Tipperary Hurling Final

Great match. Great win for Kildangan but ref did the usual GAA thing of giving the losing team ONE last chance to equalise (they were well past the added minute) and this time it bit Loughmore on the backside. Quality goal to win it but amazed at the amount of space Kildangan had at that stage of the match and that Loughmore didn't have more defenders closer to the goal to protect it. At that stage of the game they only needed one more clearance to win (unless the ref decided even more time was needed for an equaliser!) Should've just crowded out their own half and saw it home.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 21/09/2020 23:20:45    2293488

I missed the live broadcast of this match but after reading all the rave reviews I just had to watch it and I'm glad I did. What a game! One of the greatest I've seen in 40 years of following GAA.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 22/09/2020 06:44:07    2293498

Replying To ballydalane:  "Great match. Great win for Kildangan but ref did the usual GAA thing of giving the losing team ONE last chance to equalise (they were well past the added minute) and this time it bit Loughmore on the backside. Quality goal to win it but amazed at the amount of space Kildangan had at that stage of the match and that Loughmore didn't have more defenders closer to the goal to protect it. At that stage of the game they only needed one more clearance to win (unless the ref decided even more time was needed for an equaliser!) Should've just crowded out their own half and saw it home."
There was to be a minimum of 1 minute added, and Kildangan scored the winning goal 1 min 17 seconds into injury time. I'm always amazed that after a game like that some people want to talk about a referee.
Was a brilliant game of hurling. Iv always thought some lads struggle playing in front of big crowds, wonder is that part of the reason there seems to have been more great club games this year.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 22/09/2020 10:00:38    2293517

Replying To Soma:  "There was to be a minimum of 1 minute added, and Kildangan scored the winning goal 1 min 17 seconds into injury time. I'm always amazed that after a game like that some people want to talk about a referee.
Was a brilliant game of hurling. Iv always thought some lads struggle playing in front of big crowds, wonder is that part of the reason there seems to have been more great club games this year."
I agree. No matter what, a ref has never been one bit more culpable for a loss than any player.

I saw bits of the match, boy it was some game. A harsh lesson for the full back but he got caught in no-mans land once the centre forward held the ball up but he should have gone with the corner forward as the others would have managed the centre forward. ballydalane is right they should have crowded the space. Even still, there was enough of them to stop the goal for me.

That camera man had the eye for the blonde Kiladangan supporter for sure.

StoreysTash (Wexford) - Posts: 1732 - 22/09/2020 20:21:06    2293632

Don't get me wrong, the ref had a good game, my point is more of a general one of GAA refs ALWAYS giving the losing team a chance to equalise, regardless of what's on the clock.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 23/09/2020 07:37:09    2293676

Great match when played his way it is the fastest game In the world. I hardly remember the ball being thrown in. Open space, man taking on his man, great clearances by the backs. A real throw back game.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 23/09/2020 13:22:38    2293752

Replying To StoreysTash:  "I agree. No matter what, a ref has never been one bit more culpable for a loss than any player.

I saw bits of the match, boy it was some game. A harsh lesson for the full back but he got caught in no-mans land once the centre forward held the ball up but he should have gone with the corner forward as the others would have managed the centre forward. ballydalane is right they should have crowded the space. Even still, there was enough of them to stop the goal for me.

That camera man had the eye for the blonde Kiladangan supporter for sure."
Could you blame the camera man??!!

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1899 - 23/09/2020 13:39:09    2293758

Anyone who doesn't realize how important the club is watch Noel McGrath after the match. That match was as big if not bigger then any he played before. In the split season the clubs should be played first it would give players a chance in the best of weather on pitches in good shape, the county players would be completely focused on the club and it would allow club players to impress inter county management.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 23/09/2020 19:12:56    2293821

Replying To ballydalane:  "Don't get me wrong, the ref had a good game, my point is more of a general one of GAA refs ALWAYS giving the losing team a chance to equalise, regardless of what's on the clock."
Well Allan Kelly could not be accused of that and anyway what is so wrong with it. If a contest is very close why not give both teams a second chance, and the result is often fairly conclusive the second day anyway.

Oldertourman (Limerick) - Posts: 162 - 23/09/2020 19:20:39    2293822

Replying To Oldertourman:  "Well Allan Kelly could not be accused of that and anyway what is so wrong with it. If a contest is very close why not give both teams a second chance, and the result is often fairly conclusive the second day anyway."
The game is 60 or 70 minutes. The ref adding whatever he feels like causes more problems then it solves. Put up a clock take it out of the refs hands. Lets not take away from a good thread about a great game. Limerick and Wexford and a few more counties should watch this game and see how the sport was intended to be played. Great clearances, one on one battles for possession, fantastic scores, sideline cuts and an unbelievable finish.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 24/09/2020 12:27:11    2293900

Replying To gatha:  "The game is 60 or 70 minutes. The ref adding whatever he feels like causes more problems then it solves. Put up a clock take it out of the refs hands. Lets not take away from a good thread about a great game. Limerick and Wexford and a few more counties should watch this game and see how the sport was intended to be played. Great clearances, one on one battles for possession, fantastic scores, sideline cuts and an unbelievable finish."
Why do you pick Limerick and Wexford??

