GAA on TV

Replying To catch22:  "Ok, so you don't like either Brolly or Giles which seems like you don't like straight talkers. Who would you be inclined to prefer that is so much better ?"
Nothing against Giles, he used to be a brilliant analyst but time has caught up with him. He didn't seem to do any research or watch any football apart from the Premier League. That was evident on European nights. He struggled with names and didn't know much about the opposition.

I don't like Brolly as he is only interested in self promotion and contradicted himself constantly. Entertaining or not, he was too big a fan of himself for my liking.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 25/08/2020 04:11:34    2289026

Replying To sam1884:  "Too far but the black card came from that incident. He was right and proved to be right in calling out that cynical play and since then it's massively reduced. On the day yes he went over the top."
No it didn't. It was already set to be introduced, Joe even referenced it in his rant.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5010 - 25/08/2020 07:34:30    2289028

Replying To sam1884:  "Too far but the black card came from that incident. He was right and proved to be right in calling out that cynical play and since then it's massively reduced. On the day yes he went over the top."
Aye but Joe always had a habit of playing the man and not the ball as a pundit.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/08/2020 07:51:51    2289029

The black card was already on the way in before Seán Cavanagh's foul on McManus.

The black card does nothing to prevent a foul such as that either. In that scenario it's still a smart play to deliberately foul and take a black card rather than letting a player like McManus through one on one.

There isn't a team sport in the world where cynical play isn't rewarded in some scenarios.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 25/08/2020 08:39:38    2289031

Replying To eoghan6688:  "Ok, but should the potential earnings not be reduced, at least? Even if they reduced the average earnings per contestant by 2k per episode, that would be plenty of additional 10k's saved up over a season, which could be put to better use"
RTÉ don't put up the prize money. It's the national lottery, and prize money is only a small fraction of the income they get. Actually I seen it wrote somewhere that Marty Whelan etc are paid by the lottery for that show and not by RTÉ. (Don't know if that's right or wrong) so reducing the amount of winnings would not only be unfair on those who spent their money buying tickets. It would also be against the gaming and lotteries act. And they'd lose their license. Let's be honest the gaa has done well out of the national lottery, and so too have many other sports.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 25/08/2020 10:07:35    2289040

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "Not really sure what most of your post is about but we can agree to disagree on Brolly. He is a poor analyst in my opinion, flip flopped on topics all the time, talked over others, couldn't wait to tell his irrelevant anecdotes etc, just not what I want to watch personally. He clearly appealed to many including yourself and that is fair enough. There are other platforms where you can still get his views which is good.

I am glad that he is gone from RTE because they often are the only channel covering certain big games and I have no interest in hearing anything Brolly has to say about football quite honestly. That is not to say I expect the coverage to be perfect from now on, RTE still have a way to go on that front."
My post lacked clarity and simple understanding in hindsight I realised that as soon as I hit the "Post reply button", in a nut shell the point I was trying to make was we can all be guilty of shouting down someone to get our point across, at the wrong time, in the wrong place, but of course that doesn't make it right, I honestly do not think he craved attention, rather he excelled in the lime light of someone else's making, I will admit he is not everyone's cup of tea, along with the fact that his Day's with the Sunday game were numbered when Michael Lyster left the show. However I won't agree or concede that the quality of the Sunday Game improved as soon as Joe left. Respectfully, in your own words, we will agree to disagree on that.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 25/08/2020 11:05:02    2289050

Replying To TheFlaker:  "There is a reason for his sudden massive over critical stance on Mayo. Same with Tyrone. He courts controversy and publicity. And he has contradicted himself so many times people lost count.

He always claims he predicted this and that. Most famously in a recent article when he was praising himself for predicting Donegal beating Dublin in 2014 when nobody else would listen to him. He gave a number of reasons why he predicted it. Yet when you watch the tv coverage on the day he predicted Dublin. I am not saying Cantwell is good or that Spillane and O Rourke are better than Brolly but the fawning over Joe is hilarious.

