Well Done Cork!

Fair play Cork. They never gave up.

If they could get a bit more dynamism attacking they could beat many of the remaining top teams.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 08/11/2020 21:23:47    2306476

That was so like 1983. kerry will be back, the genius of kerry is when they get beaten they always come back. I do think there is one issue with this kerry team. Kerry have huge talent from 8 to 15, huge talent upfront and one genius in Clifford. But every great kerry team always has an all time great defender. Kerry had a great team in 50s, Sean Murphy was wing back, he was wing back in team of the century and team of millenium. Kerry had great team in 80s and 70s. They had an all time great defender in footballer of the year John O Keefe, one of the greatest full backs ever. They also had Paudi O Se one of the most legendary defenders ever. Also good defenders like Jimmy Denihan, Tommy Doyle, Paudi Lynch and Tom Spillane. In late 90s and 00s another great kerry team had 3 footballer of the year defenders eg Seamus Moyihan, Tomas O Se and Marc O Se. Only two teams in history have more then one defender of the footballer of the year , they are Meath 87 88 with Martin O Connell and Robbie O Malley and kerry in 00s with Seamus Moynihan, ( best defender I ever saw play) Tomas O Se ( one of the greatest wing backs of last 50 years) and Marc O Se( along with Meath Robbie O Malley the only footballer of the year corner back, two best right corner backs of the last 50 years) . look at other quality defenders kerry had in 90s like Liam O Flaherty, Eamon Breen, Barry O Shea, Mike Hassett. At look at quality defenders kerry had in 00s like Mike McCarthy Tom Sullivan Killian Young Aiden O Mahoney and of course Seamus Moyihan and Tomas and Marc O Se. I cannot think of one team in last 60 years that won multiple All Ireland without have an all time great defender. Kerry need a Tom Spillane, Aiden O Mahoney or Mike McCarthy quality defenders but they also need a Sean Murphy , John O Keefe, Seamus Moynihan, Tomas or Marc or Paudi O Se. Kerry have awesome talent upfront.

But for me I have always admired the great kerry defenders. I do think this is an area kerry need to improve on. Dublin had the best defenders in the country in last ten years. The reason Mayo were able to go toe to toe with Dublin was they had great defenders. Blanket defences and sweepers have made defenders lazy and destroyed art of defending nationwide. You compare great defenders of 90s and 00s to now. Defender like Tony Scullion Martin O Connell Darren Fay Sean Marty lockard Kieran McGeeney Anthony lynch Seamus Moynihan Tomas O Se Marc O Se Ryan McMenamin Philip Jordan Paul Curran Kieth Barr Glen Ryan Karl lacey and compare to now. I think if kerry could find a young Tom Spillane or young John O Keefe there is multiple All Irelands in this kerry team. They will win Sam but to be a great kerry team you need an all time great defender and other qualty defenders. Kerry will be back, the greatness of kerry the genius of kerry is they always come back. They are 2 or 3 defenders away from being a great team. kerry will be back. But Corks win is good for Munster football and football in general. We need a strong Cork, kerry also need a strong Cork.

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 08/11/2020 21:35:10    2306480

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "Better point, tougher set of circumstances... 2011 All Ireland Final = Cluxton"
Oh ya.. Remember that.. Pressure was phenomenal...cluxton took that free.. 10+ "years ago experience.. free shot in near perfect conditions.. Good man ya.. Tonights score was from play!! Cop on,!!!!!!!!!!

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 08/11/2020 21:35:40    2306482

Replying To Rockies:  "Hard to believe that 6 months ago Cork were in danger of not competing for Sam Maguire in 2021, as they were languishing in Division 3! What a crazy innovation by the GAA"
Congrats rockies and best of luck going forward, I know what you're saying about if the gaa had their way yed have been out of the championship.

For me the championship needs to go back to straight knockout, in fairness even though today's game wasn't a classic but what a finish by Cork and then we're gone, hard to take but brilliant drama.

Hon the rebels.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/11/2020 21:40:33    2306486

This is knockout championship does bring back great memories. Today was like Cork v Kerry in 83. Corks win today brings the championship alive for the first time since Donegal beat Dublin in 2014. You had great Mayo v Dublin finals after. But Cork today was like something you have saw in 90s and 00s. It was a championship day they will talk about for years to come. The last few years we havent had games like that. Could this be championship of big shocks?

