Best GAA Podcasts

Hi there I'm just looking recommendations for GAA podcasts that I listen to whilst at work thanks

ciaran1988 (Antrim) - Posts: 86 - 12/10/2020 16:37:07    2297052

Replying To ciaran1988:  "Hi there I'm just looking recommendations for GAA podcasts that I listen to whilst at work thanks"
GAA Hour, Comhrá le Tomás, GAA on Balls.ie, Off The Ball GAA, Irish Examiner Sport. There's various county ones too, not sure about the quality.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 12/10/2020 20:18:16    2297114

Ourgame.Ie Shane Stapleton presents it

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 12/10/2020 20:52:55    2297121

a hurlers life with brian carroll is very good.he has had some very good interviews,including your own sambo mcnaughton ciaran1988.
gaa hour was good until colm parkinson became an epidemiology expert.
rte gaa podcast is good too,but anothe group of epidemiology experts at times.
do not like the examiner podcast.it is way too much of anthony daly and tj ryan talking like 2 lads on the beer.way to cliche for my liking and too much focus on gambling accumulators,drinking,pubs being closed,etc for me (and i work in a bar!)
gaa on off the ball (on the otb sports app) is good also although the content is now and then rather than consistent.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 12/10/2020 21:08:29    2297125

Replying To FoolsGold:  "Ourgame.Ie Shane Stapleton presents it"
Yeah, himself and Michael Verney do a good show. It is only on YouTube though so not suited for driving, etc, which is something they should try target really.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 13/10/2020 19:28:20    2297366

Podcasts both GAA and non-GAA helping me alot with work from home.

Our Game with Shane Stapleton and Michael Verney certainly my favourite on current GAA matters, enjoy Brian Carrolls alot too, for 1 episode I'd actually like the roles reversed and himself to be interviewed by someone else, he'd make a great guest. Enjoy Parkinson's podcast especially when Cheddar Plunkett is on as a guest but Woolys antics on Twitter lately are putting me off it, I do get annoyed at scaremongering at times but some of the stuff he comes out with is pure reckless. Off the ball is my favourite non GAA sport podcast. Obviously a grim topic but the Where is George Gibney podcast second captains have done on BBC sounds is very good, have 6 episodes done so far.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 14/10/2020 01:33:55    2297424

A Hurlers Life is great alright. I have the utmost of respect, as a friend of an Offaly hurler, for how he tried to save them from relegation to the Christy Ring cup while others just tweeted, pointed fingers, and so on.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 14/10/2020 09:50:22    2297452

Replying To wexico15:  "Podcasts both GAA and non-GAA helping me alot with work from home.

Our Game with Shane Stapleton and Michael Verney certainly my favourite on current GAA matters, enjoy Brian Carrolls alot too, for 1 episode I'd actually like the roles reversed and himself to be interviewed by someone else, he'd make a great guest. Enjoy Parkinson's podcast especially when Cheddar Plunkett is on as a guest but Woolys antics on Twitter lately are putting me off it, I do get annoyed at scaremongering at times but some of the stuff he comes out with is pure reckless. Off the ball is my favourite non GAA sport podcast. Obviously a grim topic but the Where is George Gibney podcast second captains have done on BBC sounds is very good, have 6 episodes done so far."
The GAA hour has improved massively, especially with the addition of McDonnell and Brennan. Wooly hard to take at times but on the show he's largely fine and when there are games on its quite analytical. Arguably far superior to OTB's GAA coverage which is quite cliched and sensationalist (more about clickbait). Better off sticking to one podcast as most of them are quite repetitive. For example if you've listened to one Brogan interview since his book release, you've heard the all, as they've mostly been the exact same.

