Each week after Meath are defeated he comes out
and blame the referee maybe it is that Meath are not
good enough at this point in time for div 1 football
they are an up and coming team but to be blaming
the ref every week sounds like sour grapes

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 02/03/2020 12:25:15    2271602

Poor form. If you have genuine grievances with a ref and their decisions and only technical queries then contact GAA HQ and refs management to clarify what you want to know. Other than that coaches should stay quiet.

Btw does anyone know how much work teams do on rules knowledge? Do they have refs ever work with them on what they should/shouldnt be doing?

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3510 - 02/03/2020 12:52:37    2271622

It's disappointing the stuff coming out of some from Meath, saying the Galway tactics would put Ulster teams to shame, didn't hear any uproar from them after the Tyrone and Donegal matches, it's not OK to insult and single out Ulster teams.

Most of the Galway scores I seen in the second half came from in front of the goals and the wind died down for them in second half. The game ws there to be won in the second half. I had some sympathy for him regarding the added time issue against Donegal but little otherwise
They have very short memories if the truth was told.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 02/03/2020 13:09:08    2271631

Replying To wfkerry:  "Each week after Meath are defeated he comes out
and blame the referee maybe it is that Meath are not
good enough at this point in time for div 1 football
they are an up and coming team but to be blaming
the ref every week sounds like sour grapes"
McEntee is to blame for lack of free takers and good kickout strategy but in his defence, the refereeing of Meath matches is frankly corrupt. What happened yesterday was absolutely farcical. Fair play to Galway, they go away with it. But essentially in last ten minutes of first half, almost every Galway player started consistently pulling the nearest Meath player to the ground. The idea is I suppose that the ref can't give all 15 players a black/yellow card so he'll give none.

Meath teams were enemy no.1 during 80s and 90s and then of course there was the 2010 debacle when we should have replayed the match (note how GAA chickened out of calling it)....but there is absolutely no question that there is a prejudice against Meath in almost all referees, perhaps based on the culture of a fierce dislike of the county since the 1980s. You see it in every game - you almost say it to yourself as you are watching it, the current team which unfortunately has zero nasty streak are paying for the deeds/perception of Meath as a GAA county.

This is backed up by statistics. For example, in last years Leinster final Dublin committed a total of 41 fouls to Meath's 29. However Dublin received just one yellow card while Meath received one black and seven yellow cards. That is farcical.

It also doesn't help that the only decent referee in the country is a Meath man, David Gough.

I've said it before, you can change rules and introduce as many marks as you want but the biggest problem in the GAA is refereeing - they are simply not fit for purpose.

Crinigan (Meath) - Posts: 1318 - 02/03/2020 13:09:32    2271632

He's becoming a tired broken record, 5 loses from 5, can't be all down to poor officiating.

bostonredsox (Wexford) - Posts: 4368 - 02/03/2020 13:32:55    2271644

In fairness, it's a difficult period for Andy and frustration can sometimes lead you to make comments that it would have been better not to make. They have given most teams really tough battles but will still drop back down to D2 and might not pick up any points. From the point of view of the team, it is better for him to criticise the officials than his players, in public at least

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 02/03/2020 13:51:31    2271655

I have often said this. I find him unhinged, manic and has a complete disregard for taking responsibly for his own failures. He has done well with Meath however cant take them to the next level.

The incident after the Tyrone vs Meath qualifier was a prime example. I felt completely embarrassed for him and the Meath players who were "trying to hold him back." It was all for show, like one of these clowns you see outside a nightclub on a Saturday night trying to fight people "only for my friends holding me back" routine.

Why not take responsibility for the goalkeeping situation??

The meath fans cry about injuries...…..why doesn't McEntee tailor his training or get rid of the S&C coach who's main job is injury prevention?

No he takes the easy way out...….blame the ref. How easy is that?

Strikes me as someone with a huge chip on his shoulder.

Meath should get rid.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 02/03/2020 13:57:01    2271659

Replying To The_Fridge:  "I have often said this. I find him unhinged, manic and has a complete disregard for taking responsibly for his own failures. He has done well with Meath however cant take them to the next level.

The incident after the Tyrone vs Meath qualifier was a prime example. I felt completely embarrassed for him and the Meath players who were "trying to hold him back." It was all for show, like one of these clowns you see outside a nightclub on a Saturday night trying to fight people "only for my friends holding me back" routine.

Why not take responsibility for the goalkeeping situation??

