Surely if july goes well as regards the covid 19
We have to start the intercounty in september
Start with the u20 all ireland semi
Then minor and senior inter county
The danger is we get a second wave of covid in nov and ded

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 07/06/2020 09:13:04    2280043

Replying To moc.dna:  "Many have had friends who died during the lockdown & were unable to go to their funerals, (in many cases they had to decide which family members were allowed into the church & graveyard), many minded family members with an underlying condition & elderly parents, many obeyed all the guidelines, many lost their job, many watched a family member on the direct frontline, contract the virus & get very ill & today many have now given up after today's protests around the country. Scenes of mass crowds shoulder to shoulder on all the national media outlets & Gardai just standing by, in fact quoted as saying it was well organised & not a bleat from our politicians, why did we go through all the lockdown making many sacrifices, when it was all blatantly abused today. If the politicians, media & Gardai have no issue about today's mass gatherings, the GAA might as well bang away & do what they want now. The current "Govt." have absolutely zero legitimacy after the Keelings issue & today's mass gatherings, everyone will now start doing as they wish. I feel sorry for all the frontline staff, the CMO & all those who lost loved ones & couldn't have the traditional grieving process. Listening to the minister for health talking out of both sides of his mouth is stomach churning. We need another election, we seem to have one rule for some & another rule for others. I wouldn't be surprised to see all organisations & businesses do as they wish now as we have never being all in this together. The possible obstacle for the GAA is the insurance issue, the insurance vultures are going to clean up & screw everybody again, all whilst the Govt. turn a blind eye."
Good post the hyprocisy around social distancing and observing the rules from those in charge of the country is astonishing. You rightfully identify that the insurance industry will seek to make great hay from the situation and look to maximise their profits

seanie08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 1798 - 07/06/2020 09:38:33    2280045

The way to deal with the Insurance industry is imho to have all players sign a consent form. Which will protect the local GAA and HQ too from bogus claims.
Another aspect is to have testing for C19. A weekly test for all Inter county players is needed. And a bi weekly one for the clubs. Rugby is talking about playing in the Summer now. So the GAA will face a lot of competition. Football is also going to have Summer games. So watch out GAA- maybe try the Winter football.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2517 - 07/06/2020 10:58:52    2280049

Replying To galwayford:  "The way to deal with the Insurance industry is imho to have all players sign a consent form. Which will protect the local GAA and HQ too from bogus claims.
Another aspect is to have testing for C19. A weekly test for all Inter county players is needed. And a bi weekly one for the clubs. Rugby is talking about playing in the Summer now. So the GAA will face a lot of competition. Football is also going to have Summer games. So watch out GAA- maybe try the Winter football."
Weekly tests?. Who pays for them?. Professional clubs are struggling to pay for them.

Dec82 (Clare) - Posts: 242 - 07/06/2020 11:51:43    2280052

Good news in my opinion, a plan in place and like the lifting of restrictions things will be phased and every step risk assessed with new learning etc all the way up to inter county in June. Im sure there will be bumps in the road and even regressive steps, but the GAA have seemed to give a flexible calendar heading into 2021 if necessary.

There will be risks but i think they will be minimised as much as possible.

Dont think Oct is the optimal time myself, i would have earmarked Aug/Sep, id be concerned around flu season etc and we will almost certainly have lads spiking temperatures and displaying symptoms and protocols being actioned that may impact fixtures and timelines.

Be interesting to see the structure planned for intercounty, will it be straight knockout - if so i think that is massively unfair - Dublin and Kerry will have a distinct advantage over teams from Connacht and Ulster. Will there be S8's, ill go against likely the popular "I hate change" line and say i really enjoy them. I also think it would add a bit of fairness to the whole thing, Dublin and Kerry (all going to plan) were supposed to be int he same group this year with and Ulster and Connacht team - that makes both those teams jobs far more difficult compared to just a canter through Munster and Leinster and playing one game, id like to see the S8's and greater adversity in the path way of both Leinster and Munster in line with Connacht and Ulster. A token quarter final against a provincial looser and a pathway to semi final is just to easy for Dublin and Kerry and inequitable. Would also like to see the qualifiers and the B Championhip happen as well, but there are obvious complications this year.

I think it remains to be seen the home and away element of this, seems like social distancing will be in place for a bit, so will we see quarter full stadiums, season ticket holder getting priority and spaced seating in stands and the like, will terracing be open etc.

