Well Done Cork!

Poor Tomas Ose looks like he seen a ghost tonight. Had a laugh when he started talking about kerry again during the westmeath analysis

brisbane (Galway) - Posts: 674 - 08/11/2020 22:51:00    2306537

Replying To Furlong1949:  "That was so like 1983. kerry will be back, the genius of kerry is when they get beaten they always come back. I do think there is one issue with this kerry team. Kerry have huge talent from 8 to 15, huge talent upfront and one genius in Clifford. But every great kerry team always has an all time great defender. Kerry had a great team in 50s, Sean Murphy was wing back, he was wing back in team of the century and team of millenium. Kerry had great team in 80s and 70s. They had an all time great defender in footballer of the year John O Keefe, one of the greatest full backs ever. They also had Paudi O Se one of the most legendary defenders ever. Also good defenders like Jimmy Denihan, Tommy Doyle, Paudi Lynch and Tom Spillane. In late 90s and 00s another great kerry team had 3 footballer of the year defenders eg Seamus Moyihan, Tomas O Se and Marc O Se. Only two teams in history have more then one defender of the footballer of the year , they are Meath 87 88 with Martin O Connell and Robbie O Malley and kerry in 00s with Seamus Moynihan, ( best defender I ever saw play) Tomas O Se ( one of the greatest wing backs of last 50 years) and Marc O Se( along with Meath Robbie O Malley the only footballer of the year corner back, two best right corner backs of the last 50 years) . look at other quality defenders kerry had in 90s like Liam O Flaherty, Eamon Breen, Barry O Shea, Mike Hassett. At look at quality defenders kerry had in 00s like Mike McCarthy Tom Sullivan Killian Young Aiden O Mahoney and of course Seamus Moyihan and Tomas and Marc O Se. I cannot think of one team in last 60 years that won multiple All Ireland without have an all time great defender. Kerry need a Tom Spillane, Aiden O Mahoney or Mike McCarthy quality defenders but they also need a Sean Murphy , John O Keefe, Seamus Moynihan, Tomas or Marc or Paudi O Se. Kerry have awesome talent upfront.

But for me I have always admired the great kerry defenders. I do think this is an area kerry need to improve on. Dublin had the best defenders in the country in last ten years. The reason Mayo were able to go toe to toe with Dublin was they had great defenders. Blanket defences and sweepers have made defenders lazy and destroyed art of defending nationwide. You compare great defenders of 90s and 00s to now. Defender like Tony Scullion Martin O Connell Darren Fay Sean Marty lockard Kieran McGeeney Anthony lynch Seamus Moynihan Tomas O Se Marc O Se Ryan McMenamin Philip Jordan Paul Curran Kieth Barr Glen Ryan Karl lacey and compare to now. I think if kerry could find a young Tom Spillane or young John O Keefe there is multiple All Irelands in this kerry team. They will win Sam but to be a great kerry team you need an all time great defender and other qualty defenders. Kerry will be back, the greatness of kerry the genius of kerry is they always come back. They are 2 or 3 defenders away from being a great team. kerry will be back. But Corks win is good for Munster football and football in general. We need a strong Cork, kerry also need a strong Cork."
Excellent reading Furlong and have to agree with you.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 08/11/2020 22:52:05    2306538

Tomas O'Se looked like how Trump is feeling

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/11/2020 23:03:05    2306541

Replying To Fionn:  "Tomas O'Shea is a fairly Angry man on Tv tonight.
Not happy with the sideline or set up at all at all
He is pretty livid...!"
https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2020/1108/1176820-o-se-kerry-were-shocking-in-defeat-to-cork/

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 08/11/2020 23:07:44    2306544

Replying To essmac:  "Dublin were the big winners today. Teams like Cork and Donegal play with great heart and will to win in the provincials, but they tend to underperform outside the province. Almost as if they haven't the ambition for it, and are chiefly motivated by sticking one on the near neighbours. Dramatic goal alright, and happy days for Cork, but my immediate reaction was well that's Dublin on top again."
Yes because Tyrone have had great success outside the province. Haven't bed Mayo or Kerry since Harte has had hair.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 08/11/2020 23:14:06    2306548

Replying To ponger:  "Jaysus you went for the full Furlong there"
My eyes are bleeding lol.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 08/11/2020 23:19:27    2306551

Well done to Cork. Great win. Shows how much rte pundit pat Spillane knows about the game these days. He predicted a Kerry route by ALOT.
Time for Spillane and o Shea to exit the Sunday game. Many more x players and managers out there that could freshen up the Sunday game and voice there view of the great game.

Crossgaa (Mayo) - Posts: 553 - 08/11/2020 23:22:18    2306552

Replying To kevin03:  "Steve o'neill against Dublin in 2007. The first flood light game in croke Park in think. He scored a point from near the corner flag. Best point I ever saw. This was also a good one

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=dj8DFar-I-Y"
I remember. A great point and of course your own Brian Dooher scored a fab one v Kerry in all ireland final but the best point I ever saw scored was in a munster championship game by Martin Daly (Clare) v Tipp I think(but it sure). He had the ball and was surrounded and could nt turn so he took a small hop and back heeled it over the bar. A super score.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3676 - 08/11/2020 23:29:06    2306554

I dont comment on HS anymore however I wanted to congratulate the Cork lads on here.
Cork fans are great people and bring great colour and atmosphere to games.
Well done lads great guts and character on display in appalling conditions.