The meath fans cry about injuries...…..why doesn't McEntee tailor his training or get rid of the S&C coach who's main job is injury prevention?

No he takes the easy way out...….blame the ref. How easy is that?

Strikes me as someone with a huge chip on his shoulder.

Meath should get rid."
Ah, come on that's OTT.

I wasnt at the Kerry game so cant really comment about the black cards which I think he moaned about.

However, the end of the Mayo game where the ref added on zero time and yesterday where Galway showed a level of cynicism that Tyrone would be proud of and got away with it leaves me with some sympathy for Andy.

oldsam_newsam (Meath) - Posts: 638 - 02/03/2020 14:55:19    2271680

It must be a Meath 'thing'

They've not stopped moaning about missing players this league campaign.

Galway got to the 2018 league final despite missing a few through injury and all the Corofin contingent in their first year back.

Meath aren't good enough, they need to find new talent and come back stronger. I look at the likes of Armagh & Kildare and think they've got more talent. Look at a small county like Roscommon and they've been decimated through injuries and players taking time out of the panel, haven't heard much whinging out of them.

Meath put themselves in a position to beat Mayo & Galway and blew it.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 02/03/2020 15:10:16    2271689

Does he enjoy the job? He finds it hard to pull a smile when Meath win, though that's been a while now.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 02/03/2020 15:10:20    2271690

Replying To oldsam_newsam:  "Ah, come on that's OTT.

I wasnt at the Kerry game so cant really comment about the black cards which I think he moaned about.

However, the end of the Mayo game where the ref added on zero time and yesterday where Galway showed a level of cynicism that Tyrone would be proud of and got away with it leaves me with some sympathy for Andy."
For every incident of Galway cynicism in Galway I can back it up in spades with the same for Meath. Sean Kelly was booked in the first half when the ref had his backed turned and Kelly ended up with no jesery on him and yet he got a booking!! And after recent events what has intercounty teams "learned"? Get into a grapple with Kelly again with a player who is not booked, Both get a booking and Kelly gets sent off. This happened three times with Kelly in the second half. Thankfully whether Croke Park have spoken to refs or not they didn't fall for it yesterday.

Paul Conroy gave a cynical pull of a jersey for a kickout. Ref brought the ball forward to the spot of the Conroy foul. Cynical. Advantage Meath. It happnens. Meath did the exact same thing for a Galway kick out. Ref does the exact same thing. I'm sure the great Andy can explain how Galway tricked them into fouling.

Another incident Johnny Heaney is galloping like the fine breed of a racehouse he is up towards the Meath goal on a counter attack but according to the Meath forum Heaney got distracted by a fillie in green and rather than continuing his gallop up the pitch he decides the best course of action is to mount the Meath lad and have a bit of rough and tumble on the fine Navan sod. I'm sure in some poeples head it makes sense.

It was a stop start game and like the Conroy incident above Galway were involved in enough of it but it was not a one way street by a long shot. The face to face confrotation as was seen by the Meath lad squaring up to Joyce on the sideline was evident across the pitch maybe it was down to the do or die nature of the game for Meath not helped by the elements.

For me as a Galway fan if I was Andy McEntee the biggest mistake of the game was an absolutely bizzare attempt by a Meath player to try a cross field ball in front of his own goal into a strong wind. Two passes later it was in the Meath net. That's what cost Meath the game. Without it Galway were in trouble. Division 4 mistake (probably being unkind to Division 4 teams to be honest it was that poor a mistake). Fix things you can control such as mistakes like this and poor free taking. Relying on refs to get everything right will always end in tears. Wish Meath well for their last two games. This bellyaching is beneath ye as fans and certainly below a manager trying to lead a group of players.

SamandLiamSoon (Galway) - Posts: 590 - 02/03/2020 15:24:49    2271694

I knew he would be moaning afterwards when he was was sitting at the game.
The most cynical act in the game was when a Galway player won back the ball, Galway went towards goal, Galway player gets rugby tackled, black card for Meath, not mentioned by Andy.
A Meath player tries a crazy cross field pass, gets intercepted by Ronan Steede, goal Galway and the defining moment of the game, nothing to do with the ref and not mentioned by Andy.
The selector going to the Galway area of the sideline and screaming in PJs face and then having to be removed by Andy. Nothing to do with the ref.
Johnny Heaney sprinting towards goal in the first half in front of the linesman, pulled to ground. Linesman gave the yellow to Meath via the mic.