Think we could see more blankets and generally defensive ball to, the winder tends to see those type of systems being that ore effective in my opinion, with conditions lending themselves to heavy legs and less traction in ball retention and error.

Its great we will have the club game back before that, the Championship is of a high quality and hopefully will really knock the cobwebs of some of our lads.

Elsewise i think you take the good the good were you can find it. We've a few warriors on the road a long time and part of me is glad they have had a breather over these and future months and work on their fitness and recovery. Theres worse spaces to be in as a county then a few more months celebrating the 5 in a row. Its also given Dessie an opportunity to get his feet under the table and recruit a back room team, something we didnt have in the league, so come October he should well and truly have a handle on the job and preparations made albeit in difficult starting circumstances.

Anyhow, great to have some clarity and something to work toward, hopefully we can do this safely.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/06/2020 11:53:47    2280053

Replying To galwayford:  "The way to deal with the Insurance industry is imho to have all players sign a consent form. Which will protect the local GAA and HQ too from bogus claims.
Another aspect is to have testing for C19. A weekly test for all Inter county players is needed. And a bi weekly one for the clubs. Rugby is talking about playing in the Summer now. So the GAA will face a lot of competition. Football is also going to have Summer games. So watch out GAA- maybe try the Winter football."
I expect there may be a consent form alright.

However testing for C19 is an expensive business. We dont think of this because it has been done for national health reasons up to now and the cost is going into the black hole of the massive health budget deficit that will have to be paid by the taxpayer in years to come. If sporting organisations want to do mass testing of their players I would expect that the cost of this extra testing will be borne by the organisations in question, whether that be the GAA, FAI, or IRFU. I cannot see it being financially viable for the GAA to do it on the scale you suggest.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 07/06/2020 12:12:47    2280055

Replying To moc.dna:  "Many have had friends who died during the lockdown & were unable to go to their funerals, (in many cases they had to decide which family members were allowed into the church & graveyard), many minded family members with an underlying condition & elderly parents, many obeyed all the guidelines, many lost their job, many watched a family member on the direct frontline, contract the virus & get very ill & today many have now given up after today's protests around the country. Scenes of mass crowds shoulder to shoulder on all the national media outlets & Gardai just standing by, in fact quoted as saying it was well organised & not a bleat from our politicians, why did we go through all the lockdown making many sacrifices, when it was all blatantly abused today. If the politicians, media & Gardai have no issue about today's mass gatherings, the GAA might as well bang away & do what they want now. The current "Govt." have absolutely zero legitimacy after the Keelings issue & today's mass gatherings, everyone will now start doing as they wish. I feel sorry for all the frontline staff, the CMO & all those who lost loved ones & couldn't have the traditional grieving process. Listening to the minister for health talking out of both sides of his mouth is stomach churning. We need another election, we seem to have one rule for some & another rule for others. I wouldn't be surprised to see all organisations & businesses do as they wish now as we have never being all in this together. The possible obstacle for the GAA is the insurance issue, the insurance vultures are going to clean up & screw everybody again, all whilst the Govt. turn a blind eye."
Agree entirely what you are saying. We have got to the point where we are today based on a huge amount of sacrifice and following the expert advice of the CMO and his team. Listening to the wishy washy language from the Taoiseach and the Minister for Health, I have grave concerns going forward. We were always going to get to this point but how we will not to go back to the way were I do not know. By their nature businesses, organisations and sporting event leaders are selfish and this selfishness filters all the way down to managers of teams and players. I am astonished about the dramatic push for GAA competition as early as July. As mentioned people haven't even met family members in months or perhaps had a days work done. Employers are struggling at the moment to setup adequate precautions so how on earth are clubs meant to in this short space of time. Are players expected to put themselves, teammates and family members at risk for a bit of local pride. Social distancing is still going to be maintained and the virus will not have disappeared so really cannot see this ambitious plan taking off. Good idea to open the pitches and maybe a handful of players kicking a ball around while maintaining social distance is beneficial but to set dates for competitions to begin seems ludicrously reckless.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 506 - 07/06/2020 12:35:01    2280056

Why should club players be different to county with regards testing? Are they and their loved ones seen as inferior human beings?

