Revised Club Championship

Two Leitrim clowns derailing the forum again. Pity we don't face ye in up coaming championship to give ye an almighty hammering again. Usually quietens ye down for a few months

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1219 - 18/09/2020 13:59:09    2292910

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Two Leitrim clowns derailing the forum again. Pity we don't face ye in up coaming championship to give ye an almighty hammering again. Usually quietens ye down for a few months"
Ah stop it lad it is embarrassing- how many accounts have you?? It is the same message in each one. At least try to disguise it anyway..........It is so cringy that you have this many accounts- grow up my friend

fillzezogs (Roscommon) - Posts: 66 - 18/09/2020 14:20:08    2292914

It is incredible that one person thinks they can rule this forum with their own speel of nonsense. Makes me wonder who is moderating the site, as I have said before one person here has multiple accounts- just look at the number of messages sent from these separate accounts, all seem to be around the same amount?? Plus one disappears for a few days and then magically reapperas to either support another account or have a go at a genuine poster. I do not know why I am being singled out here. I wish the mods would take action against this person.

fillzezogs (Roscommon) - Posts: 66 - 18/09/2020 14:25:00    2292916

Replying To fillzezogs:  "It is incredible that one person thinks they can rule this forum with their own speel of nonsense. Makes me wonder who is moderating the site, as I have said before one person here has multiple accounts- just look at the number of messages sent from these separate accounts, all seem to be around the same amount?? Plus one disappears for a few days and then magically reapperas to either support another account or have a go at a genuine poster. I do not know why I am being singled out here. I wish the mods would take action against this person."
Really what are you on about. Your embarrassing yourself. Are you that despaerte that you want to mess around with ridiculous commentary on this forum which is way off topic and doesn't even involve your county. Let a good man, jog on.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1159 - 19/09/2020 14:08:37    2293027

Well done to Oran, if one team deserved senior football in recent years it was them. They nearly lost it in extra time though when that injury time penalty for Doms looked to have won it. Apart from a good goal chance for Doms it was one way traffic in extra time and Oran in the end won pulling up. Fitting their 2nd goal was scored by one of their longest serving players.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4125 - 19/09/2020 18:27:29    2293057

Definitely think over the whole of normal time Oran deserved to win it but that was an incredibly soft free given at the end. Saying that though what a strike from Charlie Carthy. Especially when you remember he missed a free to win the final last year. A lot of balls to step up again for such a young man

jimmy11 (Roscommon) - Posts: 20 - 19/09/2020 22:09:02    2293092

Congrats to Oran if anyone deserved a county title it's them lads.
I don't like giving out about my own club man but the ref was not good. If Oran lost because of that penalty they could feel very hard done by. Shocking decision I do not know what Aaron was at. He never let the game flow either

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 793 - 20/09/2020 00:16:41    2293111

Best of luck to all teams this weekend. Great weather for football

whatarewewatching (Roscommon) - Posts: 36 - 20/09/2020 13:48:48    2293172

Congrats to Oran.

1st half it looked good for Dominics, 1 point ahead with the wind advantage to come. Credit to Oran though they rolled up the sleeves and managed to avoid defeat in normal time as they deserve. I thought the penalty late on for Dominics looked dodgy as did the free for Oran that Charlie Carty superbly converted.

Extra time Oran took over to finally land the Jimmy Murray Cup after a 23 year wait. Paul Kenny, Cathal Kenny, Tom featherston was some of their stand out players. D Donnelly was best for Dominics followed by Jack Lohan.

In the junior A championship all semi finalists will be B teams. Pearses just about edged Joe's in extra time. Clann had a easy win against Roscommon Gaels, Brigids won with the last kick of the game and Western Gaels 1 score winners over Michaels.

It's looking like Brigids v Clann final.

Looking forward to the senior final at 3pm. Hopefully it's a good game. One side note, well done to Hugh Lynn on delivering a excellent 80 page county program once again.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 20/09/2020 14:16:27    2293179

Replying To Ros13:  "Can we stick to the football please???

Senior Final
Tight game which could go either way, I have a feeling Brigids might just sneak it.

Intermediate Final
Can Oran finally go one better? Dominics have looked good thus year, should be a good game and I'm going to go with an Oran win by 3 points.

Junior Quarter Finals
Pearses B vs Josephs - I would expect Pearses to have enough to cover Josephs, 6/7 points.

Brigids B vs Kilglass - 2 of the pre season favourites but Kilglass only won one of their 3 group games. A close win for a young Brigids team.

Clann B vs Ros Gaels B - Clann have looked good at junior this year and would expect them to win this by 5+.

Western Gaels B vs Michaels - Bets draw Michaels could have gotten, I think they'll win by 4 or 5.

Bets of luck to all involved this weekend."
Great win for Western Gaels, proved your prediction wrong. Four "B" teams in the semis now, not a great reflection on the first teams in the championship. Western Gaels probably the team everyone will write off but they have a right good side and will give it a hell of a shot

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 20/09/2020 14:17:07    2293180

Brigids very impressive winners. Without doubt the best team in this years county senior championship and by far the best managed team where the best is got out of their players so well done to Benny O'Brien and his management.

