in front of the warming down Laois players on the pitch last Sunday - just to rub it into the Laois lads that they didn't test them enough and extra session was required.

No other county would be let near the pitch for a fitness session like that. According to likes of Colm Nally and Stephen Poacher, Croke Park stewards lay out red carpet to Dublin players and officials and let them do as they please while "visiting teams" get told they can't do this and can't do that and only allowed on pitch and warmup area at certain times.

Dublin not even bothering to hide it anymore if last Sunday's post game anything to go by."
When we played dublin in the 2017 league final I remember clux got a yellow card before the ball was thrown in for the second half and wondering what it was for and I didn't find out till I got home and watched the game back on TG4 where the commentators said he got booked for visiting the reff changing room during half time.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 19/11/2020 11:10:38    2311348

Replying To Crinigan:  "Nail on head regarding Kildare fans.

The vitriol on Twitter they sent to the Kildare twitter account after last Sunday is unreal. They go way OTT when going well and way OTT when not going well and graciousness in defeat is rarely seen."
All you missing from your post is " How many All Irelands do they have?"

Kildare GAA are paying a lot of money for a backroom team and senior team in gerneral and a second half collapse like last Sunday should be questioned at this level. It cost us our place in the championship at the end of the day.

Your post is irony personified though. You use the word "Vitriol" followed by "They go way OTT when going well and way OTT when not going well and graciousness in defeat is rarely seen."

Lets wait and see what happens on Sunday. I sincerely hope that the gap between the rest of Leinster and Dublin is closing but I doubt it.

For me Brennans kickouts have to improve massively. Not sure if he is capable of that though? The Dubs will push up and let him knock ball out toward Fenton all night. If he is erroneous with short kickouts the Dubs will go for goal, something we failed to do on Sunday. Get the ball into Morris and Walsh as quickly ass possible and the pace / physique might cause the Dublin fullback line some problem. Have O'Sullivan running at pace off them too. For all of this though midfield is key.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 19/11/2020 11:15:10    2311349

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "
Replying To jimbodub:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also."

Howya Mick

That was pretty silly wasn't it"]Well if fellas like you hadn't so many different accounts jumbo maybe we could trust lads a bit easier."]lol

Whatever you say pal

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 19/11/2020 11:17:13    2311350

Replying To jimbodub:  "I hope Meath scares the life out of Dublin and I'd take a 1pt win after a hard fought battle right now

If I'm very honest

If I wanted anyone to beat Dublin thats currently still left I'd prefer it was Meath. Our neighbour's could do with the boost especially seeing at its more of a Dublin suburb these days with the amount of Dubs that went after the cheaper gaff's

They could do with an identity boost and for old times sake.. yeah it would be fitting if it was Meath

Here's to a good game"
If I was Dessie Farrell. I would be saying these young Meath men need a right good hammering. Not knock them back as far as you can. I am sure that's what Dublin will try to do anyway. On the other hand Meath like many counties need zero motivation. I would be careful if Dublin where to lose to Meath tough, it might be just the shoot the arm, these young lads need. I like you am hoping for good game also. A big hammering is going to do no side any good. So we will go easy on yous :)

bobkarlgees (Meath) - Posts: 1263 - 19/11/2020 11:37:01    2311353

Replying To jimbodub:  "I hope Meath scares the life out of Dublin and I'd take a 1pt win after a hard fought battle right now

If I'm very honest

Here's to a good game"
Good man jimbo, hope all is well with you and yours.

Obviously I'm hoping for a Meath win, now I know that's a tall order and realistically speaking if we stay competitive for the whole game that will be an achievement in itself (although personally I'm not too fond of those sort of moral achievements).

But I think your post is very indicative of the 2 vastly different trajectories of both teams. I mean could you imagine yourself posting those sentiments only 10 years ago when Meath v Dublin was still a fiercely contested fixture!

I think the identity thing is sometimes a bit over stated in the media though. There are a lot of Dubs living in Meath at the minute and naturally those people support their home county. Also a lot of their children would support the Dubs to but that's not all that uncommon when people settle in a different county and kids tend to follow winners anyway.

But there is still a sizeable number of people in Meath who are dedicated to the cause and suffer no confusion over where they're from. Ultimately though we have to start making that count on the pitch and we'll see on Saturday if we're any closer to where we want to be.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/11/2020 11:57:11    2311364

Replying To Crinigan:  "Well they've the run of Croke by all accounts. Had a nice little fitness session in front of the warming down Laois players on the pitch last Sunday - just to rub it into the Laois lads that they didn't test them enough and extra session was required.

Dublin not even bothering to hide it anymore if last Sunday's post game anything to go by."
"Well they've the run of Croke by all accounts"

Did your mates 2nd cousin, who drank with a chap, who is a steward in Croker tell you that? ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 19/11/2020 12:16:28    2311367

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "When we played dublin in the 2017 league final I remember clux got a yellow card before the ball was thrown in for the second half and wondering what it was for and I didn't find out till I got home and watched the game back on TG4 where the commentators said he got booked for visiting the reff changing room during half time."
So got punished for doing something he wasn't meant to be doing? What am I missing?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 19/11/2020 12:17:49    2311369

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  ""10 Leinster's in a row, probably 6 All Irelands. You can't blame the Dubs for that but the GAA certainly do have a case to answer for. I can guarantee you if any other province had of been dominated like Leinster they would be calling for changes also."

Howya Mick

That was pretty silly wasn't it"]I remember it well.
I'm sure the two lads would have been embarrassed inside by the accusations laid out against their fella Kerryman when they came to their senses and it was in fact down to their own paranoia.......well I know The Hermit has no shame so I doubt he was.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 19/11/2020 12:23:14    2311371

Replying To Dubsfan28:  ""Well they've the run of Croke by all accounts"

Did your mates 2nd cousin, who drank with a chap, who is a steward in Croker tell you that? ;)"
No but two coaches on opposition teams (Nally and Poacher) mentioned it in mainstream media as well as a former Wexford coach and at least one Westmeath player on Twitter in the last year.

Everyone also saw it with their own eyes last weekend when Dublin used Croke Park pitch as their personal training pitch after the match was over , which to be fair, it is at this stage. That doesn't make it right though.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 19/11/2020 13:11:26    2311389

Crino,

Keep the excuses for Saturday night / Sunday morning. Hard enough to listen to whinging after a loss let alone before he ball is even thrown it. A seriously defeatist approach lad.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 19/11/2020 13:54:30    2311402

Replying To Crinigan:  "

Did your mates 2nd cousin, who drank with a chap, who is a steward in Croker tell you that? ;)"
No but two coaches on opposition teams (Nally and Poacher) mentioned it in mainstream media as well as a former Wexford coach and at least one Westmeath player on Twitter in the last year.

Everyone also saw it with their own eyes last weekend when Dublin used Croke Park pitch as their personal training pitch after the match was over , which to be fair, it is at this stage. That doesn't make it right though."
I've seen countless teams warm down on the pitch in Croke Park after a game.

dawals (Dublin) - Posts: 63 - 19/11/2020 13:56:04    2311403

Replying To Crinigan:  "

Everyone also saw it with their own eyes last weekend when Dublin used Croke Park pitch as their personal training pitch after the match was over , which to be fair, it is at this stage. That doesn't make it right though."
I think its only fair its our home ground after all.

I wouldn't begrudge Meath doing similar in Navan.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 19/11/2020 13:57:28    2311404