Andy Mcentee And The Referee

Replying To waynoI:  "Can I just stress that these are the views of TheUsername, and not those of ALL Dubs, noteably, Me!!

Im fine with Meath being rubbish. Long may it continue."
Defo just my opinion, i know many other Dubs think the same way you do.

For me its hard going not having a competitive game until the end of July if even Wayno, Leinster has turned into a dirge, something to be endured rather then enjoyed. Im at the stage that id relish a different challenge.

Ha maybe im misty eyed, but some of those games the crowds and games in Leinster are better then the fare we are seeing in the quarters and Semis.

Whatever about Meath, both Leinster and Munster need a shake up. Id make a super province Div 1 & 2 teams in Munster and Leinster in one provincial draw and 2&3 in provincial, the numbers probably arent evenly split but something along those lines.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/03/2020 12:56:07    2271939

Replying To TheUsername:  "
Replying To waynoI:  "Can I just stress that these are the views of TheUsername, and not those of ALL Dubs, noteably, Me!!

For me its hard going not having a competitive game until the end of July if even Wayno, Leinster has turned into a dirge, something to be endured rather then enjoyed. Im at the stage that id relish a different challenge.

Ha maybe im misty eyed, but some of those games the crowds and games in Leinster are better then the fare we are seeing in the quarters and Semis.

Whatever about Meath, both Leinster and Munster need a shake up. Id make a super province Div 1 & 2 teams in Munster and Leinster in one provincial draw and 2&3 in provincial, the numbers probably arent evenly split but something along those lines."
You write a lot of s***e. Maybe your just trying to be all things to all men. Any player management and fans have one goal. Winning. And after winning, winning by a lot. Hammering, destroying wrecking carnage on anyone who steps in front of them. Simple nature of sport. And when it comes to your nearest neighbour's and biggest rival I doubt you'll find many who wish them well or want to see them going toe to toe again. If Galway win the next day and relegate Mayo I hope we celebrate it like 1998 and 2001 take the week off and go on the absolute tear. Might somehow ease the pain of 2013 and how much we still hear about that match. When Mayo are in Division four and a Trump Wall is built around Headford we might rest easy in the city of the Tribe. Until then the teams of Connacht will continue to do what we always do. Inflict as much misery on the opposition as possible.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 589 - 03/03/2020 13:11:42    2271942

Whatever about Meath, both Leinster and Munster need a shake up. Id make a super province Div 1 & 2 teams in Munster and Leinster in one provincial draw and 2&3 in provincial, the numbers probably arent evenly split but something along those lines."
Of course you would.id set up a coaching system where every county would get exactly the same with those who got excess over the last decade having their allowance reduced accordingly.In five years we would review

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1445 - 03/03/2020 13:27:29    2271949

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Come on Richie...…….have a bit of cop on.

Even it this is true (which I highly doubt) what about the other 3 matches in which he moaned about the ref?"
Cop on? Why do I need to cop on, we have guys on here jumping up and down in delight at the possibility of Meath being relegated pointless and thinking that McEntee is the only manager to moan about decisions. There is a mechanism for querying the rules which Meath employed and this was the result, he spoke of it in a post match interview available on the patreon service of the we are Meath podcast, why would he lie about it? I'm sure it only heightens his own frustrations just as some of the waffle I'm looking at here heightens mine

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 03/03/2020 13:39:13    2271955

I agree Andy does himself no favours, but it hardly warrants a thread.
I can only remember him moaning after the Kerry and Galway games this year.
In fairness he has came across terrible in recent years by going for refs after matches and losing the plot with a local journalist. He is definitley a good manager but any of the top managers always seem to be in control of their emotions so he really needs to cut out the hysterics.
He comes from a great meath football family, has a great record as a manager and has improved this team but inside the county he isnt universally liked. Most people recognise he has improved this team but he really seems to rub people up the wrong way.

Anyways as i said a few weeks back after the donegal match, the main problem for this Meath team is they are far far too nice. They have a lot of big strong men but not one player on that team has the dog in them.
Div 1 will be a big learning curve. Every single top team is cynical and they are dead right to be. Meath will have to learn to get street smart and add a bit of dirt or they wont progress.

