Dublin V Mayo

Replying To gatha:  "After watching Dublin and Kerry last week I was excited about the upcoming year. Thought the game had corrected itself. Yesterday brought me crashing back to reality. Terrible game, advanced mark is a joke, hard to get excited about any game except Kerry Dublin."
Kerry v Galway was a great game, excitement, skill, great forward play and best of all none of the cynicism you associate with you know who :)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 02/02/2020 16:13:08    2264478

Replying To TheHermit:  "Kerry v Galway was a great game, excitement, skill, great forward play and best of all none of the cynicism you associate with you know who :)"
Kerry? Cynicism? You're pulling my leg ;)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 02/02/2020 17:48:50    2264529

Replying To TheHermit:  "Kerry v Galway was a great game, excitement, skill, great forward play and best of all none of the cynicism you associate with you know who :)"
Devoid of Cynicism! Spoken in same breath as Kerry, impossible.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 02/02/2020 18:34:29    2264557

oshea is the best young player in the game right now, and one of the best all round, he shouldnt be getting involved in that type of stuff, kerry wont win ai without him

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 02/02/2020 20:49:00    2264648

Well now, wasnt that a grand stretch in the legs, always a bit of a treat to visit McHale and have the craic with Mayo supporters As always they packed the place out for their team. Good few Dubs traveling as well, but for once we were out numbered.

Doing well with the weather this spring another clement Saturday evening under the lights and you'd be cursing yourself for bringing your gloves and the like.

As for the match itself Dublin fielded a team of familiar names but probably about 50 % of its overall strength, Connor McHugh like last week started ahead of Mannion and young Dan O'Brien came in for Paddy Andrews, but probably fair to say we were at 50% of our full powers.

Similarly Mayo fielded some very young fouls from their successful underage sides and some stalwarts. So all the ingredients were there for a fascinating encounter.

Never really happened though. Mayo played the first half with pretty much the same system as the first half of the semi final last year, played with a lot of bodies back to contain the Dubs and tried to keep procession and starve the Dubs of the ball and momentum. It worked a treat and like the first half of the semi final last year Dublin struggled to get a foothold in the game from an attacking point of view.

While Mayo were dominating play i have to say i was really impressed with our defense, we were under the kosh and all the momentum was with Mayo, but 9 times out of 10 we forced them out to the flanks, eventually ending up with Mayo taking on a low percentage shots for scoring, i was hugely impressed with the defense. If im being honest, i thought Mayo were trying to challenge our discipline there were a lot of spicy challenges goning in and i think they got a sniff after last week that we might not be as disciplined as under Gavin, thankfully this proved not to be the case.

Half way through the first half, Jordan Flynn got sent off for what looked like a high challenge from where i was, but i only caught it out of the corner of my eye and haven't seen it back yet, but ive seen them given. In fact what ive noticed in the first two rounds of the league in football and Hurling is that anything high is being dealt with as a red, so we've all been warned now as there is obviously a crack down. The atmosphere in the ground and game changed from that point on and it all got a bit edgy.

Mayo will be disappointed with their wide count in the first half, they must of hit 6-7 wides when they had momentum. Disappointing for Mayo was Colm Boyle picking up what looked a bad injury in the first half, fair play to the man getting up and trying to run it off as looked nasty, but no prizes for being a hero in Jan and bigger battles ahead, hes some warrior you cant help but admire. Some how Dublin managed to get a couple of scores very late in the first half and went in level at half time, they didn't deserve it in my opinion, though put in a steller defensive performance.

Second half, was just wipe out stuff really, Dublin turned on the after burners really, Mayo with 14 men couldn't keep up with the pace of the Dubs, Boyles loss was felt as Dublin started to make the gaps to run through the middle and it followed the familiar path of just notching up scores, running the bench and running out 6 or 7 point winners.

Take homes really, for Mayo a good young crop there, was impressed with a few, less by others, but you can see Horan trying to expand the panel and with many to come back into that team you cant be to disappointed. The system Horan has devised definitely caused Dublin and by extension will cause everyone else problems, it needs t be applied consistently for 70 mins and as always you need to take your scores. Connacht looks like it could be right ding dong this year. While one of Mayo, Galway and Roscommon will be in with what all assume will be Dublin and Kerry, that is going to be class.

From a Dublin point of view, i thought that defensively in the first half we were excellent, Thought Davey and Murch had very good games, Davey and Much are turning into an elite players just when we need them. I thought ROC, did well he looked to be becoming back to himself a bit and that bodes well as we are in Feb.

McCarthy, Kilkenny, Fenton and Rock ran the show again, they are just superb, Kilkenny was in every line controlling everything, just brilliant.

