All Over Before It Starts?

Replying To TheUsername:  "If we are going to seee another increase in restrictions i expect it to be in Autumn, hopefully not of course, but thats the ripe time, i think it could be a huge pity the GAA made the decision to run the Championship then, but hopefully im wrong."
Had the GAA run inter County during the summer and club in Autumn/Winter the whinging and bad press would have been off the charts when they'd inevitably have to cancel the club championships.

They've decided to play the club now and put the inter-County in the more precarious time of year (where there is a very strong chance that it'll be cancelled) and there was still complaints about not giving the club players their due!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 12/07/2020 19:51:31    2283882

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Worrying news coming out of cork this morning with a club ceasing all activities due to covid. I really hope this is not over before it starts.

The GAA really needs to come out with some clarity."
All those Cork clubs got the all clear today. Better to be safe the sorry was their approach and every club in Ireland needs to do that. This is the new normal and its expected we'll have a few stoppages here and there.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 12/07/2020 19:58:56    2283885

Replying To The_analyser:  "All those Cork clubs got the all clear today. Better to be safe the sorry was their approach and every club in Ireland needs to do that. This is the new normal and its expected we'll have a few stoppages here and there."
That's brilliant

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 12/07/2020 21:35:56    2283889

Replying To MesAmis:  "Had the GAA run inter County during the summer and club in Autumn/Winter the whinging and bad press would have been off the charts when they'd inevitably have to cancel the club championships.

They've decided to play the club now and put the inter-County in the more precarious time of year (where there is a very strong chance that it'll be cancelled) and there was still complaints about not giving the club players their due!"
The only reason the club was put before county was purely down to the fact that if county was being run off now no crowds would be allowed In to watch it, hence no money would be made..It dosent change the fact that in the GAA's eyes the club scene is only a nuisance.. it's all about the cash cow that is inter county..
by handballing the county scene out until October was purely in the hope that crowds would be allowed in at that stage.. the waffle about we're gunna cater for 98% of the playing population 1st doesn't wash unless you came down in the last shower...

mick2007 (Monaghan) - Posts: 449 - 12/07/2020 21:45:25    2283890

Replying To mick2007:  "The only reason the club was put before county was purely down to the fact that if county was being run off now no crowds would be allowed In to watch it, hence no money would be made..It dosent change the fact that in the GAA's eyes the club scene is only a nuisance.. it's all about the cash cow that is inter county..
by handballing the county scene out until October was purely in the hope that crowds would be allowed in at that stage.. the waffle about we're gunna cater for 98% of the playing population 1st doesn't wash unless you came down in the last shower..."
They couldn't win.

If they had played Inter-County first then the narrative would have been all about the club being a nuisance left til the bad weather etc and endless articles about the lost revenue that would leave clubs struggling financially.

Whatever decision they made was going to be unpopular with a good chunk of the association.

They made the best possible one imo, hopefully club championships can be played with the strong possibility that Inter-County won't be played. That's the reality.

"made..It dosent change the fact that in the GAA's eyes the club scene is only a nuisance.. it's all about the cash cow that is inter county.."

That's such a common cliché above but what does it actually mean? Who is getting rich from this cash cow? Why do GAA clubs all over the country have better facilties than the majority of their neighbouring clubs from different sports?

There are of course issues around the club game, particularly fixtures, but to say that the GAA think the club game is a nuisance is clearly nonsense. 99% of GAA activity is the club game!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 12/07/2020 23:20:20    2283897

Replying To mick2007:  "The only reason the club was put before county was purely down to the fact that if county was being run off now no crowds would be allowed In to watch it, hence no money would be made..It dosent change the fact that in the GAA's eyes the club scene is only a nuisance.. it's all about the cash cow that is inter county..
by handballing the county scene out until October was purely in the hope that crowds would be allowed in at that stage.. the waffle about we're gunna cater for 98% of the playing population 1st doesn't wash unless you came down in the last shower..."
Yes we always hear about this "the only reason". No matter what the GAA do, the cynics will always say it is about money. In the unlikely event that the All Ireland championship goes ahead in the autumn/winter there will be damn all money to be made from it with crowd restrictions , reluctance of people to travel, winter games etc. They will do well to break even on it.
The "big bad wolf" called Croke Park is not always out to destroy the game despite what cynics like you think.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 12/07/2020 23:48:06    2283898

makes sense playing club now before country as the majority of club pitches wouldn't be fit to facilitate trainings and matches during the bad weather winter months. And they'd have to be cancelled due to all the weddings that'll have to take place!

