GAA on TV

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "Let's be honest RTE has gone to the dogs long ago and it's in the state it's in now because of the amount money it squandered (especially on excessive salaries for tv and radio staff) down through the years especially during the celtic tiger years. Apart from love/hate (which was good not brilliant) can anyone name another decent show RTE have commissioned hardybucks, bridget and eamon and Republic of telly were nothing more than cheap and crass rubbish for fear they would have to spend real money on decent programming.

News and current affairs on RTE since the recession and the Enda Kenny/Michael Noonan government was nothing more than government propaganda. RTE were afraid to report the news properly to the people and wouldn't grill or put questions to politicians about billions of taxpayers money given to unsecure bond holders for fear the government would pull funding to the station. Kenny and Noonan were well able to go on RTE for the easy interview but were terrified to go on Vincent Browne because they would have being shown up for what they were. When Eamon Dunphy went on the late late show a few years back and rightly called out what was going in the country RTE had to get George Hook on the week after to counter Dunphy argument to not upset people in power in this country especially a certain media mogul. Compare The late late show now compared to Gay Byrne's time, Tubridy is the most boring over rated presenter on television he does nothing only talk over his guests after he asks them a question and there no flow of conversation.

I really don't know whether RTE should be privatised or not, paying an expensive licence fee for little service back nor do I want tv network system like in the USA and Canada, also what needs to be looked at in this country is a certain billionaire having an monopoly on radio and print media which shouldn't be allowed either."
"Gone to the dogs long ago" Can you please point me to the time when it was throwing out great TV shows? First post is hilarious with all its crap about how the new presenters are not filling the boots of the old ones despite the fact all anyone does is complains about the old ones and how overpaid they are

RTE is needed as is pointed to above for local sport, news and current affairs and I would hate to see that handed over to the likes of Sky/Murdoch. The days of national broadcasters making quality drama on their own is over as most production companies go in as groups which is what the Irish state group FE do and its also standard practice now for BBC and also Sky to join up with US companies when making shows.

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 15/08/2020 11:43:37    2287636

Replying To KillingFields:  "They can earn as much as they want if it were RTE'S own money, but when it's ours is a different story, if you wanna pay for my license fee then you are more then welcome
DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 119 - 15/08/2020 01:27:13
if you look at RTE tv they make nearly as much from commercial income as licence fee so how do you know its not RTEs own money?

I already made the point that they cannot be compared to BBC or the streaming giants for budgetary reasons if you check back so I agree there.
I never said that everything on there is terrible, I watch a lot of RTE news and current affairs and I think they do a mostly good job there. I'd prefer if they held the government to account a bit more but to be fair every station in the world is being influenced in some way. Some of the prime time specials are excellent.
When I say better analysts what I mean is that Spillane, Brolly, Dolan and some of the other guys they have had on there in recent years are just not up to scratch and they hold the standard back. Analysis around games often descends to farce as it did during last years drawn All Ireland. It's downright unprofessional at times. The soccer coverage was the same for years with Dunphy being allowed to run the show and take the discussion off on any tangent he liked, even showing up inebriated in one case during a huge World Cup game no less.
Most of the drama / entertainment and comedy stuff they put out is fairly poor. I appreciate that they have budgetary limitations and that they have to put out a certain amount due to their original programming mandate. I'd prefer quality over quantity but it is what it is. The chat show stuff is dire but I understand that if they stumble on a top talent they are likely to lose them to bigger markets, e.g. they could never afford Graham Norton.
My main issue is Dee Forbes continually and very publicly campaigning for more money through the licence when paying it is a major bugbear for many people as it is. It smacks of entitlement and a lack of will to sort out the issues. It just looks weak to me.
GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1860 - 15/08/2020 09:45:54
When you say hold government to account more? What do you want them to do?
To be fair on comedy when you are so close to UK and nearly all top comedians live in and are based in UK then comedy wont necessarily be that good. that isnt really an issue.
thing is they need more money if they are to compete with others. they have a tiny budget compared to most of their competitors"
Do you work for them of what, if you don't, you should apply, you'll be a good avertiser for them, maybe be on a license fee ad

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 267 - 15/08/2020 12:32:33    2287644

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "I want..I want... How old are you?"
Hmm. He references Micheal O'Hehir so I reckon a fair bit older and more mature than you.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 15/08/2020 12:59:25    2287649

Replying To DuhallowRed:  "
Replying To KillingFields:  "They can earn as much as they want if it were RTE'S own money, but when it's ours is a different story, if you wanna pay for my license fee then you are more then welcome
if you look at RTE tv they make nearly as much from commercial income as licence fee so how do you know its not RTEs own money?