A lot of time given to the young lads again which was pleasing. Even looked class, the best compliment you can give him is you wouldn't notice Cluxton wasn't there, hes exactly like him. Dan O Brien had a tale of two halves looked at sea in the first but did very well in the second. I dont know what Liam Flatman and Paddy Small have been doing since Sep but they looked like MMA fighters when they came on, Flatman particularly looked a beast. What a little gem Aron Byrne looks to be, we all knew his pedigree, but his direct running and skills cause huge problems, He could do with doing a bit on his defensive side of the game, but he has the will, i can see him having a big impact this year with the skills he has. While Cillian O Shea got a stretch of the legs as welll. I expect to see more young lads in the coming games.

Dessie seems to have the gra for his club man Connor McHugh, we all know his talent, but for me its winning his own ball and improving his conversion rate, if he cant do that he wont be starting for the Dubs come the summer. Was a particularity dogged game mind.

Anyhow grand trip all and all, next up Mongahan in the home of the five in a row next Saturday night.

As always Up The Dubs.

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 03/02/2020 11:26:59    2264789

Only got to see the match properly yesterday so was interested to see this Jordan Flynn red card that caused such outrage and uproar with mayo fans

I seem to be in the minority but i think the referee got it right, it looked bad in real time. What exactly was he trying to do? Going in so late like that and wrapping his forearm around small's head was lunacy, he was asking for trouble. Small's history of sh1thousing is irrelevant to the discussion.

With Mayo it always seems to be people out to get them, biased refs etc. They will be delighted to have an excuse for losing to a dubs team playing in 2nd gear now
They should look closer to home at a badly misfiring forward line for a reason they lost that match

Pullhard1985 (USA) - Posts: 68 - 03/02/2020 12:23:54    2264815

Replying To Pullhard1985:  "Only got to see the match properly yesterday so was interested to see this Jordan Flynn red card that caused such outrage and uproar with mayo fans

I seem to be in the minority but i think the referee got it right, it looked bad in real time. What exactly was he trying to do? Going in so late like that and wrapping his forearm around small's head was lunacy, he was asking for trouble. Small's history of sh1thousing is irrelevant to the discussion.

With Mayo it always seems to be people out to get them, biased refs etc. They will be delighted to have an excuse for losing to a dubs team playing in 2nd gear now
They should look closer to home at a badly misfiring forward line for a reason they lost that match"
Eir sport and Rte panelists said it wasn't a red so its not just mayo fans..

Not many mayo fans were expecting to win the last night, and dont worry we know about our misfiring forwards nothing new there, but the new players look to have abit about them.

tommy132 (Mayo) - Posts: 600 - 03/02/2020 12:59:46    2264831

It was not a red. All it served to do was make Dublin's job even easier.

OGarmaile (Tyrone) - Posts: 248 - 03/02/2020 13:30:33    2264843

Replying To Pullhard1985:  "Only got to see the match properly yesterday so was interested to see this Jordan Flynn red card that caused such outrage and uproar with mayo fans

They should look closer to home at a badly misfiring forward line for a reason they lost that match"
Spot on. I dont really understand how people think Small went down easy. Flynn tackled high, late, off his feet & connected with Smalls face with his arm. The directive given by the GAA last year has been to come down heavy on these types of tackles. Flynn can have no complaint.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaa-referees-instructed-to-crack-down-on-head-high-tackles-1.3893431%3fmode=amp

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 03/02/2020 13:33:56    2264845

Replying To Jackeen:  "Spot on. I dont really understand how people think Small went down easy. Flynn tackled high, late, off his feet & connected with Smalls face with his arm. The directive given by the GAA last year has been to come down heavy on these types of tackles. Flynn can have no complaint.

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/sport/gaelic-games/gaa-referees-instructed-to-crack-down-on-head-high-tackles-1.3893431%3fmode=amp"
I'm not trying to beat young Flynn when he's already down but I don't think he can have any complaints. In my opinion, he seemed to move his arm forward with a bit of force just at last second to make contact with Small. Small probably did make a bit out of it but I think there was intent in moving his arm to meet him.

Douglas_44 (Roscommon) - Posts: 225 - 03/02/2020 16:02:59    2264899

The proportion of supporters from the county who can understand why the red was given is about the same as the views of neutrals generally. Anyone going in high and late can't blame the ref. I think most people were just disappointed for the sake of the contest. I think James Horan still got a good bit out of the game despite the result.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 03/02/2020 17:04:37    2264908

Replying To Pericles:  "The proportion of supporters from the county who can understand why the red was given is about the same as the views of neutrals generally. Anyone going in high and late can't blame the ref. I think most people were just disappointed for the sake of the contest. I think James Horan still got a good bit out of the game despite the result."
I think you're right but it absolutely beggars belief that a so called panel of experts analysing the game at half time thought that this wasn't a red. No wonder referees are becoming short in supply. Who'd want to be one when you make a perfectly correct decision only to have a trio of so called experts attempt to undermine you on national TV. Who'd be a referee?

