Boards Forum Restructuring

Replying To KillingFields:  "It's only in the last week the HS forum was brought into question along with the multiple accounts, the out dated forum the quality of the posts and the language used, they are all valid points however I've been thinking.
The covet-19 Pandemic is the real problem, we have no or very, very little International or more importantly national sports, 6 months ago there was heated discussions on here about the possible promotions / demotions in the nfl, there was a postmortum on the mighty Dub's winning 5 in a row, Eire Og getting to the leinster senior football final and then being pipped at the post. It goes to show that sport is our medicine, our anti dote, our vaccine to keep our minds healthy, sport is on its way back, however slowly that may be but its on its way, we will then see the topic on the forum being kicked into touch, the quality of the posts will improve big time, what else is there to talk about if we don't have sport.
Good morning to you all.
PS. Carlow still need a manager, any takers.??
supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2016 - 25/07/2020 09:20:27
its not only in the last week that the forum has been brought into question
it has had very fair criticisms of the site made here and elsewhere for years,

I'd be happy enough with instant posting.
The Internets easy, just ignore the morons and choose who you want to interact with, ignore the rest. People tend to be treated how they treat others. Dont take it all to seriously and have a bit of craic if you can.
Some great GAA posters here i like to interact with, you'd learn a lot and have your thoughts provoked if you are open minded enough. So well done all.
Very little GAA at the moment but thankfully clubs are back this weekend, boss.
TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 3377 - 25/07/2020 10:18:47
instant posting is only one improvement needed. the style of the forum. features on the site all could and should be so much better."
It's only in the last week the HS forum was brought into question along with the multiple accounts, the out dated forum the quality of the posts and the language used etc.

its not only in the last week that the forum has been brought into question
it has had very fair criticisms of the site made here and elsewhere for years,

Yes the forum has been criticised before, and if a new one was installed then so too would it be criticised and the next one and the next and so on, that's life, it's not perfect and won't be, that's life too.

A poster with 3 / 4 / 5 or 6000 posts may very well have 2 or 3 more accounts, likewise a poster with 30 or 40 posts to his credit may very well be a bum steer but he has to start somewhere.
I do agree with not taking it too serious but then again I don't post here that often, and when I do it's more often than not just a general post.

So for those couple of simple pointers I'm able to take it with a pinch of salt as they say, If I didn't I'd probably end up a moron too.
You are correct when you say, the style of the forum, features on the site all could and should be so much better.

supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2907 - 25/07/2020 22:35:06    2285306

Yes the forum has been criticised before, and if a new one was installed then so too would it be criticised and the next one and the next and so on, that's life, it's not perfect and won't be, that's life too.

A poster with 3 / 4 / 5 or 6000 posts may very well have 2 or 3 more accounts, likewise a poster with 30 or 40 posts to his credit may very well be a bum steer but he has to start somewhere.
I do agree with not taking it too serious but then again I don't post here that often, and when I do it's more often than not just a general post.

So for those couple of simple pointers I'm able to take it with a pinch of salt as they say, If I didn't I'd probably end up a moron too.
You are correct when you say, the style of the forum, features on the site all could and should be so much better.
supersub15 (Carlow) - Posts: 2017 - 25/07/2020 22:35:06
yes a new site would likely be criticised but the site now as it is is years out of date. surely posters and forum itself deserves better than that

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3504 - 26/07/2020 12:08:45    2285332

Agree with most things said, its obvious some mods have accounts as id say most people have had posts not going up for trival things.
Biggest issue is posters with a number of accounts which besides being childish is just wrong and really needs stopping.

I feel posters who want to chat seem to get swallowed up in discussions as the Dub/Kerry talk seems to take over with bitterness which stops people joining in.

Red and green thumbs need to be removed again brings nothing to the forum.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 704 - 26/07/2020 12:49:41    2285335

CC2020 (Kilkenny)- disagree with most of your points. I think that you need a new forum just for yourself.. The posts need to be reviewed as currently occurs- look at other sites and read some of the rubbish posted and some of it very insulting to individuals.
Hogan Stand- Keep up the good work and ignore the posters who whinge about the site-guys who think that they know best.