Now contrast this with Gavin, Mickey Harte even James Horan, are they going around screaming at linesman, blaming refs every time they lose, losing their composure.
This is an excuse and he is creating an environment for the players of excuses not accountability.

johnterry (Galway) - Posts: 582 - 02/03/2020 16:18:49    2271719

McEntee from what I have heard has been more than honest about the teams own failings in interviews after every match, he hasn't hid from that one bit, he has outlined failings in front of goal, coughing up possession too easily at times and some wrong decision making, he has not hidden from these facts. His ire with match officials is also correct from what I saw in games v Tyrone, Mayo and Galway where there were some blatantly awful calls and we seem to get the worse end of them. For example the decision yesterday to penalise Meath for a supposed illegal throw was completely wrong and handed Galway an easy free from which they scored. When a manager and his team is working hard to develop what is a young squad and get them over the line in games it is understandable that you will get frustrated when decisions go against you that lead to scores. Every manager in hurling and football bemoans match officials, the only one I recall not was Jim Gavin but when you were winning as much as he was well why moan about anything. All managers are frustrated with officials as the lack of consistency is appalling and the constant tinkering with rules and cards by the powers that be make it all the worse, McEntee is probably more vocal as he is trying to develop a young team to be competitive and win, there is pressure to succeed, he has done a considerable job in raising our stock value and personally I don't see relegation as a disaster as from a performance point of view the past few weeks have been very good and we have gone toe to toe with teams considered to be much higher than us up the food chain and could easily have 4-5 points on the board now as none, one big win could do an awful lot for this Meath squad and McEntee knows that and when you loose tight games where you feel decisions went against you frustration is understandable but he has also voiced his frustration over the teams mistakes and inaccuracy in front of goal so it's not that he's putting all the blame on match officials but that certain segments of his interviews are being picked up on and publicised more than others.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 02/03/2020 16:27:35    2271726

I like Andy, ive no problem with a bit of frankness and if that is what he believes i think he should share it. Hes a character, hes wrong on some stuff, but has fair points on other stuff.

A bit of passion and honesty is refreshing away from the the usual cliches and "ah sure look" gombeenism.

Ultimately you cant win, if you give nothing you are playing the gom, if you are frank you are winging.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 02/03/2020 17:03:56    2271732

Meath management and supporters whinging about the ref is pitiful, and flies in the face of the Counties proud traditions. There was'nt a word out of Tyrone the week before, after playing Galway, and they had much more reason to feel aggrieved after having 2 players sent off which turned the whole game in Galway's favour. Meath aided with a galeforce wind were 1:6 to a point up after 31 minutes, whereafter Galway outscored them 1:13 to 6 points. After 5 division 1 games, theres 8 league points and a score difference of 44 points between Galway and Meath. This will probably increase as Dublin will wipe the floor with Meath, and a very talented Monaghan team will probably put up a cricket score aswell.

PopeFrancis19 (Galway) - Posts: 45 - 02/03/2020 17:51:57    2271744

Replying To TheUsername:  "I like Andy, ive no problem with a bit of frankness and if that is what he believes i think he should share it. Hes a character, hes wrong on some stuff, but has fair points on other stuff.

A bit of passion and honesty is refreshing away from the the usual cliches and "ah sure look" gombeenism.

Ultimately you cant win, if you give nothing you are playing the gom, if you are frank you are winging."
Exactly.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/03/2020 18:22:27    2271752

Replying To TheUsername:  "I like Andy, ive no problem with a bit of frankness and if that is what he believes i think he should share it. Hes a character, hes wrong on some stuff, but has fair points on other stuff.

Ultimately you cant win, if you give nothing you are playing the gom, if you are frank you are winging."
They've been a bit unlucky in fairness. A few silly defensive errors and a lack of cutting edge up front has cost them dearly. They still look about 2-3 decent players short of div 1 though. Still capable of causing an upset come the Summer all the same. Navan would be a tough gig for any team in the S8s if the Royal were to get that far.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 02/03/2020 18:30:19    2271756

Replying To wexico15:  "He's becoming a tired broken record, 5 loses from 5, can't be all down to poor officiating."
No definietly not.

V Tyrone... Meath squandered too many opportunities in front of goal & beaten by a better team on the day albeit not by much... only 5 points. No major complaints about referee. Usual questionable decisons that happen at most matches.

V Donegal... simply poor and outclassed by Donegal, who punished ever mistake Meath made defensively, all while playing within themselves. I'd have no quibble with officiating bar one or two incidents where Michael Murphy got away with no punishment. Top players knowing the flexibility of the rules!

