Red Herring Of Travelling To Games

Replying To 890202:  "Slag the UK all you like, but we have basically copied them almost every step of the way."
What kinda nonsense you talking. Ireland have been steps ahead of the UK through out the whole crisis

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 07/08/2020 13:43:18    2286755

Replying To 890202:  "Slag the UK all you like, but we have basically copied them almost every step of the way."
Except we haven't. We had schools closed 2 weeks before they did. The UK thought of going down the herd immunity route but got scared and uturned.

They then lockdowned way after other countries.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 07/08/2020 13:50:13    2286756

Alright snowfkxxes calm down. lets just remember that 99% of people who get this virus recover.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 07/08/2020 14:05:00    2286759

Replying To wd45:  "Alright snowfkxxes calm down. lets just remember that 99% of people who get this virus recover."
Let's hope your not included in the 1%

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 07/08/2020 14:10:00    2286760

Cheers up lads, stop the negativity. A bit more positivity would go a long way these days.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 07/08/2020 14:21:12    2286765

Replying To wd45:  "Alright snowfkxxes calm down. lets just remember that 99% of people who get this virus recover."
Admins should probably remove fake news.

In Ireland almost 7% of people who've tested positive have died so far. 1,768 people.

The other 25,000 people may have survived and subsequently tested negative, but many will suffer from chronic illnesses for the rest of their lives as a result. Saying "99% recover" is simple-minded.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 378 - 07/08/2020 15:43:34    2286769

Alright snowfkxxes calm down. lets just remember that 99% of people who get this virus recover
wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 205 - 07/08/2020 14:05:00
why call people snowflakes. Thats incredibly childish and yes most do recover but people can carry it and bring it to more vulnerable members of their family/friends/community

The genius who replaced Tony Holohan told us tonight that the problem with having 500 at GAA Games is that people have to travel to matches. The same Man three times spoke about an All Ireland context yet failed to see that in the north 400 can attend Games. Do they not travel? The truth of course is the GAA have to suffer because the government didnt allow pubs to reopen and that would cause such a racket we must suffer too.
jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 759 - 04/08/2020 22:28:27
what a terrible take on this whole scenario. GAA is not suffering. Its doing what has to be done to help stop cases from rising and spreading more.

I don't know how they make these decisions Jobber, not easy ones to make, but I've faith in them getting it right most of tge time. I agree that they should have same crowd limits as 6 counties but I don't know what data they're looking at. I think outdoors watching games is grand but maybe they should stagger people coming and going to games to make it even safer. I'd prefer them to be safe than sorry. Numbers going to games is one thing but at least some people are back playing sports. I'm more worried about them letting tourists in from countries like US where COVID is rampant. Can't see too many of them wanting to spend their time here isolating for two weeks if they haven't tested negative. I think most Irish people now are vigilant on masks, hand cleansing, social distancing, just hopefully all businesses, shops can be as vigilant.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 5714 - 05/08/2020 22:51:01
well if anything the north should have lower limits like the republic.

I disagree totally.
First of all, the LAST thing the government want to do at the moment is to proceed onto a new phase of easing restrictions and subsequently have to row back, given they have already lost a minister, lost the Leas Ceann Comhairle, and have had two Government TDs suspended, all in the first several weeks of this Dáil.
By the time the Inter-County Championships arrive on the 31 October, we could be seeing anything from 20 to 500+ new COVID cases daily. (Daily cases jumped from 40 to 1000 to 200 mid-March to mid-April to mid-May).
Club championship matches right now genuinely could safely host up to 500 supporters in many cases today. That is because there is probably little interest in the match from outside the locality of the two clubs taking part. But as soon as NPHET, or the State, gives the go ahead for that, then the inter-county game will follow suit. There is NO way an inter-county game could happen right now with 500 people, especially in the larger counties where you are giving a large number of people from a very scattered region the opportunity gather. We want to limit interactions between communities. In my opinion, there was no chance that they would allow 500 and then row back to 200 when club championships finish.
We have seen that, even during a pandemic, the Government has been reluctant to impose restrictions on a county-by-county basis and I don't see that changing any time soon. That means that the actions necessary in Donegal, Cork, Kerry, and Mayo will be somewhat mirrored in all other counties. We just need to get used to it, because there is no appetite from this government to create a solution which works for each region specifically.
SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 115 - 06/08/2020 11:18:45
Thats an awful lot of guess work.