Dublin have been praised left right and centre and rightly so but Brolly was clearly in love with them and longing to be buddies the way he was carrying on. That came to fruition in the final last year."
Again agree or disagree he wasn't wrong in his views and unlike others wasn't afraid to say what many were thinking; I can understand to a certain extent why RTE became nervous. He didn't always be critical of Mayo but he questioned why a very talented group of footballers; probably one of the best ever not to win an All Ireland didn't get over the line. He compared other counties preparation and what went on in those counties compared to Mayo and if that had an impact. I think he became frustrated like many in the country that team couldn't ultimately win an All Ireland - I'd say he was disappointed for Mayo as he did praise them a lot over the last decade; it's an obvious time to critique a team when they fall from the top so that's the reason it came when it did I guess.

In terms of Tyrone again I don't think he was wrong to question if a massive county like that were playing a system which wasted the forward potential they had. Tyrone haven't beat a top county in the championship for a number of years and many would conclude they probably should have if they adopted a modern approach.

Many neutrals in the country love this Dublin team or well Gavin's Dublin team and feel lucky to have witnessed them. It's hard to imagine 5 in a row being achieved again; it was won with style and dignity, game played in the right way and spirit. Others want to say it was money but again Joe isn't wrong on his views towards Dublin.

For all his criticism of Kerry at the beginning of the decade his views on the potential of Kerry in the next decade will likely come through. Dublin will be there; 5 in a row won't be won but I'd say Kerry will win the most All Irelands in the next decade. Agree or disagree he calls what he seen but in an Irish society it won't be for everyone.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 25/08/2020 12:14:19    2289061

Replying To supersub15:  "My post lacked clarity and simple understanding in hindsight I realised that as soon as I hit the "Post reply button", in a nut shell the point I was trying to make was we can all be guilty of shouting down someone to get our point across, at the wrong time, in the wrong place, but of course that doesn't make it right, I honestly do not think he craved attention, rather he excelled in the lime light of someone else's making, I will admit he is not everyone's cup of tea, along with the fact that his Day's with the Sunday game were numbered when Michael Lyster left the show. However I won't agree or concede that the quality of the Sunday Game improved as soon as Joe left. Respectfully, in your own words, we will agree to disagree on that."
I would agree with you although the standard was never very good, but it has not improved as most guys in the pub (that's if the ever open) on Sunday night would give better and more interesting analysis .

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 25/08/2020 12:44:25    2289063

Replying To sam1884:  "Again agree or disagree he wasn't wrong in his views and unlike others wasn't afraid to say what many were thinking; I can understand to a certain extent why RTE became nervous. He didn't always be critical of Mayo but he questioned why a very talented group of footballers; probably one of the best ever not to win an All Ireland didn't get over the line. He compared other counties preparation and what went on in those counties compared to Mayo and if that had an impact. I think he became frustrated like many in the country that team couldn't ultimately win an All Ireland - I'd say he was disappointed for Mayo as he did praise them a lot over the last decade; it's an obvious time to critique a team when they fall from the top so that's the reason it came when it did I guess.

In terms of Tyrone again I don't think he was wrong to question if a massive county like that were playing a system which wasted the forward potential they had. Tyrone haven't beat a top county in the championship for a number of years and many would conclude they probably should have if they adopted a modern approach.

Many neutrals in the country love this Dublin team or well Gavin's Dublin team and feel lucky to have witnessed them. It's hard to imagine 5 in a row being achieved again; it was won with style and dignity, game played in the right way and spirit. Others want to say it was money but again Joe isn't wrong on his views towards Dublin.

For all his criticism of Kerry at the beginning of the decade his views on the potential of Kerry in the next decade will likely come through. Dublin will be there; 5 in a row won't be won but I'd say Kerry will win the most All Irelands in the next decade. Agree or disagree he calls what he seen but in an Irish society it won't be for everyone."
Dublin have been amazing and great to watch and I like many others have praised them over and over. I even defended them when they rugby tackled a load of Mayo men at the end of the 17 final to prevent a quick kick out. But Brolly has been blind to any cynical play from them in recent years and has wrote some overly fawning stuff as if he wants to be mates with them. Not sure how you can dispute that? Same at half time in the final last year, he was an embarrassment.

And Joe' turn against the Mayo team started in 2015 after Holmes and Connelly left. I could into detail but it wouldn't be posted. There is a hidden agenda with Brolly, there always is. I found him nothing more than a comedy figure since the Sean Cavanagh incident.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 25/08/2020 12:46:39    2289065

Perhaps a more appropriate title for this thread would have been RTE / GAA,- question, can the title be changed at this stage, without creating a new thread?

