Well Done Cork!

From reading both Mayo and Galway supporters posts on here, should we just give the winner of Tipp v Cork a bye into the All-Ireland final? ;-)

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 09/11/2020 15:31:24    2306856

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Can Galway cause the next shock upset and beat Mayo in the Connacht final? Galway must be massive underdogs now after that drubbing Mayo gave them in the league game, I think Mayo have their eyes on Sam and the Dubs again on the 3rd Sat in December."
Surely massive shock if Galway were beaten by a D2 team in championship?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 09/11/2020 15:36:28    2306861

On a final note. I see Éamonn Fitzmaurice wrote a good article on the Examiner about Kerry /Cork. He states the while many looked on the result as a shock that most people in Kerry don't look at it that way. He states Kerry are always wary of Cork but when you say it you are accused of plámás. It's something I agree with totally. Cork will always be Jerry's biggest rivals and that's just life.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 09/11/2020 15:43:10    2306864

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "On a final note. I see Éamonn Fitzmaurice wrote a good article on the Examiner about Kerry /Cork. He states the while many looked on the result as a shock that most people in Kerry don't look at it that way. He states Kerry are always wary of Cork but when you say it you are accused of plámás. It's something I agree with totally. Cork will always be Jerry's biggest rivals and that's just life."
It is plamás. Sure Kerry took the field with Dublin in mind. They weren't wary of Cork in any way.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 09/11/2020 15:50:52    2306866

Replying To Breffni39:  "It is plamás. Sure Kerry took the field with Dublin in mind. They weren't wary of Cork in any way."
Oh alright. Sure you know best breffni

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 09/11/2020 15:56:54    2306869

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "On a final note. I see Éamonn Fitzmaurice wrote a good article on the Examiner about Kerry /Cork. He states the while many looked on the result as a shock that most people in Kerry don't look at it that way. He states Kerry are always wary of Cork but when you say it you are accused of plámás. It's something I agree with totally. Cork will always be Jerry's biggest rivals and that's just life."
Dublin are Kerry's biggest rival. Saying Cork are is ridiculous to be fair

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 09/11/2020 15:59:44    2306871

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "Oh alright. Sure you know best breffni"
Yis took your eye off Cork, treated like a league game and were beat by a freak goal with the last kick of extra time. There's no need for any other narrative yerra yerra

If yis were in the same situation against Dublin, David Moran certainly wouldn't have ballooned a crazy shot like he did a point up and a minute left.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 09/11/2020 16:17:50    2306885

Replying To JoeSoap:  "From reading both Mayo and Galway supporters posts on here, should we just give the winner of Tipp v Cork a bye into the All-Ireland final? ;-)"
Ha ha.

Llaw_Gyffes (Mayo) - Posts: 1113 - 09/11/2020 16:55:21    2306903

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Dublin are Kerry's biggest rival. Saying Cork are is ridiculous to be fair"
Dublin are only our rivals with the last 9 years whereas Cork have allways been our main rivals as we'd allways have to meet each other and beat each other in munster and a few allireland finals and semifinals as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 09/11/2020 17:12:31    2306911

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "Dublin are Kerry's biggest rival. Saying Cork are is ridiculous to be fair"
No disrespect meant there Connolly as I have massive respect for Dublin and yes they are massive rivals for us but for me it's Cork number and I'll explain. I grew up in the 70s and 80s when Dublin Kerry had a great rivalry but we met Cork every year in tough games. Between 1985 and 2001 Kerry and Dublin never met in the championship. Since the introduction of the backdoor in 2001 nó counties have met more in the football championship than Kerry and Cork. They met in munster nearly every year bar 03 and drew in munster in 02 06 09 10 and 15.also Kerry and Cork drew in all ireland semi final 08.they met in 2 all ireland finals. In 02 06 08 09 they met 3 times in the championship in the same year. When Kerry won the Sam through back door in 06 and 09 it was Cork that had beaten them earlier after replays. When Cork won Sam in 10 through backdoor it was Kerry that had beaten them earlier also after a replay. Now all these statistics are facts. Yes we have had the upper hand on Cork recently but Dublin also have had that on us big time. So I hope you understand now what I mean Conn as it was nt a dig at Dublin at all. At the moment I would prefer to beat Dublin than Cork but I'll be waiting a while for that I think. Anyway as I say no disrespect meant at all.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 09/11/2020 18:07:02    2306939

Replying To JoeSoap:  "From reading both Mayo and Galway supporters posts on here, should we just give the winner of Tipp v Cork a bye into the All-Ireland final? ;-)"
People love to knock Mayo people down when we get excited or giddy....now that Mayo people accept the team in transition and downplay our chances the opposition are disappointed and bored so they build us up for the fall themselves...hilarious