Slag the UK all you like, but we have basically copied them almost every step of the way.
890202 (Wexford) - Posts: 1151 - 07/08/2020 12:48:14
maybe in an alternate universe but in this planet we did a lot different and a lot much better than them.

The government are just puppets, the health and safety people are now running this country and everything is unsafe in there eyes. If we keep listening to them what sort of life will we have. we will all be staying at home staring out the window and that is a lot worse for body and mind than any COVID-19. Time for people to cop on and realise that the number of cases are going to go up as we move around more but not to go into full meltdown.
wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 205 - 07/08/2020 13:11:22
you need help if you really believe that.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 07/08/2020 15:47:08    2286770

Just like I said the government are puppets, point proved today..

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 07/08/2020 20:08:45    2286797

Just like I said the government are puppets, point proved today..

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 206 - 07/08/2020 20:08:45
is the tin foil in your hat a bit loose?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 07/08/2020 21:08:39    2286801

Replying To wd45:  "Just like I said the government are puppets, point proved today.."
Go it alone lad, go solo, stay safe.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 07/08/2020 21:54:17    2286806

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "I disagree totally.

First of all, the LAST thing the government want to do at the moment is to proceed onto a new phase of easing restrictions and subsequently have to row back, given they have already lost a minister, lost the Leas Ceann Comhairle, and have had two Government TDs suspended, all in the first several weeks of this Dáil.

By the time the Inter-County Championships arrive on the 31 October, we could be seeing anything from 20 to 500+ new COVID cases daily. (Daily cases jumped from 40 to 1000 to 200 mid-March to mid-April to mid-May).

Club championship matches right now genuinely could safely host up to 500 supporters in many cases today. That is because there is probably little interest in the match from outside the locality of the two clubs taking part. But as soon as NPHET, or the State, gives the go ahead for that, then the inter-county game will follow suit. There is NO way an inter-county game could happen right now with 500 people, especially in the larger counties where you are giving a large number of people from a very scattered region the opportunity gather. We want to limit interactions between communities. In my opinion, there was no chance that they would allow 500 and then row back to 200 when club championships finish.

We have seen that, even during a pandemic, the Government has been reluctant to impose restrictions on a county-by-county basis and I don't see that changing any time soon. That means that the actions necessary in Donegal, Cork, Kerry, and Mayo will be somewhat mirrored in all other counties. We just need to get used to it, because there is no appetite from this government to create a solution which works for each region specifically."
You got your answer yesterday the government is not in the least reluctant to impose restrictions on local lock Downs as long as it doesnt affect Dublin. If we agree with the health authorities why was Dublin not locked down when over 50% of the cases were in the city when almost 1000 a Day were being affected.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 08/08/2020 08:09:21    2286832

Local lockdown is the way to go. Can't believe I agree with a FF government but it was the right thing to do

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 08/08/2020 08:40:38    2286834

Replying To jobber:  "You got your answer yesterday the government is not in the least reluctant to impose restrictions on local lock Downs as long as it doesnt affect Dublin. If we agree with the health authorities why was Dublin not locked down when over 50% of the cases were in the city when almost 1000 a Day were being affected."
100% they should have been locked down, there were dubs holidaying down here during the lockdown how they managed to do that il never know and us locals restricted to 2km. And our County is crawling with them now.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/08/2020 09:56:24    2286838

Replying To jobber:  "You got your answer yesterday the government is not in the least reluctant to impose restrictions on local lock Downs as long as it doesnt affect Dublin. If we agree with the health authorities why was Dublin not locked down when over 50% of the cases were in the city when almost 1000 a Day were being affected."
Newbridge or Nowhere! ;)

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/08/2020 11:10:08    2286844