I already made the point that they cannot be compared to BBC or the streaming giants for budgetary reasons if you check back so I agree there.
I never said that everything on there is terrible, I watch a lot of RTE news and current affairs and I think they do a mostly good job there. I'd prefer if they held the government to account a bit more but to be fair every station in the world is being influenced in some way. Some of the prime time specials are excellent.
When I say better analysts what I mean is that Spillane, Brolly, Dolan and some of the other guys they have had on there in recent years are just not up to scratch and they hold the standard back. Analysis around games often descends to farce as it did during last years drawn All Ireland. It's downright unprofessional at times. The soccer coverage was the same for years with Dunphy being allowed to run the show and take the discussion off on any tangent he liked, even showing up inebriated in one case during a huge World Cup game no less.
Most of the drama / entertainment and comedy stuff they put out is fairly poor. I appreciate that they have budgetary limitations and that they have to put out a certain amount due to their original programming mandate. I'd prefer quality over quantity but it is what it is. The chat show stuff is dire but I understand that if they stumble on a top talent they are likely to lose them to bigger markets, e.g. they could never afford Graham Norton.
My main issue is Dee Forbes continually and very publicly campaigning for more money through the licence when paying it is a major bugbear for many people as it is. It smacks of entitlement and a lack of will to sort out the issues. It just looks weak to me.
To be fair on comedy when you are so close to UK and nearly all top comedians live in and are based in UK then comedy wont necessarily be that good. that isnt really an issue.
thing is they need more money if they are to compete with others. they have a tiny budget compared to most of their competitors"
Do you work for them of what, if you don't, you should apply, you'll be a good avertiser for them, maybe be on a license fee ad"
Of course i dont.
Any chance you can counter what i said?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3505 - 15/08/2020 16:31:49    2287676

Replying To KillingFields:  "
Replying To DuhallowRed:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "They can earn as much as they want if it were RTE'S own money, but when it's ours is a different story, if you wanna pay for my license fee then you are more then welcome

Do you work for them of what, if you don't, you should apply, you'll be a good avertiser for them, maybe be on a license fee ad"
Of course i dont.
Any chance you can counter what i said?"]I will, spend that money in better programming not over paying staff, simple,

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 267 - 15/08/2020 18:47:41    2287680

I will, spend that money in better programming not over paying staff, simple,
DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 121 - 15/08/2020 18:47:41
its that easy then and "better programming" is so subjective!
What is better for you isnt for a lot of people and RTE wont change until they have to and their viewing figures show a demand for change and it doesnt look like there will be change any time soon

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3505 - 15/08/2020 20:31:00    2287689

Whatever the issues are with RTE let it be financial or otherwise the buck stops with Dee Forbes, if she can't handle the issues if any, then the bigger and final buck stops with the minister for communication, that's my understanding of how it works.

To fill a vacancy for whatever reason within the organisation doesn't necessarily have to go through an interviewing process, a tap on the shoulder, a text, or a phone call will suffice, that doesn't mean the wrong person gets the job, neither does it mean best suited person gets the job either. Gender balance / quotas I am all in favour of, provided the best suited person for the job gets the job. The person to fill Sean O' Rourke's position was to be filled from three nominated people, Sara Mc Inerney, Miriam O'Callaghan and Claire Byrne, nothing wrong with that, but there's something not right about it when word broke through the media long before Sean O'Rourke had left his place of work, something unethical about that move. Sarah Mc Inerney was chosen to fill the position (albeit temporarily) and good luck to her. It's said Claire Byrne will fill the role on a permanent basis soon.
Prime time's David Mc Cullough is a serious professional, he is joining the 6.01 News. He will be a serious loss to Prime time, if, whoever is taking over his job is half as good as David she / she will be a success. I just wonder was / is his move politically thought out.

The financial crisis facing RTE is nothing new, in fact it's in our gene, just look at our government, equipted with a rotating Taoiseach,where would you get it, Michael Martin, who was part of that ill fated government of 2011, now in a position to draw down a Taoiseach's pension for two and a half years work, a ministerial pension, a teachers pension, etc, etc, etc.

