Senior Championship Match Predictions

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Both focused on athletics this year and both were competing in the national finals in Santry at the end of August so only came back to football before the semi final. They were on the bench for the Summerhill game but weren't called upon. Brian Farrell obviously made the decision that Joey would have more of an impact on the game from the start, and he was proven right.

Kells got a lot of frees but for some they only seemed to need to flop to the ground to get them. I think it was Oisin Reilly who swan dived over the ball near the terrace at one point. McGowan's black card in the first half was an absolute joke!

Kells cannot blame the referee. I've seen elsewhere people crying that over the 7 minutes were played but that's ignoring the fact that there were (I think) 3 substitutions and an injury during the 7 minutes which would have resulted in extra time being added on.

Still cannot believe we managed to pull it out of the bag. What a team. Fingers crossed for the double next weekend (if we're allowed to even play the game)."
Not to mention that kells had 16 players on the pitch at one stage - they took off number 14 then changed it to 4 - mad stuff!!
It was a good game in poor conditions and fair play to Ratoath - they never gave up - both teams had their purple patches but Ratoath probably should have scored more
Amazing that championship is over - roll on 2021

Royalblufill (Meath) - Posts: 479 - 05/10/2020 12:41:11    2295775

Fair play to Ratoath, they kept going until the end. They were labelled bottlers for many years on here which was unfair but in the end it's them who are laughing now. And plenty of good minor players coming through too, they could be difficult to dethrone.
Kells I think have only themselves to blame, a commanding lead with minutes to play and they couldn't get their hands on the ball. They made a few subs to kill the time and one where they didn't know who was coming off. It came back to bite them.
It's hard to see them coming back from this and I think their chance of winning keegan with this team is gone.
On another point, did anyone notice the huge crowd in the stands? Surely well over 200 people and it could leave the county board in a spot of bother. All matches now called off for the foreseeable too. Gives the Ratoath boys more time to recover.

Keeks (Louth) - Posts: 146 - 05/10/2020 13:44:34    2295802

Joey Wallace on the GAA Hour Joe.ie podcast. He was very honest almost to a level I was shocked by. Confirms that him and Eamon didn't play all year because they were annoyed with how Davy Byrne was gotten rid of and only came back because he wanted to play with Meath. Incredible by Ratoath to win a championship given the infighting and a credit to Brian Farrell

LeitrimRoyal99 (Meath) - Posts: 1462 - 05/10/2020 16:26:39    2295861

Replying To Keeks:  "Fair play to Ratoath, they kept going until the end. They were labelled bottlers for many years on here which was unfair but in the end it's them who are laughing now. And plenty of good minor players coming through too, they could be difficult to dethrone.
Kells I think have only themselves to blame, a commanding lead with minutes to play and they couldn't get their hands on the ball. They made a few subs to kill the time and one where they didn't know who was coming off. It came back to bite them.
It's hard to see them coming back from this and I think their chance of winning keegan with this team is gone.
On another point, did anyone notice the huge crowd in the stands? Surely well over 200 people and it could leave the county board in a spot of bother. All matches now called off for the foreseeable too. Gives the Ratoath boys more time to recover."
Definitely looked like closer to 500 in the stand, made worse by the fact that the weather was bad so everyone pushed back under the cover. But given the game was on tv, it looked really bad. Surprised more thought wasn't given to this. Opening terrace as well would have been preferable to putting everyone into the stand...

BarneysTie (Meath) - Posts: 258 - 05/10/2020 16:28:52    2295862

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "Both focused on athletics this year and both were competing in the national finals in Santry at the end of August so only came back to football before the semi final. They were on the bench for the Summerhill game but weren't called upon. Brian Farrell obviously made the decision that Joey would have more of an impact on the game from the start, and he was proven right.

Kells got a lot of frees but for some they only seemed to need to flop to the ground to get them. I think it was Oisin Reilly who swan dived over the ball near the terrace at one point. McGowan's black card in the first half was an absolute joke!

Kells cannot blame the referee. I've seen elsewhere people crying that over the 7 minutes were played but that's ignoring the fact that there were (I think) 3 substitutions and an injury during the 7 minutes which would have resulted in extra time being added on.

Still cannot believe we managed to pull it out of the bag. What a team. Fingers crossed for the double next weekend (if we're allowed to even play the game)."
Joey confirmed that they werent happy with management and were sulking?

You dont seem to have a clue what is going on in Ratoath.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 05/10/2020 16:29:47    2295864

Replying To Maestro:  "Joey confirmed that they werent happy with management and were sulking?

You dont seem to have a clue what is going on in Ratoath."
And? I wasn't happy when Davy was removed, not in the slightest. But the club moved on, the Wallaces did too. They both competed in the national athletics finals in August. You can look it up if you like.