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 25/08/2020 12:54:50    2289068

Replying To supersub15:  "My post lacked clarity and simple understanding in hindsight I realised that as soon as I hit the "Post reply button", in a nut shell the point I was trying to make was we can all be guilty of shouting down someone to get our point across, at the wrong time, in the wrong place, but of course that doesn't make it right, I honestly do not think he craved attention, rather he excelled in the lime light of someone else's making, I will admit he is not everyone's cup of tea, along with the fact that his Day's with the Sunday game were numbered when Michael Lyster left the show. However I won't agree or concede that the quality of the Sunday Game improved as soon as Joe left. Respectfully, in your own words, we will agree to disagree on that."
Given that there has been almost no football coverage since he left I don't know how either of us can comment on whether it has improved or not. I never claimed that it did, that remains to be seen and will always be subjective in any case.

I can only speak for myself, I would actively avoid RTE in the past if there was an alternative (ie SKY). I will probably go back to RTE now that Joe is thankfully gone. RTE have an ideal opportunity now to shake up the coverage a bit as Brolly along with Spillane and O'Rourke had anchored things for many years.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 25/08/2020 13:01:33    2289070

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Dublin have been amazing and great to watch and I like many others have praised them over and over. I even defended them when they rugby tackled a load of Mayo men at the end of the 17 final to prevent a quick kick out. But Brolly has been blind to any cynical play from them in recent years and has wrote some overly fawning stuff as if he wants to be mates with them. Not sure how you can dispute that? Same at half time in the final last year, he was an embarrassment.

And Joe' turn against the Mayo team started in 2015 after Holmes and Connelly left. I could into detail but it wouldn't be posted. There is a hidden agenda with Brolly, there always is. I found him nothing more than a comedy figure since the Sean Cavanagh incident."
Fair I'm not sure what went on in Mayo 2015 and don't really want to know being honest with you. It seemed awkward from the outside looking in. Whatever the reasons it still ultimately didn't win Mayo an All Ireland so it would make a neutral look at the whole episode in a strange light.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 25/08/2020 13:32:56    2289075

Replying To royaldunne:  "RTÉ don't put up the prize money. It's the national lottery, and prize money is only a small fraction of the income they get. Actually I seen it wrote somewhere that Marty Whelan etc are paid by the lottery for that show and not by RTÉ. (Don't know if that's right or wrong) so reducing the amount of winnings would not only be unfair on those who spent their money buying tickets. It would also be against the gaming and lotteries act. And they'd lose their license. Let's be honest the gaa has done well out of the national lottery, and so too have many other sports."
Yeah, I knew that just forgot, as I clarified in a later post.

Winning Streak itself is not the worst RTE program with a target demographic north of 40 tbf, but I still want the show to appeal to younger viewers like the presenting and production styles of British game shows, or else I wouldn't be sad to see it bite the dust (regardless of how it's being funded)

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 25/08/2020 14:52:42    2289090

Replying To eoghan6688:  "Yeah, I knew that just forgot, as I clarified in a later post.

Winning Streak itself is not the worst RTE program with a target demographic north of 40 tbf, but I still want the show to appeal to younger viewers like the presenting and production styles of British game shows, or else I wouldn't be sad to see it bite the dust (regardless of how it's being funded)"
Younger audiences don't bring in as much ad revenue as an older audience, they don't have their disposable income.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7335 - 25/08/2020 15:09:30    2289094

Replying To GreenandRed:  "Younger audiences don't bring in as much ad revenue as an older audience, they don't have their disposable income."
You have a point, because the very nature of Winning Streak with it's cheesy,community values may be hard to ever make attractive to younger audiences (at least in modern times), compared to say Millionaire which can cater for all age demographics (even children, to some extent).

eoghan6688 (Galway) - Posts: 154 - 25/08/2020 15:24:25    2289095

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Nothing against Giles, he used to be a brilliant analyst but time has caught up with him. He didn't seem to do any research or watch any football apart from the Premier League. That was evident on European nights. He struggled with names and didn't know much about the opposition.