It appears as if there's a two pronged approach to matters within the current affairs dept. A few weeks ago Barry Cowen got himself into a bit of bother for a motoring offence that happened 4 years ago which was apparently leaked.The issue was dealt with on Prime time, the Week in politics among others, he was subsequently sacked as minister for agriculture by Michael Martin, a short few days later, it was announced that Minister Eamon Ryan had decided to add 3 senior advisors to his team at a cost of over 100.000 euros each per annum and possibly 6 more on a lesser salary. The thing that hit me was not one of those that interrogated Barry Cowen about his motoring / driving license offence interviewed Eamon Ryan about his sudden desire to recruit extra senior advisors at the tax payers expense after the formation of our government was agreed, and why you may ask, well Eamon Ryan happens to be the Minister for communication, the very Minister that the final book stops with regarding RTE issues.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 15/08/2020 22:05:13    2287698

Replying To Breezy:  ""Gone to the dogs long ago" Can you please point me to the time when it was throwing out great TV shows? First post is hilarious with all its crap about how the new presenters are not filling the boots of the old ones despite the fact all anyone does is complains about the old ones and how overpaid they are

RTE is needed as is pointed to above for local sport, news and current affairs and I would hate to see that handed over to the likes of Sky/Murdoch. The days of national broadcasters making quality drama on their own is over as most production companies go in as groups which is what the Irish state group FE do and its also standard practice now for BBC and also Sky to join up with US companies when making shows."
Breezy with respect i don't know what's your debate toward me is, I never said RTE were ever before throwing out brilliant shows, my point is and I think it's a valid 1 is in the last 15/20 years RTE has gotten progressly worse and worse every year. Now recently Netflix, Amazon prime and nowtv have contributed to their demise too I'll admit that but the fault mostly lies within RTE itself with money squandered in the good times and commissioning too many cheap and cringeworthy rubbish shows that they tried to pass off as comedy and entertainment. On current affairs my point is simply this, that they have a duty to the Irish people to report the news properly and hold people in power to account with proper questioning and since the ressession they failed the public in this regard. Compare Vincent Browne to RTE when questioning that smug douchebag from the IMF when they came to town, Vincent Browne grilled him, got him sweating under the collar and told him the damage they were causing to Irish society and RTE were only interested to know what did he think of us Irish and did he think Ireland was doing a good job managing austerity. That is 1 of many examples I could give you.

I would love a state broadcaster that works for the public that funds it but RTE does not do that, that is why I don't care if it goes to the wall or not. I do agree with you about depending on Murdoch/sky for news would be a disaster though, Brian Clough called him and Maxwell out on match of the day in the late 80's but did anyone listen. In Ireland we have Denis O'Brien and our government should have stepped in long ago to stop him getting an monopoly on radio and print media.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 15/08/2020 22:33:34    2287702

Replying To KillingFields:  "I will, spend that money in better programming not over paying staff, simple,
What is better for you isnt for a lot of people and RTE wont change until they have to and their viewing figures show a demand for change and it doesnt look like there will be change any time soon"
Seriously, are you sure you don't work for RTE, because you seem to be ok with their qaulity of service and there high salaries they pay their staff? You get paid what your worth, you really think D'arcy is worth 450,000?

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 267 - 16/08/2020 01:53:19    2287712

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Hmm. He references Micheal O'Hehir so I reckon a fair bit older and more mature than you."
So according to your odd logic, referencing someone is a guide to the age and maturity of the writer. And because I didn't reference Micheal O'Hehir, you reckon I must be younger.

I've been known to reference Marcus Aurelius, James Joyce and William Wordsworth, to name a few , of long dead people. What do you 'reckon' on that?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2458 - 16/08/2020 12:32:51    2287749

RTE has been in decline for a few years now. Both on television and the radio. Constant repeats and the loss of a lot of sports coverage shows just that. Also an easy way to look at the decline is the quality of guests on the Late Late. There are now at least 1 if not 2 RTE employees on there almost every show. They don't have the financial muscle to attract big guests.

As for the likes of 2FM, it should be disbanded at this stage to save some money! Love Island radio is all it is at this stage.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 16/08/2020 14:32:20    2287760

Replying To DUALSUPPORT:  "Breezy with respect i don't know what's your debate toward me is, I never said RTE were ever before throwing out brilliant shows, my point is and I think it's a valid 1 is in the last 15/20 years RTE has gotten progressly worse and worse every year. Now recently Netflix, Amazon prime and nowtv have contributed to their demise too I'll admit that but the fault mostly lies within RTE itself with money squandered in the good times and commissioning too many cheap and cringeworthy rubbish shows that they tried to pass off as comedy and entertainment. On current affairs my point is simply this, that they have a duty to the Irish people to report the news properly and hold people in power to account with proper questioning and since the ressession they failed the public in this regard. Compare Vincent Browne to RTE when questioning that smug douchebag from the IMF when they came to town, Vincent Browne grilled him, got him sweating under the collar and told him the damage they were causing to Irish society and RTE were only interested to know what did he think of us Irish and did he think Ireland was doing a good job managing austerity. That is 1 of many examples I could give you.

