Best Of This Generation

yet again the bitter kerry lads have hijacked a thread with their usual anti dub nonsense.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 05/10/2020 12:44:58    2295777

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=TheHermit:  "Lot of censorship around here today, seems the admins won't allow anyone say ill of Dublin or their players by trying to make the simple point that the well known Elephant in the Room kinda has to be taken into account when judging Dublin's dominance and the greatness or not of those that were part of it.

1884 you say most neutrals celebrate Dublin's dominance and regard them as the greatest of all time. I challenge you that that is not the prevailing opinion. I believe when the history books are written Dublin's legacy will be forever intertwined with serious questions over how their success was facilitated by everyone from Croke Park to the Irish Government itself. Their achievements will always be undermined by the serious questions raised by how it was facilitated in every possible way. And their players need to be judged in that context.

Dublin have a great team and would have won plenty in recent years. But would they have dominated like this if it wasn't for everything we know about how they were assisted at every possible turn?
Would the inter-county scene have become such a dysfunctional system as it is now - where one county is unassailable given the resources they now command and every other county is almost bankrupting themselves trying to keep up?

Check out the interview the founding member of the GPA did with Newstalk last July which really laid bare what Dublin now represent.

There is a serious, serious work of journalism to be done on Croke Park and Dublin these past 15 years. (Perhaps the lads that did the John Delaney book might be interested!!)

I don't expect you to agree with me, in fact I don't expect the vast majority of posters left on here to agree given a majority are decidedly anti-Kerry and pro-Dub. But just because Kerry people on here are vocal about these issues doesn't mean you should shot the messenger because you think "they've won enough themselves".

Dublin GAA is the greatest crisis the GAA is facing, not the club situation or a split season etc.

When they've won 10 of the next 11 seasons maybe the penny will finally fall for some of ye.

P.S. will you stop with the "Kerry have plenty of money yourselves" nonsense. No county can compete with the financial monster Dublin have been allowed to become."
Ah Hermit let that one go please. We all know about the money but that's not Dublin fault. Its the Gaa s fault and yes it would be better if the gaa gave the weaker counties the majority but cest lá vie. Even if gaa gave Dublin zero they will get plenty anyway from other sourses as Kerry do. We have no money problems either nor do Cork Dublin Kildare Mayo etc. Would Dublin have won all they won without money? I doubt it but neither would Kerry or other winning counties. Dublin beat Kerry Tyrone etc because they were better. Dublin footballers have been brilliant to watch and brilliant ambassadors.No county gets more from the USA than ourselves. Yes cash is important but one needs talent too. As I've stated before we will beat Dublin again when we are good enoughbut we have been in the last number of years."
So dublin went from winning 1 allireland in 28 years to winning 7 in 10 years and you expect people to believe it had nothing to do with money?"]We in Kerry went from winning one Sam in the 90 s to 5 in the noughties. Was that money? Could it be to do with talent?"]No that's called natural transision dublin mick.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/10/2020 12:45:11    2295778

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "
Replying To CiarraiMick:  "[quote=TheHermit:  "Lot of censorship around here today, seems the admins won't allow anyone say ill of Dublin or their players by trying to make the simple point that the well known Elephant in the Room kinda has to be taken into account when judging Dublin's dominance and the greatness or not of those that were part of it.

1884 you say most neutrals celebrate Dublin's dominance and regard them as the greatest of all time. I challenge you that that is not the prevailing opinion. I believe when the history books are written Dublin's legacy will be forever intertwined with serious questions over how their success was facilitated by everyone from Croke Park to the Irish Government itself. Their achievements will always be undermined by the serious questions raised by how it was facilitated in every possible way. And their players need to be judged in that context.

Dublin have a great team and would have won plenty in recent years. But would they have dominated like this if it wasn't for everything we know about how they were assisted at every possible turn?
Would the inter-county scene have become such a dysfunctional system as it is now - where one county is unassailable given the resources they now command and every other county is almost bankrupting themselves trying to keep up?

Check out the interview the founding member of the GPA did with Newstalk last July which really laid bare what Dublin now represent.