Furlong1949 (Meath) - Posts: 1067 - 08/11/2020 21:41:17    2306488

Replying To bennybunny:  "Oh ya.. Remember that.. Pressure was phenomenal...cluxton took that free.. 10+ "years ago experience.. free shot in near perfect conditions.. Good man ya.. Tonights score was from play!! Cop on,!!!!!!!!!!"
Poor stuff,

Saynothing (Tyrone) - Posts: 2014 - 08/11/2020 21:47:40    2306490

Replying To Furlong1949:  "That was so like 1983. kerry will be back, the genius of kerry is when they get beaten they always come back. I do think there is one issue with this kerry team. Kerry have huge talent from 8 to 15, huge talent upfront and one genius in Clifford. But every great kerry team always has an all time great defender. Kerry had a great team in 50s, Sean Murphy was wing back, he was wing back in team of the century and team of millenium. Kerry had great team in 80s and 70s. They had an all time great defender in footballer of the year John O Keefe, one of the greatest full backs ever. They also had Paudi O Se one of the most legendary defenders ever. Also good defenders like Jimmy Denihan, Tommy Doyle, Paudi Lynch and Tom Spillane. In late 90s and 00s another great kerry team had 3 footballer of the year defenders eg Seamus Moyihan, Tomas O Se and Marc O Se. Only two teams in history have more then one defender of the footballer of the year , they are Meath 87 88 with Martin O Connell and Robbie O Malley and kerry in 00s with Seamus Moynihan, ( best defender I ever saw play) Tomas O Se ( one of the greatest wing backs of last 50 years) and Marc O Se( along with Meath Robbie O Malley the only footballer of the year corner back, two best right corner backs of the last 50 years) . look at other quality defenders kerry had in 90s like Liam O Flaherty, Eamon Breen, Barry O Shea, Mike Hassett. At look at quality defenders kerry had in 00s like Mike McCarthy Tom Sullivan Killian Young Aiden O Mahoney and of course Seamus Moyihan and Tomas and Marc O Se. I cannot think of one team in last 60 years that won multiple All Ireland without have an all time great defender. Kerry need a Tom Spillane, Aiden O Mahoney or Mike McCarthy quality defenders but they also need a Sean Murphy , John O Keefe, Seamus Moynihan, Tomas or Marc or Paudi O Se. Kerry have awesome talent upfront.

But for me I have always admired the great kerry defenders. I do think this is an area kerry need to improve on. Dublin had the best defenders in the country in last ten years. The reason Mayo were able to go toe to toe with Dublin was they had great defenders. Blanket defences and sweepers have made defenders lazy and destroyed art of defending nationwide. You compare great defenders of 90s and 00s to now. Defender like Tony Scullion Martin O Connell Darren Fay Sean Marty lockard Kieran McGeeney Anthony lynch Seamus Moynihan Tomas O Se Marc O Se Ryan McMenamin Philip Jordan Paul Curran Kieth Barr Glen Ryan Karl lacey and compare to now. I think if kerry could find a young Tom Spillane or young John O Keefe there is multiple All Irelands in this kerry team. They will win Sam but to be a great kerry team you need an all time great defender and other qualty defenders. Kerry will be back, the greatness of kerry the genius of kerry is they always come back. They are 2 or 3 defenders away from being a great team. kerry will be back. But Corks win is good for Munster football and football in general. We need a strong Cork, kerry also need a strong Cork."
Jaysus you went for the full Furlong there

ponger (Cavan) - Posts: 540 - 08/11/2020 21:49:49    2306491

Commiserations to Kerry, Roscommon, Offaly, Westmeath etc, etc, etc, but isn't that the beauty of a straight knock out championship no back door, absolutely no disrespect to those left but I simply can't see the Dubs being beaten as they say its easier to win 6 on the trot than 1.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 08/11/2020 21:50:04    2306492

Croke Park suits will be devastated Kerry are out this early.

M Lyster (Antrim) - Posts: 461 - 08/11/2020 21:50:38    2306494

Knockout championship. Can't beat it. Even in deepest darkest November

republicofcloone (Leitrim) - Posts: 375 - 08/11/2020 21:55:30    2306496

Tomas O'Shea is a fairly Angry man on Tv tonight.
Not happy with the sideline or set up at all at all
He is pretty livid...!