I would love a state broadcaster that works for the public that funds it but RTE does not do that, that is why I don't care if it goes to the wall or not. I do agree with you about depending on Murdoch/sky for news would be a disaster though, Brian Clough called him and Maxwell out on match of the day in the late 80's but did anyone listen. In Ireland we have Denis O'Brien and our government should have stepped in long ago to stop him getting an monopoly on radio and print media."
Sorry but gone to the dogs made it sound like you used to think it was great MD I just misinterpreted it

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 16/08/2020 20:44:40    2287795

The financial crisis facing RTE is nothing new, in fact it's in our gene, just look at our government, equipted with a rotating Taoiseach,where would you get it, Michael Martin, who was part of that ill fated government of 2011, now in a position to draw down a Taoiseach's pension for two and a half years work, a ministerial pension, a teachers pension, etc, etc, etc.
It appears as if there's a two pronged approach to matters within the current affairs dept. A few weeks ago Barry Cowen got himself into a bit of bother for a motoring offence that happened 4 years ago which was apparently leaked.The issue was dealt with on Prime time, the Week in politics among others, he was subsequently sacked as minister for agriculture by Michael Martin, a short few days later, it was announced that Minister Eamon Ryan had decided to add 3 senior advisors to his team at a cost of over 100.000 euros each per annum and possibly 6 more on a lesser salary. The thing that hit me was not one of those that interrogated Barry Cowen about his motoring / driving license offence interviewed Eamon Ryan about his sudden desire to recruit extra senior advisors at the tax payers expense after the formation of our government was agreed, and why you may ask, well Eamon Ryan happens to be the Minister for communication, the very Minister that the final book stops with regarding RTE issues.
supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2028 - 15/08/2020 22:05:13
A rotating taoiseach isnt a problem. The fact we havent had many coalitions isnt a good thing for government. I agree about pensions and at all levels people shouldnt be entitled to full pensions for all these jobs that they may have worked as.

Breezy with respect i don't know what's your debate toward me is, I never said RTE were ever before throwing out brilliant shows, my point is and I think it's a valid 1 is in the last 15/20 years RTE has gotten progressly worse and worse every year. Now recently Netflix, Amazon prime and nowtv have contributed to their demise too I'll admit that but the fault mostly lies within RTE itself with money squandered in the good times and commissioning too many cheap and cringeworthy rubbish shows that they tried to pass off as comedy and entertainment. On current affairs my point is simply this, that they have a duty to the Irish people to report the news properly and hold people in power to account with proper questioning and since the ressession they failed the public in this regard. Compare Vincent Browne to RTE when questioning that smug douchebag from the IMF when they came to town, Vincent Browne grilled him, got him sweating under the collar and told him the damage they were causing to Irish society and RTE were only interested to know what did he think of us Irish and did he think Ireland was doing a good job managing austerity. That is 1 of many examples I could give you.
I would love a state broadcaster that works for the public that funds it but RTE does not do that, that is why I don't care if it goes to the wall or not. I do agree with you about depending on Murdoch/sky for news would be a disaster though, Brian Clough called him and Maxwell out on match of the day in the late 80's but did anyone listen. In Ireland we have Denis O'Brien and our government should have stepped in long ago to stop him getting an monopoly on radio and print media.
DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 606 - 15/08/2020 22:33:34
I dont think RTE necessarily has got worse over the past 15/20 years. Majority of people are simply much more used to a far wider range of channels and programmes now and RTE just cant be expected to keep up with channels with far greater income and revenues to invest in quality programming.

Seriously, are you sure you don't work for RTE, because you seem to be ok with their qaulity of service and there high salaries they pay their staff? You get paid what your worth, you really think D'arcy is worth 450,000?
DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 122 - 16/08/2020 01:53:19
I never said that. And what exactly should determine what a presenter/journalist is worth then?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3505 - 16/08/2020 21:28:34    2287804

Replying To KillingFields:  "I will, spend that money in better programming not over paying staff, simple,
What is better for you isnt for a lot of people and RTE wont change until they have to and their viewing figures show a demand for change and it doesnt look like there will be change any time soon"
Seriously, are you sure you don't work for RTE, because you seem to be ok with their qaulity of service and there high salaries they pay their staff? You get paid what your worth, you really think D'arcy is worth 450,000?"
D'Arcy isn't my cup of tea but he does appeal to an older audience. Not sure how much his TV and radio shows bring in to RTE but 5 years ago they were looking for €450K for a sponsor for his TV show and in 2018 were looking for €270K for a sponsor for his radio show. Throw another few quid for ads around those shows and he's probably worth that salary for RTE. Sure he'd only clear about 200K!

