Best Game Ever?

Replying To Eddie the Exile:  "Kerry losing is the 7th and the most important ingredient for a classic. Watching the team with the best record in the game getting toppled adds to the drama for sure"
Ha!

I think if the underdog prevails in a classic it adds a little spice to proceedings.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 16/04/2020 21:53:59    2276132

Against us everyone of ye will always be underdogs no matter how much money and advantages the GAA has to give some perennial underachievers to make their record a bit more respectable :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/04/2020 00:05:08    2276140

Replying To TheHermit:  "Against us everyone of ye will always be underdogs no matter how much money and advantages the GAA has to give some perennial underachievers to make their record a bit more respectable :D"
Kerry are now underdogs against Dublin like everyone else, irrespective of the deep pockets of the Kerry Group ;) It has been a long time since anyone has beaten Dublin in the championship.

For me, Mayo v Dublin in 2006 or Galway v Kilkenny 2005 would be my personal favourites. Limerick v Offaly 1994 had a dramatic ending but was one-way traffic for 65 minutes or so.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 17/04/2020 10:56:29    2276148

In terms of best games I've seen on TV/attended:

Dublin v Mayo 2017
Dublin v Mayo 2015 (draw and replay)
Dublin v Mayo 2006
Dublin v Tyrone 2005 (draw and replay)
Dublin v Kerry 2007
Dublin v Kerry 2013
Dublin v Kerry 2016
Dublin v Armagh 2002
Armagh v Tyrone 2005
Tyrone v Kerry 2005
Kerry v Mayo 2014 (replay)
Kerry v Galway 2008
Donegal v Kildare 2011

And I'm sure many, many more.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 17/04/2020 12:09:16    2276156

Best game of hurling I have seen is the 04 Munster final Waterford vs Cork it had everything good about the game of hurling.

The best of game of football I have seen is either the 05 all Ireland final Tyrone vs Kerry or the 2014 all Ireland semi-final replay Kerry vs Mayo.

Best game of hurling I seen involving Limerick the 2018 final would be too easy to pick, either the 07 1st replay vs Tipperary in Thurlas I still remember Richie Bennis squaring up to John Leahy on the line over a line-ball it was priceless and my heart nearly came out my chest when Shaughs stood over the last minute 65 in extra time to draw the match or the 2018 all Ireland semi-final vs Cork. The 2011 u21 Munster final vs Cork deserves a mention too.

Best game of football involving Limerick I have seen is either the all Ireland quailifer vs Wexford in 2011 and yes Ian Ryan's last minute free was definitely a point or the 2017 u21 Munster championship game vs Tipperary, Robert Childs equalizing point in the 7th minute of injury time to go to extra time was worth the admission fee alone.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 17/04/2020 12:24:36    2276158

Great hurling games that stand out

Cork v Waterford 2004
Wexford v Kilkenny 2004
Cork v Wexford 2003 (draw)
Tipperary v Kilkenny 2009
Kilkenny v Galway 2005
Tipperary v Kilkenny 2014 (draw)
Clare v Cork 2013 (draw and replay)
Clare v Galway 2018 (draw)
Limerick v Cork 2018
Waterford v Cork 2017
Tipperary v Galway 2017
Tipperary v Galway 2015
Dublin v Galway 2019
Dublin v Kilkenny 2018
Dublin v Kilkenny 2013 (draw and replay)

And again many, many more!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 17/04/2020 13:24:18    2276164

Watched Offaly and Clare last night. Great game. I my opinion, it is better than anything in the last 20 years. It is the sport that I used to love. Great physical battles, ground hurling, first time hurling and best of all - no rucks. Corks short handpassing game, Cody's insisting half forwards win their own ball and a host of other counties playing sweeper has changed the game. Not for the better in my opinion. Rucks and lack of first time hurling are not changes for the better. Football is now the better sport. Dublin are a joy to watch...they have had some epic battles with Kerry and Mayo. Great viewing. Roscommon v Armagh from a few years ago was mentioned. As a fixture (qualifier round 4), it probably doesn't have the significance to be in the greatest game of all time category, but it was a cracking game that stands out for me.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 17/04/2020 14:25:23    2276166

Football is now the better sport.
bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3753 - 17/04/2020 14:25:23 2276166

With all due respect, you're talking nonsense.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 17/04/2020 14:41:07    2276168

Replying To bennybunny:  "Watched Offaly and Clare last night. Great game. I my opinion, it is better than anything in the last 20 years. It is the sport that I used to love. Great physical battles, ground hurling, first time hurling and best of all - no rucks. Corks short handpassing game, Cody's insisting half forwards win their own ball and a host of other counties playing sweeper has changed the game. Not for the better in my opinion. Rucks and lack of first time hurling are not changes for the better. Football is now the better sport. Dublin are a joy to watch...they have had some epic battles with Kerry and Mayo. Great viewing. Roscommon v Armagh from a few years ago was mentioned. As a fixture (qualifier round 4), it probably doesn't have the significance to be in the greatest game of all time category, but it was a cracking game that stands out for me."
I thought the level of defending was extremely high in the 95 final. Both sets of backs excellent with every score hard got. Kevin Kinahan gave an exhibition of full back play as did Brian Lohan.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 508 - 17/04/2020 17:57:29    2276176

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Football is now the better sport.