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "100% they should have been locked down, there were dubs holidaying down here during the lockdown how they managed to do that il never know and us locals restricted to 2km. And our County is crawling with them now."
all very well, I live beside the Grand Canal in Offaly, West Offaly to be precise so Edenderry etc. is 50 miles from me or half way to Dublin as we say. I was monitoriing events over the last number of months and of course live yesterday (Friday 7th August)..I was walking by the Grand canal yesterday evening at 6pm, as the 3 county lock down was announced, what struck me yet again was all the campervans, cycists with tents on board, cars and vans with tents on board, were all arriving into my area for yet another weekend, this is ongoing since the pandemic started. I had earphones listening to the news and was struck/bemused the way these "strangers" just can load up every weekend and come down into my area and barbeque, drink and basically have a weekend away!!..its gone to the stage now that they kind of take over areas of the canal and one tends to cross over to the other side rather that walk right by them. To their credit, they are all friendly and say hello and they will chat with you etc...my point is, these people inform me they are from Dublin/Kildare/WIcklow/Meath in the main, they can pack up each weekend, some managed to get here even in the first national lockdown, now there is something wrong with the law if this is permitted. Now people will come on and say why dont you report them, like the fellah drink driving and parking outside the pub years and is never caught, if I see him, the authorities see him, so if you have a pattern, it is fairly obvious and one check can put an end to it rather than throwing the kitchen sink at them etc...some people are either very lucky or know something the rest of us dont..I cant leave my own county now for two weeks, yet I can go walking everyday in my nearby village and see the all the campervans and tents down by the canal from people outside the county. Somehting not right there...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1034 - 08/08/2020 12:19:25    2286852

Replying To Fairplayalways:  "all very well, I live beside the Grand Canal in Offaly, West Offaly to be precise so Edenderry etc. is 50 miles from me or half way to Dublin as we say. I was monitoriing events over the last number of months and of course live yesterday (Friday 7th August)..I was walking by the Grand canal yesterday evening at 6pm, as the 3 county lock down was announced, what struck me yet again was all the campervans, cycists with tents on board, cars and vans with tents on board, were all arriving into my area for yet another weekend, this is ongoing since the pandemic started. I had earphones listening to the news and was struck/bemused the way these "strangers" just can load up every weekend and come down into my area and barbeque, drink and basically have a weekend away!!..its gone to the stage now that they kind of take over areas of the canal and one tends to cross over to the other side rather that walk right by them. To their credit, they are all friendly and say hello and they will chat with you etc...my point is, these people inform me they are from Dublin/Kildare/WIcklow/Meath in the main, they can pack up each weekend, some managed to get here even in the first national lockdown, now there is something wrong with the law if this is permitted. Now people will come on and say why dont you report them, like the fellah drink driving and parking outside the pub years and is never caught, if I see him, the authorities see him, so if you have a pattern, it is fairly obvious and one check can put an end to it rather than throwing the kitchen sink at them etc...some people are either very lucky or know something the rest of us dont..I cant leave my own county now for two weeks, yet I can go walking everyday in my nearby village and see the all the campervans and tents down by the canal from people outside the county. Somehting not right there..."
That's nuts, it just shows you there is 1 law for us and another law for the infected dublin people who are allowed to travel the country to try and infect the rest of us, I'm from west kerry and our place is crawling with dubs and yanks and killarney is the same I believe.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/08/2020 13:45:32    2286861

Hhhmmm I must of missed the part where Dublin didn't go into lockdown last March.

I can't believe 25 counties were forced into lockdown by their cruel Jackeen masters and not a single restriction was put in place in Dublin. Shocking stuff altogether.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 08/08/2020 14:01:29    2286866

Replying To MesAmis:  "Hhhmmm I must of missed the part where Dublin didn't go into lockdown last March.

I can't believe 25 counties were forced into lockdown by their cruel Jackeen masters and not a single restriction was put in place in Dublin. Shocking stuff altogether."
Facts are three counties are now in lockdown with a lower rate per 1000 people than Dublin had in March and April. You want to be a smartass but as you say our Dublin masters are imposing a lockdown on three counties with a Lower rate than was in Dublin.

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1456 - 08/08/2020 15:47:21    2286876

Replying To MesAmis:  "Hhhmmm I must of missed the part where Dublin didn't go into lockdown last March.

I can't believe 25 counties were forced into lockdown by their cruel Jackeen masters and not a single restriction was put in place in Dublin. Shocking stuff altogether."
Some lock down mes ye came out of it with nearly as many cases as ye started with and loads of ye traveling down here for holidays. we got rid of it for a month till ye and the yanks came here.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 08/08/2020 16:18:42    2286879

Replying To jobber:  "Facts are three counties are now in lockdown with a lower rate per 1000 people than Dublin had in March and April. You want to be a smartass but as you say our Dublin masters are imposing a lockdown on three counties with a Lower rate than was in Dublin."
Kildare has 110 COVID cases. Do you think they should ease locked down restrictions there ? What would you do differently to stop COVID?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 08/08/2020 18:11:40    2286885