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 506 - 07/06/2020 12:36:47    2280057

Replying To winatallcost:  "Why should club players be different to county with regards testing? Are they and their loved ones seen as inferior human beings?"
Don't think it will be an issue as no club or county board or even the Gaa will be able to afford all this testing. Everyone involved in each team will have to make their mind up if they want to go back because there will be risk involved the virus hasn't gone away. Hopefully this won't happen but the risk of a second wave in winter could happen while club and inter county championship is on going and all may have to be halted again. This is the uncertain times we live in.

green.and.gold (Leitrim) - Posts: 427 - 07/06/2020 15:59:47    2280068

Good post. Like with the black lives matter marches and o Dohertys and Walters crowd there was blatant disregard and contempt for the covid 19 restrictions. Like now isn't the time for the GAA to open up an masse but in time it will have to learn as well to live with this virus and have attendances at games who attend at their own risk.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1077 - 07/06/2020 17:46:05    2280074

Good work from the GAA reference the Return to Play Roadmap and having it Phased out in Stages over June, July,August, September and October.
Hopefully all Club and Inter County matches will be straight Knock Out and no backdoor or 2nd Chance.
If all goes well come October for Football...Knock Out in all 4 Provences with the 4 Provincial Winners straight into All Ireland Semi Finals.
Hurling Leinster and Munster Finalists cross play in All Ireland Semi Finals.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 07/06/2020 20:27:43    2280080

Replying To katser:  "Good work from the GAA reference the Return to Play Roadmap and having it Phased out in Stages over June, July,August, September and October.
Hopefully all Club and Inter County matches will be straight Knock Out and no backdoor or 2nd Chance.
If all goes well come October for Football...Knock Out in all 4 Provences with the 4 Provincial Winners straight into All Ireland Semi Finals.
Hurling Leinster and Munster Finalists cross play in All Ireland Semi Finals."
You think , Daww.

catch22 (USA) - Posts: 2148 - 07/06/2020 21:50:44    2280082

Replying To katser:  "Good work from the GAA reference the Return to Play Roadmap and having it Phased out in Stages over June, July,August, September and October.
Hurling Leinster and Munster Finalists cross play in All Ireland Semi Finals."
And then we never see straight knockout with no back door and no 2nd chance ever again as no players deserve that
This is perfect time for a reset in the whole seasonal structure of the gaa competitions in all grades from schools to colleges to clubs at all levels to intercounty but will the clubs, central council be willing to make a few sacrifices for the overall good.

KillingFields (Limerick) - Posts: 3495 - 07/06/2020 23:03:24    2280084

GAA president John Horan has revealed that Croke Park will not be at full capacity "until social distancing is lifted" but he is confident that up to 42,000 spectators could be present for championship games later this year if social distancing is reduced to one metre.

The GAA's roadmap to return will see inter-county action resume in October and while Horan is keen to get GAA HQ up and running once again for the delayed championship, it will be scarcely recognisable compared to pre-Covid days.

Horan believes that Croke Park could comfortably hold 21,000 spectators if Government regulations on crowd sizes are increased but he stressed that there is likely to be a "lottery" for tickets while seating on Hill 16 is a possibility given the lack of control over crowds on terraces.

"We've already worked it out that if the Government allow larger crowds to gather, over the 5,000 that they currently have, we could probably put 21,000 into Croke Park safely," Horan told Na Fianna GAA TV.

The operations team in Croke Park have mapped it out. That blue mesh that is used in Croke Park would be used to block off seats but we feel that we could safely get a crowd of 21,000 into Croke Park.

"It would cause practicalities in terms of there'd be an element of lottery for tickets. Premium ticket holders would probably have to get a credit into the following year and just do a lottery on the tickets that are actually there available for games going forward.

"Until social distancing is scaled back, we just won't be able to pack Croke Park, it is our intention to get it open and get it going once the inter-county games start. If it goes back to one metre, we'll be able to double the attendance to 42,000.

"There's an issue over the Hill whether we'd have to put seating in there because really controlling crowds on terraces is always going to be a nightmare going forward."

Meanwhile, a former member of the GAA's Medical, Scientific and Welfare Committee has expressed his satisfaction with the course of action taken by the Association during the pandemic so far but sounds a note of caution as they begin to re-open their premises.

"They had to be cautious and they went to the ultra-cautious end of it when they didn't re-open their grounds while other sports facilities are currently opening," said Tyrone's three-time All-Ireland winner Enda McGinley.

"I think their handling of the situation so far has been good. They have been very clear and decisive during the whole lockdown period. It is more difficult to be clear and decisive in terms of opening up."

