Championship Open Draw

Replying To Htaem:  "Féckin Green party, we have a few cattle here at home yew_tree, might have to wrap their ársés with cling film if Eamon Ryan and his buddies get their way!!"
Oh they are a total bunch of nutters.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/06/2020 22:22:21    2281483

Replying To sligo joe:  "While it is possibly encouraging that the average age of the Meath team is so young it is not necessarily so. That the average age is 22 certainly suggests that the previous incumbents whose places they have taken were way short of the required standard but there is no guarantee that the new young team will develope into anything better, who knows?"
Oh nobody saying that. There is optimism, young walsh ,campion , Jones , Conlon etc are all very exciting prospects. But that at the moment is all they are, prospects.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/06/2020 22:25:50    2281484

Replying To Htaem:  "Don't think anybody is crying the poor mouth Whammo, I think most of us have consistently said that our problems were mainly caused by poor organisation at County Board level."
Didn't see ANYONE playing poor mouth. Just pointing out the facts. Of which everyone has always said were lead by county board mismanagement.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 21/06/2020 22:27:54    2281485

If it is to be a straight knockout championship this year then it has to be an open draw. I think it would bring great excitement to the football championship. What the country needs is a boost and with an open draw I think the GAA could provide that. Imagine the Dubs heading to Clare or Limerick, or Kerry heading to Derry or Sligo. It would give these counties a huge shot in the arm.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 724 - 22/06/2020 07:29:14    2281488

Replying To royaldunne:  "Oh nobody saying that. There is optimism, young walsh ,campion , Jones , Conlon etc are all very exciting prospects. But that at the moment is all they are, prospects."
We certainly could have the makings of a bright future if those young lads can continue to develop and we can find a few more players to add to the squad.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/06/2020 07:46:36    2281489

Replying To royaldunne:  "Didn't see ANYONE playing poor mouth. Just pointing out the facts. Of which everyone has always said were lead by county board mismanagement."
Fair enough, I got it wrong. I kind of think a bit too much is made of the Dubs into Meath being the cause of the population boom and it doesn't benefit Meath GAA. It's definitely part of it but there still should be a good supply of talent to the county from elsewhere.

It may take a while but you'd hope Meath come again.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4226 - 22/06/2020 09:32:10    2281495

Replying To Whammo86:  "Fair enough, I got it wrong. I kind of think a bit too much is made of the Dubs into Meath being the cause of the population boom and it doesn't benefit Meath GAA. It's definitely part of it but there still should be a good supply of talent to the county from elsewhere.

It may take a while but you'd hope Meath come again."
Good man Whammo, no harm done.

I hope we do come back again soon, it's been a long time now. We've finally addressed our poor championship structure so hopefully that will benefit us, but a lot more than that is needed.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 22/06/2020 10:57:57    2281501

Replying To cuttothebone:  ""Doing better" how? Kildare are the one team that can regularly beat Dublin underage, at senior no team in the country could win a Leinster so you're hardly going to give us stick for that.
It's very easy to win a connacht when every other year your nearest rival must play you at home. 1982 was the last time Dublin played Kildare in Newbridge.
Imagine Mayo playing Galway every year, final, semi final, 1st rd, doesn't matter,in Tuam for 40 odd years? How many connachts would Mayo have now if they did?
Would the likes of Boyle and Moran hang around for as long as they have done in that instance? Not likely.
That is why there is absolutely zero comparisons between teams inside the joke that is the Leinster championship and teams outside.
Before you go and ask why not do better in the league? Well Kildare in fairness are regular visitors to div1 and strong div 2 team but unlike teams outside Leinster our players have zero chance of championship silverware and so, again, player turnover is big problem, (that and UN deployment!)
All of which inevitably leads to a lack of consistency.
I think that should explain it for you."
You should direct your anger at your County Board for not having home championship games v the dubs.

Maybe I was being harsh...also Connacht ain't as easy to win as you think.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 22/06/2020 14:56:27    2281530

There were plenty of teams able to go up to Dublin and beat the Dubs over the years so I can't understand why it's such a problem for Kildare and other Leinster teams to win there. What happens if you get your wish and they play Kildare in Newbridge every year and ye still lose.

I doubt it has anything got to do with Croke park and more to do with the Dubs just being better

Breezy (Limerick) - Posts: 1236 - 22/06/2020 15:26:49    2281535

Replying To ryan:  "If it is to be a straight knockout championship this year then it has to be an open draw. I think it would bring great excitement to the football championship. What the country needs is a boost and with an open draw I think the GAA could provide that. Imagine the Dubs heading to Clare or Limerick, or Kerry heading to Derry or Sligo. It would give these counties a huge shot in the arm."
There are reports of the GPA favouring an open draw if we have a 2020 football championship. One guarantee that won't be proposed is an open draw knock out competition.

The GAA, GPA and all GAA stakeholders including the provinces will always look at the bigger picture. The provinces will look at finances, the stronger counties in some provinces (Kerry for one) will lean significant pressure on their provinical council to block any notion of moving football down the road of an open draw; especially using a straight knock out format. The likes of Kerry won't publicy say it but they know the system has benefited them for decades.

