Ulster Final Donegal V Cavan

Absolutely delighted as a Cavan man. Im a little embarrassed that I didn't rate our changes but I thought that Donegal's intensity, experience and forwards would just be to much. Amazing fight and intensity shown by our lads today and fully deserved. Attitude is everything.
I felt the ref was poor with a lot of harsh decisions against us and I don't think I'm being bias here.
Donegal will refocus and be back stronger next year.

Jim_Shorts (Cavan) - Posts: 96 - 22/11/2020 18:27:20    2313092

Cavan and Tipp in all Ireland semi final and deservedly so and might not even be allowed to compete for Sam next year. Unbelievable

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 509 - 22/11/2020 18:28:40    2313099

Donegal over-rated because Armagh were so poor; as with Cork, probably felt they only had to turn up. Cavan deserve the title; as I recall, in the prelim round, they were 6 pts down to Monaghan with 10 mins to go, and looking pretty abject. But great spirit and heart and determination got them through in the end

befair (Down) - Posts: 237 - 22/11/2020 18:30:05    2313102

Well done Cavan.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 22/11/2020 18:30:51    2313104

Replying To thegadfly:  "I can see shades of 2013 already. Donegal are going to be complacent. Cavan are battle hardened and we've played the best football ball of the championship in the second halves of the Monaghan and Down games. They'll put together a solid 70 minutes and pip donegal. Wait till you see. Some of the donegal posters on this are dreaming."
Oh ye of little faith. Do I need to name all your usernames? What did I say. I'd a ton on them and I'm celebrating big time tonight.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 22/11/2020 18:33:21    2313110

I stood beside mckiernan and others after last years ulster final. With tears rolling down his face he still turned to sign my young lads flag as did others. I wish I could have been there today but more importantly those lads were there and by hell did they turn up.. it's a victory for confidence and self belief an a non panic attitude.. my young lad has a smile of his face as will all the young kids in cavan..

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 22/11/2020 18:33:58    2313113

Replying To Evora:  "Maybe if you had to play Dublin every year you'd have a different view. Well done Cavan. Fantastic occasion."
Loads new "Meath" supporters!

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 22/11/2020 18:34:47    2313114

Big congrats to Cavan on a thoroughly deserved Ulster title, this playing with 14 men for ten minutes in both halves. Agree with the sentiments that the ref didn't do them many favours but again they displayed that great character they showed the last few weeks.

From a Donegal perspective I am bitterly disappointed. I was confident we would win today while being respectful of the challenge Cavan presented. That is 3 years in a row when a game from an all Ireland semi final and we have bottled it. There is definitely a psychological deficiency there that needs to be addressed. These failings are not just at senior level we have flattered to deceive at underage too. When nobody puts a glove on us we look like world beaters but when the going gets tough too many are found wanting.

Enjoy the celebrations Cavan supporters just a shame ye cannot do it properly. Certainly made all the sweeter by some of the comments on here by a small number of Donegal posters.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 22/11/2020 18:35:39    2313117

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I'm bitterly bitterly disappointed for Donegal football, I am like a broken record on these pages that we do not have a plethora of Ulster titles and every one is savoured, every final is nerve-wracking, every single one. I hope people who roll their eyes at that sort of talk would take a look today and understand it's all true.

The post match interviews from Mickey Graham and Raymond Galligan on BBC tell you all you need to know. I am sore and upset we couldn't do the three-in-a-row but in all honesty of all the teams to lose to, I'm happy it's Cavan."
I didn't realise that Donegal had only won 10 Ulster Titles, 5 in the last 9 years.
Nothing in the '10s, '20s, '30s, '40s, '50s, '60s!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 22/11/2020 18:36:43    2313121

Replying To cavanman47:  "Glad someone said it. Cassidy gave us nothing. And we still managed it. I don't know what "it" is, but Mickey Graham has it in spades.

What a man.
What a group of players.
What a win!

I haven't shed a tear at a sporting event before, ever.

I did tonight.