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/02/2020 18:31:01    2264927

Replying To Joxer:  "I think you're right but it absolutely beggars belief that a so called panel of experts analysing the game at half time thought that this wasn't a red. No wonder referees are becoming short in supply. Who'd want to be one when you make a perfectly correct decision only to have a trio of so called experts attempt to undermine you on national TV. Who'd be a referee?"
Didnt yer fans highly blagard a refferee after the O'Byrne Cup semi final only a couple of weeks ago joxer.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 03/02/2020 20:38:07    2264945

Replying To Joxer:  "I think you're right but it absolutely beggars belief that a so called panel of experts analysing the game at half time thought that this wasn't a red. No wonder referees are becoming short in supply. Who'd want to be one when you make a perfectly correct decision only to have a trio of so called experts attempt to undermine you on national TV. Who'd be a referee?"
Couldn't agree more. Other sports are clamping down on head high challenges and have zero tolerance yet we have panelists talking about this as if it's nothing and on Sunday using language that really shouldn't. Just because a referee sends a player off early doesn't mean he has ruined the game for those at it or the TV audience. It's up to a player and his management to make sure he tackles properly and stays on the field.

RoverTin (Derry) - Posts: 226 - 03/02/2020 20:57:49    2264948

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Didnt yer fans highly blagard a refferee after the O'Byrne Cup semi final only a couple of weeks ago joxer."
I think you'll find that the referee in the OBC game made some very bad decisions in the last 10m and gifted the underdog the game. He took some verbals from some fans for his trouble. On Sat the referee made a very good decision and was then publicly castigated by a Mayo, Kerry and Derry group of experts for his trouble. Apparently it was more important that he didn't "ruin the game" than get the decision right. Referees can't win. As for Brolly's comments on John Small. Poor.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/02/2020 21:31:40    2264956

Replying To Joxer:  "I think you'll find that the referee in the OBC game made some very bad decisions in the last 10m and gifted the underdog the game. He took some verbals from some fans for his trouble. On Sat the referee made a very good decision and was then publicly castigated by a Mayo, Kerry and Derry group of experts for his trouble. Apparently it was more important that he didn't "ruin the game" than get the decision right. Referees can't win. As for Brolly's comments on John Small. Poor."
A lot of people don't think Cassidy made the correct decision though. Most, but not all, neutrals think a yellow card would have been more appropriate. If red cards are given for that then there should have been a few more dished out.

Anyone who has a recording of the game should look around 4:10 on the clock. Padraig O'Hora plays the ball away and Kevin McManamon comes in late and catches O'Hora around the neck. No different to the Flynn case but there wasn't even a foul called. The cynics might say O'Hora should have fallen to ground holding his head...

MayoDan (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 03/02/2020 21:53:27    2264960

Joxer Dublin could have had three players sent off against us last Saturday if that's the case. Dublin players tackle head high more than any other team Iv seen.

gallarus14 (Kerry) - Posts: 127 - 03/02/2020 22:45:36    2264976

Replying To MayoDan:  "A lot of people don't think Cassidy made the correct decision though. Most, but not all, neutrals think a yellow card would have been more appropriate. If red cards are given for that then there should have been a few more dished out.

Anyone who has a recording of the game should look around 4:10 on the clock. Padraig O'Hora plays the ball away and Kevin McManamon comes in late and catches O'Hora around the neck. No different to the Flynn case but there wasn't even a foul called. The cynics might say O'Hora should have fallen to ground holding his head..."
Sorry but it was a straight red. Closed fist, late, he pulls down to ensure that he connects high with Small's head area, the ball is gone and intention was to take Small out. Not a patch on the Kev Mc incident. "Most neutrals". Who are these "most neutrals"? Even Padden had to admit upon replay that "it doesn't get any better". This is the instruction to referees.

"Anything above the shoulders in relation to striking to the head, from the neck up, we've instructed our referees clearly, both in hurling and football, to issue a red card for a challenge that's a deliberate challenge to the head."

The nonsense that the referee should have considered a yellow because a red would "ruin the game" and this drivel is coming from "expert analysts" just illustrates how difficult and thankless the referee's job is.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 03/02/2020 23:21:06    2264981

Replying To Joxer:  "I think you'll find that the referee in the OBC game made some very bad decisions in the last 10m and gifted the underdog the game. He took some verbals from some fans for his trouble. On Sat the referee made a very good decision and was then publicly castigated by a Mayo, Kerry and Derry group of experts for his trouble. Apparently it was more important that he didn't "ruin the game" than get the decision right. Referees can't win. As for Brolly's comments on John Small. Poor."
Excellent retort as usual.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 04/02/2020 00:28:41    2264987

Replying To MayoDan:  "A lot of people don't think Cassidy made the correct decision though. Most, but not all, neutrals think a yellow card would have been more appropriate. If red cards are given for that then there should have been a few more dished out.

Anyone who has a recording of the game should look around 4:10 on the clock. Padraig O'Hora plays the ball away and Kevin McManamon comes in late and catches O'Hora around the neck. No different to the Flynn case but there wasn't even a foul called. The cynics might say O'Hora should have fallen to ground holding his head..."
If he was hurt then why wouldn't he fall to the ground holding his head or do only "real men' stay on their feet?

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 04/02/2020 00:30:18    2264988