Meath V Kildare

Replying To Fionn:  "Well RD - score prediction for next week..?"
All depends on what way Kildare set up, if they go man to man Jordan Morris will get a fair few scores , if they go defensively it will be a low scoring dogged game. Meath by 2 I'll take. It's a banana skin for us no doubt, however we have found some really good players in open play, midfield we have sorted our problems with the return of jones from America, So would be hopeful to break even with kildares strongest line. backs are tenacious, Our kick outs have improved but still a little shaky at times. Forwards we have found perhaps potentially one of the best score getters in a long time in Meath, I mean that in the sense of the current top forwards this guy COULD be spoken of in same breath. I'm speaking of Jordan Morris, who has scored 3-11 in last 2 games. He along with walsh are potent , also we have a strong bench with the likes of Conlon and wallace who can gone on and get a few scores against a tiring defense. It will be a tight game no doubt, I just feel we will get a win in a tough game and hopefully that will stand to us going into next game.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/11/2020 10:17:39    2306648

Replying To royaldunne:  "Excellent points as per usual furlong.
What a pity we can't go to these games. I do hope it's on RTÉ or sky as to be honest the commentary on gaago today was worse than a guy we got to do a u14 final one day. And he had a excuse:)"
Munster hurling and Connacht football finals are on RTE Two and Leinster football semi finals are on RTE Newsnow.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 09/11/2020 10:23:29    2306655

Replying To royaldunne:  "Don't see it as condescending one bit. Meath will be slight fav, that means nothing. Kildare like Louth and Westmeath view beating Meath as a core aim, Kildare always play their best v Meath.
Meath on the other hand have a feeling this year they can beat Dublin should they play them. Cannot take our eye off the hurdle though. Actually thought I was been generous to Kildare. Goes to show you can't please some people"
I do agree that I think Meath will get past Kildare and want a good crack at the Dubs this year. I still think we'll win but this year has thrown a couple of surprises so far so if it's going to happen any year could it be this year? I think not but you never know......

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 09/11/2020 10:25:43    2306660

Replying To SquireGannon:  "I think this will be a close game but Kildare have nothing to fear from Meath.

Some of the comments from Meath posters are hilarious.

"Meath however have a slight eye on a certain bigger blue fish they'd like to fry" - well Dublin will certainly be wary of Meath after their narrow 1 -17 to 0 - 4 win last year.

As to this idea that Meath are somehow further on in their development than Kildare, lets look at the last 5 years.

Minor Leinster Titles
Meath: 1
Kildare: 3

U21/u20
Meath: 0 Titles
Kildare: 1 Leinster Championship, 1 All-Ireland Championship.

Seasons spent in Division 1:
Kildare: 1

Senior Quarter Final/ Super 8 appearances
Kildare: 2

'Top 6' Opposition beaten in Championship
Meath: none
Kildare: 1 (Mayo)

Senior Championship meetings
2017 : Kildare 2 - 16 Meath 0 - 13

All of which suggests Kildare and Meath are operating on similar levels for the last few years, with Kildare producing more at underage and a slight bit more at senior.

Sure look, we'll turn up anyway and give Meath a run out before they take on Dublin...."
First post welcome to hoganstand.
I'm rd.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/11/2020 10:28:32    2306664

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Munster hurling and Connacht football finals are on RTE Two and Leinster football semi finals are on RTE Newsnow."
Cheers for that

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/11/2020 10:46:21    2306681