There is a serious, serious work of journalism to be done on Croke Park and Dublin these past 15 years. (Perhaps the lads that did the John Delaney book might be interested!!)

I don't expect you to agree with me, in fact I don't expect the vast majority of posters left on here to agree given a majority are decidedly anti-Kerry and pro-Dub. But just because Kerry people on here are vocal about these issues doesn't mean you should shot the messenger because you think "they've won enough themselves".

Dublin GAA is the greatest crisis the GAA is facing, not the club situation or a split season etc.

When they've won 10 of the next 11 seasons maybe the penny will finally fall for some of ye.

P.S. will you stop with the "Kerry have plenty of money yourselves" nonsense. No county can compete with the financial monster Dublin have been allowed to become."
Ah Hermit let that one go please. We all know about the money but that's not Dublin fault. Its the Gaa s fault and yes it would be better if the gaa gave the weaker counties the majority but cest lá vie. Even if gaa gave Dublin zero they will get plenty anyway from other sourses as Kerry do. We have no money problems either nor do Cork Dublin Kildare Mayo etc. Would Dublin have won all they won without money? I doubt it but neither would Kerry or other winning counties. Dublin beat Kerry Tyrone etc because they were better. Dublin footballers have been brilliant to watch and brilliant ambassadors.No county gets more from the USA than ourselves. Yes cash is important but one needs talent too. As I've stated before we will beat Dublin again when we are good enoughbut we have been in the last number of years."
So dublin went from winning 1 allireland in 28 years to winning 7 in 10 years and you expect people to believe it had nothing to do with money?"]Blimey Kerry really don't like losing do they!? How dare a county come on the scene and threaten their god given right to win All Ireland's! How dare they have the cheek to become the most successful team of that era "puke football", "money" etc etc; the pattern is obvious. It certainly can't be a fair contest if Kerry aren't winning and others are becoming more successful than them. It for sure can't be due to their opposition having a great group of footballers. I'm not anti Kerry but one's who claim there is an anti Kerry feeling can hardly be surprised with comments like this.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 05/10/2020 12:50:44    2295781

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "yet again the bitter kerry lads have hijacked a thread with their usual anti dub nonsense."
Absolutely , the usual bitter few are at it again !!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/10/2020 13:00:22    2295785

Replying To sam1884:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=TheHermit:  "Lot of censorship around here today, seems the admins won't allow anyone say ill of Dublin or their players by trying to make the simple point that the well known Elephant in the Room kinda has to be taken into account when judging Dublin's dominance and the greatness or not of those that were part of it.

So dublin went from winning 1 allireland in 28 years to winning 7 in 10 years and you expect people to believe it had nothing to do with money?"]Blimey Kerry really don't like losing do they!? How dare a county come on the scene and threaten their god given right to win All Ireland's! How dare they have the cheek to become the most successful team of that era "puke football", "money" etc etc; the pattern is obvious. It certainly can't be a fair contest if Kerry aren't winning and others are becoming more successful than them. It for sure can't be due to their opposition having a great group of footballers. I'm not anti Kerry but one's who claim there is an anti Kerry feeling can hardly be surprised with comments like this."]Spot on. Kerry do not like getting beaten. And if i have learned anything over the last 15 - 20 years it is that some of their fans are the most bitter begrudging sore losers there is. Whenever a county produces a group of players that Kerry just can't seem to beat, they roll out the excuses. Tyrone in the noughties were ''too rough'' and played ''puke football". Dublin over the last decade had ''too much money'' and ''referees on the payroll''. ''Dublin Joe'' bla bla bla. It's actually embarrassing and I'm sure it would make the true Kerry fans cringe. Although most on here seem to be bitter if I'm being honest.