Oldertourman (Limerick) - Posts: 162 - 24/09/2020 12:38:38    2293903

Replying To gatha:  "The game is 60 or 70 minutes. The ref adding whatever he feels like causes more problems then it solves. Put up a clock take it out of the refs hands. Lets not take away from a good thread about a great game. Limerick and Wexford and a few more counties should watch this game and see how the sport was intended to be played. Great clearances, one on one battles for possession, fantastic scores, sideline cuts and an unbelievable finish."
When was the last time Kilkenny played 1 on 1.

updwell (Limerick) - Posts: 817 - 24/09/2020 13:45:55    2293910

Thought that was a very strange post from Kilkenny poster..his county are the very ones who decided to drop players back from all lines from full forward line..he mentions limerick and Wexford and other counties,I'd like to know how many counties he thinks now play one on one?it looked like a bitter post..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2208 - 24/09/2020 16:26:53    2293935

why do you pick Limerick and Waterford?
A clock shouldnt be completely taken out of the hands of the referee. Assisted but for what reasons do you stop a clock?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 24/09/2020 16:47:39    2293939

Are you suggesting this Limerick team play a negative game. 27 points, 25 from play against ye two years ago,19 scores and 16 wides against you last, three goals and thirty one points against Cork in ,18 and 2'26 v Tipp last year. If you think Limerick play definsive hurling only then you do not watch them too often.

Oldertourman (Limerick) - Posts: 162 - 24/09/2020 20:00:00    2293963

Don't mind him lads, some of the Kilkenny supporters are the most delusional you'll find, been in Nowlan Park at times can be a hilarious experience, by the reaction of some of them you're simply not allowed tackle TJ Reid.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 24/09/2020 21:00:04    2293967

Funny how other counties have sweepers, 3rd midfielders etc. where as Kilkenny half forwards dropping deep to help out goes under the gage of 'workrate'

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 24/09/2020 21:02:42    2293968

The reason i picked out Limerick and Wexford is because they have perfected this new running style of hurling. The game Sunday was a throw back. Noel McGrath scored 2 points one from each side of the field that were super scores. Cian Lynch, who in my opinion is one of, if not the most talented hurler in Ireland would never attempt those 2 shots. Could he score them, absolutely. Donegal won an All-Ireland and fair play to them, since that the powers that be are constantly tinkering with the game to try and bring some of the old skills back. New is not always better. Watching players of the ability of Limerick run down the field looking over each shoulder looking for someone to hand pass it to instead of sending it into a talented forward line in my opinion is not the way the game was meant to be played. The middle third is all we hear about because teams are running the ball down the field. The reason Kilkenny drop the half forward line back is to try and stop this running game. Cody is on record numerous time saying he doesn't like this style of hurling but he knows what has to be done and is doing it. Watch this game from Sunday and tell me it is not a better brand f hurling then what we see at the county level today. Absolutely brilliant game.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 25/09/2020 11:23:42    2294007

Replying To gatha:  "The reason i picked out Limerick and Wexford is because they have perfected this new running style of hurling. The game Sunday was a throw back. Noel McGrath scored 2 points one from each side of the field that were super scores. Cian Lynch, who in my opinion is one of, if not the most talented hurler in Ireland would never attempt those 2 shots. Could he score them, absolutely. Donegal won an All-Ireland and fair play to them, since that the powers that be are constantly tinkering with the game to try and bring some of the old skills back. New is not always better. Watching players of the ability of Limerick run down the field looking over each shoulder looking for someone to hand pass it to instead of sending it into a talented forward line in my opinion is not the way the game was meant to be played. The middle third is all we hear about because teams are running the ball down the field. The reason Kilkenny drop the half forward line back is to try and stop this running game. Cody is on record numerous time saying he doesn't like this style of hurling but he knows what has to be done and is doing it. Watch this game from Sunday and tell me it is not a better brand f hurling then what we see at the county level today. Absolutely brilliant game."
I'd prefer a running game to Colin Fennelly's catch and take 15 steps while barging routine. Kilkennys style was influenced majorly by Mick Dempsey's football background.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 25/09/2020 11:44:12    2294010

Ya it is strange how it works. Kilkenny were the first to crowd out the middle with forwards coming back into their own end to defend. In my opinion it is where today's rucks developed. Derek McGrath was lambasted and accused of ruining the game. None more vocal than Duignan. Low and behold I heard him in one game calling on a team to put a sweeper back there before they get destroyed. What is now common practice and a great tactic by some teams is called an ugly scene when used by others.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 25/09/2020 13:51:59    2294031