I cannot believe what this Cavan team has just done! Heroes!"
Congrats - well done.
Enjoy. Fair play to ye.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 22/11/2020 18:37:04    2313122

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "The pundits had been saying Kerry are the team to beat the Dubs all this year, now they are saying it's Donegal. They have to make some case for the chasing bunch I suppose.
By the looks of Dublin here against Meath it will take a hell of team to beat Dublin, they aren't even being pushed here, they have plenty more in the tank.
Whether it's Donegal or Mayo that have the best chance of beating them I don't know, but that's all it will be, a chance,
10 in a row Leinster titles won tonight and most likely 6 All Irelands in a row in 4 weeks time,
hope we come through tomorrow injury free, big big game coming against the Dubs.
Donegal by 7 to 9 points at least. The Anglo Celt is coming home to the hills."
Did ye come through today injury free for your big game against the dubs tirchonaill? You were right about 1 thing though. The Anglo Celt did come home. Our 40th Ulster title. True kings of Ulster. Never will any team in Ulster surpass us. Always remember that.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 22/11/2020 18:39:34    2313124

Replying To s goldrick:  "Wow ! Just Wow !. best performance i have ever seen from a Cavan team. from start to finish. Fully deserved. To a man they put their bodies on the line. I completely misjudged them in relation to Donegal. They were fitter, stronger and hungrier. They were also patient when they neesed to be and were not afraid to shoot if it was on. I would say we were slightly lucky v Monaghan and Down but Today absolutely worthy winners and CAVAN ARE ULSTER CHAMPIONS. congratulations to Mickey and all the panel. I cried buckets at the end along with Mickey and Ray. Amazing stuff."
Well done and Congrats.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 22/11/2020 18:39:48    2313125

Replying To Donegal_abroad:  "Not a great sign alright. Need every option if we are to make inroads past today. If we make it past today."
At least one of the donegal lads were realistic.

thegadfly (Cavan) - Posts: 290 - 22/11/2020 18:41:26    2313128

Great to see knockout football, the only way to play Championship Football. Great display by Cavan , with Donegal most of the early breaks from the Ref , with Black cards etc. Donegal Manager must take most of blame for defeat, with poor team selection , Thompson and Gallen both top scoring forwards left out of team and Ward their best defender during League not getting any play time. Murphy best full forward in Country spent more time in his own square than in Cavan's, , keeper should have caught ball for goal and most players happy to pass ball back and over but no penetration.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 405 - 22/11/2020 18:44:29    2313136

Replying To katser:  "I didn't realise that Donegal had only won 10 Ulster Titles, 5 in the last 9 years.
Nothing in the '10s, '20s, '30s, '40s, '50s, '60s!!"
Donegal won their first Ulster title in 1972.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 22/11/2020 18:44:30    2313137

Replying To winatallcost:  "Cavan and Tipp in all Ireland semi final and deservedly so and might not even be allowed to compete for Sam next year. Unbelievable"
Yep, forgot about the Div 3 rule....

Surely not though....

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 22/11/2020 18:45:01    2313138

Replying To cavanman47:  "Glad someone said it. Cassidy gave us nothing. And we still managed it. I don't know what "it" is, but Mickey Graham has it in spades.

What a man.
What a group of players.
What a win!

I haven't shed a tear at a sporting event before, ever.

I did tonight.

I cannot believe what this Cavan team has just done! Heroes!"
That ref had no feel for an intense game of championship football, no black card warranted today, no mark awarded b4 half time, did I miss something? Poor by Donegal keeper for the goal, but no more than the Brefni deserved.

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 683 - 22/11/2020 18:45:02    2313139

Best team won, despite losing 2 players to black cards. Great game of football.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 22/11/2020 18:46:39    2313142

Replying To katser:  "I didn't realise that Donegal had only won 10 Ulster Titles, 5 in the last 9 years.
Nothing until 1972.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 22/11/2020 18:48:01    2313143

Sin é katser and that's why I bang the drum so often. And we have lost 4 Ulster finals in the last 10 years as well. This is a golden period of Donegal football in terms of challenging for honours.

We only made the breakthrough in the 1960s however came up against that amazing Down team and also a Cavan team that pushed Down and won a few Ulsters themselves that decade. Our first came in '72 and to be honest the great team that won the All-Ireland in 1992 should have had more Ulsters but there were a lot of great teams competing in Ulster in the 80s and 90s.

Anyway that's how it goes

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 22/11/2020 18:50:11    2313148