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 26/07/2020 14:19:32    2285342

Agree with most things said, its obvious some mods have accounts as id say most people have had posts not going up for trival things.
Biggest issue is posters with a number of accounts which besides being childish is just wrong and really needs stopping.
I feel posters who want to chat seem to get swallowed up in discussions as the Dub/Kerry talk seems to take over with bitterness which stops people joining in.
Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 502 - 26/07/2020 12:49:41
of course mods should have their own accounts. Thats how any forum works. The mods are as much part of the forum community as any one else. There shouldnt be pre moderation though

disagree with most of your points. I think that you need a new forum just for yourself.. The posts need to be reviewed as currently occurs- look at other sites and read some of the rubbish posted and some of it very insulting to individuals.
Hogan Stand- Keep up the good work and ignore the posters who whinge about the site-guys who think that they know best.
browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2141 - 26/07/2020 14:19:32
The posts shouldnt be reviewed prior to all posts though.
There may be more rubbish posted but there also is greater chance of more people getting involved if there was better chance of more posts being up on site. a greater number of posts etc

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3504 - 26/07/2020 15:34:26    2285346

I'd say leave it as it is. It's a great source of (free!) news the forum is simple to use. If ye ever set up a Patreon account, I'd support.

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 26/07/2020 17:25:56    2285353

Replying To KillingFields:  "Agree with most things said, its obvious some mods have accounts as id say most people have had posts not going up for trival things.
of course mods should have their own accounts. Thats how any forum works. The mods are as much part of the forum community as any one else. There shouldnt be pre moderation though

disagree with most of your points. I think that you need a new forum just for yourself.. The posts need to be reviewed as currently occurs- look at other sites and read some of the rubbish posted and some of it very insulting to individuals.
There may be more rubbish posted but there also is greater chance of more people getting involved if there was better chance of more posts being up on site. a greater number of posts etc"
What kind of daft logic are you applying there ? So you agree there is a greater amount of rubbish but more people would want to get involved allowing for that. Why would you want to get involved with a site where there is more rubbish posted.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 26/07/2020 17:52:38    2285355

Replying To KillingFields:  "Agree with most things said, its obvious some mods have accounts as id say most people have had posts not going up for trival things.

There may be more rubbish posted but there also is greater chance of more people getting involved if there was better chance of more posts being up on site. a greater number of posts etc"
What kind of daft logic are you applying there ? So you agree there is a greater amount of rubbish but more people would want to get involved allowing for that. Why would you want to get involved with a site where there is more rubbish posted.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 26/07/2020 17:52:38    2285356

Faster posting would be the only improvement needed in my opinion. People complaining constantly should go elsewhere. They seem to be members of multiple sites anyway. Not sure where these lads get the time to constantly post on multiple sites while also look to improve the sites they post on.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7887 - 26/07/2020 18:17:09    2285359

Replying To Morty:  "I'd say leave it as it is. It's a great source of (free!) news the forum is simple to use. If ye ever set up a Patreon account, I'd support."
It is very basic and improvements would still mean it is easy to use

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3504 - 26/07/2020 18:28:27    2285362

Replying To catch22:  "

What kind of daft logic are you applying there ? So you agree there is a greater amount of rubbish but more people would want to get involved allowing for that. Why would you want to get involved with a site where there is more rubbish posted."
Binmen.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 26/07/2020 19:27:27    2285369

What kind of daft logic are you applying there ? So you agree there is a greater amount of rubbish but more people would want to get involved allowing for that. Why would you want to get involved with a site where there is more rubbish posted."
Allowing more posts of all kinds would be better than the current situation.
Better forum with improvements to allow easier posting of links and to embed pics and videos into posts would greatly enhance the forum.
Sites that allow more posts will also have far more better quality posts as well. There is good sides to this as well as bad and the good certainly would outweigh the bad

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3504 - 26/07/2020 20:04:04    2285371

Replying To KillingFields:  "
Replying To catch22:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "Agree with most things said, its obvious some mods have accounts as id say most people have had posts not going up for trival things.

Better forum with improvements to allow easier posting of links and to embed pics and videos into posts would greatly enhance the forum.
Sites that allow more posts will also have far more better quality posts as well. There is good sides to this as well as bad and the good certainly would outweigh the bad"]Maybe just filtering out the rubbish would improve the quality and therefore attract more posters with genuine comment and interest.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 27/07/2020 06:32:03    2285402

bring back the thumbs down...