Does anyone think in 2020 that on radio and TV it's not that we're watching or listening to anything great, rather it's a case of 'he or she isn' T as bad as yer wan on the other channel. Thank God for podcasts. A bit like the song, podcasts killed the radio star.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 16/08/2020 23:13:10    2287816

Replying To KillingFields:  "The financial crisis facing RTE is nothing new, in fact it's in our gene, just look at our government, equipted with a rotating Taoiseach,where would you get it, Michael Martin, who was part of that ill fated government of 2011, now in a position to draw down a Taoiseach's pension for two and a half years work, a ministerial pension, a teachers pension, etc, etc, etc.
A rotating taoiseach isnt a problem. The fact we havent had many coalitions isnt a good thing for government. I agree about pensions and at all levels people shouldnt be entitled to full pensions for all these jobs that they may have worked as.

I dont think RTE necessarily has got worse over the past 15/20 years. Majority of people are simply much more used to a far wider range of channels and programmes now and RTE just cant be expected to keep up with channels with far greater income and revenues to invest in quality programming.

I never said that. And what exactly should determine what a presenter/journalist is worth then?"
Not even going to bother respond after this, there isn't anyway to convince Mr. RTE on how we aren't getting value for our money

DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 267 - 17/08/2020 02:55:27    2287823

Replying To KillingFields:  "The financial crisis facing RTE is nothing new, in fact it's in our gene, just look at our government, equipted with a rotating Taoiseach,where would you get it, Michael Martin, who was part of that ill fated government of 2011, now in a position to draw down a Taoiseach's pension for two and a half years work, a ministerial pension, a teachers pension, etc, etc, etc.

I never said that. And what exactly should determine what a presenter/journalist is worth then?"
Not even going to bother respond after this, there isn't anyway to convince Mr. RTE on how we aren't getting value for our money"
100% nail on the head, that's 1 thing I do like about sky is that you only pay for what you want ( different packages) there is an un merciful pile of crap on RTÉ that No 1 in my family watch.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/08/2020 12:40:09    2287876

Not even going to bother respond after this, there isn't anyway to convince Mr. RTE on how we aren't getting value for our money
DuhallowRed (Cork) - Posts: 123 - 17/08/2020 02:55:27 2287823
So what determines value of money? You cant counter what i said so just going to run away and leave the conversation...

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3505 - 17/08/2020 12:52:07    2287881

Replying To TheFlaker:  "RTE has been in decline for a few years now. Both on television and the radio. Constant repeats and the loss of a lot of sports coverage shows just that. Also an easy way to look at the decline is the quality of guests on the Late Late. There are now at least 1 if not 2 RTE employees on there almost every show. They don't have the financial muscle to attract big guests.

As for the likes of 2FM, it should be disbanded at this stage to save some money! Love Island radio is all it is at this stage."
In fairness to D'Arcy and Tubridy they have both said they are prepared to take a 30% cut in salary as of now.

The vibes or gut feeling that I get is that some decisions are made without thinking it through, for example, take 2fm's morning breakfast show "Breakfast Republic" which was hugely successful, it literally raised the profile of 2 fm. It was nominated for various awards, listener ship numbers on the up and up, so after 5 years of success they simply pulled the plug, since then it's all gone downhill, my theory is if its not broke then don't fix it. Breakfast Republic fixed that morning part of 2fm radio that was clearly broken but someone that should know better broke it again.

Small fixes within RTE TV / Radio would solve big problems, imo.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 17/08/2020 12:55:43    2287882

just looking at the RTE schedule for today and it seems the majority of programmes are just foreign shows RTE has bought the rights to. Surely we have plenty of creative talent in the country who could be making some original content. TnaG has always seemed to be to be far mmore adventurous in regards to RTE in regards to making original content especially in regards to documentaries.

Rosineri1 (UK) - Posts: 2099 - 17/08/2020 13:17:09    2287885

Replying To Rosineri1:  "just looking at the RTE schedule for today and it seems the majority of programmes are just foreign shows RTE has bought the rights to. Surely we have plenty of creative talent in the country who could be making some original content. TnaG has always seemed to be to be far mmore adventurous in regards to RTE in regards to making original content especially in regards to documentaries."
TG4 is excellent and RTÉ could learn a lot from them, I'd give every penny of my €160 to TG4 and shut down RTÉ.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 17/08/2020 13:33:05    2287889