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 08/11/2020 21:58:02    2306499

Replying To bennybunny:  "Fair play to the Kerry lads on here. Magnanimous in defeat. The rivalry needed this shot on the arm. Those criticising Clifford would want to cop on. He is pure class. A genius and that point sickened me as I thought that was it. McStay is Brutal but name a better point in the last 30 years.. Conditions nature of the game, and timing in the game, the pressure, captaincy.. Guy is class. He is 20 years of age and he is captain of Kerry and he can only drag the rest of his (some overly cocky) teammates through so many games.. A few of them buckos might learn from today and others might be gone after today....there are a few them that can really suck on this defeat"
Steve o'neill against Dublin in 2007. The first flood light game in croke Park in think. He scored a point from near the corner flag. Best point I ever saw. This was also a good one

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=dj8DFar-I-Y

kevin03 (Tyrone) - Posts: 276 - 08/11/2020 21:58:15    2306500

Replying To republicofcloone:  "Knockout championship. Can't beat it. Even in deepest darkest November"
100% knockout championship the way to go.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/11/2020 22:06:07    2306504

Clifford's point was excellent but come on McStay. Sweeney's point for Tipp wasn't too shoddy 24 hours earlier.

Maurice Fitzgerald v Dublin 2001. James McCartan v Derry 1994.

Diarmuid Connolly for Vincent's. Solo run from half backline in Dublin club game.

Peter Canavan v Kerry 2005.

No point is the best in 30 years.

CC2020 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 173 - 08/11/2020 22:31:12    2306522

Congrats to Cork, been long overdue. Don't think anybody down here in Kerry can begrudge them. However a lot of us folk in Kerry feel that Peter Keane made some shocking calls in the way he approached the game. It's like he set up to play against Dublin with how defensive we were but forgot to focus on Cork. As I said well done Cork but there's definitely a sour taste in Kerry mouths this evening, not at Cork or loosing to them but in how we played and were set up not to play to our strengths. Best of luck to Cork going ahead, expect ye to beat Tipp and a potential semi against Mayo/Galway will be interesting.

AnFear16 (Kerry) - Posts: 34 - 08/11/2020 22:31:48    2306523

Open the pubs

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1790 - 08/11/2020 22:43:07    2306530

Replying To kevin03:  "Steve o'neill against Dublin in 2007. The first flood light game in croke Park in think. He scored a point from near the corner flag. Best point I ever saw. This was also a good one

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=dj8DFar-I-Y"
I agree Kevin. I was in the Davin Stand that night and I couldn't figure out how he scored that point. And yes, it was the first floodlit game in Croke Park, and a most enjoyable game it was.

midlands (Westmeath) - Posts: 542 - 08/11/2020 22:47:01    2306533

Replying To bennybunny:  "Oh ya.. Remember that.. Pressure was phenomenal...cluxton took that free.. 10+ "years ago experience.. free shot in near perfect conditions.. Good man ya.. Tonights score was from play!! Cop on,!!!!!!!!!!"
Donaghy scored a very similar score in that final from the opposite side

Nothing else was on and he lumped it a mile in the air from under the stand and it fell back to earth over the cross bar

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/11/2020 22:48:15    2306534

Up the rebels, great result, sets up a great Munster final now, great to see new teams in the decider.
Kerry must be sick, Spillane needn't be running down Ulster football after that show today, that goal reminds of Seamus Darby's goal to stop the 5 in a row, a real kick in the goolies,
lesson for today is don't believe the hype, unless you're Dublin.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 08/11/2020 22:50:04    2306535

Replying To essmac:  "Dublin were the big winners today. Teams like Cork and Donegal play with great heart and will to win in the provincials, but they tend to underperform outside the province. Almost as if they haven't the ambition for it, and are chiefly motivated by sticking one on the near neighbours. Dramatic goal alright, and happy days for Cork, but my immediate reaction was well that's Dublin on top again."
Bitter much, how many all Irelands do donegal vs Tyrone have,why mention donegal , the best team wins, best of luck next year.

cityman73 (Limerick) - Posts: 775 - 08/11/2020 22:50:42    2306536