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 13/07/2020 10:39:44    2283910

Replying To wd45:  "In all honesty I think there's a massive group of people in this country that are hoping lockdown comes back because it's suits them. They don't go out socialising or add anything to the community. They just go to work and sit in at the weekend. Now that's fine if that's what you want to do but dont be pushing it on everyone else. We should be trying to motivate people to get out and about and get the country back on track. There won't
be much of a country left soon with all this negativity."
In a fairly competitive field, this is up there with one of the most stupid things I've ever read on this forum.
Are parents with young kids part of your paradigm? Both my wife and I work and sit in at the weekend. We'd love to go out, but our kids are under 5.

Selfishness is a horrible thing. Older and vulnerable people should be put at risk just so you can enjoy a pass-time and go on the rip every weekend? Good man.

The economy needs to be re-open granted, but some people are failing to grasp where certain things stand in the priorities list.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 13/07/2020 10:41:49    2283911

Replying To Lockjaw:  "In a fairly competitive field, this is up there with one of the most stupid things I've ever read on this forum.
Are parents with young kids part of your paradigm? Both my wife and I work and sit in at the weekend. We'd love to go out, but our kids are under 5.

Selfishness is a horrible thing. Older and vulnerable people should be put at risk just so you can enjoy a pass-time and go on the rip every weekend? Good man.

The economy needs to be re-open granted, but some people are failing to grasp where certain things stand in the priorities list."
Lockjaw you obviously don't read any of the previous posts. I said in an earlier posts that elderly and vulnerable people should stay at home and be supported. You say go on the rip every weekend, that's is not what I said. The GAA is much more than just a past-time. Its brilliant physically and mentally for everyone who plays but that's just a small part of it, the main bit is the supporters that go to watch the games and the enjoyment it brings to communities all over the country. On another note a lot of people on here about the frontline and how hospitals have been over-run obviously don't read the facts, since the lockdown hospitals have never been as quiet. And before yous start going mental saying how dare I run down the doctors and nurses of this country "IM NOT", the doctors and nurses do an unbelievable job and don't get half enough money for it but facts are facts.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 13/07/2020 12:23:43    2283921

Replying To wd45:  "Lockjaw you obviously don't read any of the previous posts. I said in an earlier posts that elderly and vulnerable people should stay at home and be supported. You say go on the rip every weekend, that's is not what I said. The GAA is much more than just a past-time. Its brilliant physically and mentally for everyone who plays but that's just a small part of it, the main bit is the supporters that go to watch the games and the enjoyment it brings to communities all over the country. On another note a lot of people on here about the frontline and how hospitals have been over-run obviously don't read the facts, since the lockdown hospitals have never been as quiet. And before yous start going mental saying how dare I run down the doctors and nurses of this country "IM NOT", the doctors and nurses do an unbelievable job and don't get half enough money for it but facts are facts."
all the players that have done cruciates, torn tendons/ligaments, broke bones, missed weddings/21st's,holidays,concerts,etc, had games cancelled at short notice for stupid reasons would hardly agree that its 'brilliant' mentally and physically.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 13/07/2020 12:54:58    2283927

Replying To wd45:  "Lockjaw you obviously don't read any of the previous posts. I said in an earlier posts that elderly and vulnerable people should stay at home and be supported. You say go on the rip every weekend, that's is not what I said. The GAA is much more than just a past-time. Its brilliant physically and mentally for everyone who plays but that's just a small part of it, the main bit is the supporters that go to watch the games and the enjoyment it brings to communities all over the country. On another note a lot of people on here about the frontline and how hospitals have been over-run obviously don't read the facts, since the lockdown hospitals have never been as quiet. And before yous start going mental saying how dare I run down the doctors and nurses of this country "IM NOT", the doctors and nurses do an unbelievable job and don't get half enough money for it but facts are facts."
"Everyone that I have talked to that wants to keep the lockdown going are just boring xxxts that do nothing anyway so it suits them."