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 27/07/2020 10:58:29    2285425

Maybe just filtering out the rubbish would improve the quality and therefore attract more posters with genuine comment and interest.
catch22 (USA) - Posts: 1398 - 27/07/2020 06:32:03
would it?
Pre moderation hasnt exactly filtered out rubbish posts and hasnt improved quality of a lot of posts has it?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1439 - 27/07/2020 10:58:29
what does that bring to the forum?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3504 - 27/07/2020 11:22:01    2285428

Replying To KillingFields:  "Maybe just filtering out the rubbish would improve the quality and therefore attract more posters with genuine comment and interest.
catch22 (USA) - Posts: 1398 - 27/07/2020 06:32:03
would it?
Pre moderation hasnt exactly filtered out rubbish posts and hasnt improved quality of a lot of posts has it?

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1439 - 27/07/2020 10:58:29
what does that bring to the forum?"
as much as the thumbs up

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 27/07/2020 11:46:16    2285430

Replying To KillingFields:  "[quote=catch22:  "[quote=KillingFields:  "Agree with most things said, its obvious some mods have accounts as id say most people have had posts not going up for trival things.

Sites that allow more posts will also have far more better quality posts as well. There is good sides to this as well as bad and the good certainly would outweigh the bad"]Maybe just filtering out the rubbish would improve the quality and therefore attract more posters with genuine comment and interest."]Filtering out offensive/trolling posts and banning posters with multiple accounts, by verifying username IDs, could be a good start. Might get some new posters involved if there's less abuse and standard of posts improve. There are low numbers of posts and even fewer active posters. I'm puzzled as to why Hoganstand even keep the forums going anymore. They posted here previously that they'd consider closing the forums because of possibly defamatory posts causing legal issues. The Lynn Group are running Hoganstand as a business, ultimately it's their decision.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 27/07/2020 12:16:58    2285436

as much as the thumbs up
wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1440 - 27/07/2020 11:46:16
it doesnt.
the negative down thumbs stops discussion. adding likes is fair and a good thing. negatively ranking posts isnt good

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3504 - 27/07/2020 12:44:15    2285441

Filtering out offensive/trolling posts and banning posters with multiple accounts, by verifying username IDs, could be a good start. Might get some new posters involved if there's less abuse and standard of posts improve. There are low numbers of posts and even fewer active posters. I'm puzzled as to why Hoganstand even keep the forums going anymore. They posted here previously that they'd consider closing the forums because of possibly defamatory posts causing legal issues. The Lynn Group are running Hoganstand as a business, ultimately it's their decision.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 5688 - 27/07/2020 12:16:58
Verifying peoples IDs is a step too far privacy wise. Can you name many forums that dont use pseudonyms?
Better list of rules and updated forum would be better than now.
There is low number of posts and active posters and the current set up is why thats the case

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3504 - 27/07/2020 14:16:29    2285458

Replying To KillingFields:  "Filtering out offensive/trolling posts and banning posters with multiple accounts, by verifying username IDs, could be a good start. Might get some new posters involved if there's less abuse and standard of posts improve. There are low numbers of posts and even fewer active posters. I'm puzzled as to why Hoganstand even keep the forums going anymore. They posted here previously that they'd consider closing the forums because of possibly defamatory posts causing legal issues. The Lynn Group are running Hoganstand as a business, ultimately it's their decision.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 5688 - 27/07/2020 12:16:58
Verifying peoples IDs is a step too far privacy wise. Can you name many forums that dont use pseudonyms?
Better list of rules and updated forum would be better than now.
There is low number of posts and active posters and the current set up is why thats the case"
There's a difference between a site taking your ID and it being displayed on a forum. People can keep their anonymity when posting providing Hoganstand have verified they don't have multiple accounts. Plenty of sites take ID verification to verify a user's age. They don't share the info unless the user opts in to share info for marketing reasons to be contacted by third party.

We have to decide whether we really want to stop users with multiple accounts, to stop trolling and abuse and how we could do that. ID verification is one way. Just my opinion.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7342 - 27/07/2020 14:47:43    2285463