Also, I wouldn't exactly be talking about others not having a clue when you came out with the below last year:

When the going gets tough Ratoath go missing, i think you will find is the problem

I'd like to know how silly you feel right know with some of the stuff you came out with. Bet you were licking your lips 7 minutes into injury time yesterday afternoon only to probably turn the TV off in anger. Keegan Cup champions two years in a row :)
And it still kills you.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 05/10/2020 17:06:07    2295871

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "And? I wasn't happy when Davy was removed, not in the slightest. But the club moved on, the Wallaces did too. They both competed in the national athletics finals in August. You can look it up if you like.

Also, I wouldn't exactly be talking about others not having a clue when you came out with the below last year:

When the going gets tough Ratoath go missing, i think you will find is the problem

I'd like to know how silly you feel right know with some of the stuff you came out with. Bet you were licking your lips 7 minutes into injury time yesterday afternoon only to probably turn the TV off in anger. Keegan Cup champions two years in a row :)
And it still kills you."
So the reason they didnt play wasn't because of the athletics and because there were sulking?
They just did the athletics cause they werent playing football just so we are clear, you seemed to be a little confused

They did go missing the previous years and that is a fact.

Maestro (Meath) - Posts: 569 - 05/10/2020 19:25:32    2295904

Replying To Maestro:  "
Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "And? I wasn't happy when Davy was removed, not in the slightest. But the club moved on, the Wallaces did too. They both competed in the national athletics finals in August. You can look it up if you like.

And it still kills you."
So the reason they didnt play wasn't because of the athletics and because there were sulking?
They just did the athletics cause they werent playing football just so we are clear, you seemed to be a little confused

They did go missing the previous years and that is a fact."
Sulking is a stupid description and applys when someone is aggrieved about their own treatment. Their dispute was about the ethos of the club going way off track and how a better structure was needed as manifested in how the previous years winning team and manager were treated.
We dont know all details.
By missing before do you mean when they travelled abroad for specialised training or competed in the American track circuit

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 06/10/2020 00:48:09    2295971

The dogs on the street knew why the wallaces were not playing , why were posters on here saying otherwise?

Ratoath are going to dominate for a few years , young team and will get stronger over the next 3 or 4 years.
Great game to watch considering the conditions

hurlit (Meath) - Posts: 416 - 06/10/2020 09:35:13    2295994

Replying To Royalblufill:  "Not to mention that kells had 16 players on the pitch at one stage - they took off number 14 then changed it to 4 - mad stuff!!
It was a good game in poor conditions and fair play to Ratoath - they never gave up - both teams had their purple patches but Ratoath probably should have scored more
Amazing that championship is over - roll on 2021"
The officials messed that up lad not kells.

Borderroyal (Meath) - Posts: 488 - 06/10/2020 10:07:37    2295997

It was a great game served up by 2 good teams . very honest game. good performance by the referee. As always ref has to take action without getting time to review anything. Video shows the 2 cards received by Ratoath could be removed in appeal. This would better show what a clean game it was except for unavoidable isolated incidents. And hope the injured player recovers quickly.
In these difficult times we all need a tonic. It is a pity that looking at the big picture we cant all go and just enjoy and celebrate the opportunity to have this win or lose. It is a pity that given the gap since Kells last win so much emotion was invested in winning this to lose in for want of a better word a sickening manner. Kells players and supporters were gutted like many runners up over the years. It is the way humans react. It would be great if we could have a mindset where we enjoyed the game then celebrated a win or just moved on from not winning. The minority who complain about how they lost don't mean harm ,it is just a symptom of disappointment, lets let it pass

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 06/10/2020 10:49:09    2296014

Replying To Ashrules:  "It was a great game served up by 2 good teams . very honest game. good performance by the referee. As always ref has to take action without getting time to review anything. Video shows the 2 cards received by Ratoath could be removed in appeal. This would better show what a clean game it was except for unavoidable isolated incidents. And hope the injured player recovers quickly.
In these difficult times we all need a tonic. It is a pity that looking at the big picture we cant all go and just enjoy and celebrate the opportunity to have this win or lose. It is a pity that given the gap since Kells last win so much emotion was invested in winning this to lose in for want of a better word a sickening manner. Kells players and supporters were gutted like many runners up over the years. It is the way humans react. It would be great if we could have a mindset where we enjoyed the game then celebrated a win or just moved on from not winning. The minority who complain about how they lost don't mean harm ,it is just a symptom of disappointment, lets let it pass"
To be fair, the red card was 100% correct. Emmett Boyle definitely didn't mean to connect the way he did, but you can't connect with a player's head like that (knocking them out in the process) and expect not to receive a red card. It was a good decision by Coldrick.
The black card to Gavin McGowan, however, was never a black card.