Replying To royaldunne:  "All depends on what way Kildare set up, if they go man to man Jordan Morris will get a fair few scores , if they go defensively it will be a low scoring dogged game. Meath by 2 I'll take. It's a banana skin for us no doubt, however we have found some really good players in open play, midfield we have sorted our problems with the return of jones from America, So would be hopeful to break even with kildares strongest line. backs are tenacious, Our kick outs have improved but still a little shaky at times. Forwards we have found perhaps potentially one of the best score getters in a long time in Meath, I mean that in the sense of the current top forwards this guy COULD be spoken of in same breath. I'm speaking of Jordan Morris, who has scored 3-11 in last 2 games. He along with walsh are potent , also we have a strong bench with the likes of Conlon and wallace who can gone on and get a few scores against a tiring defense. It will be a tight game no doubt, I just feel we will get a win in a tough game and hopefully that will stand to us going into next game."
Meath put down a marker v Wicklow yesterday. They are a side with potential, if they could manage to stay the pace for 70-75 minutes they will cause problems. They were narrowly beaten in their league games, and as usual find big strong players who can play a bit. What is the secret?. Meath are a team with enormous potential, and it would be good for the game if they became a force again.
Congrats to Kildare on beating Offaly last night. Kildare had a bit too much guile and physicality for my own team , who put it up to them for most of the game. I am happy we competed, but need a big win in the championship.
A difficult game for Neil Flynn, who just buried his father. Somethings are more important than sport. I think Meath might shade this, but it will be a good match.

MicktheMiller (Offaly) - Posts: 421 - 09/11/2020 11:14:48    2306700

Replying To SquireGannon:  "I think this will be a close game but Kildare have nothing to fear from Meath.

Some of the comments from Meath posters are hilarious.

"Meath however have a slight eye on a certain bigger blue fish they'd like to fry" - well Dublin will certainly be wary of Meath after their narrow 1 -17 to 0 - 4 win last year.

As to this idea that Meath are somehow further on in their development than Kildare, lets look at the last 5 years.

Minor Leinster Titles
Kildare: 3

U21/u20
Meath: 0 Titles
Kildare: 1 Leinster Championship, 1 All-Ireland Championship.

Seasons spent in Division 1:
Kildare: 1

Senior Quarter Final/ Super 8 appearances
Kildare: 2

'Top 6' Opposition beaten in Championship
Meath: none
Kildare: 1 (Mayo)

Senior Championship meetings
2017 : Kildare 2 - 16 Meath 0 - 13

All of which suggests Kildare and Meath are operating on similar levels for the last few years, with Kildare producing more at underage and a slight bit more at senior.

Sure look, we'll turn up anyway and give Meath a run out before they take on Dublin...."
I see your point, we concede.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 09/11/2020 11:21:29    2306705

Replying To royaldunne:  "All depends on what way Kildare set up, if they go man to man Jordan Morris will get a fair few scores , if they go defensively it will be a low scoring dogged game. Meath by 2 I'll take. It's a banana skin for us no doubt, however we have found some really good players in open play, midfield we have sorted our problems with the return of jones from America, So would be hopeful to break even with kildares strongest line. backs are tenacious, Our kick outs have improved but still a little shaky at times. Forwards we have found perhaps potentially one of the best score getters in a long time in Meath, I mean that in the sense of the current top forwards this guy COULD be spoken of in same breath. I'm speaking of Jordan Morris, who has scored 3-11 in last 2 games. He along with walsh are potent , also we have a strong bench with the likes of Conlon and wallace who can gone on and get a few scores against a tiring defense. It will be a tight game no doubt, I just feel we will get a win in a tough game and hopefully that will stand to us going into next game."
Morris looks a very promising young player, but 2 of those 3 goals were penalties and all were against Wicklow in a rout. If he gets a bag of scores from play against Kildare, people will start to take notice.
A banana skin is game against a team you're far better than, but could get a shock if complacent. Recent history and performances suggest there should be little between both teams, with Kildare having the better record.
Looking forward to this one. It should be very competitive.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 09/11/2020 11:26:54    2306708

Replying To MicktheMiller:  "Meath put down a marker v Wicklow yesterday. They are a side with potential, if they could manage to stay the pace for 70-75 minutes they will cause problems. They were narrowly beaten in their league games, and as usual find big strong players who can play a bit. What is the secret?. Meath are a team with enormous potential, and it would be good for the game if they became a force again.
Congrats to Kildare on beating Offaly last night. Kildare had a bit too much guile and physicality for my own team , who put it up to them for most of the game. I am happy we competed, but need a big win in the championship.
A difficult game for Neil Flynn, who just buried his father. Somethings are more important than sport. I think Meath might shade this, but it will be a good match."
Agree with the sentiment re: Neill Flynn. A true warrior and deadly accurate shooter. Showed real nerve and passion to tog out yesterday and will be instrumental if we are to take it to Meath.
RIP Fergal, I hope you're very proud looking down.