Pearses very disappointing today, couldn't get into the game at all or was allowed against a Brigids team that defended so well. Ended their famine last year and fell at the final hurdle this afternoon, they will be back again next year looking to regain the Fahy cup.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4125 - 20/09/2020 16:46:52    2293209

Will take a very good team to beat Clann in the junior championship. A lot of players on that team who could still be playing senior championship

jimmy11 (Roscommon) - Posts: 20 - 20/09/2020 17:09:21    2293219

Well done Brigids, some future ahead for their 17 to 20 year olds. Wasn't the best of finals with Pearses so poor but Brigids are a joy to watch in full flow.

Their defence was superb with Domican, R Stack, P Frost, P McGrath standing out. Midfield pairing of B Stack,E Nolan was far too good for Pearses whom have no natural midfielders. Sugrue, Derwin, O Carroll, Fallon caused the Pearses defence all type of problems and their bench options offered more of impact. They certainly deserved to win by 6 points and could have won by more.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 20/09/2020 17:13:38    2293220

Two contrasting finals yesterday and today but one common denominator. The teams that wanted to play football and did won both matches.

Dominics got off to a similar start as they did in their semi and got a lead against the breeze playing football on the break getting men behind the ball. When Oran clicked into gear in 2nd half looked only one winner as Dominics had no fire power up front to match Oran. Two dubious decisions for a free and penalty when it looked like the player dived on both occasions gave Dominics an unlikely lead and all but victory. Kudos to Oran who won the kick-out and got it up to get a free. When Walsh hit the post it looked like Oran's luck had run out again but credit to CC for kicking that softly awarded free to banish the ghost of last year and in ET there was only one winner.

Credit to both sides for an exciting game.

Today's final was dour stuff in first half and Pearses were very disappointing and the hunger from last year which was lacking all year came home to roost. Anthony Cunningham would have been delighted with Eddie Nolan's form but equally as disappointed with Hubert Darcy's current form and Paul Carey is a pale shadow of player he was last year. while their young stars will grab the headlines it's the older guard of Domican and two Stacks and Sheehy who were excellent also for winners and it's hard to believe Ronan Stack is still only 29. Bridgids will kick on from this as the subs they introduced all contributed and all young. I would imagine Clan will be sick tonight as no doubt they would have proven a sterner test for Bridgids than Pearses.

Coverage of both games on Beo Sport was excellent and pitch looked in great condition on both days so credit to all involved. It's likely to be a Brids v Clan Junior A final which hopefully can be played off fairly quickly over next two weeks as the number of matches around country cancelled this weekend due to positive cases was worrying.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 282 - 20/09/2020 19:12:18    2293235

Bitterly disappointing today for us but i will be the first to admit we were beaten by a better team.

Scary how good those young lads are and how brave they were. Full credit to brigids my fear is now that no one will win a senior title for the next 7 or 8 years. Amazing talent.

Think it's time for us to throw out those tactics and if we don't compete for the next 3 or 4 years so be it let's play proper football

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 793 - 20/09/2020 20:42:51    2293260

My team of the senior championship

1. Paul Whelan (Pearses) not many stand out keepers but a much improved Whelan barely put a foot wrong.

2. Pearse Frost (Brigids) a very solid championship by the 19 year old

3. Peter Domican (Brigids) really showed top form in both the semi and final

4. Aidan Dowd (Western Gaels) his team may have made an early exit but Aidan stood out in all of their games

5. Paul McGrath (Brigids) a few days short of his 20th birthday and very good championship for Paul.

6. Ronan Daly (Pearses) like the rest of his team mates not the best of final performance but he was the stand out player for Pearses and one of the best performers of the championship.

7. Fergal Lennon (Clann) good to see him back after a long injury lay off and in top form

8. Eddie Nolan (Brigids) really impressive championship for Eddie, County management will have taken note to how well he played.

9. Cathal Shine (Clann) Cathal was back to his best in this championship

10. Ruaidhri Fallon (Brigids) a fine championship by a lad that is still only 17

11. Brian Stack (Brigids) Mr consistent for Brigids and very good in the semi final and in todays final

12. Tomas O'Rourke (Tulsk) played in a huge part in keeping Tulsk up, hopefully U20 county managment give him more game time next year

13. Brian Derwin (Brigids) finished top scorer with 2-24. For some odd reason his starts for the county U20 team was rare.

14. Ciaran Lennon ( Clann) a very good championship for Ciaran and just 2points off finishing top scorer.

15. Ben O'Carroll (Brigids) superb senior debut championship by the 17 year old

My Intermediate team of the championship

1. Paul Brandon ( Oran) again not many stand out keepers here but Paul was the best in this grade for me.

2. John Martin (Oran) good championship for the county U20 player

3. Colm Walsh (Oran) strong and composed and good championship by the teenager

4. Brendan O'Meara (Dominics) good defender and good player to drive his team forward

5. Jack Lohan (Dominics) great engine defended and attacked well for his side

6. Tom Featherson (Oran) played a captains role in his teams county success and showed great leadership

7. Kevin Farrell ( Faithleachs) One of Faithleachs most consistent performers

8. Keith Doyle (Dominics) a huge loss in the final through injury. The stand out midfielder for me at that grade.

9. Enda Crawley (Eire Og) his club crashed out but this former county minor players was most impressive in all games

10. Conor Devaney (Kilbride) played on struggling team but Conor finished top scorer. Good to see him back on top form after his long term injury.

