Forum reopened due to demand

We are stopping new posts on the forum during the Covid-19 emergency. Thank you to all the forum users and we hope you and your families stay safe during this troubling time.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 16/03/2020 18:51:03    2274019

We have been overwhelmed by the huge number of forum users who have contacted us directly asking for the forum to be reopened. We've heard how it acts as a distraction at this time and that our posters and reader enjoy the back and forth, as well as the conversations and relationships built up over the many years.
Our moderators are working from home, as just like all you, have other priorities now.
Be kind to each other, especially at this time, when we need to work together and fight this new challenge.

Administrator (None) - Posts: 2274 - 18/03/2020 12:34:59    2274020

Well done, the right call. Will dive in occasionally from my office in Belfast.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 18/03/2020 13:30:14    2274023

Thanks very much guys.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4210 - 18/03/2020 14:26:06    2274030

Maith sibh go leir!

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9116 - 18/03/2020 14:35:15    2274034

100% right call. We need some release!

I would nearly go so far as to ban all serious, health related discussions........lets just talk about things that don't really matter.................................it's good for us!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1826 - 18/03/2020 14:35:37    2274035

Fair play lads. Happy to have the distraction. Keep well everyone!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 18/03/2020 14:41:16    2274037

Hurrah !!

lionofludesch (Down) - Posts: 475 - 18/03/2020 15:34:55    2274041

Replying To Mayonman:  "100% right call. We need some release!

I would nearly go so far as to ban all serious, health related discussions........lets just talk about things that don't really matter.................................it's good for us!"
Totally agree.. too many people thinking they are experts and end up arguing about different opinions! Should stick to the sport on here, enough of the other stuff on the Telly, radio, newspapers..need some release from it all!

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 18/03/2020 15:56:44    2274042

Replying To Mayonman:  "100% right call. We need some release!

I would nearly go so far as to ban all serious, health related discussions........lets just talk about things that don't really matter.................................it's good for us!"
Oh''' Mayoman, but it does matter-much more important than life and death.

Oldertourman (Limerick) - Posts: 162 - 18/03/2020 16:53:34    2274049

Fair play lads, I am sure we will find something to talk about.

seadog54 (Meath) - Posts: 2136 - 18/03/2020 17:02:37    2274050

Good call as social distancing limits the amount of interaction people have and may be none for some. As someone said it might be better if subjects on the virus did not include medical facts. Some may be good but some not. There are the proper sources to get the information. I not suggesting banning but we should do what is best ourselves. There are great debaters on here on the nuances of our sport.

Canuck (Waterford) - Posts: 2655 - 18/03/2020 17:09:33    2274051

Replying To Canuck:  "Good call as social distancing limits the amount of interaction people have and may be none for some. As someone said it might be better if subjects on the virus did not include medical facts. Some may be good but some not. There are the proper sources to get the information. I not suggesting banning but we should do what is best ourselves. There are great debaters on here on the nuances of our sport."
Absolutely agree. Much of what is going around about the virus is pure unsubstantiated here say.

Oldertourman (Limerick) - Posts: 162 - 18/03/2020 18:28:17    2274053

Ridiculous to close it in first place. Forums and social media in spite of many negatives and nonsense like fake news they can be excellent at breaking monotony of day to day life especially with the changes due to people not working in many cases.

Can the forum be updated and improved to allow better communication and more ideas and thoughts be spread and developed

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 18/03/2020 20:06:18    2274058

Replying To KillingFields:  "Ridiculous to close it in first place. Forums and social media in spite of many negatives and nonsense like fake news they can be excellent at breaking monotony of day to day life especially with the changes due to people not working in many cases.

Can the forum be updated and improved to allow better communication and more ideas and thoughts be spread and developed"
You could always go and make your own website and forum?

achara (Monaghan) - Posts: 561 - 18/03/2020 20:15:44    2274059

Thank you for reopening the forum. Little things add up.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 18/03/2020 20:23:29    2274060

Fair play to all involved :-)

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1898 - 18/03/2020 20:33:16    2274063

I see the mods are still a barrel of laughs on here, God forbid ye might lighten up and let a few fun posts through.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 18/03/2020 20:37:34    2274064

Replying To achara:  "You could always go and make your own website and forum?"
Yeah what a childish response. It's one of the only forums I know of that pre moderates posts to this extent as well as used to have an actual closing time every day. You can moderate using far better methods than here while also using better software to host the web forum.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3499 - 18/03/2020 22:15:43    2274066

Replying To KillingFields:  "Yeah what a childish response. It's one of the only forums I know of that pre moderates posts to this extent as well as used to have an actual closing time every day. You can moderate using far better methods than here while also using better software to host the web forum."
You know, you can give constructive feedback without being snarky to others all the time... give it a go!

For the record, I really like HS, it's great news source for gaelic games and it's going to be a really weird few weeks when there won't be much to update.

Morty (Westmeath) - Posts: 209 - 18/03/2020 23:39:47    2274069