Its embarrasing to see us the laughing stock for whinging at the minute, we always had a reputation as a hard county and also always took our beatings manfully.

Meathmaverick (Meath) - Posts: 106 - 03/03/2020 13:50:09    2271960

Cain oneill was same with kildare last year.

hamsterdean (Limerick) - Posts: 223 - 03/03/2020 15:07:50    2271979

Would have thought that was obvious. All posts are the opinion of the poster involved.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 03/03/2020 15:18:46    2271982

Replying To Meathmaverick:  "I agree Andy does himself no favours, but it hardly warrants a thread.
I can only remember him moaning after the Kerry and Galway games this year.
In fairness he has came across terrible in recent years by going for refs after matches and losing the plot with a local journalist. He is definitley a good manager but any of the top managers always seem to be in control of their emotions so he really needs to cut out the hysterics.
He comes from a great meath football family, has a great record as a manager and has improved this team but inside the county he isnt universally liked. Most people recognise he has improved this team but he really seems to rub people up the wrong way.

Anyways as i said a few weeks back after the donegal match, the main problem for this Meath team is they are far far too nice. They have a lot of big strong men but not one player on that team has the dog in them.
Div 1 will be a big learning curve. Every single top team is cynical and they are dead right to be. Meath will have to learn to get street smart and add a bit of dirt or they wont progress.

Its embarrasing to see us the laughing stock for whinging at the minute, we always had a reputation as a hard county and also always took our beatings manfully."
Well said that man! And for what it's worth, I don't judge Meath by the caliber of a few daisies on here, and I'm sure everyone else would say the same.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 03/03/2020 15:37:15    2271986

Replying To PopeFrancis19:  "Meath management and supporters whinging about the ref is pitiful, and flies in the face of the Counties proud traditions. There was'nt a word out of Tyrone the week before, after playing Galway, and they had much more reason to feel aggrieved after having 2 players sent off which turned the whole game in Galway's favour. Meath aided with a galeforce wind were 1:6 to a point up after 31 minutes, whereafter Galway outscored them 1:13 to 6 points. After 5 division 1 games, theres 8 league points and a score difference of 44 points between Galway and Meath. This will probably increase as Dublin will wipe the floor with Meath, and a very talented Monaghan team will probably put up a cricket score aswell."
I cant believe it even the pope has it in for us :(

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 03/03/2020 16:54:53    2272004

The cuddly one too, not the other German fella who you'd expect a bit of grief from.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 03/03/2020 16:59:49    2272007

Replying To SamandLiamSoon:  "
Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=waynoI:  "Can I just stress that these are the views of TheUsername, and not those of ALL Dubs, noteably, Me!!

You write a lot of s***e. Maybe your just trying to be all things to all men. Any player management and fans have one goal. Winning. And after winning, winning by a lot. Hammering, destroying wrecking carnage on anyone who steps in front of them. Simple nature of sport. And when it comes to your nearest neighbour's and biggest rival I doubt you'll find many who wish them well or want to see them going toe to toe again. If Galway win the next day and relegate Mayo I hope we celebrate it like 1998 and 2001 take the week off and go on the absolute tear. Might somehow ease the pain of 2013 and how much we still hear about that match. When Mayo are in Division four and a Trump Wall is built around Headford we might rest easy in the city of the Tribe. Until then the teams of Connacht will continue to do what we always do. Inflict as much misery on the opposition as possible."]Id absolutely agree i wouldn't read my posts if i was me to be honest. ;)

Id have a different way of looking at it myself, in the heat of the moment i always want my county, club side to win. Yet winning is a precious and limited thing, you learn that sometimes you do it and sometimes you dont. if you an live be humble and respectful with both sides of that equation you will be happier.