11. Darren Donnelly (Dominics) lost the final but he was their best performer top

12. Daire Keenan (Dominics) very talented U20 county player, scored freely and scored some superb scores from play

13. Darragh Walsh (Oran) 0-34 for Darragh a hugely talented 20 year old who will surely get a call up to the senior county panel sooner than later.

14. Conor Fallon (Dominics) 40 years young and still scoring for fun in this grade.

15. Cathal Kenny (Oran) Mr versatile a forward or a defender i couldn't leave him out. Huge boost to Oran that he return home from Melbourne.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4125 - 20/09/2020 23:36:08    2293316

I know its easy talk in hindsight but PPs were not that impressive coming into the final. Their semifinal game showed Clan had more potential and should have won. And I can see next year being more of Brigids v Clan at the top. Congratulations to Brigids. What a performance ! What prospects for the future ! What a club ! Raising the bar once again, the county teams stand to benefit.

michael (Cork) - Posts: 381 - 21/09/2020 00:32:03    2293324

Replying To The_analyser:  "My team of the senior championship

1. Paul Whelan (Pearses) not many stand out keepers but a much improved Whelan barely put a foot wrong.

2. Pearse Frost (Brigids) a very solid championship by the 19 year old

3. Peter Domican (Brigids) really showed top form in both the semi and final

4. Aidan Dowd (Western Gaels) his team may have made an early exit but Aidan stood out in all of their games

5. Paul McGrath (Brigids) a few days short of his 20th birthday and very good championship for Paul.

6. Ronan Daly (Pearses) like the rest of his team mates not the best of final performance but he was the stand out player for Pearses and one of the best performers of the championship.

7. Fergal Lennon (Clann) good to see him back after a long injury lay off and in top form

8. Eddie Nolan (Brigids) really impressive championship for Eddie, County management will have taken note to how well he played.

9. Cathal Shine (Clann) Cathal was back to his best in this championship

10. Ruaidhri Fallon (Brigids) a fine championship by a lad that is still only 17

11. Brian Stack (Brigids) Mr consistent for Brigids and very good in the semi final and in todays final

12. Tomas O'Rourke (Tulsk) played in a huge part in keeping Tulsk up, hopefully U20 county managment give him more game time next year

13. Brian Derwin (Brigids) finished top scorer with 2-24. For some odd reason his starts for the county U20 team was rare.

14. Ciaran Lennon ( Clann) a very good championship for Ciaran and just 2points off finishing top scorer.

15. Ben O'Carroll (Brigids) superb senior debut championship by the 17 year old

My Intermediate team of the championship

1. Paul Brandon ( Oran) again not many stand out keepers here but Paul was the best in this grade for me.

2. John Martin (Oran) good championship for the county U20 player

3. Colm Walsh (Oran) strong and composed and good championship by the teenager

4. Brendan O'Meara (Dominics) good defender and good player to drive his team forward

5. Jack Lohan (Dominics) great engine defended and attacked well for his side

6. Tom Featherson (Oran) played a captains role in his teams county success and showed great leadership

7. Kevin Farrell ( Faithleachs) One of Faithleachs most consistent performers

8. Keith Doyle (Dominics) a huge loss in the final through injury. The stand out midfielder for me at that grade.

9. Enda Crawley (Eire Og) his club crashed out but this former county minor players was most impressive in all games

10. Conor Devaney (Kilbride) played on struggling team but Conor finished top scorer. Good to see him back on top form after his long term injury.

11. Darren Donnelly (Dominics) lost the final but he was their best performer top

12. Daire Keenan (Dominics) very talented U20 county player, scored freely and scored some superb scores from play

13. Darragh Walsh (Oran) 0-34 for Darragh a hugely talented 20 year old who will surely get a call up to the senior county panel sooner than later.

14. Conor Fallon (Dominics) 40 years young and still scoring for fun in this grade.

15. Cathal Kenny (Oran) Mr versatile a forward or a defender i couldn't leave him out. Huge boost to Oran that he return home from Melbourne."
Cathal Kenny one player i would be getting in on the roscommon panel tbh.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 793 - 21/09/2020 11:35:18    2293370

5 in a row minor titles wrapped up in very impressive fashion by St Brigids this afternoon. 3-16 to 0-3 against Pearses. Senior player Ben O'Carroll with 2-8. Just have to tip your hat to such a well run club.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 26/09/2020 17:38:48    2294190

Well done to Padraig Pearses on regaining the senior hurling title. Daniel Glynn with a huge contribution with 0-16. Three years ago he scored 0-15 in the final.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4125 - 27/09/2020 16:55:33    2294312