Laochra Gael Tnag

Watched Iggy Clarkes Laochra gael tonight , very good watch following on some other very good ones recently on Kieran Donaghy & Diarmuid Lyng .
We own TNaG a great debt for these great shows they have consistently made over the past 10-15 years , they have given huge promotion of gaelic games with all their coverage far better than the more resourced national main stations.

OpenStand (Limerick) - Posts: 672 - 26/03/2020 22:28:49    2274791

Replying To OpenStand:  "Watched Iggy Clarkes Laochra gael tonight , very good watch following on some other very good ones recently on Kieran Donaghy & Diarmuid Lyng .
We own TNaG a great debt for these great shows they have consistently made over the past 10-15 years , they have given huge promotion of gaelic games with all their coverage far better than the more resourced national main stations."
100%, fair play to TG4.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/03/2020 08:42:36    2274801

I thought David Brady came across very well tonight.
I know he is not everyone's cup of tea and he comes out with some cringeworthy stuff in the media but he has his opinions and says what he thinks.

He was far from the greatest footballer but as he said himself always left everything on the field for Mayo and was very effective for us.

It was some justice he got an all Ireland medal with Ballina but he does not seem to be haunted by all Ireland defeats with Mayo. His philosophy on the GAA and what it's about is spot on.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 02/04/2020 23:00:42    2275236

Replying To yew_tree:  "I thought David Brady came across very well tonight.
I know he is not everyone's cup of tea and he comes out with some cringeworthy stuff in the media but he has his opinions and says what he thinks.

He was far from the greatest footballer but as he said himself always left everything on the field for Mayo and was very effective for us.

It was some justice he got an all Ireland medal with Ballina but he does not seem to be haunted by all Ireland defeats with Mayo. His philosophy on the GAA and what it's about is spot on."
Fair play to him but he spent most of his latter years on the bench; never a stand out player, I mean even in the battle of the hill game he didnt start, he was brought in when the game s were over.
A great man for Ballina but for me he was average enough.

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 396 - 03/04/2020 05:37:43    2275243

Replying To OpenStand:  "Watched Iggy Clarkes Laochra gael tonight , very good watch following on some other very good ones recently on Kieran Donaghy & Diarmuid Lyng .
We own TNaG a great debt for these great shows they have consistently made over the past 10-15 years , they have given huge promotion of gaelic games with all their coverage far better than the more resourced national main stations."
Couldn't agree more.

DUALSUPPORT (Limerick) - Posts: 1038 - 03/04/2020 10:50:37    2275248

*TG4 - at least owe them enough to call them by their correct ainm

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 03/04/2020 10:51:49    2275249

Replying To The_DOC:  "*TG4 - at least owe them enough to call them by their correct ainm"
Indeed. It's a bit since they changed.

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 03/04/2020 13:00:59    2275255

Replying To yew_tree:  "I thought David Brady came across very well tonight.

It was some justice he got an all Ireland medal with Ballina but he does not seem to be haunted by all Ireland defeats with Mayo. His philosophy on the GAA and what it's about is spot on."
It was a very good show yew-tree, he's very straight forward says what he thinks and people can take it or leave it.

It's hard not to like someone like that.

Hon the Brady.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/04/2020 13:52:48    2275264

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Fair play to him but he spent most of his latter years on the bench; never a stand out player, I mean even in the battle of the hill game he didnt start, he was brought in when the game s were over.
A great man for Ballina but for me he was average enough."
David Brady never let Mayo down and played quite well in the All-Ireland final defeats he took part in.

If he was left out, it was largely due to some poor management decisions and injuries. The decision to leave him out in 2004 was especially ill-considered as his replacement (inexplicably) played as a goalie for his club at the time. Brady was sent on after 25 mins but the damage was done by then.

Glad that he has at least an NFL and club All-Ireland medal, as well as several county and provincial medals.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 03/04/2020 14:48:45    2275268

Laochra Gael is a fantastic program which is well produced and gives great insight and generally showcases past heroes that provided something unique to Gaelic Games. I don't mean to disrespect David Brady but would not have considered him of a high enough caliber of player to have made the program compared to other elite players of the past. When compared to Iggy Clarke, Alan Brogan and Kieran Donaghy also shown in this series, I think you might see where I am coming from. I remember seeing Liam McHale and Willie Joe Padden on this program. These guys would have been true greats of Mayo football. Would also like to see Ciaran McDonald. I'm sure his time will come.While I thought it was interesting viewing, I felt it went away from the elite level of player it had been showing up to this point.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 508 - 05/04/2020 13:16:24    2275362

Replying To The_DOC:  "*TG4 - at least owe them enough to call them by their correct ainm"
I always assume it's deliberate that people wrongly say "TnaG" for some reason. It's not like it's a recent change, or that they can claim they grew up calling it "TnaG" or whatever. What's stranger is that Laochra Gael, GAA Beo, Rugbaí Beo etc. all started after it became TG4, so it's not like they were used to calling it the old name.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1643 - 05/04/2020 15:12:22    2275368