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 07/06/2020 23:24:13    2280086

The GAA could use the first 3 consecutive weeks of October to finish off the Leagues..Football, Round 6 & 7 and League Finals..Hurling, Quarter Finals, Semi Finals and League Final. Counties can use it as preparation for the Championship.
4 weeks in November to finish off all Provincial Championships in hurling and football on a Knockout basis and have All Ireland Semi Finals and Finals in December.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2192 - 08/06/2020 20:06:12    2280131

Replying To Dec82:  "Weekly tests?. Who pays for them?. Professional clubs are struggling to pay for them."
Good question. I can't see the Parishes and small clubs having the money for this. And then the risk of bringing it home to newborns or elderly people in a players household. I'd say there will be a lot of players opting out of this season due to these fears.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2113 - 08/06/2020 20:23:11    2280133

Replying To katser:  "The GAA could use the first 3 consecutive weeks of October to finish off the Leagues..Football, Round 6 & 7 and League Finals..Hurling, Quarter Finals, Semi Finals and League Final. Counties can use it as preparation for the Championship.
4 weeks in November to finish off all Provincial Championships in hurling and football on a Knockout basis and have All Ireland Semi Finals and Finals in December."
Forget about the league. Straight into knockout championship to get it all done as dusted asap. Who wants to be watching or travelling to an All-Ireland final on shortest day of the year.

winatallcost (Meath) - Posts: 506 - 08/06/2020 20:53:29    2280135

Replying To winatallcost:  "Forget about the league. Straight into knockout championship to get it all done as dusted asap. Who wants to be watching or travelling to an All-Ireland final on shortest day of the year."
Good stuff winatallcost.Forget about the League with your county Meath on zero points after 5 games heading straight for division 2.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2154 - 08/06/2020 21:33:16    2280137

So after Johns comments it raises a few questions. 21k - 41k possibly in Croke Park, so basically a quarter or half full to allow a crowd safely.

If that is the standard the GAA are working toward for a Croke Park you have to look at the implications for other grounds, 20 or 10k in PUC, Semple, Gaelic Grounds, Killarney, 15k or 7k or less in Clones, Salthil, Breffni, all the way down to a couple of thousand in smaller county grounds. Be interesting to see if that is honoured home and away, or would they try and play the majority of high profile games in bigger grounds - provincial semis In a provinces bigger ground, all games from the quarter on in Croker.

Be interesting to see how ticketing would work, will season tickets be honoured and be given priority, seems like premium level won't be. Will they waive both schemes and just do a lottery thing for all games. All remains to be seen.

I've often said that an All Ireland final atmosphere - not always but sometimes can be an atmosphere let down with sponsors, hanger ons and event junkies getting their hands on tickets, more so then any other game - would we trust the GAA to give priority to the rank and file or satisfy sponsors with tickets ......hmmm.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/06/2020 21:56:19    2280139

Replying To TheUsername:  "So after Johns comments it raises a few questions. 21k - 41k possibly in Croke Park, so basically a quarter or half full to allow a crowd safely.

If that is the standard the GAA are working toward for a Croke Park you have to look at the implications for other grounds, 20 or 10k in PUC, Semple, Gaelic Grounds, Killarney, 15k or 7k or less in Clones, Salthil, Breffni, all the way down to a couple of thousand in smaller county grounds. Be interesting to see if that is honoured home and away, or would they try and play the majority of high profile games in bigger grounds - provincial semis In a provinces bigger ground, all games from the quarter on in Croker.

Be interesting to see how ticketing would work, will season tickets be honoured and be given priority, seems like premium level won't be. Will they waive both schemes and just do a lottery thing for all games. All remains to be seen.

I've often said that an All Ireland final atmosphere - not always but sometimes can be an atmosphere let down with sponsors, hanger ons and event junkies getting their hands on tickets, more so then any other game - would we trust the GAA to give priority to the rank and file or satisfy sponsors with tickets ......hmmm."
Actually forgot to factor in that Croker is three sided standed with one terrace, most grounds bar one or two would be the opposite with three terraces and one stand, that could lower crowds significantly, unless the introduce something innovative for terraces.

Could all games be played in Croker, PUC, Semple, Gaelic grounds, Clones, Mchale and the like With a couple of stands if terraces are out or deemed uncontrollable.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 08/06/2020 22:32:54    2280140