The stronger counties outside Ulster significantly benefit from the current system and within the administration of Ulster, Munster (Hurling) and Leinster their is huge local finance that's hard to see being matched outside the current systems.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 22/06/2020 16:08:27    2281541

Does anyone know when the gaa will announce the plan for this season?

monaghanman99 (Monaghan) - Posts: 49 - 22/06/2020 16:50:40    2281546

Replying To Whammo86:  "Fair enough, I got it wrong. I kind of think a bit too much is made of the Dubs into Meath being the cause of the population boom and it doesn't benefit Meath GAA. It's definitely part of it but there still should be a good supply of talent to the county from elsewhere.

It may take a while but you'd hope Meath come again."
No harm done. Yes it certainly is not a major factor in what happened. We all I think know that the largest part of the blame can be squarely placed at the feet of different cb. There are other factors too of which the population thing is one. But the main one was cb inactions and bad calls.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/06/2020 16:51:41    2281547

Replying To sam1884:  "There are reports of the GPA favouring an open draw if we have a 2020 football championship. One guarantee that won't be proposed is an open draw knock out competition.

The GAA, GPA and all GAA stakeholders including the provinces will always look at the bigger picture. The provinces will look at finances, the stronger counties in some provinces (Kerry for one) will lean significant pressure on their provinical council to block any notion of moving football down the road of an open draw; especially using a straight knock out format. The likes of Kerry won't publicy say it but they know the system has benefited them for decades.

The stronger counties outside Ulster significantly benefit from the current system and within the administration of Ulster, Munster (Hurling) and Leinster their is huge local finance that's hard to see being matched outside the current systems."
Why does everyone point to Kerry when naming a province where one county has an advantage?

Cork are arguably a better side right now than anyone in Leinster outside of Dublin.

cavanman47 (Cavan) - Posts: 5012 - 22/06/2020 16:54:54    2281549

Replying To cavanman47:  "Why does everyone point to Kerry when naming a province where one county has an advantage?

Cork are arguably a better side right now than anyone in Leinster outside of Dublin."
Because it is a convenient explanation for Kerry's success and there are many on here who will not give credit to Kerry under any circumstances. Many other teams have had the same opportunity. Take Mayo, an effectively one code football mad county with a comparable population to Kerry. Galway are in their province but they are no stronger than Cork historically in football. Why have Mayo not won more if the only factor that matters is playing in a smaller province? Not knocking Mayo here at all but they have had an identical opportunity to Kerry over the years from where I am standing but the results are very different.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 22/06/2020 17:31:21    2281552

Replying To cavanman47:  "Why does everyone point to Kerry when naming a province where one county has an advantage?

Cork are arguably a better side right now than anyone in Leinster outside of Dublin."
Just clowns looking for a reaction from kerry folk, very childish.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 705 - 22/06/2020 17:41:18    2281554

Cork is a hurling county; granted they can unearth a strong football team every 20 years which competes for All Irelands. They're currently playing in Div 3 though cavanman47 and the counties priority will always be hurling.

It's not me or other people having a go at Kerry; most other counties would have loved to have Kerry's circumstances over the past 100 years fair play to them; nobody can deny they've had it much easier than football counties competing in other provinces though. They'll be able to compete financially with Dublin and prepare professionally but they'll not want to lose the Provincial system and will fight to maintain it and to be honest you can't blame them.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 22/06/2020 18:05:27    2281556

Replying To sam1884:  "Cork is a hurling county; granted they can unearth a strong football team every 20 years which competes for All Irelands. They're currently playing in Div 3 though cavanman47 and the counties priority will always be hurling.

It's not me or other people having a go at Kerry; most other counties would have loved to have Kerry's circumstances over the past 100 years fair play to them; nobody can deny they've had it much easier than football counties competing in other provinces though. They'll be able to compete financially with Dublin and prepare professionally but they'll not want to lose the Provincial system and will fight to maintain it and to be honest you can't blame them."
Jimbo?

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 22/06/2020 19:18:10    2281563

Replying To ryan:  "If it is to be a straight knockout championship this year then it has to be an open draw. I think it would bring great excitement to the football championship. What the country needs is a boost and with an open draw I think the GAA could provide that. Imagine the Dubs heading to Clare or Limerick, or Kerry heading to Derry or Sligo. It would give these counties a huge shot in the arm."
No, it wouldn't. Dublin will head up to Sligo and batter them by a bigger margin than any county in Connacht could. An open draw championship will still have the same one-sided contests.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 22/06/2020 19:32:47    2281564

Replying To sam1884:  "Cork is a hurling county; granted they can unearth a strong football team every 20 years which competes for All Irelands. They're currently playing in Div 3 though cavanman47 and the counties priority will always be hurling.

It's not me or other people having a go at Kerry; most other counties would have loved to have Kerry's circumstances over the past 100 years fair play to them; nobody can deny they've had it much easier than football counties competing in other provinces though. They'll be able to compete financially with Dublin and prepare professionally but they'll not want to lose the Provincial system and will fight to maintain it and to be honest you can't blame them."
Cork are top of Division 3 and were one more game away from securing promotion. They only lost by 3 points to Kerry last year. The county is big enough to sustain a good football and hurling team.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 738 - 22/06/2020 19:36:52    2281566

Really?? Meath beat cork comfortably last year in cork. And cork were relegated and Meath promoted.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 22/06/2020 21:11:39    2281570