Id be different i dont begrudge other counties doing well, id take an interest in other counties development, id have sa soft spot and root for particularly Leinster counties when they arent playing us. Id also love to see Mayo do well, id like to see Galway progress as well and Cork. Obviously not going head to head with Dublin, but our time will end and someones else will start. I definitely dont want to see any county or Meath for that matter pummeled into the dust. its not how enjoy the game to be honest.

Its all just lads playing sport, some days you'l win, someways you wont, take both on each of their merits. You can beat teams and be respectful and wish them well in their next day out.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/03/2020 17:29:12    2272018

I know you're a bit of a wum mate so i'll take that view of Leinster football as wind up..
However if you really wanted Leinster to be competitive again all you need to do is canvas your club Pro and other influentials, or better still become club pro and insist (with many others i'd imagine) Dublin play in the LFC on the same terms as the other teams. Very simple.
Are ye prepared to share the pot? Do ye still fear Meath in Navan, Laois in Portlaoise, Kildare in Newbridge?
Or cry behind the usual "bu bu bu but our season ticket holders" excuse. How long is it now since you played any of these in their home?? Heading for 30 yrs now mate..
Very easy to slag Meath and their management trying to compete with a fraction of Dublin's budget and zero hope of championship silverware of any kind, just like the rest of Leinster, when you get everything and every advantage served on a plate.
Level the field and Dublin will be back in the pack in 3/4 yrs..

cuttothebone (Kildare) - Posts: 163 - 03/03/2020 19:51:57    2272049

look they have advantages but they always had to be realistic. nothing in life felt better than the time we beat them. but that is a great football team, cnt buy what they have, tjeyll be back in the pack soon enough but itll be nothing to do with money

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 03/03/2020 20:31:23    2272060

I have sympathy for McEntee but the moaning is not the Meath way. If they had a problem with Galways tactics there's a way to deal with that. I didn't see any Galway lads searching in the fine Pairc Tailteann grass for their teeth. The great Meath teams sorted it out on the pitch, nobody went shouting to the ref.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1316 - 03/03/2020 21:28:47    2272073

Replying To cuttothebone:  "
Replying To TheUsername:  "[quote=waynoI:  "Can I just stress that these are the views of TheUsername, and not those of ALL Dubs, noteably, Me!!

I know you're a bit of a wum mate so i'll take that view of Leinster football as wind up..
However if you really wanted Leinster to be competitive again all you need to do is canvas your club Pro and other influentials, or better still become club pro and insist (with many others i'd imagine) Dublin play in the LFC on the same terms as the other teams. Very simple.
Are ye prepared to share the pot? Do ye still fear Meath in Navan, Laois in Portlaoise, Kildare in Newbridge?
Or cry behind the usual "bu bu bu but our season ticket holders" excuse. How long is it now since you played any of these in their home?? Heading for 30 yrs now mate..
Very easy to slag Meath and their management trying to compete with a fraction of Dublin's budget and zero hope of championship silverware of any kind, just like the rest of Leinster, when you get everything and every advantage served on a plate.
Level the field and Dublin will be back in the pack in 3/4 yrs.."]You can choose to be wound up, that's up to you.

For sure I'd love to see Kildare, Meath and Loais competitive again, there was a magic about the Leinster championship in 90s and 00s, Kildare, Meath, Westmeath and Loais enjoyed some wonderful days.

Would love to visit Navan, Newbridge, Cullen, Tullomore etc. In fact I'd be right behind Dublin playing everyone away for the whole Leinster championship. I'd love to see Dublin play an Alll Ireland semi and a final in PUC. Football needs to be brought around the country. I would be on board with Dublin having 0 games in Croker. As we know it's the Leinster counties who decide where Dublin play and they feather their nest financially accordingly, no,point playing the victim.

I've written extensively on financial advantages and Dublin, you will have one opinion, I will have another. You will have gone through the recent accounts and you will see huge funds being pumped into Leinster counties comparatively to other provinces. If you think Dublin hold an advantage surely Leinster counties hold an advantage over say Roscommon and Cavan. It's ok blaming Dublin for Leinster woes, but it's one game a year, what happens when they don't play Dublin, still not competitive at the top level, regardless of Dublin.