With all due respect, you're talking nonsense."
Without all due respect, I was offering my opinion and given that more people watch it and play it, that opinion is worth far more than your glib criticism is the same. One of the reasons why I don't care much for inter County hurling is the tactics that your county introduced. It has ruined it for me. That is how I feel. I still watch games but rarely attend and really don't care who wins the All Ireland these days. Plenty of people still love the game, the spectacle. You might be one of them. Fair play if so. You continue to enjoy it. I will continue to enjoy the football championship like many more others.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 17/04/2020 19:39:56    2276184

Replying To bennybunny:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Football is now the better sport.

With all due respect, you're talking nonsense."
Without all due respect, I was offering my opinion and given that more people watch it and play it, that opinion is worth far more than your glib criticism is the same. One of the reasons why I don't care much for inter County hurling is the tactics that your county introduced. It has ruined it for me. That is how I feel. I still watch games but rarely attend and really don't care who wins the All Ireland these days. Plenty of people still love the game, the spectacle. You might be one of them. Fair play if so. You continue to enjoy it. I will continue to enjoy the football championship like many more others."
Maybe you miss the faces and characters Benny? The helmets havent helped. Struggling to agree with you otherwise.

I could write a long list of great hurling games since 95.

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 17/04/2020 22:19:38    2276191

Replying To bennybunny:  "Watched Offaly and Clare last night. Great game. I my opinion, it is better than anything in the last 20 years. It is the sport that I used to love. Great physical battles, ground hurling, first time hurling and best of all - no rucks. Corks short handpassing game, Cody's insisting half forwards win their own ball and a host of other counties playing sweeper has changed the game. Not for the better in my opinion. Rucks and lack of first time hurling are not changes for the better. Football is now the better sport. Dublin are a joy to watch...they have had some epic battles with Kerry and Mayo. Great viewing. Roscommon v Armagh from a few years ago was mentioned. As a fixture (qualifier round 4), it probably doesn't have the significance to be in the greatest game of all time category, but it was a cracking game that stands out for me."
Agree on the rucks blighting the modern game but have totally the opposite opinion on the Offaly Clare game in 1995. Having watched it the other night, with a few notable exceptions such as the performances of the peerless Brian Lohan and Kevin Kinahan for Offaly, I thought the standard was quite poor. The shooting of both sets of forwards was quite atrocious. John Troy, whom I've always rated highly, must have had his worst game ever in an Offaly jersey. The Sparrow and Jamsie O Connor had some awful wides. It seemed to me a game that neither side knew how to win. Offaly had the experience but lacked the scoring power. Clare were very raw and should have been blown away and it summed it up I thought that it took a goalkeeping error to give them just enough momentum to go on to win it.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 17/04/2020 23:25:26    2276193

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "Agree on the rucks blighting the modern game but have totally the opposite opinion on the Offaly Clare game in 1995. Having watched it the other night, with a few notable exceptions such as the performances of the peerless Brian Lohan and Kevin Kinahan for Offaly, I thought the standard was quite poor. The shooting of both sets of forwards was quite atrocious. John Troy, whom I've always rated highly, must have had his worst game ever in an Offaly jersey. The Sparrow and Jamsie O Connor had some awful wides. It seemed to me a game that neither side knew how to win. Offaly had the experience but lacked the scoring power. Clare were very raw and should have been blown away and it summed it up I thought that it took a goalkeeping error to give them just enough momentum to go on to win it."
Yes but their backs still contained an Offaly forward line that had more than held its own with the best defences in the country around that time. Remember they destroyed Kilkenny in that years Leinster Final. In passing I thought Fergal Tuohy was absolutely brilliant that day and scored four fine points from play. He was definitely one forward who was winning and hitting great ball.