Ratoath Royal (Meath) - Posts: 1362 - 06/10/2020 11:02:36    2296021

I don't know what tackle lads were watching but McGowan's black card was close to assault, used his legs to take I'm out. 100% correct call.

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 06/10/2020 12:02:13    2296031

Replying To hurlit:  "The dogs on the street knew why the wallaces were not playing , why were posters on here saying otherwise?

Ratoath are going to dominate for a few years , young team and will get stronger over the next 3 or 4 years.
Great game to watch considering the conditions"
Does it raise a possibility that we are looking at the same situation evolving over the next decade that we have already seen at inter-county level with Dublin's dominance?

How are rural senior clubs supposed to compete with the likes of Ratoath who have reaped the rewards of a population boom over the last two decades and will continue to grow in size. I expect other clubs like Ashbourne and St. Colmcilles to also reap these rewards once they get their underage structures performing well.
Traditional superpowers like Skryne, NOM and even more recent forces in Kells and Simonstown may struggle to compete in the not to distant future

LoyalRoyal66 (Meath) - Posts: 82 - 06/10/2020 12:29:33    2296038

Replying To Ratoath Royal:  "To be fair, the red card was 100% correct. Emmett Boyle definitely didn't mean to connect the way he did, but you can't connect with a player's head like that (knocking them out in the process) and expect not to receive a red card. It was a good decision by Coldrick.
The black card to Gavin McGowan, however, was never a black card."
Thought Goldrick had a great game. He was right to give Gavin McGowan a black card. Watch the video closely, he took your man out first whilst leading with his right leg, so technically he tripped the Kells player. Thats why Goldrick is top ref. Look harsh but it was a Black Card

Talking_Sense (Meath) - Posts: 209 - 06/10/2020 12:36:56    2296041

Replying To LoyalRoyal66:  "Does it raise a possibility that we are looking at the same situation evolving over the next decade that we have already seen at inter-county level with Dublin's dominance?

How are rural senior clubs supposed to compete with the likes of Ratoath who have reaped the rewards of a population boom over the last two decades and will continue to grow in size. I expect other clubs like Ashbourne and St. Colmcilles to also reap these rewards once they get their underage structures performing well.
Traditional superpowers like Skryne, NOM and even more recent forces in Kells and Simonstown may struggle to compete in the not to distant future"
Thems the breaks I'm afraid. Not much can be done if these are the areas people want to live because they are close to Dublin. Rural Clubs will just have to keep battling away.

Blackspot09 (Meath) - Posts: 870 - 06/10/2020 13:26:51    2296051

Sulking is a stupid description and applys when someone is aggrieved about their own treatment. Their dispute was about the ethos of the club going way off track and how a better structure was needed as manifested in how the previous years winning team and manager were treated.
We dont know all details.
By missing before do you mean when they travelled abroad for specialised training or competed in the American track circuit
Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 333 - 06/10/2020 00:48:09

Your right we don't know all the details but the facts are it is not about the politics
The players won this as they did last year not Davy or Brian Farrel, they only facilitated it
All the talk about the club being a joke were way over the top , we are made of tougher stuff and we are not the first or won't be the last in the Gaa to have some controversy
So stop mouthing on about the ethos of the club and better structures need
We have had the most successful year in our clubs history
Dispute people like you preaching about "time for change"

head4dblackspot (Meath) - Posts: 513 - 06/10/2020 18:04:42    2296121

Replying To LeitrimRoyal99:  "Joey Wallace on the GAA Hour Joe.ie podcast. He was very honest almost to a level I was shocked by. Confirms that him and Eamon didn't play all year because they were annoyed with how Davy Byrne was gotten rid of and only came back because he wanted to play with Meath. Incredible by Ratoath to win a championship given the infighting and a credit to Brian Farrell"
Where can you find this

Meath32245 (Meath) - Posts: 75 - 06/10/2020 23:32:20    2296174

Replying To Ed2010:  "I don't know what tackle lads were watching but McGowan's black card was close to assault, used his legs to take I'm out. 100% correct call."
Ref had a good game overall but mc gowa s black card was wrong. Red card was for a shoulder that went wrong. Worst incident was Oisin Reilly taking a cheap shot at joey wallaces head. Deliberate attempt to take out a player when not good enough to mark him. Joey was hurt but got up and no card.if ever a red was deserved that was it.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 07/10/2020 00:37:25    2296180

Replying To Ashrules:  "Ref had a good game overall but mc gowa s black card was wrong. Red card was for a shoulder that went wrong. Worst incident was Oisin Reilly taking a cheap shot at joey wallaces head. Deliberate attempt to take out a player when not good enough to mark him. Joey was hurt but got up and no card.if ever a red was deserved that was it."
I was just talking about McGowan's black and he used his legs to take him out. U must not play much

Ed2010 (Meath) - Posts: 93 - 07/10/2020 09:57:27    2296191