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 08/11/2020 23:30:53    2306555

Whilst conditions were shocking, it was a very poor game of football to watch.
Looked like neither team wanted to win, two teams that looked like they were coached to death, both sides afraid to take the game by the scruff of the neck, shocking game riddled with overly defensive tactics.
At some stage in a game you have to go for it, both sidelines were very poor, particularly Kerry's.
Cork only showed incision & direct play on the two occasions they went two points down.
I honestly couldn't believe the last minute of play, Cork with time up kicking the ball backwards & static tip tapping laterally (and no it wasn't patient build up) , the ref was on the point of blowing the whistle & if Connolly hadn't the balls to shoot, they were going to be gone. Well taken goal though, but former Aussie Rules star never contested the ball with the current Aussie Rules star.
What a great player Sean Powter is, deserved man of the match.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 09/11/2020 00:09:07    2306559

Replying To Saynothing:  "Does All Irelands have to be in Croke Park, don't need big empty stadium. Think it would help to level teams up a bit"
Every stadium is going to be empty.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 09/11/2020 00:12:47    2306560

Not taking away from Corks great win here and kudos to them. My question is regarding Keane who came on as a sub. Now many lads have LEFT aussie rules and played for their county (Kennelly, Stynes,McKenna, Clarke, Coulter, Glass and others) . But besides Kevin Moran for the dubs (not sure how that was allowed) are we allowing contracted professional athletes now to play in what is supposed to be an amateur game? Where do we draw the line here? Will be see Pierce Hanley coming home to Mayo while still under contract in Oz and lining out for Mayo?

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 111 - 09/11/2020 00:41:58    2306567

Not the year to lose munster hard one to take with no back door! Well done Cork battled hard for everything and deserved it.
We will bounce back

reithi (Kerry) - Posts: 52 - 09/11/2020 06:53:37    2306577

Good to see cork back to a level akin to its standing.
Kerry simply can't handle running teams in the modern area and lack them too but no doubt they will
land an All Ireland title within two or 3 years but they need to find the missing element in the set-up.,
Every team has weaknesses , this is Kerry's.

BeJasus (UK) - Posts: 383 - 09/11/2020 06:55:32    2306578

you would have to say Cork were so lucky there to win that . It looked like they were never going to shoot and I believe they wouldn't have if Luke Connolly had not got the ball ( only man not afraid to shoot). when you are in front with time running out possession is key, when you are behind scoring is key. So David Moran you stand accused . Moran seems to suffer from mental fatigue in the dying moments of games. He did it in the All-Ireland final and did it twice or perhaps 3 times yesterday. Taking wild needless shots when there was absolutely no need to. For such a great player to not have the composure in such circumstances is inexplicable. al in all a terrible game to watch, riddled with tactical fouls. Referees should come down harsher on these fouls in midfield and defence. Black cards are being dished out for non-tactical indiscretions and cards kept in pockets for series of pulling, dragging, holding, slapping, punching etc to deliberately stop attacks from developing. Weather was awful but it wasn't solely to blame for the fare yesterday.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 09/11/2020 08:27:18    2306585

Replying To AnFear16:  "Congrats to Cork, been long overdue. Don't think anybody down here in Kerry can begrudge them. However a lot of us folk in Kerry feel that Peter Keane made some shocking calls in the way he approached the game. It's like he set up to play against Dublin with how defensive we were but forgot to focus on Cork. As I said well done Cork but there's definitely a sour taste in Kerry mouths this evening, not at Cork or loosing to them but in how we played and were set up not to play to our strengths. Best of luck to Cork going ahead, expect ye to beat Tipp and a potential semi against Mayo/Galway will be interesting."
Tomas O'Shea alluded to that exact point, he was disgusted - he felt kerry set up to play against Dublin - massively defensive.
But as you say, they forgot to focus on Cork.
PK and kerry defo took their eye off the ball in my opinion.

But fair play to Cork . As someone else mentioned on here - they need to stop fearing kerry going forward.
The game is lost a lot of the time before throw in. But there is a new young breed there with underage success behind time so hopefully they can be a force going forward and beyond this year.

Interesting article on the match winner, Mark Keane.

https://www.skysports.com/gaa/football/news/30553/12128090/mark-keane-corks-match-winner-against-kerry-and-the-unlikely-journey-from-australia-to-pairc-ui-chaoimh

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 09/11/2020 08:47:23    2306589

Firstly, let me say that I think David Clifford is a super footballer. BUT the hype and expectation surrounding such a young player is crazy -and doesn't help him or his team. While he kicked a few outstanding points from play yesterday (particularly the one from near the sideline in the second half), he also had a few very bad wides at crucial stages. Himself and Seanie O'Shea were both marked very well by championship newcomers yesterday (Meehan and Shanley). This might not be a popular opinion (because we all love a classy inside forward) - but maybe it's time to reduce the hype and let him develop more slowly.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 09/11/2020 08:49:33    2306591

Replying To CC2020:  "Clifford's point was excellent but come on McStay. Sweeney's point for Tipp wasn't too shoddy 24 hours earlier.

Maurice Fitzgerald v Dublin 2001. James McCartan v Derry 1994.

Diarmuid Connolly for Vincent's. Solo run from half backline in Dublin club game.

Peter Canavan v Kerry 2005.

No point is the best in 30 years."
Brian Dooher, runs down the Hogan side, takes 2 tackles and slices over bar. Against Kerry. Just as good as Clifford's.

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 09/11/2020 08:50:26    2306592

after a few mins of being happy for Cork, it dawned on me oh **** they just killed the terminator who will stop the dubs now.

Nobody unfortunately

club51 (Mayo) - Posts: 395 - 09/11/2020 09:01:28    2306596

Dublin beat Kerry without having to kick a ball

Kerry setting up like that had a lot more to do with possibly playing Dublin than it did playing against Cork

I wouldn't mind but it didn't work last year. .

I personally think you saw a very frustrated figure in Clifford having to play in a system like that and explains a few of his decisions when in position.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/11/2020 09:31:37    2306606