V Mayo... Meath lost that match by a nieve mistake near the end, allowing Mayo their opportunity. Which at this level you are punished. The referee, however, was poor in his time keeping as has been highlighted before. But IMO it should swing back in our favour at some stage. Mayo also got alot of the big 50/50 calls. Again top teams favoured by knowing how to stretch the rulebook.

V Kerry... the referee black carded Cillian O'Sullivan after 4 minutes for a shoulder to shoulder tackle, perhaps slightly late, but never a black. The Donal Keoghan incident, was a black card all day long. No issue. However, there were very questionable decisions in favour of the home side, which Kerry supporters around me even questioned.

V Galway... the 8 minutes or so coming to half time cost Meath the possible victory. The Galway players pulled and dragged Meath players to the ground, which then saw Meath players lose focus, through frustration with the refereeing, and then commit silly fouls, allowing Shane Walsh to convert easy frees. The officiating in general for that period was a joke. How Galway got away with it (& fair play to them for doing so) but please?

Overall, IMO the refereeing is okay, not great but the luck doesn't seem to fall Meath's way. Should Andy be complaining? Maybe not, but if anyone wants to listen back to LMFM Sports podcast you will note that Andy has approached Croke Park and sought advise on rules, officiating, what's acceptable and not, but not been given adequate answers.

Is Andy complaining after every match? I don't think but people's opinion may differ. It's probably hard when your constantly asked about the referee! Maybe, there is something in that; that he is asked about the officiating. Maybe the journalist realise Meath didn't get any decision nor 'the rub of the green'. Maybe, Meath should try to do as the top teams do and bemd the rules, I don't know.

You make your own mind up!

David (Meath) - Posts: 567 - 02/03/2020 20:43:17    2271790

Replying To David:  "No definietly not.

V Tyrone... Meath squandered too many opportunities in front of goal & beaten by a better team on the day albeit not by much... only 5 points. No major complaints about referee. Usual questionable decisons that happen at most matches.

V Donegal... simply poor and outclassed by Donegal, who punished ever mistake Meath made defensively, all while playing within themselves. I'd have no quibble with officiating bar one or two incidents where Michael Murphy got away with no punishment. Top players knowing the flexibility of the rules!

V Mayo... Meath lost that match by a nieve mistake near the end, allowing Mayo their opportunity. Which at this level you are punished. The referee, however, was poor in his time keeping as has been highlighted before. But IMO it should swing back in our favour at some stage. Mayo also got alot of the big 50/50 calls. Again top teams favoured by knowing how to stretch the rulebook.

V Kerry... the referee black carded Cillian O'Sullivan after 4 minutes for a shoulder to shoulder tackle, perhaps slightly late, but never a black. The Donal Keoghan incident, was a black card all day long. No issue. However, there were very questionable decisions in favour of the home side, which Kerry supporters around me even questioned.

V Galway... the 8 minutes or so coming to half time cost Meath the possible victory. The Galway players pulled and dragged Meath players to the ground, which then saw Meath players lose focus, through frustration with the refereeing, and then commit silly fouls, allowing Shane Walsh to convert easy frees. The officiating in general for that period was a joke. How Galway got away with it (& fair play to them for doing so) but please?

Overall, IMO the refereeing is okay, not great but the luck doesn't seem to fall Meath's way. Should Andy be complaining? Maybe not, but if anyone wants to listen back to LMFM Sports podcast you will note that Andy has approached Croke Park and sought advise on rules, officiating, what's acceptable and not, but not been given adequate answers.

Is Andy complaining after every match? I don't think but people's opinion may differ. It's probably hard when your constantly asked about the referee! Maybe, there is something in that; that he is asked about the officiating. Maybe the journalist realise Meath didn't get any decision nor 'the rub of the green'. Maybe, Meath should try to do as the top teams do and bemd the rules, I don't know.

You make your own mind up!"
omg, are you saying, "the Meath players caused silly fouls and were frustrated with the ref and Galway were to blame"?? I would give you a D for that essay. next essay please, lol

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1196 - 02/03/2020 21:48:25    2271801

I'm enjoying this tread, people giving out about meath management players and fans, it's like the good old days again but unfortunately without the results, but I've a feeling that we (meath) are about to enter a new successful era, im looking forward to royaldunne having a field day with ye all. Hon the royals.

Royal.Legend (Meath) - Posts: 665 - 02/03/2020 22:44:24    2271814