These so called ''fans'' should listen to some of the Kerry greats like Tomas O'Shea and Kieran Donaghy. Men who have actually played against this Dublin team on numerous occasions. You wont hear them harping on about money and advantages. In fact, all you will hear is praise and compliments, because they know how good these players are having played against them. And they know all too well that at the end of the day its 15 men vs 15 men on the pitch on the day and thy simply came up against a better team over the last decade. No excuses, proud kerry men dont make excuses. Some of these kerry posters on here are really embarrassing themselves and letting their county down.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 05/10/2020 13:06:21    2295789

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "
Replying To sam1884:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=TheHermit:  "Lot of censorship around here today, seems the admins won't allow anyone say ill of Dublin or their players by trying to make the simple point that the well known Elephant in the Room kinda has to be taken into account when judging Dublin's dominance and the greatness or not of those that were part of it.

So dublin went from winning 1 allireland in 28 years to winning 7 in 10 years and you expect people to believe it had nothing to do with money?"]Blimey Kerry really don't like losing do they!? How dare a county come on the scene and threaten their god given right to win All Ireland's! How dare they have the cheek to become the most successful team of that era "puke football", "money" etc etc; the pattern is obvious. It certainly can't be a fair contest if Kerry aren't winning and others are becoming more successful than them. It for sure can't be due to their opposition having a great group of footballers. I'm not anti Kerry but one's who claim there is an anti Kerry feeling can hardly be surprised with comments like this."]Spot on. Kerry do not like getting beaten. And if i have learned anything over the last 15 - 20 years it is that some of their fans are the most bitter begrudging sore losers there is. Whenever a county produces a group of players that Kerry just can't seem to beat, they roll out the excuses. Tyrone in the noughties were ''too rough'' and played ''puke football". Dublin over the last decade had ''too much money'' and ''referees on the payroll''. ''Dublin Joe'' bla bla bla. It's actually embarrassing and I'm sure it would make the true Kerry fans cringe. Although most on here seem to be bitter if I'm being honest.

These so called ''fans'' should listen to some of the Kerry greats like Tomas O'Shea and Kieran Donaghy. Men who have actually played against this Dublin team on numerous occasions. You wont hear them harping on about money and advantages. In fact, all you will hear is praise and compliments, because they know how good these players are having played against them. And they know all too well that at the end of the day its 15 men vs 15 men on the pitch on the day and thy simply came up against a better team over the last decade. No excuses, proud kerry men dont make excuses. Some of these kerry posters on here are really embarrassing themselves and letting their county down."]As a Kerryman I agree with you Connolly but I can assure you that most Kerry supporters will admit Dublin are a fantastic team and we're great champions on and off the pitch. As with every county you get bitter fans and begrudgers but that should nt mean we all tarred with the same brush.

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 05/10/2020 13:15:45    2295791

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "
Replying To sam1884:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=TheHermit:  "Lot of censorship around here today, seems the admins won't allow anyone say ill of Dublin or their players by trying to make the simple point that the well known Elephant in the Room kinda has to be taken into account when judging Dublin's dominance and the greatness or not of those that were part of it.

These so called ''fans'' should listen to some of the Kerry greats like Tomas O'Shea and Kieran Donaghy. Men who have actually played against this Dublin team on numerous occasions. You wont hear them harping on about money and advantages. In fact, all you will hear is praise and compliments, because they know how good these players are having played against them. And they know all too well that at the end of the day its 15 men vs 15 men on the pitch on the day and thy simply came up against a better team over the last decade. No excuses, proud kerry men dont make excuses. Some of these kerry posters on here are really embarrassing themselves and letting their county down."]Money is the dublin way, ye hadn't even got to a final in 16 years so the government and the gaa had to bail ye out.

As for the rest of ye it'll be interesting to see if ye'll feel the same way when the dubs win 7/8 allirelands in this decade although most of ye'll probably be happy enough as long as its not the big bad Kerrymen :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/10/2020 13:23:56    2295793

Replying To ConnollyDub:  "[quote=sam1884:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=TheHermit:  "Lot of censorship around here today, seems the admins won't allow anyone say ill of Dublin or their players by trying to make the simple point that the well known Elephant in the Room kinda has to be taken into account when judging Dublin's dominance and the greatness or not of those that were part of it.