Oldertourman (Limerick) - Posts: 162 - 18/04/2020 09:50:17    2276196

Replying To MesAmis:  "Great hurling games that stand out

Cork v Waterford 2004
Wexford v Kilkenny 2004
Cork v Wexford 2003 (draw)
Tipperary v Kilkenny 2009
Kilkenny v Galway 2005
Tipperary v Kilkenny 2014 (draw)
Clare v Cork 2013 (draw and replay)
Clare v Galway 2018 (draw)
Limerick v Cork 2018
Waterford v Cork 2017
Tipperary v Galway 2017
Tipperary v Galway 2015
Dublin v Galway 2019
Dublin v Kilkenny 2018
Dublin v Kilkenny 2013 (draw and replay)

And again many, many more!"
All great games. One that is always overlooked is the '93 Leinster Final drawn match between Kilkenny and Wexford felt like the ball never stopped moving or hitting the ground.

gatha (Kilkenny) - Posts: 318 - 18/04/2020 13:13:34    2276213

Jaysus, spoilt for choice. Id subdivide based on excitement, skill and competitiveness.

The four games against Meath in 1991, were all epic, hugely competitive and excitement some great memories - less said about the fourth one the better. It was the old Croker to and all the nostalgia that brings.

2011, was an incredible occasion, simply incredible, life time memories, certainly one of the most memorable and emotional. Have great memories of the quarter in the rain against Tyrone to.

5 in a row this year was just an incredible occasion, less about the game and ore the occasion really, different from 2011, as we were well established and less surprised but all the outlet of emotion and achievement - id highly recommend it if your county is thinking of it! ;)

Games themselves, skill wise and for excitement the semi in 13 was a brilliant game, Gooch, Connolly and Brogan all hitting super human levels of skills and the drama, competitiveness of it. Brutal defending all round though.

The final in 17, is probably in with the strongest shout, for me that was the only game of the recent era i thought we were going to loose, Mayo the only team to get close to our level once we appexed, the only team to really put a glove on us and that day they were at their best and up for it. I still dont know how we won that game. For all of my little subsets above and the balance of how each team defended and attacked as a purest, i think that might just sneak it.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 18/04/2020 14:31:38    2276216

One of the reasons why I don't care much for inter County hurling is the tactics that your county [Kilkenny] introduced. It has ruined it for me.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3754 - 17/04/2020 19:39:56

Kilkenny ruined hurling?
Do you hear that Henry Shefflin, J. J. Delaney, Tommy Walsh, Michael Kavanagh, Jackie Tyrrell, Michael Fennelly, T. J. Reid, et al. Benny from Cork says youse all ruined hurling. Shame on you all.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2460 - 18/04/2020 15:08:53    2276217

Watched it as well. It was a lot different to my memories of watching the game at the time. While it was a tight game and the occasion was huge with Clare ending the drought, I'd disagree strongly that it was better than anything we've seen in the last 20 years.
Ground hurling is grand apart from the fact that most of the pulls are aimless and go straight to an opposition player. There was a lot of that on show.
As has been mentioned, some of the shooting was very poor too. Players struggled to pick the ball often under no pressure and the skill levels were a long way off what we're used to today.
This isn't a dig at either team. It was a game of its era and a very good one at that.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 18/04/2020 15:14:22    2276219

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "One of the reasons why I don't care much for inter County hurling is the tactics that your county [Kilkenny
introduced. It has ruined it for me.

Kilkenny ruined hurling?
Do you hear that Henry Shefflin, J. J. Delaney, Tommy Walsh, Michael Kavanagh, Jackie Tyrrell, Michael Fennelly, T. J. Reid, et al. Benny from Cork says youse all ruined hurling. Shame on you all."]There not real rebels though in all fairness.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/04/2020 17:09:50    2276227

Replying To catch22:  "
Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "One of the reasons why I don't care much for inter County hurling is the tactics that your county [Kilkenny

Kilkenny ruined hurling?
Do you hear that Henry Shefflin, J. J. Delaney, Tommy Walsh, Michael Kavanagh, Jackie Tyrrell, Michael Fennelly, T. J. Reid, et al. Benny from Cork says youse all ruined hurling. Shame on you all."
There not real rebels though in all fairness."]Talking of Kilkenny. Considering the conditions in which the game was played i thought the Kilkenny/ Limerick semi final was some game, even if my team came off second best.

Oldertourman (Limerick) - Posts: 162 - 18/04/2020 19:11:28    2276231

Replying To Oldertourman:  "
Replying To catch22:  "[quote=Cockney_Cat:  "One of the reasons why I don't care much for inter County hurling is the tactics that your county [Kilkenny

Kilkenny ruined hurling?
Do you hear that Henry Shefflin, J. J. Delaney, Tommy Walsh, Michael Kavanagh, Jackie Tyrrell, Michael Fennelly, T. J. Reid, et al. Benny from Cork says youse all ruined hurling. Shame on you all."
There not real rebels though in all fairness."]Talking of Kilkenny. Considering the conditions in which the game was played i thought the Kilkenny/ Limerick semi final was some game, even if my team came off second best."]Aye, ''twas a mighty game alright. I was sure Limerick were going to do the back to back.
Tis a tough ask though.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 18/04/2020 20:25:17    2276235