Sweetspot (Kildare) - Posts: 323 - 09/11/2020 11:57:48    2306732

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Morris looks a very promising young player, but 2 of those 3 goals were penalties and all were against Wicklow in a rout. If he gets a bag of scores from play against Kildare, people will start to take notice.
A banana skin is game against a team you're far better than, but could get a shock if complacent. Recent history and performances suggest there should be little between both teams, with Kildare having the better record.
Looking forward to this one. It should be very competitive."
A banana skin in line with our goal this year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/11/2020 12:17:09    2306746

Replying To WanPintWin:  "Morris looks a very promising young player, but 2 of those 3 goals were penalties and all were against Wicklow in a rout. If he gets a bag of scores from play against Kildare, people will start to take notice.
Looking forward to this one. It should be very competitive."
Your right hes young and you never know with young lads. But against Dublin and Monaghan as a sub in both games he came on scored 9 points. As sub v Dubs he scored 2 points and sub v Monaghan he scored 7 points including a brillant 73rd min injury time winner he created himself and scored as whole Monaghan defence was going down on him. He also could have had 3 goals v Monaghan and goal v Dublin. Earlier on in the year he was man of the match in under 20 leinster league where was outstanding v the Dublin under 20 team. He a proper finisher, proper poacher and comes from part of Meath which traditionally producer best inside finishers in Meath eg Ollie Murphy Brian Stafford Brian Farrell Michael Newman Ray Magee. The point he scored v Monaghan to draw game it was very Ollie Murphy like. He is constant running covering ground and he is stocky and is very confident and skilful. But he is veey young. We need to give him time. I would rate Shane Walsh higher. Walsh scored 4 v Dubs and in his debut v kerry at 18 last year he scored 6, 3 from play and kerry full back line couldnt handle him.at all . I thought he was solid yesterday yet scored 4 points. He went to school in kildare so I think he could be up for this and he is a big game player for me a player only came onto team in lat game v kerry last year and was injured throughout spring. Matthew Costello 19 also Meath minor winning captain I thought had a very good game yesterday. And Thomas Reilly who had poor game yerterday was subbed he was excellent v Dubs scoring 6 also very good v Tyrone and Donegal early on the league. And James Conlon and Joey Wallace have made impacts of the bench. Last years leinster final Meath were very poor unfront. But Morris, Walsh, J Wallace, and Costello werent on the panel in last years leinster final and Thomas Reilly was on the bench. Donal lenihan was also not panel last year also he was travelling and in 2017 and 2018 he was Meath best forward and he cannot get a game this year even as sub. Meath have improved upfront but they are very young Morris 19 Walsh 19 Costello 19 Conlon 21 Campion 21 Devine 21 Scully O Reilly 23 Lynch 19.
It must be said this best set of natural forwards I have ever seen play for kildare. I think without Niall kelly kildare have D Flynn N Flynn Kirwan Hyland McCormack that forward line when it clicks could destroy any defence in the country.
Both teams are young. Someone said kildare had 7 championahip debutants yesterday Meath had 6 championship debutants. Both very young teams both have potential

PS FInally have to say a few words about Neil Flynn. Always rated him as footballer. But what he did yesterday under the circumstances you cannot but admire the young man. To scored the winning points after the terrible tough week he went through, you cannot but admire him greatly and have great respect for him. An excellent footballer, his father would have been so proud.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 09/11/2020 12:29:12    2306754

Replying To royaldunne:  "A banana skin in line with our goal this year."
In that case Dublin are a giant banana skin. ;)

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 09/11/2020 12:39:53    2306759