These so called ''fans'' should listen to some of the Kerry greats like Tomas O'Shea and Kieran Donaghy. Men who have actually played against this Dublin team on numerous occasions. You wont hear them harping on about money and advantages. In fact, all you will hear is praise and compliments, because they know how good these players are having played against them. And they know all too well that at the end of the day its 15 men vs 15 men on the pitch on the day and thy simply came up against a better team over the last decade. No excuses, proud kerry men dont make excuses. Some of these kerry posters on here are really embarrassing themselves and letting their county down."]Money is the dublin way, ye hadn't even got to a final in 16 years so the government and the gaa had to bail ye out.

As for the rest of ye it'll be interesting to see if ye'll feel the same way when the dubs win 7/8 allirelands in this decade although most of ye'll probably be happy enough as long as its not the big bad Kerrymen :-)"]Oh for heavens sake , will you grow up and put a sock in it ,non stop anti Dublin nonsense
Thread after thread hijacked with this bitter rubbish.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/10/2020 13:38:39    2295796

Replying To superbluedub:  "
Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=ConnollyDub:  "[quote=sam1884:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=TheHermit:  "Lot of censorship around here today, seems the admins won't allow anyone say ill of Dublin or their players by trying to make the simple point that the well known Elephant in the Room kinda has to be taken into account when judging Dublin's dominance and the greatness or not of those that were part of it.

As for the rest of ye it'll be interesting to see if ye'll feel the same way when the dubs win 7/8 allirelands in this decade although most of ye'll probably be happy enough as long as its not the big bad Kerrymen :-)"]Oh for heavens sake , will you grow up and put a sock in it ,non stop anti Dublin nonsense
Thread after thread hijacked with this bitter rubbish."]Hey look I know that talking about dublins government and gaa money makes ye uncomfortable and yed like if no one would mention it but it has to be spoken about when trying to access a player of a certain generation especially if 1 of those players being spoken about is from the county that has benefited from it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/10/2020 14:08:27    2295816

Poor aul Kerry

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12118 - 05/10/2020 14:50:04    2295825

Replying To superbluedub:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=ConnollyDub:  "[quote=sam1884:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=TheHermit:  "Lot of censorship around here today, seems the admins won't allow anyone say ill of Dublin or their players by trying to make the simple point that the well known Elephant in the Room kinda has to be taken into account when judging Dublin's dominance and the greatness or not of those that were part of it.

Thread after thread hijacked with this bitter rubbish."]Hey look I know that talking about dublins government and gaa money makes ye uncomfortable and yed like if no one would mention it but it has to be spoken about when trying to access a player of a certain generation especially if 1 of those players being spoken about is from the county that has benefited from it."]More utter tripe from a bitter sad individual.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 05/10/2020 14:53:37    2295827

Replying To CiarraiMick:  "
Replying To ConnollyDub:  "[quote=sam1884:  "[quote=KingdomBoy1:  "[quote=CiarraiMick:  "[quote=TheHermit:  "Lot of censorship around here today, seems the admins won't allow anyone say ill of Dublin or their players by trying to make the simple point that the well known Elephant in the Room kinda has to be taken into account when judging Dublin's dominance and the greatness or not of those that were part of it.

These so called ''fans'' should listen to some of the Kerry greats like Tomas O'Shea and Kieran Donaghy. Men who have actually played against this Dublin team on numerous occasions. You wont hear them harping on about money and advantages. In fact, all you will hear is praise and compliments, because they know how good these players are having played against them. And they know all too well that at the end of the day its 15 men vs 15 men on the pitch on the day and thy simply came up against a better team over the last decade. No excuses, proud kerry men dont make excuses. Some of these kerry posters on here are really embarrassing themselves and letting their county down."]As a Kerryman I agree with you Connolly but I can assure you that most Kerry supporters will admit Dublin are a fantastic team and we're great champions on and off the pitch. As with every county you get bitter fans and begrudgers but that should nt mean we all tarred with the same brush."]@CiarraiMick
It is the same few Kerry posters on here at it all the time - whine and moan, bitter and embarrassing.
Ruin every thread - if they are not WUM's then I really fear for them. Cant be healthy having such a chip on their shoulder.