whoareya (Donegal) - Posts: 77 - 14/10/2020 10:24:40    2297461

Replying To whoareya:  "The GAA hour has improved massively, especially with the addition of McDonnell and Brennan. Wooly hard to take at times but on the show he's largely fine and when there are games on its quite analytical. Arguably far superior to OTB's GAA coverage which is quite cliched and sensationalist (more about clickbait). Better off sticking to one podcast as most of them are quite repetitive. For example if you've listened to one Brogan interview since his book release, you've heard the all, as they've mostly been the exact same."
I agree with you whoareya, GAA Hour is much better than Off the Ball GAA coverage. Conan Doherty also very good on it. I think Off the Ball in general has spread itself too thin. Too many different categories and laddish catchphrases, plugging the show on different apps, the quality has suffered. I like Kieran Donaghy when he's on it though. Has something worth listening to and a sense of humour with it. These times it's great to get out of the house for a while so the download option is great. Can download and not be reliant on patchy mobile data if I head out for a walk, headphones on, no-one bothering me. Bliss!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 14/10/2020 19:41:39    2297637

GAA Hour is my favourite too. It's the only one I make time to listen to. It has the right mix of light hearted humour and analysis, and great chemistry between the presenters.

I might throw some of the others on if I'm driving and there's nothing on the radio but that's it.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 14/10/2020 20:43:39    2297649

Replying To wexico15:  "Podcasts both GAA and non-GAA helping me alot with work from home.

Our Game with Shane Stapleton and Michael Verney certainly my favourite on current GAA matters, enjoy Brian Carrolls alot too, for 1 episode I'd actually like the roles reversed and himself to be interviewed by someone else, he'd make a great guest. Enjoy Parkinson's podcast especially when Cheddar Plunkett is on as a guest but Woolys antics on Twitter lately are putting me off it, I do get annoyed at scaremongering at times but some of the stuff he comes out with is pure reckless. Off the ball is my favourite non GAA sport podcast. Obviously a grim topic but the Where is George Gibney podcast second captains have done on BBC sounds is very good, have 6 episodes done so far."
Is it free to listen? Gibney? What site?links? Tia

Any Tyrone county podcasts?

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1142 - 14/10/2020 22:22:31    2297666

Like others have said, when it comes to pure analysis the GAA Hour is by far the best. I don't mind Wooly but I get others find him hard to stomach. By and large though he's grand on the podcast, just ignore his Twitter! The podcast definitely does the best job of covering the full GAA landscape as I find others can focus far too much on the big counties or the current strongest counties. When the intercounty championship is in full flow the analysis is far better than anything else you'd get on a podcast or even on the TV.

Townee2018 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 14/10/2020 23:30:09    2297682

The original off the ball lads' podcast.. second captains is great. They cover all sports but when we're in the thick of intercounty action they'll have plenty of good coverage and guests.

They have one free podcast a week and one subscription one a week I think for around the price of a pint a month.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 15/10/2020 08:19:56    2297691

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Is it free to listen? Gibney? What site?links? Tia

Any Tyrone county podcasts?"
The George gibney podcast I'm listening to it free on spotify

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 15/10/2020 09:29:46    2297697

Lads, can ye please recommend some podcast apps besides Spotify and Podcast Republic.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 15/10/2020 11:01:35    2297729

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Lads, can ye please recommend some podcast apps besides Spotify and Podcast Republic."
Soundcloud

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 15/10/2020 11:33:54    2297744

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Lads, can ye please recommend some podcast apps besides Spotify and Podcast Republic."
Podbean is brilliant. You can set it to automatically download episodes when they're released, and it'll delete ones you've listened to.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 15/10/2020 12:21:04    2297762

Replying To blackspot91:  "The original off the ball lads' podcast.. second captains is great. They cover all sports but when we're in the thick of intercounty action they'll have plenty of good coverage and guests.

They have one free podcast a week and one subscription one a week I think for around the price of a pint a month."
Second Captains is brilliant as well. Well worth the money.

Townee2018 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 15/10/2020 12:26:17    2297763

Replying To wexico15:  "Soundcloud"
Stitcher is another good one.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 15/10/2020 12:46:14    2297767

Castbox

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 15/10/2020 16:43:40    2297821