Replying To royaldunne:  "Looking forward to this immensely.
This is kildares all ire as per usual, Meath however have a slight eye on a certain bigger blue fish they'd like to fry. We cannot and must not be complacent, keep focused and we will win, any eye off the ball and we will be like Kerry.
Bring em on.
Hon the royal"
Kildare dont really fear Meath in all fairness. The way you go on you would think ye are after dominating Leinster for the past 20 years. You beat a division 4 team yesterday on the back of league relegation and suddenly you are looking past the Leinster semi final to a game against Dublin that you expect to win?. Both teams are probably at the same level and it will be a dogfight on Sunday. Kildare have big work to do in the week to improve on yesterdays performance but no matter which team wins next Sunday i cant see it being as one sided as you are alluding to. Pretty sure i read that Meath missed 5 45's yesterday, against better opposition they are must take scores.

Caoimhog88 (Kildare) - Posts: 82 - 09/11/2020 12:44:23    2306764

Replying To WanPintWin:  "In that case Dublin are a giant banana skin. ;)"
As Mayo will be for galway:)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/11/2020 12:53:05    2306768

Replying To Caoimhog88:  "Kildare dont really fear Meath in all fairness. The way you go on you would think ye are after dominating Leinster for the past 20 years. You beat a division 4 team yesterday on the back of league relegation and suddenly you are looking past the Leinster semi final to a game against Dublin that you expect to win?. Both teams are probably at the same level and it will be a dogfight on Sunday. Kildare have big work to do in the week to improve on yesterdays performance but no matter which team wins next Sunday i cant see it being as one sided as you are alluding to. Pretty sure i read that Meath missed 5 45's yesterday, against better opposition they are must take scores."
You could get a job as a trump speech writer. Please show where I said it will be one sided. ?? I didn't. Also Kildare didn't exactly brush aside Offaly, u also negating the fact we could and probably should have beat Dublin, Monaghan, galway and Mayo and Kerry too.
I'll say it again a tough battle, Meath are further down the road than Kildare and should prevail by 2 points. If that's one sided I don't know why Kildare have been going on for years about 9 point been a close game lol

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/11/2020 12:57:04    2306771

Replying To WanPintWin:  "In that case Dublin are a giant banana skin. ;)"
Btw our goal was to get to Leinster final. And see what happens.
You see in some provinces trans actually have to play games , hell even kick a ball to get to a provincial final. We all can't just go straight to one.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/11/2020 13:03:13    2306776

Replying To royaldunne:  "You could get a job as a trump speech writer. Please show where I said it will be one sided. ?? I didn't. Also Kildare didn't exactly brush aside Offaly, u also negating the fact we could and probably should have beat Dublin, Monaghan, galway and Mayo and Kerry too.
I'll say it again a tough battle, Meath are further down the road than Kildare and should prevail by 2 points. If that's one sided I don't know why Kildare have been going on for years about 9 point been a close game lol"
Royal dunne best thing to do is write nothing on this for the week, we don't need u to give kildare any extra movitive to beat us by over talking meath ..we have a 50 /50 chance just leave it at that . I feel we will win but it will be very difficult

meath1977 (Meath) - Posts: 534 - 09/11/2020 13:03:32    2306777

Replying To royaldunne:  "As Mayo will be for galway:)"
Mayo are more of a coconut for us. Very hard to break them down, but if we can, the reward will be great.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 09/11/2020 13:24:45    2306795

Replying To meath1977:  "Royal dunne best thing to do is write nothing on this for the week, we don't need u to give kildare any extra movitive to beat us by over talking meath ..we have a 50 /50 chance just leave it at that . I feel we will win but it will be very difficult"
I know I'm important, but I can't see Jack O'Connor saying let's do this to keep rd quite. But maybe my fame as reached that far Who knows ?? . And again I said a close game where I expect us to prevail by 2.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 09/11/2020 13:25:29    2306796

Replying To royaldunne:  "A banana skin in line with our goal this year."
RD - B/S must be listening to you.... ;o)
I see PP have ye at 66/1 for Sam but B/S now have ye in at 33/1
Kildare 100/1 with PP but 125/1 with B/S

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 09/11/2020 13:30:27    2306797