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11229 - 09/11/2020 18:18:10    2306942

Dublin being Kerry's biggest rivals is a bit like saying Chelsea's biggest rival is Fulham. Dublin are operating on a whole other level to Kerry

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 09/11/2020 18:42:30    2306954

Replying To yew_tree:  "People love to knock Mayo people down when we get excited or giddy....now that Mayo people accept the team in transition and downplay our chances the opposition are disappointed and bored so they build us up for the fall themselves...hilarious"
As Jim Reeves sang"welcome to my world"

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 09/11/2020 18:46:05    2306956

Replying To yew_tree:  "People love to knock Mayo people down when we get excited or giddy....now that Mayo people accept the team in transition and downplay our chances the opposition are disappointed and bored so they build us up for the fall themselves...hilarious"
ahh yew_tree was just a wee bit tongue in cheek, for what it's worth I agree that Mayo are a side in transition without a doubt but I think you will beat Galway because I have a lot of questions about their mentality in all honesty. Mayo over the past 10 years have an immense mentality and as COC said at the weekend the young lads are bringing a bit of "innocence" now as well, a good combo. Won't be enough for Sam I don't think, not this year, but I fancy yous to beat Galway for sure.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 09/11/2020 19:04:07    2306960

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "No disrespect meant there Connolly as I have massive respect for Dublin and yes they are massive rivals for us but for me it's Cork number and I'll explain. I grew up in the 70s and 80s when Dublin Kerry had a great rivalry but we met Cork every year in tough games. Between 1985 and 2001 Kerry and Dublin never met in the championship. Since the introduction of the backdoor in 2001 nó counties have met more in the football championship than Kerry and Cork. They met in munster nearly every year bar 03 and drew in munster in 02 06 09 10 and 15.also Kerry and Cork drew in all ireland semi final 08.they met in 2 all ireland finals. In 02 06 08 09 they met 3 times in the championship in the same year. When Kerry won the Sam through back door in 06 and 09 it was Cork that had beaten them earlier after replays. When Cork won Sam in 10 through backdoor it was Kerry that had beaten them earlier also after a replay. Now all these statistics are facts. Yes we have had the upper hand on Cork recently but Dublin also have had that on us big time. So I hope you understand now what I mean Conn as it was nt a dig at Dublin at all. At the moment I would prefer to beat Dublin than Cork but I'll be waiting a while for that I think. Anyway as I say no disrespect meant at all."
No disrespect Mick, but if the rivalry with Cork is kerry's main or number 1 rivalry as you and the other fella are saying, maybe you should have told PK about it before the game, instead of him thinking about & planning for a possible future game against his non-main rivals.... ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 09/11/2020 19:06:51    2306961

I don't think too many people thought Cork would pull it off .
Kerry seemed like a team that were afraid yesterday and played a strange brand of football. Ok, Geaney and O Donoghue were missing but I doubt that was going to change a whole pile. Young Spillane was there all day and wasn't used for most of it. Clifford wasn't great either and overall it was a poor game . Bar the goal at the end it would be easily forgotten.
I think Kerry got caught on the hop and not sure what to make of Cork yet. I wouldn't be surprised if it's not the last shock we'll see this year though. Meath will give Dublin a run for their money and Donegal are no slouches either.
Mayo look like the form team but could Galway find something since the league game ?
Still all to play for .

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 09/11/2020 19:30:52    2306969

Replying To Fionn:  "No disrespect Mick, but if the rivalry with Cork is kerry's main or number 1 rivalry as you and the other fella are saying, maybe you should have told PK about it before the game, instead of him thinking about & planning for a possible future game against his non-main rivals.... ;o)"
As I've stated before Fionn. I think it's because of the rivalry that made him and Kerry so cautious.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3674 - 09/11/2020 19:47:37    2306975

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "As I've stated before Fionn. I think it's because of the rivalry that made him and Kerry so cautious."
Still don't buy that... playing a Div 3 team... nah... not for me...!
He was saving ye for bigger games ahead, and it came back to haunt him imo.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 09/11/2020 20:27:43    2306983

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "As I've stated before Fionn. I think it's because of the rivalry that made him and Kerry so cautious."
Also, if playing Cork had PK so cautious or nervous, a Div 3 team, then he is not cut out for the job simple as that....
I would be absolutely fuming with him...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3727 - 09/11/2020 20:33:43    2306986

I think it's because Cork knocked three goals past them last year with direct football. Keane completely overcompensated and got caught. The over cautious approach robbed the forwards of any platform they had to succeed. We had no half forward line for the entire game, meaning Clifford and Brosnan had to come out looking for the ball, Cork must have been absolutely delighted with this setup.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 09/11/2020 20:57:36    2306992