"In all honesty I think there's a massive group of people in this country that are hoping lockdown comes back because it's suits them. They don't go out socialising or add anything to the community. They just go to work and sit in at the weekend. "

Oh I did read them. With utter disbelief.
No-one "wants" to keep lockdown going. To say that is disingenuous in the extreme. The facts are that some people are scared, and rightly so. My mother is a recovering cancer patient so she is staying in as much as possible. But she still has to get out and do her weekly grocery shopping. She worked for over 40 years, contributing much to the community. But in your little selfish world it's a case of tough s***?

I played gaelic football for nearly 30 years and fully agree with you that it is a fantastic outlet for everyone involved. But you and others need to get real. If contact sports begin to cause a resurgence of the virus then unfortunately the GAA will have to wrap the whole thing up.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 13/07/2020 13:04:44    2283928

You say nobody wants to keep lockdown going, You must not listen to the radio. On RTE radio 1 the other day there was a debate about lockdown and loads of people rang in saying that lockdown had really suited them.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 13/07/2020 13:23:57    2283929

Replying To wd45:  "You say nobody wants to keep lockdown going, You must not listen to the radio. On RTE radio 1 the other day there was a debate about lockdown and loads of people rang in saying that lockdown had really suited them."
all of lockdown suited them or just the bit where they work from home? I'm sure if they were asked did having their kids off school, having to queue outside shops, not being able to travel more than 2km, no amenities, the risk of a painful, life threatening illness suit them, then it wouldn't be a resounding yes.

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 13/07/2020 13:32:39    2283930

Replying To wd45:  "You say nobody wants to keep lockdown going, You must not listen to the radio. On RTE radio 1 the other day there was a debate about lockdown and loads of people rang in saying that lockdown had really suited them."
If they like it, surely there's nothing stopping them keeping it going.

On a personal level, obviously.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 13/07/2020 14:22:56    2283933

Loads of people on the the radio said it is hardly a majority of the country, is it? 8 out of 10 cats prefer Whiskas, allegedly but what about the millions of other cats who couldn't give their opinions because they were busy?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7344 - 13/07/2020 14:29:13    2283935

Replying To wishfulthinkin:  "all the players that have done cruciates, torn tendons/ligaments, broke bones, missed weddings/21st's,holidays,concerts,etc, had games cancelled at short notice for stupid reasons would hardly agree that its 'brilliant' mentally and physically."
You are absolutely right, sure id often here lads say they want to recover from an injury as slowly as possible so they are not forced back onto the hurling field. Most lads who get career ending injuries would tell you what a great relief it was for them to finally have an excuse not to play any GAA again. It's time Croke Park officials were brought before The Hague. Good grief.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 13/07/2020 14:45:01    2283939

This country is in a sad state of affairs if this is the feeling out there.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 13/07/2020 14:55:52    2283941

I call that nonsense. Certain parts of lockdown suited me like being able to work from home. It certainly didn't suit me when my kids walked in asking me to put on Macha and the Bear whilst I was in the middle of an important Webex.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9133 - 13/07/2020 14:57:20    2283942

Well if nobody wants to keep lockdown going why are yous moaning and complaining about GAA starting back up. A lot of mixed messages coming through here.

wd45 (Westmeath) - Posts: 211 - 13/07/2020 15:35:44    2283944

Replying To Soma:  "You are absolutely right, sure id often here lads say they want to recover from an injury as slowly as possible so they are not forced back onto the hurling field. Most lads who get career ending injuries would tell you what a great relief it was for them to finally have an excuse not to play any GAA again. It's time Croke Park officials were brought before The Hague. Good grief."
and ye wouldn't even be taking it that serious over there, what with your cricket and hooliganism..

wishfulthinkin (Cavan) - Posts: 1680 - 13/07/2020 15:41:59    2283945