Replying To winatallcost:  "Laochra Gael is a fantastic program which is well produced and gives great insight and generally showcases past heroes that provided something unique to Gaelic Games. I don't mean to disrespect David Brady but would not have considered him of a high enough caliber of player to have made the program compared to other elite players of the past. When compared to Iggy Clarke, Alan Brogan and Kieran Donaghy also shown in this series, I think you might see where I am coming from. I remember seeing Liam McHale and Willie Joe Padden on this program. These guys would have been true greats of Mayo football. Would also like to see Ciaran McDonald. I'm sure his time will come.While I thought it was interesting viewing, I felt it went away from the elite level of player it had been showing up to this point."
Agree, it's gone down the road of the so called celebrity route, rather than showing the true greats of the game. Obviously certain people blowing off makes for better TV, but labelling them Laochra Gael just demeans the whole purpose of the programme. Might as well relabel it GAA Big Brother.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 07/04/2020 11:12:49    2275477

Replying To moc.dna:  "Agree, it's gone down the road of the so called celebrity route, rather than showing the true greats of the game. Obviously certain people blowing off makes for better TV, but labelling them Laochra Gael just demeans the whole purpose of the programme. Might as well relabel it GAA Big Brother."
So how many players featured on Laochra Gael didn't deserve to be on it in your opinion? I'm interested to see the list...

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 07/04/2020 23:15:43    2275518

Replying To yew_tree:  "So how many players featured on Laochra Gael didn't deserve to be on it in your opinion? I'm interested to see the list..."
Brady is the standout

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 396 - 08/04/2020 04:41:50    2275520

Just my two cents but if we were to restrict Laochra Gael to the serial All-Ireland winners then very soon we will have an endless parade of players from Kerry, Dublin and Kilkenny. None of these would spring to mind as being known for saying anything.

Variety is the spice of life.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 08/04/2020 07:12:01    2275521

Replying To Gleebo:  "Just my two cents but if we were to restrict Laochra Gael to the serial All-Ireland winners then very soon we will have an endless parade of players from Kerry, Dublin and Kilkenny. None of these would spring to mind as being known for saying anything.

Variety is the spice of life."
Laochra Gael never went down the route of serial All-Ireland winners. Liam McHale was not a serial winner but deserved his appearance on the programme as would Ciaran McDonald. Over the years there were a number of brilliant Waterford hurlers who were showcased without winning an all-Ireland. I think the point was that while Brady is an interesting character and was a game player, he was nowhere near the standard of players normally shown on the programme. Usually Loachra Gael shows players who were up there with the best of their generation. This was not the case with Brady. I disagree with your point of highlighting players known for saying something interesting should be shown. The GAA and its top players have much more depth than being known for what they post in social media or what they say. If Kilkenny, Dublin and Kerry have the best players so be it. Loachra Gael also covers players in the past so its not confined to these counties and not necessarily all-ireland winners.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 508 - 08/04/2020 08:41:44    2275522

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Brady is the standout"
So just Brady then...that's one!
I seen a lot of abuse online directed at Brady when it was announced he would feature...a lot form Galway..."he has won nothing" "he has no all Ireland's"....both inaccurate and it's astonishing how I'll informed so called GAA fans are.

Brady wouldn't be near my list of top Mayo footballers and he admitted as much himself. Maybe the anger should be directed at the Waterford based production company that produce the show for Tg4....either way in such times it's little some have for giving out.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 08/04/2020 08:57:11    2275523

Replying To winatallcost:  "Laochra Gael is a fantastic program which is well produced and gives great insight and generally showcases past heroes that provided something unique to Gaelic Games. I don't mean to disrespect David Brady but would not have considered him of a high enough caliber of player to have made the program compared to other elite players of the past. When compared to Iggy Clarke, Alan Brogan and Kieran Donaghy also shown in this series, I think you might see where I am coming from. I remember seeing Liam McHale and Willie Joe Padden on this program. These guys would have been true greats of Mayo football. Would also like to see Ciaran McDonald. I'm sure his time will come.While I thought it was interesting viewing, I felt it went away from the elite level of player it had been showing up to this point."
It Definitely is a great program. Thought Iggy Clarke's was outstanding and they also did a good one on Pete Finnerty too, but I preferred Iggy Clarke's....two brilliant Galway men.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 08/04/2020 11:17:50    2275531

Replying To yew_tree:  "So how many players featured on Laochra Gael didn't deserve to be on it in your opinion? I'm interested to see the list..."
Obviously you can't recall the debate on this on another post on which you also posted & where I did name some star players who hadn't featured to date. Implying that all the Galway lads are on here because it's Brady from Mayo & were trying to put one over Mayo is laughable. The point has been made far more eloquently than I could by winatallcost from Meath. It's about the real Laochra's & not just All Ireland winners, it's not about personality, it's about what the great players produced between the whitewash lines. If you feel the need for continued parochialism, work away.

moc.dna (Galway) - Posts: 1212 - 08/04/2020 23:16:40    2275577

Replying To moc.dna:  "Obviously you can't recall the debate on this on another post on which you also posted & where I did name some star players who hadn't featured to date. Implying that all the Galway lads are on here because it's Brady from Mayo & were trying to put one over Mayo is laughable. The point has been made far more eloquently than I could by winatallcost from Meath. It's about the real Laochra's & not just All Ireland winners, it's not about personality, it's about what the great players produced between the whitewash lines. If you feel the need for continued parochialism, work away."
Fair enough but in my opinion the GAA is about much more than what happens inside the white lines.

What clubs/players/volunteers are doing up and down this country right now is proof of that. Playing ability and skill is of course is what we all watch and love but it's not the most important or celebrated thing in the GAA.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 09/04/2020 09:53:07    2275590