Pity there are not more genuine honest and fair minded Kerry posters like you on here. Fair play to you.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3732 - 05/10/2020 14:59:31    2295829

is there any need for all this quoting? it's hard to find the new bit the poster adding.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 05/10/2020 15:34:46    2295841

How did a thread about Michael Murphy and Stephen Cluxton being the best players of the generation become about Kerry?

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 377 - 05/10/2020 15:35:11    2295842

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "How did a thread about Michael Murphy and Stephen Cluxton being the best players of the generation become about Kerry?"
Because a certain section of their supporters are needy AF.

lilylanger (Kildare) - Posts: 758 - 05/10/2020 15:43:02    2295846

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "How did a thread about Michael Murphy and Stephen Cluxton being the best players of the generation become about Kerry?"
Sam1884 brought Kerry into it, the hermit replied, dubs stuck in the hermit, I stuck in the dubs, the usual.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/10/2020 15:48:12    2295849

The current Kerry players or recently retired one's are honest enough to admit how good Dublin are but rest assured the Kerry agenda is not just a few posters on here. There is an aggressive campaign amongst Kerry commentators and stakeholders to discredit this Dublin era.

What isn't forgotten as it's so modern is the similar campaign to discredit Tyrone and to a certain Armagh and other Ulster teams in the 00's. Tyrone in particular got a the brunt of Kerry's campaign with an agenda that certainly has implications even today; Tyrone's All Ireland Semi final last year is evidence of that.

The agenda then moved towards the final and them trying to handpick a referee.

Kerry seem insecure that modern Ireland will unearth decent and great inter county teams. If Dublin winning 5 in a row hurts them that much which it clearly does sort themselves out; use it as motivation and try to match it - see it as a challenge and stop with the agenda the world's against them because the inter county championship has the potential to bring great teams from elsewhere to the table.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 05/10/2020 15:50:54    2295850

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Sam1884 brought Kerry into it, the hermit replied, dubs stuck in the hermit, I stuck in the dubs, the usual."
Sounds like a schmozzle!!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2747 - 05/10/2020 16:25:48    2295860

Replying To sam1884:  "The current Kerry players or recently retired one's are honest enough to admit how good Dublin are but rest assured the Kerry agenda is not just a few posters on here. There is an aggressive campaign amongst Kerry commentators and stakeholders to discredit this Dublin era.

What isn't forgotten as it's so modern is the similar campaign to discredit Tyrone and to a certain Armagh and other Ulster teams in the 00's. Tyrone in particular got a the brunt of Kerry's campaign with an agenda that certainly has implications even today; Tyrone's All Ireland Semi final last year is evidence of that.

The agenda then moved towards the final and them trying to handpick a referee.

Kerry seem insecure that modern Ireland will unearth decent and great inter county teams. If Dublin winning 5 in a row hurts them that much which it clearly does sort themselves out; use it as motivation and try to match it - see it as a challenge and stop with the agenda the world's against them because the inter county championship has the potential to bring great teams from elsewhere to the table."
A tad harsh Sam but maybe there s some truth in it but I don't know for sure. What I do know from talking to my fellow County men in Dublin and when I travel home and meet up with old friends and family ithere is no agenda and most admit that Dublin were and still are a great team. Also the common view us Tyrone also had our number and had some great players like Canavan and Kavanagh etc that are much admired down in the Kingdom. Also If you go back through this thread and other threads you will notice that while there is a lot of Kerry people on hoganstand it's only two or three and mainly two that constantly belittle the dubs achievements so please Do Not tar us all with the same brush. I Do Not agree with those naive views. I gave seen Kerry win and lose many finals and on many of the losses I and my fellow County men have shook hands with the victors

CiarraiMick (Dublin) - Posts: 3675 - 05/10/2020 16:29:16    2295863

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Sounds like a schmozzle!!"
Ah it's all a bit of craic really :-) although some take it very serious.

I still think Michael Murphy is hands down the player of this generation and that's including Gooch who was fantastic as well.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 05/10/2020 17:06:07    2295870