I don't like Brolly as he is only interested in self promotion and contradicted himself constantly. Entertaining or not, he was too big a fan of himself for my liking."
Giles was still the best analyst they had. He was there to comment on the formations and styles of play and explain that in simple terms to the punters and if he didn't know all the names of the European players I don't think it mattered to the overall ability and knowledge he has of the game.
Brolly spoke like the ordinary Joe in the pub and not script guided ,everyone's grand ,bland rubbish like we will endure now that the powers that be are in control of what can be said and not said. Again, who would you deem superior to either Giles or Brolly ?

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 25/08/2020 18:19:43    2289122

Replying To catch22:  "Giles was still the best analyst they had. He was there to comment on the formations and styles of play and explain that in simple terms to the punters and if he didn't know all the names of the European players I don't think it mattered to the overall ability and knowledge he has of the game.
Brolly spoke like the ordinary Joe in the pub and not script guided ,everyone's grand ,bland rubbish like we will endure now that the powers that be are in control of what can be said and not said. Again, who would you deem superior to either Giles or Brolly ?"
Giles has spent the last few years rubbishing any formation except a 442, and has also said the concept of a holding midfielder is a load of nonsense. I get that you like him. I used to but you are being very kind here.

Brolly speaks like the lad in the pub? I would hate to drink in your local. Brolly is scripted. His own script, pre rehearsed lines for maximum impact. As I said, self promotion is his only interest. Get him back on for all I care if it stops people talking about him as if he was the best thing since sliced bread. O Rourke talks a lot more sense than Brolly but isn't much craic. The banter aspect of Brolly is what people liked. Much like Dunphy when he was on the soccer panel.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7885 - 25/08/2020 18:36:18    2289124

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Giles has spent the last few years rubbishing any formation except a 442, and has also said the concept of a holding midfielder is a load of nonsense. I get that you like him. I used to but you are being very kind here.

Brolly speaks like the lad in the pub? I would hate to drink in your local. Brolly is scripted. His own script, pre rehearsed lines for maximum impact. As I said, self promotion is his only interest. Get him back on for all I care if it stops people talking about him as if he was the best thing since sliced bread. O Rourke talks a lot more sense than Brolly but isn't much craic. The banter aspect of Brolly is what people liked. Much like Dunphy when he was on the soccer panel."
It's not that I particularly like Giles but he talks a lot of sense and makes it easy for the ordinary punter to understand rather than the in-house speak of a lot of analysts and if there is someone who is better at that analysis of a game then I'd like to know who.
If that's you're opinion on Brolly then that's fine as I doubt you are going to change you're views on him considering how much you dislike him and his views. However, I think RTE and the scripting of the shows is not allowing anything other than safe bland comments and all we here anytime a manager or player toes the press training line is " Jesus , what was the point of asking the question when you get a nothing answer ". You can't have it both ways.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 25/08/2020 19:16:35    2289129

Replying To catch22:  "It's not that I particularly like Giles but he talks a lot of sense and makes it easy for the ordinary punter to understand rather than the in-house speak of a lot of analysts and if there is someone who is better at that analysis of a game then I'd like to know who.
If that's you're opinion on Brolly then that's fine as I doubt you are going to change you're views on him considering how much you dislike him and his views. However, I think RTE and the scripting of the shows is not allowing anything other than safe bland comments and all we here anytime a manager or player toes the press training line is " Jesus , what was the point of asking the question when you get a nothing answer ". You can't have it both ways."
I have no axe to grind with Brolly but don't you think in general that people who go way off reasonably response and outlandish comment do so for a reason ? I would suggest they are trying to make themselves relevant, seeking attention, think they can shock the ordinary person, influence a support group and put down any opposition to their view point. They usually talk over everyone else also with their mouths constantly flapping. The clinical analysis expert probably have a technical term for it. We the ordinary Joe soaps call them loud mouths.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 25/08/2020 22:25:17    2289157

Replying To Canuck:  "I have no axe to grind with Brolly but don't you think in general that people who go way off reasonably response and outlandish comment do so for a reason ? I would suggest they are trying to make themselves relevant, seeking attention, think they can shock the ordinary person, influence a support group and put down any opposition to their view point. They usually talk over everyone else also with their mouths constantly flapping. The clinical analysis expert probably have a technical term for it. We the ordinary Joe soaps call them loud mouths."
I know what you're saying but couldn't you also apply that to those in RTE who suppress and notions that they cannot control and if you're not prepared to stick to the script then you cannot speak at all. They are the the unheard loudmouths if you like.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 26/08/2020 09:04:52    2289174