Meath are at least bringing home some success for that investment, league final, provincial final, S8s, Div 1 football. It's good to see for me.

I know you are keen, to set Dublin vs Leinster and particularly Kildare woes, not the case in my opinion. I've a lot of time for Kildare football, I've played club football there in the past and had an interest in the university team at one stage, i'd love to see them kick on.

It would give me no pleasure at all if say Kildare get relegated and get knocked out in the Leinster semi and go into tier 2, hopefully they stay up. There is a broader answer to their woes then just Dublin though, in fact it would be a concern if the conclusion to their regression in three year was just "ah sure Dublin".

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/03/2020 21:35:22    2272074

Replying To Crinigan:  "I have sympathy for McEntee but the moaning is not the Meath way. If they had a problem with Galways tactics there's a way to deal with that. I didn't see any Galway lads searching in the fine Pairc Tailteann grass for their teeth. The great Meath teams sorted it out on the pitch, nobody went shouting to the ref."
Agree, 25 years ago if Meath lost a few tight games Boylan would not have come out whinging about referees. One thing I always admired about Boylan was his humility in defeat aswell as victory. He just pushed through it and got on with it.

The_Fonz (Westmeath) - Posts: 213 - 05/03/2020 23:34:40    2272423

Replying To The_Fonz:  "Agree, 25 years ago if Meath lost a few tight games Boylan would not have come out whinging about referees. One thing I always admired about Boylan was his humility in defeat aswell as victory. He just pushed through it and got on with it."
Your right, mind you 25 years ago we didn't have cards, 25 years ago we didn't have the type of cynicism we have in the game today and 25 years ago we didn't have a plethora of rule changes every hands turn. Bluntly the game was much different 25 years ago and referees did t have as much to keep track of, the GAA has gone a bit mad the past few years and as a consequence managers and analysts, in fact all of us, have gone a bit mad with them, it's contagious (prob not the buzz word at the moment but accurate) and has led to greater frustration and anger, too much effort is being put in by players nowadays to have to put up with confused or just poor officiating, the past and now aren't really comparable.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 06/03/2020 19:13:51    2272526

Replying To Richieq:  "Your right, mind you 25 years ago we didn't have cards, 25 years ago we didn't have the type of cynicism we have in the game today and 25 years ago we didn't have a plethora of rule changes every hands turn. Bluntly the game was much different 25 years ago and referees did t have as much to keep track of, the GAA has gone a bit mad the past few years and as a consequence managers and analysts, in fact all of us, have gone a bit mad with them, it's contagious (prob not the buzz word at the moment but accurate) and has led to greater frustration and anger, too much effort is being put in by players nowadays to have to put up with confused or just poor officiating, the past and now aren't really comparable."
Yeah, you're right. Cynical tactics never existed before and poor Meath is an innocent victim.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QpFFmlAPCek

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1996_All-Ireland_Senior_Football_Championship_Final

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 06/03/2020 22:45:28    2272541

Replying To festinog:  "Yeah, you're right. Cynical tactics never existed before and poor Meath is an innocent victim.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QpFFmlAPCek

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1996_All-Ireland_Senior_Football_Championship_Final"
What's your point?? That incident involved up front man to man physicality, given a choice between it and some of the sneaky underhand stuff that goes on today give me the punch up all day every day. And I never said cynical play didn't exist before and I certainly don't claim Meath are innocent victims but things have changed dramatically in the past 24 years since that famous incident and changed for the worse in my view.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 07/03/2020 16:34:53    2272631

Replying To Richieq:  "What's your point?? That incident involved up front man to man physicality, given a choice between it and some of the sneaky underhand stuff that goes on today give me the punch up all day every day. And I never said cynical play didn't exist before and I certainly don't claim Meath are innocent victims but things have changed dramatically in the past 24 years since that famous incident and changed for the worse in my view."
So when Meath do it, it's "manly", but when it's done to Meath it's "cynical".

Thanks for clarifying.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 07/03/2020 20:14:17    2272689